Page 11 of 35 FirstFirst ... 89101112131421 ... LastLast
Results 251 to 275 of 861

Thread: Ryzen - Return of the Jedi

  1. #251
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,085
    Thats typical when stressing amd imc. The more things change the more they stay the same.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  2. #252
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    1,557
    Quote Originally Posted by chew* View Post
    Thats typical when stressing amd imc. The more things change the more they stay the same.
    Oh I know I was just posting my findings for the masses.



  3. #253
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    36
    Do we have control over how much voltage IMC gets? Half the extra voltages on my ASRock don't even have names beyond "1.8v control thing", so I personally have no idea.

    FX 8350 @ 5.11ghz | Gigabyte 990FXA UD5 | 16GB Mushkin Blackline | 7970 @ 1.2ghz
    core i7 920 @ 4.05ghz | asus p6t deluxe | 6GB G. Skill @ ~1.6ghz | 7970 @ 1.2ghz - 6ghz - 1.2v
    Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz | 1gb G. Skill @ ~520mhz |4870 1GB | asus a8n32 sli

  4. #254
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,085
    I will show a screenshot soon with voltages i used for all testing.

    You may be able to correlate names to voltages then. I think this board has some voltages locked out that ch6 has.

    I really have not looked to see a screenshot of there voltage page in bios.

    Maybe stilt would know better.

    I would assume 1.35v into memory goes into cpu imc however.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  5. #255
    Xtreme Owner Charles Wirth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    12,379
    Seen anything on reviving a Asus C6H board?

    Tonight I am set to fire up the 1700+ and hope for 5Ghz with memory speed and timing.
    Last edited by Charles Wirth; 03-21-2017 at 01:47 PM.
    Intel 9990XE @ 5.1Ghz
    ASUS Rampage VI Extreme Omega
    GTX 2080 ti Galax Hall of Fame
    64GB Galax Hall of Fame
    Intel Optane
    Platimax 1245W

    Intel 3175X
    Asus Dominus Extreme
    GRX 1080ti Galax Hall of Fame
    96GB Patriot Steel
    Intel Optane 900P RAID

  6. #256
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,085
    Try soldering a 12v bulb to leads with alligator clips.

    Pull battery stick a jumper on clr cmos and the bulb setup on cmos battery terminals. It may speed up process.

    Either that or let it sit a day or two unplugged no battery
    Last edited by chew*; 03-21-2017 at 02:07 PM.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  7. #257
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,085
    Ok Here goes timings versus fabric single rank and dual rank.

    Single rank 2933


    Single rank 3200


    Dual Rank 2666


    Dual rank 2933


    Conclusion

    Single rank speed + fabric wins

    Dual rank Application specific tossup.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  8. #258
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    1,557
    Quote Originally Posted by FUGGER View Post
    Seen anything on reviving a Asus C6H board?

    Tonight I am set to fire up the 1700+ and hope for 5Ghz with memory speed and timing.
    I have not and I have had no luck using crashfree reflash, new CPU's or anything else along those lines. It seems once it fails that flash it is dead.



  9. #259
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,085
    As promised.

    Bios setting voltages used through all memory testing.

    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  10. #260
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    578
    Quote Originally Posted by sdlvx View Post
    Do we have control over how much voltage IMC gets? Half the extra voltages on my ASRock don't even have names beyond "1.8v control thing", so I personally have no idea.
    Should be listed as MEM VDDIO or similar.

    You will also want to bring MEM VTT up to half your MEM VDDIO value.

  11. #261
    Xtreme XIP
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    1,559
    Chew i'm glad to see that you got Hynix mem dual rank memory to work at 2933 divider . I have tried many combinations on my Hynix ram for testing purposes. The best i can do is 2666 at 18-18-18-36 2T. I have left Cas alone at 18 as anything lower does not work at all , so that confirms there is some kind of hole at anything below for that , same findings as infrared and you. I cannot get any other timing changed as soon as i start to do baby steps starting to tight latencies it's a no go for me and my ram. Tried 18-17-18-36 did not boot , it hangs. tried 18-18-17-36 same , 18-17-17-36 same and so on ...

    Testing last night for a few hours and i end it up with a completely trashed and corrupted windows 10 due to many blue screens. I need to re install windows today to keep on memory testing on Hynix Dual Rank.




  12. #262
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,085
    Chipsy.

    I would not bother trying to tighten up crazy like i did. I was on a "qualification" bios for that 14-10-10 and 18-11-11 stuff. Its quite buggy also dropping devices alot. I did my testing and jumped back off it...its that bad.

    I was using it to explore imc to see what the real hard limits of imc is versus what we are locked out of.

    The 16-14-14 2666 is public bios as was the 18-16-16 with hard locked timings. Cant go tighter.

    All this was B die.

    The high bin hynix DR i have are super unstable but at least i know how to get them to post now.

    For corrupted OS i suggest bubblegum and paper clips. That is holding mine together

    Anyway i have been on a trip yet again...gonna take a nap then flash a new bios with hopefully the fix i asked for and see if it got better or worse.
    Last edited by chew*; 03-23-2017 at 01:06 PM.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  13. #263
    Xtreme XIP
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    1,559
    Quote Originally Posted by chew* View Post
    Chipsy.

    I would not bother trying to tighten up crazy like i did. I was on a "qualification" bios for that 14-10-10 and 18-11-11 stuff. Its quite buggy also dropping devices alot. I did my testing and jumped back off it...its that bad.

    I was using it to explore imc to see what the real hard limits of imc is versus what we are locked out of.

    The 16-14-14 2666 is public bios as was the 18-16-16 with hard locked timings. Cant go tighter.

    All this was B die.

    The high bin hynix DR i have are super unstable but at least i know how to get them to post now.

    For corrupted OS i suggest bubblegum and paper clips. That is holding mine together

    Anyway i have been on a trip yet again...gonna take a nap then flash a new bios with hopefully the fix i asked for and see if it got better or worse.
    Thank you for the feedback Chew , yep Hynix are very , very unstable and almost impossible to make them run at decent speeds or timings :/ , no worries i bought a full box of bubblegum and paper clips . My Sammies B-die can go ~3300Mhz cas 12 no problem whatsoever

    Regards: Chispy

  14. #264
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,085
    Solder pads. Left SOC +/- Right VCORE +/-



    Grounds on right side of pads. Positive on left sides of pads.


    Soldered to a spare molex extender for ease of use. YMMV.


    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  15. #265
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    8
    Thx for all the info in this thread very intriguing

    Does anybody know if this is Samsung or Hynix it comes up as single rank but can not find what ic brand it is without taking off the HS ..

    G.SKILL F4-3200C14D-16GTZ

    Just found out here Its Samsung

    http://www.overclock.net/t/1624603/r...locking-thread
    Last edited by Harney; 03-25-2017 at 07:59 AM.

  16. #266
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,085
    The outcome of knowing your voltage vs guessing. 1.39-1.41 measured vcore, 1.0 SOC




    Now I need to test some other chips to see what they changed memory wise in 0511 or if this IMC is a dud as I can not get 3200 to not toss errors.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  17. #267
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    159
    Dont know, but Maybe will help

    tRAS=CL + tRCD + tRP

    Also:

    Write to Read Delay + CAS Lese zu Precharge Zeitspanne = Zeitspanne der Schreibewiederherstellung

    https://abload.de/img/speichert2jii.png

    Works well on AM3+
    Last edited by techtrancer; 03-25-2017 at 01:07 PM.


    FX-9370 @ 4.7 GHz @ 1,44 V | NB @ 2286 MHz @ 1,21V
    32 GB 1600 CL11 1,5V @ 846 MHz @ CL 9-9-9 @ 1,4V
    MORA 2 + Laing D5 + 9 x 120mm @ 5V
    Gigabyte GA-970A UD3 Rev. 1.2
    XFX HD7750 2GB Core Edition
    Samsung 850 Pro 512GB

  18. #268
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,085
    Been there done that dropped all timings dropped all voltages raised all voltages. Changed bios.

    Conclusion = imc

    Why IMC?

    2 chips exhibit same behavior.

    1 does not.
    Last edited by chew*; 03-25-2017 at 02:14 PM.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  19. #269
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    159
    Is the Chip who does not newer?


    FX-9370 @ 4.7 GHz @ 1,44 V | NB @ 2286 MHz @ 1,21V
    32 GB 1600 CL11 1,5V @ 846 MHz @ CL 9-9-9 @ 1,4V
    MORA 2 + Laing D5 + 9 x 120mm @ 5V
    Gigabyte GA-970A UD3 Rev. 1.2
    XFX HD7750 2GB Core Edition
    Samsung 850 Pro 512GB

  20. #270
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    1,557




    Found out the ram does CL14, cinebench scores didn't change with the tighter timings






  21. #271
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,085
    Quote Originally Posted by techtrancer View Post
    Is the Chip who does not newer?
    1800x = 2933 fine

    1700x = 2933 fine

    1700 = 3200 fine

    I would say...the 3200 capable cpus are not as common.

    Im running custom blend 13,312 mb allocated to prime 95...it takes maybe 5 mins tops then you start to see cores start dropping threads randomly. Not the same cores if you repeat.

    Tested single stick pass. Tested other stick pass. Explored all voltages up and down. Slacked timings. Tried lowering cpu speed.

    Found one particular voltage that gave me a little more stability got me through 20 mins... Then same outcome.
    Last edited by chew*; 03-25-2017 at 03:49 PM.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  22. #272
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    159
    Hm
    Maybe the CPU multiplier makes Problems?
    The PII X6 have Little Bit Problems with 200x10
    200x9 ore 200x11 works better than 200x10


    FX-9370 @ 4.7 GHz @ 1,44 V | NB @ 2286 MHz @ 1,21V
    32 GB 1600 CL11 1,5V @ 846 MHz @ CL 9-9-9 @ 1,4V
    MORA 2 + Laing D5 + 9 x 120mm @ 5V
    Gigabyte GA-970A UD3 Rev. 1.2
    XFX HD7750 2GB Core Edition
    Samsung 850 Pro 512GB

  23. #273
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,085
    I thought about that to so played with even multis versus .25 .50 .75 etc also tried 39 and 40.

    The good thing is i can get it to happen quick so easy to test stuff and move on to the next.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  24. #274
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Lexington, KY
    Posts
    401
    Got my waterblock in yesterday and just got my X370-Pro set up. Couldn't even install windows at 2133 MHz DRAM with the shipping BIOS, but 0511 seems to have fixed that. Doesn't give me great hope for the chip if IMC quality seems to vary as much as chew has seen.

    *EDIT* Has AIDA64 been updated to properly report Ryzen 1*00X temperatures? The release notes mention "improved support" for Summit Ridge CPUs and I'm seeing load temps in the mid 40s using its stress test. Seems about right to me.
    Last edited by Oberon; 03-25-2017 at 06:40 PM.
    Gaming Box

    Ryzen R7 1700X * ASUS PRIME X370-Pro * 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200 * XFX Radeon RX 480 8GB * Corsair HX620 * 250GB Crucial BX100 * 1TB Seagate 7200.11

    EK Supremacy MX * Swiftech MCR320 * 3x Fractal Venture HP-12 * EK D5 PWM

  25. #275
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    1,557
    @chew* so I have been playing with my IMC some. I am not claiming stability on this, but it runs this 32M and 3dmark so far




Page 11 of 35 FirstFirst ... 89101112131421 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •