Results 1 to 21 of 21

Thread: Why Ati Master Cards clocked to 600MHz while slave 625?

  1. #1
    X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Hellas-->Athens
    Posts
    1,323

    Why Ati Master Cards clocked to 600MHz while slave 625?

    Can someone explain me why the Ati X1800XT Master Cards are clocked to 600MHz core and the Ati X1800XT are clocked to 625MHz core???And same with the memory 1400/1500

    i am a little confused....

    ATI X1800XT Master Card specs:

    - Powered by ATI Radeon R520XT GPU running at 600MHz
    - Based on 0.09 micron manufacturing process
    - 16 ultra efficient extreme pipelines
    - 256MB GDDR3 Memory running at 1400MHz
    - 256-Bit lightning fast memory interface
    - 8 Vertex Shaders/Geometry Pipelines
    - Memory Bandwidth - 45GB/sec
    - Fill Rate - 9.80 billion pixels/sec
    - Vertex and Pixel Shader Version 3.0
    - 10-bit Native Display Quality for future LCD technology
    - ATI® Crossfire™ Ready (Slave card required)
    - 3Dc+ Technology
    - AVIVO Technology - H.264 Support
    - Microsoft® DirectX® 9.0c Shader Model 3.0 support
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------


    ΑTI X1800XT crossfire ready/master required

    - Powered by ATI Radeon R520XT GPU running at 625MHz
    - Based on 0.09 micron manufacturing process
    - 16 ultra efficient extreme pipelines
    - 512MB GDDR3 Memory running at 1500MHz
    - 256-Bit lightning fast memory interface (512-bit Ringbus)
    - 8 Vertex Shaders/Geometry Pipelines
    - Memory Bandwidth - 48GB/sec
    - Fill Rate - 10.00 billion pixels/sec
    - Vertex and Pixel Shader Version 3.0
    - 10-bit Native Display Quality for future LCD technology
    - ATI® Crossfire™ Ready (Crossfire/Master Edition card required)
    - 3Dc+ Technology
    - AVIVO Technology - H.264 Support
    - Microsoft® DirectX® 9.0c Shader Model 3.0 support

  2. #2
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Amherst, MA
    Posts
    187
    256 vs 512mb of ram :/

  3. #3
    X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Hellas-->Athens
    Posts
    1,323
    The same is with the 256mb version.....i copy-pasted a wrong spec..that's all...!

    Ηere,take the same one with 256MB

    - Powered by ATI Radeon R520XT GPU running at 625MHz
    - Based on 0.09 micron manufacturing process
    - 16 ultra efficient extreme pipelines
    - 256MB GDDR3 Memory running at 1500MHz
    - 256-Bit lightning fast memory interface
    - 8 Vertex Shaders/Geometry Pipelines
    - Memory Bandwidth - 48GB/sec
    - Fill Rate - 10.00 billion pixels/sec
    - Vertex and Pixel Shader Version 3.0
    - 10-bit Native Display Quality for future LCD technology
    - ATI® Crossfire™ Ready (Crossfire/Master Edition card required)
    - 3Dc+ Technology
    - AVIVO Technology - H.264 Support
    - Microsoft® DirectX® 9.0c Shader Model 3.0 support

  4. #4
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    3,175
    if u read some crossfire info on the FAQ on www.ati.com it says they dont have to run at equal clocks to work together properly. Don't know why, but it's a fact.

    btw: Can there be done any overclocking on the mastercard or not? Isnt it just a sample of an x1800xt with an extra chip on it?

    Ryzen 9 3900X w/ NH-U14s on MSI X570 Unify
    32 GB Patriot Viper Steel 3733 CL14 (1.51v)
    RX 5700 XT w/ 2x 120mm fan mod (2 GHz)
    Tons of NVMe & SATA SSDs
    LG 27GL850 + Asus MG279Q
    Meshify C white

  5. #5
    Charcoal or propane?
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Kansas City
    Posts
    1,760
    ^ you should be able to OC the master card just like any other card.
    DFI UT X58-T3eH8 (being replaced with Giga UD5)
    Core i7 920 D0 mostly stable @ 4Ghz
    TRUE 120
    6GB OCZ Platinum 7-7-7 (still in testing
    XFX 4890 1GB @ 1050/1190
    Corsair HX850W
    CM Cosmos S

    Still testing...

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    154
    but why dont they make the master card better than the slave in clockspeed instead of the other way around? doesnt make sense to me
    FX8350 --Sabertooth990fx --XFX 5870 --8gb GSkill --Scyth Infiniti --2x120GB Vertex4 RAID0

  7. #7
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    298
    Maybe because the slave has to do the same calcs at the master, plus a few extra this way it doesn't fall behind, what those calc's are I can't think of anything right now.
    ----------TOWER OF POWER----------
    Dell 2405 FPW 24' LCD
    Amd 64 +3200 @ 2.929ghz @ 1.5vcore
    Msi Neo2 Plat Does ~385htt
    Ocz Pc4800 Plats @ 292 2.5-3-3-7 @ 2.85v
    Ocz Powerstream 520 watt
    Ati 9800pro @ 470/360
    2 X WD 36gb Raptors Raid 0
    WD 16Mb Sata2 250gb
    All on air, loud and very bright.

  8. #8
    The Blue Dolphin
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,981
    Maybe they pick the cores after they have been put on the PCB already. The mastercards have some extra components so they are more expensive to make. ATI wants to be sure all cards can do stock speed so they clock the card at 600mhz.

    It's just a stupid theory
    Blue Dolphin Reviews & Guides

    Blue Reviews:
    Gigabyte G-Power PRO CPU cooler
    Vantec Nexstar 3.5" external HDD enclosure
    Gigabyte Poseidon 310 case


    Blue Guides:
    Fixing a GFX BIOS checksum yourself


    98% of the internet population has a Myspace. If you're part of the 2% that isn't an emo bastard, copy and paste this into your sig.

  9. #9
    Stop...Ban-Hammer Time!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    3,726
    Why on earth would they charge MORE for a slower card, and make the MASTER card slower than the slave... it SHOULD definitely be the other way around.

  10. #10
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Montana, USA
    Posts
    512
    Because the master is equiped with additional logic chips to combine the outputs of two cards. Hence it is more expensive.

  11. #11
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    425
    Quote Originally Posted by DilTech
    Why on earth would they charge MORE for a slower card
    because you have to buy that slower card in order to have crossfire work unless you dont have crossfire that is

  12. #12
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Brighton, UK
    Posts
    1,019
    Are they bringing out x1800xl crossfire mastercards? if not i think alexio is on to something.

  13. #13
    Stop...Ban-Hammer Time!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    3,726
    No, only x1800xt CF cards, those will be compatible with both the XL and XT.

  14. #14
    Admin
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Ann Arbor, MI
    Posts
    13,106
    I'm pretty sure they can test before it gets on PCB as well....

    Anyway, the X850 CF cards are some of the best OCers, even if they weren't clocked as high as a Platinum Edition stock. I'm expecting the same to repeat here.

  15. #15
    X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Hellas-->Athens
    Posts
    1,323
    And the Master Cards will be only produced by Saphire???

  16. #16
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    717
    where do you get the info?
    Microsoft's homepage can be found at: thesource-dot-ofallevil-dot-com - interesting, no?

    Think of something witty and imagine it here.

  17. #17
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Montana, USA
    Posts
    512
    Quote Originally Posted by GoriLLakoS
    And the Master Cards will be only produced by Saphire???

    I have heard this as well. maybe on the inquirer? We'll see if that holds out to be true as demand initially peaks.

  18. #18
    X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Hellas-->Athens
    Posts
    1,323
    @Stuperman... hmmmm...i can't reveal my info-man......

    @Lex Diamonds...not there m8....

    Where are the Ati support men to answer our question ???

  19. #19
    Admin
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Ann Arbor, MI
    Posts
    13,106
    ATi themselves have said that they're going to be the only distributor of Master Cards....Sapphire makes all their cards.

  20. #20
    X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Hellas-->Athens
    Posts
    1,323
    Quote Originally Posted by Vapor
    ATi themselves have said that they're going to be the only distributor of Master Cards....Sapphire makes all their cards.
    yeap......but....you never know....

  21. #21
    Admin
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Ann Arbor, MI
    Posts
    13,106
    It would be the same thing to them, frankly...

    I bet we'll only see ONE of them sell though though

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •