Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 76 to 100 of 109

Thread: Who's ready for the new incoming AMD CPU/GPU hardware?

  1. #76
    Pie assassin
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Where lights collide
    Posts
    2,275
    not to go off the rails here but..

    Charles,

    What is the story with that car?
    Current Status - Testing & Research

  2. #77
    Xtreme Owner Charles Wirth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    12,398
    Manufacturing exotic parts in US, also done a few McClaren parts.

    Taking the ProE files into Autodesk and converting to .3MF for slicing/printing. I have access to everything Autodesk makes with my subscription. My name is on the screenshot. I take on jobs that most cannot handle, the guys from McClaren came in giggling that that we would not be able to open the files.

    Just pointing out that "reviewers" do not have these types of applications. People who use these applications would be interested in seeing how well new CPUs can improve certain functions like slicing or smoothing.

    I have a full access Adobe account... access to all the professional applications Adobe makes. You know things like 360 VR encoding on Premier Pro.

    My main rig is a 3175X, my daily driver is a 9990XE so I would be able to compare and promote the new Ryzen to industries seeking improvements in IPC.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Intel 9990XE @ 5.1Ghz
    ASUS Rampage VI Extreme Omega
    GTX 2080 ti Galax Hall of Fame
    64GB Galax Hall of Fame
    Intel Optane
    Platimax 1245W

    Intel 3175X
    Asus Dominus Extreme
    GRX 1080ti Galax Hall of Fame
    96GB Patriot Steel
    Intel Optane 900P RAID

  3. #78
    I am Xtreme FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Czech republic
    Posts
    6,803
    Quote Originally Posted by Shocker003 View Post
    Is there any hope that the new 5900x will work with my crosshair VI?
    Maybe with some beta BIOS or modding BIOS. I believe, The Stilt could be able modified BIOS for C6H
    ROG Power PCs - Intel and AMD
    CPUs:i9-7900X, i9-9900K, i7-6950X, i7-5960X, i7-8086K, i7-8700K, 4x i7-7700K, i3-7350K, 2x i7-6700K, i5-6600K, R7-2700X, 4x R5 2600X, R5 2400G, R3 1200, R7-1800X, R7-1700X, 3x AMD FX-9590, 1x AMD FX-9370, 4x AMD FX-8350,1x AMD FX-8320,1x AMD FX-8300, 2x AMD FX-6300,2x AMD FX-4300, 3x AMD FX-8150, 2x AMD FX-8120 125 and 95W, AMD X2 555 BE, AMD x4 965 BE C2 and C3, AMD X4 970 BE, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD X6 1100T BE, A10-7870K, Athlon 845, Athlon 860K,AMD A10-7850K, AMD A10-6800K, A8-6600K, 2x AMD A10-5800K, AMD A10-5600K, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, 2x AMD A64 3000+, AMD 64+ X2 4600+ EE, Intel i7-980X, Intel i7-2600K, Intel i7-3770K,2x i7-4770K, Intel i7-3930KAMD Cinebench R10 challenge AMD Cinebench R15 thread Intel Cinebench R15 thread

  4. #79
    I am Xtreme FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Czech republic
    Posts
    6,803
    so many trackballs
    ROG Power PCs - Intel and AMD
    CPUs:i9-7900X, i9-9900K, i7-6950X, i7-5960X, i7-8086K, i7-8700K, 4x i7-7700K, i3-7350K, 2x i7-6700K, i5-6600K, R7-2700X, 4x R5 2600X, R5 2400G, R3 1200, R7-1800X, R7-1700X, 3x AMD FX-9590, 1x AMD FX-9370, 4x AMD FX-8350,1x AMD FX-8320,1x AMD FX-8300, 2x AMD FX-6300,2x AMD FX-4300, 3x AMD FX-8150, 2x AMD FX-8120 125 and 95W, AMD X2 555 BE, AMD x4 965 BE C2 and C3, AMD X4 970 BE, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD X6 1100T BE, A10-7870K, Athlon 845, Athlon 860K,AMD A10-7850K, AMD A10-6800K, A8-6600K, 2x AMD A10-5800K, AMD A10-5600K, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, 2x AMD A64 3000+, AMD 64+ X2 4600+ EE, Intel i7-980X, Intel i7-2600K, Intel i7-3770K,2x i7-4770K, Intel i7-3930KAMD Cinebench R10 challenge AMD Cinebench R15 thread Intel Cinebench R15 thread

  5. #80
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    cleveland ohio
    Posts
    2,849

    Architecture changes

    mmmm drop

    Architecture changes, I'm a bit disappointed on this
    No AVX512
    Certain things where widened and increased but to me there isn't enough load store already with the other things widened.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    HAVE NO FEAR!
    "AMD fallen angel"
    Quote Originally Posted by Gamekiller View Post
    You didn't get the memo? 1 hour 'Fugger time' is equal to 12 hours of regular time.

  6. #81
    Pie assassin
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Where lights collide
    Posts
    2,275
    I also don't see reviewers doing any relevant work with Maya, motionbuilder, or max for the entertainment side of things. If someone is watching, they should just send Charles amd Brian some hardware as the workloads for the real players are far more relevant. In just my niche of the world I can see 20-30 million spent over the course of 2 years if the data is there to get the fudds off the intel bandwagon.
    Last edited by ZenEffect; 11-07-2020 at 10:43 AM.
    Current Status - Testing & Research

  7. #82
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,081
    Quote Originally Posted by FlanK3r View Post
    so many trackballs
    You missed the actually hardcore gamer part. keyboards left shift and C aka crouch key are worn right through the paint. so is the mouse 1 button. They are both less than 6 months old.

    So easy to wear out keyboards solo fighting 3 man squads in apex.

    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by chew*; 11-07-2020 at 10:56 AM.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  8. #83
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    1,230
    Love seeing the OG's in here! Cheers everyone
    i9-10900k@5.3ghz//MSI MEG z490 Unify//32GB Gskill TridentZ b.die@DDR4666//RTX 2080ti(+150/+700) kingpin bios//Samsung 970 Pro//Corsair AX1200i
    Custom Loop: Dual DDCs->Dual EK XE360 w/GT's -> HK IV CPU -> HK IV GPU ->EK X3 Res controlled by Aquaero 6

  9. #84
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,081
    Was testing out AC valhalla last night. got a few other newer titles to play with as well godfall, dirt 5
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  10. #85
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    3,119
    I was checking my Main Vendor and here is the stock situation for 5000 series....




    ~1~
    AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
    GigaByte X570 AORUS LITE
    Trident-Z 3200 CL14 16GB
    AMD Radeon VII
    ~2~
    AMD Ryzen ThreadRipper 2950x
    Asus Prime X399-A
    GSkill Flare-X 3200mhz, CAS14, 64GB
    AMD RX 5700 XT

  11. #86
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    cleveland ohio
    Posts
    2,849
    No one is going to bench these chips in SLI with rtx 3090's or even RTX 2070 supers they'll make every excuse to not do it.
    yet Just about every game is GPU Bottlenecked. Some at 1080P high settings or ultra. settings
    Last edited by demonkevy666; 11-12-2020 at 11:59 AM.
    HAVE NO FEAR!
    "AMD fallen angel"
    Quote Originally Posted by Gamekiller View Post
    You didn't get the memo? 1 hour 'Fugger time' is equal to 12 hours of regular time.

  12. #87
    I am Xtreme zanzabar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SF bay area, CA
    Posts
    15,832
    Quote Originally Posted by demonkevy666 View Post
    No one is going to bench these chips in SLI with rtx 3090's or even RTX 2070 supers they'll make every excuse to not do it.
    yet Just about every game is GPU Bottlenecked. Some at 1080P high settings or ultra. settings
    SLI basically does not work on the 3090 for games, and has limited use on the turing cards. It is there to get 3d mark scores. We are also not seeing RT off max out the gpu with the current or last gen cpus at 1080p med-high settings in most titles.


    SlI on the 3090 also apparently does not work well even for benching. They will randomly drop SLI and require slots to be turned off/on to reset so they will work again.
    5930k, R5E, samsung 8GBx4 d-die, vega 56, wd gold 8TB, wd 4TB red, 2TB raid1 wd blue 5400
    samsung 840 evo 500GB, HP EX 1TB NVME , CM690II, swiftech h220, corsair 750hxi

  13. #88
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    WI
    Posts
    200
    Quote Originally Posted by zanzabar View Post
    SLI basically does not work on the 3090 for games, and has limited use on the turing cards. It is there to get 3d mark scores. We are also not seeing RT off max out the gpu with the current or last gen cpus at 1080p med-high settings in most titles.


    SlI on the 3090 also apparently does not work well even for benching. They will randomly drop SLI and require slots to be turned off/on to reset so they will work again.
    Why is this? Is it just the amount of data that is being processed that it doesn't scale with without some sort of controller to assign the processes?
    CPU: Intel i7-9700K w/Noctua UH-12S Chromax
    Motherboard
    : Asus Prime Z390-P
    Memory: G.Skill DDR4-3200 8gb x2
    GPU: MSI 1660 TI
    HDD: Kingston A400 240gb SSD | Seagate Barracuda 2TB HHD
    PSU: Seasonic GX750W
    Case: Lian Li 205
    Source: Audio Technica ATH-A900

  14. #89
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    cleveland ohio
    Posts
    2,849
    Quote Originally Posted by Ethelred View Post
    Why is this? Is it just the amount of data that is being processed that it doesn't scale with without some sort of controller to assign the processes?
    It's because they don't want to support the 0.1% that actually use it. They don't make enough money from it.
    Or you can go with the Other theories that say Nvidia was losing money when people bought two mid range cards that were better than a single card, except for Frame times and 1% and 0.1% low frame times. Why upgrade to a new card when a second one older card could bring up to decent gaming. Holding off on Buying new hardware.
    Another reason is because they No longer have to implement by drivers instead it's down to games engines to have it implemented by developers with DX12 and Vulcan. Since it cost time to implement and developers want to make money fast they don't bother with it.?\_(ツ)_/? Which is a change form DX 11 where it was Driver implementation and had over head because it wasn't a low level API implementation. DX 12 suppose to change that.
    Third is the afore mentioned Frame time issues with alternate frame Rendering (A.F.R) Which was known to be an issue Since at least 2004.
    The Frame time issues was a known with A.F.R. A.F.R was used for highest possible frame rate, In a REALLY REALLY old tom's hardware review. Their where options for Scissor Rendering and tile rendering, with SLI/ and even Crossfire.
    If that sounds familiar it's because DX12 can uses asynchronous Rendering which is basically Scissor rendering for DX12 in some options of support games. They render half the screen in a frame. The balanced of load between gpu's was the complaint there. Where if you looking at part of the sky in half the screen. One Gpu's rendering the sky it's load could be 20% with the other rendering the buildings in the lower portion of the game causing to be 99%. tile Just does more splitting Some 3D work stations software already do this with out links.

    Not to many games with DX 12/Vulcan implement it at all I think there's less than 10.

    By my point is why bother with newer games when older games a fully supported out of the box.
    at least one DX 9 game at least 1 DX 10 and at least one DX 11 included
    why does it always need to be triple A games. It always comes down to oh it's" what people are playing". Those are all games with some form of DRM or online client.
    I've got a ton of older games that will never be considered on that list that I know people play still.
    HAVE NO FEAR!
    "AMD fallen angel"
    Quote Originally Posted by Gamekiller View Post
    You didn't get the memo? 1 hour 'Fugger time' is equal to 12 hours of regular time.

  15. #90
    I am Xtreme zanzabar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SF bay area, CA
    Posts
    15,832
    The other problem is with alternate frame rendering. AFR and just in time frame buffers/post processing do not get along. There is too much latency added in the process and the penalty is too high for miss predicting. I would expect some VR support to stay like AMD has alternate eye rendering, and with chiplets we will see multiple gpu dies one card.



    Those stock reference cards are disappointing. They put that graphite garbage on the cards instead of TIM again, but are also not using a direct vapor chamber where that might help.
    5930k, R5E, samsung 8GBx4 d-die, vega 56, wd gold 8TB, wd 4TB red, 2TB raid1 wd blue 5400
    samsung 840 evo 500GB, HP EX 1TB NVME , CM690II, swiftech h220, corsair 750hxi

  16. #91
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    cleveland ohio
    Posts
    2,849
    Quote Originally Posted by zanzabar View Post
    The other problem is with alternate frame rendering. AFR and just in time frame buffers/post processing do not get along. There is too much latency added in the process and the penalty is too high for miss predicting. I would expect some VR support to stay like AMD has alternate eye rendering, and with chiplets we will see multiple gpu dies one card.



    Those stock reference cards are disappointing. They put that graphite garbage on the cards instead of TIM again, but are also not using a direct vapor chamber where that might help.
    The reviews are so mixed about the RX 6800 XT and RX 6800.

    Everyone thought that heat sink was so nice before they took it apart, lol. It's like that whole vapor chamber and Graphite pad made the cards price go up. I really hope so AIB's have a heat pipe design. Preferably one with horizontal fins and an exahust. Hell I'll even take a blower type like Gigabyte's Turbo RTX 3090.

    I'm the type of person who's never bothered with AA & AF just went with higher resolution to make the jaggies it less noticeable.
    So I would never use DLSS in the first place. I'd much rather have a 27" 3840x2160 monitor or higher first then use AA and AF.
    I'd still use Raytracing with out those, on.

    thought it was silly to see a 63" 4K screen running a game on jayztwocents. That's more of a TV screen then a monitor and shouldn't be sitting 2 feet from it.
    HAVE NO FEAR!
    "AMD fallen angel"
    Quote Originally Posted by Gamekiller View Post
    You didn't get the memo? 1 hour 'Fugger time' is equal to 12 hours of regular time.

  17. #92
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,081
    First batch of toys arrive tomorrow although I haven't checked tracking since day 1.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  18. #93
    I am Xtreme zanzabar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SF bay area, CA
    Posts
    15,832
    If it had normal thermal paste it looks like it should have been a good cooler, but AMD always has bad graphics coolers. Ever since AMD bought ATI the coolers have been really bad on the reference cards.
    5930k, R5E, samsung 8GBx4 d-die, vega 56, wd gold 8TB, wd 4TB red, 2TB raid1 wd blue 5400
    samsung 840 evo 500GB, HP EX 1TB NVME , CM690II, swiftech h220, corsair 750hxi

  19. #94
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    cleveland ohio
    Posts
    2,849
    Quote Originally Posted by chew* View Post
    First batch of toys arrive tomorrow although I haven't checked tracking since day 1.
    Did you get anything yet ?

    edit: Can you do test on the Ryzen 5000 with Spread spectrum enabled vs Spread spectrum disabled and see if there is any mhz change between the two, and maybe stability too.
    Last edited by demonkevy666; 11-23-2020 at 10:21 AM.
    HAVE NO FEAR!
    "AMD fallen angel"
    Quote Originally Posted by Gamekiller View Post
    You didn't get the memo? 1 hour 'Fugger time' is equal to 12 hours of regular time.

  20. #95
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,081
    no clue whats up with fed ex. said friday delivery, friday turned to monday, monday i saw it was still in PA and im in R.I.

    on a side note there is multiple shipments as well as changes to what's incoming which is to sum it up the entire product stack minus vanilla 6800

    as far as the ITX pc no clue what's going on with those guys they are sporadic at best and communication is lacking but i guess eventually I will have a 3080 equipped AMD version and I'll swap boards back and forth for intel 10600/amd 5800 testing
    Last edited by chew*; 11-23-2020 at 10:23 PM.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  21. #96
    Xtreme Enthusiast Shocker003's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    722
    Quote Originally Posted by FlanK3r View Post
    Maybe with some beta BIOS or modding BIOS. I believe, The Stilt could be able modified BIOS for C6H
    Thanks for giving me hope
    I bought an Asus crosshair viii hero. The new 5900x is out of stock in Germany at the moment. I am not ready to pay 900€ for it on ebay
    Maybe online shop will have them in stocks every soon.
    Last edited by Shocker003; 11-24-2020 at 08:44 AM.


    MAIN RIG--:
    ASUS ROG Strix XG32VQ---:AMD Ryzen 7 1700X--Aquacomputer Cuplex Kryos NEXT--:ASUS Crosshair VIII HERO---
    32GB G-Skill AEGIS F4-3000C16S-8GISB --:XFX Radeon VII--EK Vector Radeon VII RGB---:X-Fi Titanium HD modded
    Inter-Tech Coba Nitrox Nobility CN-800 NS 800W 80+ Silver--:Cyborg RAT 8--:Creative Sound BlasterX Vanguard K08

  22. #97
    Xtreme Enthusiast Shocker003's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    722
    Quote Originally Posted by chew* View Post
    You missed the actually hardcore gamer part. keyboards left shift and C aka crouch key are worn right through the paint. so is the mouse 1 button. They are both less than 6 months old.

    So easy to wear out keyboards solo fighting 3 man squads in apex.

    Some of the keys stopped working on MAD CATZ S.T.R.I.K.E TE due to APEX gaming. I equally replaced the right and left switches on my RAT 8 with Kailh GM Red Mouse Micro Switch, after the left switch failed. Good to know that am not alone.
    Last edited by Shocker003; 11-24-2020 at 08:42 AM.


    MAIN RIG--:
    ASUS ROG Strix XG32VQ---:AMD Ryzen 7 1700X--Aquacomputer Cuplex Kryos NEXT--:ASUS Crosshair VIII HERO---
    32GB G-Skill AEGIS F4-3000C16S-8GISB --:XFX Radeon VII--EK Vector Radeon VII RGB---:X-Fi Titanium HD modded
    Inter-Tech Coba Nitrox Nobility CN-800 NS 800W 80+ Silver--:Cyborg RAT 8--:Creative Sound BlasterX Vanguard K08

  23. #98
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,081
    Box showed up today actually 2 guess they held back to deliver both at once. to sum up elgato 4k capture card, 6800xt, 5800x,5900x,5950x, holiday and holiday weekend work wise so won't have much time to do stuff this weekend.

    5700xt a hair longer 6800xt considerably wider

    https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachmen..._135914959.jpg

    https://media.discordapp.net/attachm...679&height=905
    Last edited by chew*; 11-24-2020 at 11:07 AM.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  24. #99
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    3,119
    Nice! My supplier has no RX 6800xt cards list yet. I did get a Ryzen 7 5800x today though


    ~1~
    AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
    GigaByte X570 AORUS LITE
    Trident-Z 3200 CL14 16GB
    AMD Radeon VII
    ~2~
    AMD Ryzen ThreadRipper 2950x
    Asus Prime X399-A
    GSkill Flare-X 3200mhz, CAS14, 64GB
    AMD RX 5700 XT

  25. #100
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,081
    I like the 5800x i just think it's price point makes the 3900x a better value.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •