MMM
Results 1 to 22 of 22

Thread: MSI Afterburner Unlocking Clocks

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    13

    Wink MSI Afterburner Unlocking Clocks

    Hello everybody a simple way to unlock more clocks to afterburner is to change the .dat file
    3 programs:
    Riva Tuner
    Evga precision
    MSI AB
    All of them with the same database
    I modify(a little)the already custom .dat file from shamino and the result is here:

    http://www.2shared.com/file/LTIEbOha...terburner.html

    just replace it @MsiAfterBurner folder with named msiafterburner.dat
    I suggest you to keep a backup from the original dat file in case of error
    Wish I help,FK

  2. #2
    -100C Club Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Somewhere off topic
    Posts
    516
    Nice one

    Or you can use the Afterburner Extreme versions....

    http://www.thermo-skunk.com/stuff/af...rSetup151x.exe

    http://www.thermo-skunk.com/stuff/af...up160Beta4.rar

    or

    http://www.thermo-skunk.com/stuff/af...60x_Beta_6.rar

    One works for the 5870 one works for the 480, can't remember what the last one is for
    MSI did feck all for me and I don't care, I'm out of this game now, have fun and enjoy mate
    Last edited by Dualist; 10-23-2010 at 10:41 AM.
    Quote Originally Posted by jimmyz View Post
    sorry to hear about the dead cards, but.. If stuff ain't dieing, you aren't trying.

    נְפִילִים

  3. #3
    Wanna look under my kilt?
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Glasgow-ish U.K.
    Posts
    4,509
    Great first post! Thanks!

    Welcome to XS
    Quote Originally Posted by T_M View Post
    Not sure i totally follow anything you said, but regardless of that you helped me come up with a very good idea....
    Quote Originally Posted by soundood View Post
    you sigged that?

    why?
    ______

    Sometimes, it's not your time. Sometimes, you have to make it your time. Sometimes, it can ONLY be your time.

  4. #4
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    768
    Dave, you're out of the game??

  5. #5
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    5,584
    i hope its temporary heheheh


  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    13
    Ty guys I ussually post @other forums but I posted just for help if somebody wanted more
    yeah I know for the xtreme versions also I heard that the support more voltage@core
    offtopic:can a card get burned if I apply AS5 @core/mems/mossfets(of card)
    or I have to apply it only @core(I am not sure aboout mem and mossfets)
    Ty once again guys

  7. #7
    Turkey Man
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Jakarta (ex-Australia)
    Posts
    2,584
    Does this file work on AB2.00?

  8. #8
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Vietnam Overclocker Zone
    Posts
    141
    Quote Originally Posted by Dualist View Post
    Nice one

    Or you can use the Afterburner Extreme versions....

    http://www.thermo-skunk.com/stuff/af...rSetup151x.exe

    http://www.thermo-skunk.com/stuff/af...p160Beta4x.rar

    or

    http://www.thermo-skunk.com/stuff/af...60x_Beta_6.rar

    One works for the 5870 one works for the 480, can't remember what the last one is for
    MSI did feck all for me and I don't care, I'm out of this game now, have fun and enjoy mate
    1.51x for HD5870, 1.6B6x for GTX480

  9. #9
    all outta gum
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    3,393
    Quote Originally Posted by T_M View Post
    Does this file work on AB2.00?
    No... looks like AB 2.00 has a much bigger .dat file using a different layout
    www.teampclab.pl
    MOA 2009 Poland #2, AMD Black Ops 2010, MOA 2011 Poland #1, MOA 2011 EMEA #12

    Test bench: empty

  10. #10
    Turkey Man
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Jakarta (ex-Australia)
    Posts
    2,584
    160b4 link is broken

    160b6 RAR seems broken

  11. #11
    -100C Club Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Somewhere off topic
    Posts
    516
    Sorry Tim, I've fixored..!! (I think)

    MSI Extreme 150 for pre 5870 and 480 cards.

    MSI Extreme 151x for 5870.

    MSI Extreme 160 beta4 for 480.

    MSI Extreme 160 beta6 can't remember what this fixed for the 480.

    Enjoy.
    Last edited by Dualist; 10-23-2010 at 11:08 AM.
    Quote Originally Posted by jimmyz View Post
    sorry to hear about the dead cards, but.. If stuff ain't dieing, you aren't trying.

    נְפִילִים

  12. #12
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    MA/NH
    Posts
    1,254
    do they work for gtx 470 also?
    Mpower Max | 4770k | H100 | 16gb Sammy 30nm 1866 | GTX780 SC | Xonar Essence Stx | BIC DV62si | ATH AD700 | 550d | AX850 | VG24QE | 840pro 256gb | 640black | 2tb | CherryReds | m60 | Func1030 |
    HEAT

  13. #13
    -100C Club Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Somewhere off topic
    Posts
    516
    I think the beta 6 works for that... try it, nothing to lose man
    Quote Originally Posted by jimmyz View Post
    sorry to hear about the dead cards, but.. If stuff ain't dieing, you aren't trying.

    נְפִילִים

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    bournemouth, uk
    Posts
    51
    Quote Originally Posted by Rattle View Post
    do they work for gtx 470 also?
    was wondering the same thing .

    edit: cheers dualist but unfortunately it doesnt seem to want too work .

    heres a screeny of what happens when i run the exe.

    .

    any ideas what is wrong or what i'm doing wrong?.
    Last edited by ezgonzo; 10-23-2010 at 12:16 PM.

  15. #15
    -100C Club Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Somewhere off topic
    Posts
    516
    Last edited by Dualist; 10-23-2010 at 01:11 PM.
    Quote Originally Posted by jimmyz View Post
    sorry to hear about the dead cards, but.. If stuff ain't dieing, you aren't trying.

    נְפִילִים

  16. #16
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    bournemouth, uk
    Posts
    51
    thanks dualist, all install fine.

    i've tryed all of them and these are my results, please be aware that these results only apply if your considering using the apps with a 470.

    MSI Extreme 150 for pre 5870 and 480 cards. no core voltage control. + freq's incorrect

    MSI Extreme 151x for 5870. no core voltage control. + freq's incorrect

    MSI Extreme 160 beta4 for 480 . unable to read or change core freq's or voltage

    MSI Extreme 160 beta6 can't remember what this fixed for the 480. all setting's correct, in order to change core clock raise shader clock.

    thanks dualist
    Last edited by ezgonzo; 10-23-2010 at 04:13 PM.

  17. #17
    -100C Club Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Somewhere off topic
    Posts
    516
    With the 480's you only change core clock by adjusting the shader clock, adjust shader and check gpuz mate as they're linked .
    Last edited by Dualist; 10-23-2010 at 02:43 PM.
    Quote Originally Posted by jimmyz View Post
    sorry to hear about the dead cards, but.. If stuff ain't dieing, you aren't trying.

    נְפִילִים

  18. #18
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    1,015
    when i want more clocks in afterburner i just set it to the higest mhz on the slider save it and then close it and reopen it and now there is more clocks on the slider and it works on all the versions of afterburner
    The man with the littel Barebone!
    And proud Crew of!!!
    Octeamdenmark.com
    Shuttle SX38P2Pro Barebone E8600cpu and HD4870X2 gfx and 2gig Crusial Ballistix PC8500 Cl5 and 2x150gig Raptor in raid 0 and 1x750 gig seagate
    Msi 790FX-GD70 Mobo Amd 955-965 PHII cpus and 2gig Crucial value PC10600@800mhz 7-5-5-15 1T
    And 4x500GB Seagate 7200.12 in raid0
    4xHD5770 in CFQ.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  19. #19
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    bournemouth, uk
    Posts
    51
    Quote Originally Posted by Dualist View Post
    With the 480's you only change core clock by adjusting the shader clock, adjust shader and check gpuz mate as they're linked .
    cheers m8, just had a whizz and the 160 beta 6 one does infact up the core clock on this 470 when i up the shader so alls good,

    cheers again
    ez

  20. #20
    Turkey Man
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Jakarta (ex-Australia)
    Posts
    2,584
    I have no problem identifying the correct core/shader clocks on 1.60b6.
    Get the .dat file in this thread and replace in your installed directory.
    Then open in notepad and change the bottom entry '0' to '1' in the 470 clocking section at the bottom of the file.

  21. #21
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Near Philly, Pa
    Posts
    1,130
    Will v1.60Beta6 work with the GTX 580?

  22. #22
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    3,000
    Quote Originally Posted by FireKiller View Post
    Ty guys I ussually post @other forums but I posted just for help if somebody wanted more
    yeah I know for the xtreme versions also I heard that the support more voltage@core
    offtopic:can a card get burned if I apply AS5 @core/mems/mossfets(of card)
    or I have to apply it only @core(I am not sure aboout mem and mossfets)

    Ty once again guys
    Arctic Silver is not so much conductive as it is capacitive - best to use something electrically inert like MX-2 or MX-3 for mosfets
    Ci7 990X::Rampage III Extreme::12GB Corsair Dominator 1866C7GT::2 x EVGA SC Titans in SLI::Corsair AX1200::TJ07::Watercooled
    Ci7 920 3849B018::Rampage II Extreme::6GB GSKILL Trident 2000C9 BBSE::EVGA GTX580::Antec Signature SG850::TJ09::Aircooled w/TRUE 120X

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •