Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 26

Thread: Different TDP on 3770K?

  1. #1
    Kolinahr Graduate
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    154

    Different TDP on 3770K?

    Heya,

    This is the 3770K I purchased at Microcenter on launch day.

    Batch#: L206B468
    made in (L): Malay
    week number: 06

    TDP on box - 95W









    --------------------


    here is a new 3770K, purchased TODAY from MC (same branch), and the guy told me they got this shipment, literally, few hours before I purchased it.

    Batch#: 3214C301
    made in (3): Costa Rica
    week number: 14

    TDP on box - 77W







    ------------



    a dear friend directed me to this 3770K review by AnandTech:
    Note that max TDP for Ivy Bridge on the desktop has been reduced from 95W down to 77W thanks to Intel's 22nm process. The power savings do roughly follow that 18W decrease in TDP. Despite the power reduction, you may see 95W labels on boxes and OEMs are still asked to design for 95W as Ivy Bridge platforms can accept both 77W IVB and 95W Sandy Bridge parts.
    can you folks put some more light on the subject?
    Are these the first retail 3770K's with the 77W TDP box?
    also, same (very expansive 22nm process) line being produced in two countries? What is the logic behind that?


    rouvio.



    *
    I know and well aware of the Ivy Bridge heating issues due to the process, and the decision to go with higher TDP.
    I'm talking about TDP on the box.
    Last edited by rouvio; 05-17-2012 at 11:32 PM.
    I7 920 On Air! -->
    I7 920 @ DICE -->
    3770K @ DICE -->

  2. #2
    Technician
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Merseyside, UK
    Posts
    2,661
    Wow a 01, never seen one before. Absolute centre wafer according to current theory so it should be good! Fire it up and check temps and clocking .

    They probably did the initial run at 95w to make sure that any IB compatible board has to have a 95w spec VRM. I wouldnt read much more into it.

    They always produce all cpu models at both fabs. This is redundancy for disaster recovery. If anything sent one fab offline that way they can still produce all models of cpu.

  3. #3
    XIP
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    5,523
    77W Costaricas is the worst clocker imc/Mhz wise from a bunch of 3570K...at least on air

    Neweeg's NJ warehouse started to send costas 77w yesterday

    Last edited by Dumo; 05-18-2012 at 12:03 AM.

  4. #4
    Kolinahr Graduate
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    154
    Quote Originally Posted by Dumo View Post
    Neweeg's NJ warehouse started to send costas 77w yesterday
    this was purchased in Mayfield Heights / OH branch of MC.

    I actually came in yesterday to ask for a 3770K, they said they are out of stock.
    they had one that was already in display. I kindly refused..
    the manager suggested to "stop by tomorrow - we get a new shipment of the 3770K CPU's. we sold them like crazy.. I guess people really love them"

    @PiLsY - this is very encouraging to hear!
    unfortunately I will only have the chance to hook up the new cpu in a week and a half.
    I'm using H100 so there should be decent results.
    I7 920 On Air! -->
    I7 920 @ DICE -->
    3770K @ DICE -->

  5. #5
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Gosport, Hampshire UK
    Posts
    220
    I think it's 301 not 01 on the waffer.???
    ASUS RAMPAGE V EXTREME, I7 5960X, 16Gig GSKILL DDR4 2666, CUSTOM WATERCOOLING[/SIZE]

  6. #6
    XIP
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    5,523
    3570K retail, I'm still looking for more 95W L206BXXX with good imc...

    Last edited by Dumo; 05-18-2012 at 02:06 AM.

  7. #7
    Technician
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Merseyside, UK
    Posts
    2,661
    Quote Originally Posted by moorhen2 View Post
    I think it's 301 not 01 on the waffer.???
    Ive had a 944 before, there can't be 1000 cpus per wafer I wouldnt think? All guesswork though, the whole thing could be complete BS!

  8. #8
    Xtremeish
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    1,190
    Quote Originally Posted by PiLsY View Post
    Ive had a 944 before, there can't be 1000 cpus per wafer I wouldnt think? All guesswork though, the whole thing could be complete BS!
    Well, not far. Given that Intel produces these cpu's on 450mm wafers we get just over 159.000mm^2 and that can support around 1066 150mm^2 Ivy's. However ~10%? is lost due to the wafer being circular and some being broken.

    ***Correction, Intel uses 300mm wafers today.
    Last edited by Kallenator; 05-18-2012 at 09:31 AM.
    Aber ja, naturlich Hans nass ist, er steht unter einem Wasserfall - James May
    Hardware: Gigabyte GA-Z87M-D3H, Intel i5 4670k @ 4GHz, Crucial DDR3 BallistiX, Asus GTX 770 DirectCU II, Corsair HX 650W, Samsung 830 256GB, Silverstone Precision -|- Cooling: Noctua NH-C12P SE14

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    121
    Quote Originally Posted by Kallenator View Post
    Well, not far. Given that Intel produces these cpu's on 450mm wafers we get just over 159.000mm^2 and that can support around 1066 150mm^2 Ivy's. However ~10%? is lost due to the wafer being circular and some being broken.
    Why didn't they just make the wafer in square shape?

  10. #10
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    steelcity.pa.usa
    Posts
    3,522
    Isn't the 95w on the box a typo on the first batch?
    When you fire it up in UEFI it shows up at 77w. Same with CPUZ. 77w.
    STARSCREAM
    3570k @ 4.6 GHz | Asus P8Z77-V LK | G.Skill F3-12800CL8D-8GBXM | ASUS GeForce GTX550 Ti
    Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB | Corsair Force GT 120GB | SK hynix 128GB | Samsung 830 64GB
    WD Black 640GB (3) | Seagate 7200rpm 1TB | Dell Perc H310 xflashed to LSI 9211-8i
    Corsair AX750 | CoolerMaster Hyper 212 | Antec P280 | Dell Ultrasharp U2410 | BenQ XL2420T
    ROCCAT Savu | Filco Majestouch-2 TKL w/Cherry MX Reds
    MEGATRON
    3770k @ 4.5GHz | Asus Sabertooth Z77 | G.Skill F3-12800CL8D-8GBXM
    SK hynix 128GB | Mushkin Enhanced Chronos 60GB | WD Red 3TB (4) | Seagate 7200rpm 3TB (2)
    WD Green 2TB (3) | Seagate 7200rpm 1TB | Dell Perc H310 xflashed to LSI 9211-8i (2)
    Corsair AX650 | Corsair H80i

  11. #11
    Registered User Utroz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    68
    Quote Originally Posted by Kallenator View Post
    Well, not far. Given that Intel produces these cpu's on 450mm wafers we get just over 159.000mm^2 and that can support around 1066 150mm^2 Ivy's. However ~10%? is lost due to the wafer being circular and some being broken.
    Intel is currently using 300mm wafers but is supposed to be moving to 450mm in the next year or 2. http://www.intc.com/releasedetail.cf...kw=300mm+wafer
    File Server


    Super Old system
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=371866

  12. #12
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Bangkok,Thailand (DamHot)
    Posts
    2,693
    malay is better than costa????
    Intel Core i5 6600K + ASRock Z170 OC Formula + Galax HOF 4000 (8GBx2) + Antec 1200W OC Version
    EK SupremeHF + BlackIce GTX360 + Swiftech 655 + XSPC ResTop
    Macbook Pro 15" Late 2011 (i7 2760QM + HD 6770M)
    Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 (2014) , Huawei Nexus 6P
    [history system]80286 80386 80486 Cyrix K5 Pentium133 Pentium II Duron1G Athlon1G E2180 E3300 E5300 E7200 E8200 E8400 E8500 E8600 Q9550 QX6800 X3-720BE i7-920 i3-530 i5-750 Semp140@x2 955BE X4-B55 Q6600 i5-2500K i7-2600K X4-B60 X6-1055T FX-8120 i7-4790K

  13. #13
    Holy_COW
    Guest

  14. #14
    Holy_COW
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by PatRaceTin View Post
    malay is better than costa????
    How comes the higher TDP is better?

  15. #15
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    121
    Maybe it was just Intel's typo after all.

  16. #16
    Xtremeish
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    1,190
    Quote Originally Posted by theix View Post
    Why didn't they just make the wafer in square shape?
    Wafer production is not simple, there are probably many reasons to why it is as it is. Read about it here:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wafer_(electronics)
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Czochralski_process

    Quote Originally Posted by Utroz View Post
    Intel is currently using 300mm wafers but is supposed to be moving to 450mm in the next year or 2. http://www.intc.com/releasedetail.cf...kw=300mm+wafer
    Should have checked my sources better, thanks. =)
    Last edited by Kallenator; 05-18-2012 at 09:38 AM.
    Aber ja, naturlich Hans nass ist, er steht unter einem Wasserfall - James May
    Hardware: Gigabyte GA-Z87M-D3H, Intel i5 4670k @ 4GHz, Crucial DDR3 BallistiX, Asus GTX 770 DirectCU II, Corsair HX 650W, Samsung 830 256GB, Silverstone Precision -|- Cooling: Noctua NH-C12P SE14

  17. #17
    Technician
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Merseyside, UK
    Posts
    2,661
    I believe I read a long way back that silicon wafers are spun, so circular shapes aid the manufacturing process. That was over 10 years ago though and I dont trust my memory from yesterday so take that with a pinch of salt!

    My maths has deserted me, how many cpus per 300mm wafer? Wondering if this last 2 or 3 digits thing is off mark .

  18. #18
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Buenos Aires,Argentina
    Posts
    789
    Costa rica rules!...better temps better OC by air...Costa rica everywhere!
    hersounds powered by 121 % overclocking Machine http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=220390 - http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=1917405

    facebook.com/hersounds

    Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4,5 Ghz 24/7 - Galaxy HOF GTX 780 - 8 GB Team Group Xtreem 2666 Cas 11 - 8Gb Avexir Core series 2800 Blue Led - Maximus VI Formula Armor TUF - Corsair Force GT 120 GB SATA 3 - Galaxy Hall of fame 1200 hersounds Limited edition Modular - Antec 620 dual fan mod

  19. #19
    Crunching For The Points! NKrader's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Renton WA, USA
    Posts
    2,891
    Quote Originally Posted by PiLsY View Post
    I believe I read a long way back that silicon wafers are spun, so circular shapes aid the manufacturing process. That was over 10 years ago though and I dont trust my memory from yesterday so take that with a pinch of salt!
    yep still like that
    funny story i worked for shin etsu america a few years back in their silicon ingot production room. its amazing to see these sometimes huge things being made..

    i was part of the clean team i accually cleaned the machines from top to bottom when they were done so they could start next batch

  20. #20
    Technician
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Merseyside, UK
    Posts
    2,661
    Well i'll be! There's life in the old brain yet!

    And dude, that is by far the coolest cleaning job I've ever heard of bar none.

  21. #21
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    MALAYSIA
    Posts
    843
    Quote Originally Posted by Holy_COW View Post
    How comes the higher TDP is better?
    I got Malay batch L215B260 77w printed on the box.
    So there's a mix between 77w/95w and Malay/Costa
    SUCCESSFUL TRADE LIST RM600k+

    ^^ Malaysia's Overclocking Enthusiast Community Website ^^
    Find us at Facebook HERE

    XS Successful Trades:
    G.Skill RipjawsZ 2400C9 4X4GB - sold to easegantini | G.Skill RipjawsX 2133C8 2X2GB - bought from Dumo | 2600K 57X - bought from newhit | 3770K 6750 - bought from Viss | 3770K 6750 - sold to Sniper | 3770K IMC 2800+ - bought from Dumo | G.Skill Pi 2200C7 - bought from websmile | 3770K IMC 2933+ - bought from Viss | DomGT 2kC7 3X2GB - sold to _AntLionBR_ | G.Skill Pi 2133C8 - bought from websmile | DomP 2800C11 - bought from Alex-Ro | Pi 2000C7 - bought from websmile | GTX4 + KVR 1333C9 - bought from TaPaKaH

  22. #22
    NooB MOD
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    5,798
    From TOC - 77w Costa Rica -160'c coldbug, crap IMC when sub zero.
    Xtreme SUPERCOMPUTER
    Nov 1 - Nov 8 Join Now!


    Quote Originally Posted by Jowy Atreides View Post
    Intel is about to get athlon'd
    Athlon64 3700+ KACAE 0605APAW @ 3455MHz 314x11 1.92v/Vapochill || Core 2 Duo E8500 Q807 @ 6060MHz 638x9.5 1.95v LN2 @ -120'c || Athlon64 FX-55 CABCE 0516WPMW @ 3916MHz 261x15 1.802v/LN2 @ -40c || DFI LP UT CFX3200-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 SLI-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra D || Sapphire X1950XT || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 290MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v || 2x256MB G.Skill TCCD @ 350MHz 3-4-4-8 3.1v || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 294MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v

  23. #23
    Xtreme 3D Team
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    8,499
    I thought I saw someone say that there is now a "platform TDP" and CPU TDP, platform including motherboard was supposed to be 95w, CPU 77w. That doesn't make much sense to me though, as different motherboards consume different amounts of power...

    ...
    Quote Originally Posted by [XC] Oj101 View Post
    From TOC - 77w Costa Rica -160'c coldbug, crap IMC when sub zero.
    IMOG at OCF had a CPU with -80 CBB and -110 CB... could not hit 6 GHz XD
    Smile

  24. #24
    NooB MOD
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    5,798
    Ok South Africa as a whole has had better luck than that PLL voltage can move the CB temperature around though.
    Xtreme SUPERCOMPUTER
    Nov 1 - Nov 8 Join Now!


    Quote Originally Posted by Jowy Atreides View Post
    Intel is about to get athlon'd
    Athlon64 3700+ KACAE 0605APAW @ 3455MHz 314x11 1.92v/Vapochill || Core 2 Duo E8500 Q807 @ 6060MHz 638x9.5 1.95v LN2 @ -120'c || Athlon64 FX-55 CABCE 0516WPMW @ 3916MHz 261x15 1.802v/LN2 @ -40c || DFI LP UT CFX3200-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 SLI-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra D || Sapphire X1950XT || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 290MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v || 2x256MB G.Skill TCCD @ 350MHz 3-4-4-8 3.1v || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 294MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v

  25. #25
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    110
    Quote Originally Posted by BeepBeep2 View Post
    I thought I saw someone say that there is now a "platform TDP" and CPU TDP, platform including motherboard was supposed to be 95w, CPU 77w. That doesn't make much sense to me though, as different motherboards consume different amounts of power...
    This is about right. As Intel 7-series LGA1155 needs to officially support Sandy Bridge CPU's, it's fixed to support 95W TDP. Ivy Bridge, on the other hand, is typically 77W TDP CPU's.

    Take a look at AMD mobo's. Some had support for 95W TDP CPU's, whilst there were 125W TDP CPU's of the same series; these weren't supported by the mobo's socket / power features (so in this case, the system was the other way around).

    So, the supported TDP by the mobo doesn't determine the mobo's power draw - which is indeed dependent on the build quality and features of the mobo itself - but is an indication of the officially maximum supported CPU TDP.
    Silverstone Sugo SG08 | Enermax Modu82+ 625W | ASRock Z77E-ITX | Intel Core i5 3570K /w Indigo Xtreme + CoolIT ECO II ALC + Noctua NF-P14 FLX | 2x4GB Samsung M378B5273DH0-CH9 /w Xilence Heat Pipe Duo | Sapphire HD7870 GE | Kingston HyperX T3 120GB | 2TB Samsung Spinpoint F1

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •