MMM
Page 42 of 54 FirstFirst ... 323940414243444552 ... LastLast
Results 1,026 to 1,050 of 1343

Thread: ASUS AMD Beta BIOS Releases

  1. #1026
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Mandala Rang
    Posts
    30
    looks like 3706 might be on the horizon too yippee

  2. #1027
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    20
    Found another not fixed bug on M4A89GTD PRO/USB3: with bios 1703, as with all other, Primary Video Controller option doesn't work at all, videocard in lower pci-e slot is always Primary...
    Nya-nya-nya...
    ------------------------------------
    CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1055T @ 3.9 Ghz
    MB: ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3
    COOLER: Scythe Infinity, 2xKama Flow 2 Fans
    RAM: 2x2 GB Transcend DDR3-1333
    VIDEO: MSI R6950 TwinFrozr II 2 GB+ASUS GeForce 8600GT 256 MB
    HDD: WD 1 TB EALS
    PSU: SeaSonic X-650
    ODD: Asus DRW-1608P2S+Teac DW-548D

  3. #1028
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by -Px- View Post
    Found another not fixed bug on M4A89GTD PRO/USB3: with bios 1703, as with all other, Primary Video Controller option doesn't work at all, videocard in lower pci-e slot is always Primary...
    Was having the upper slot as the primary ever a design choice for this board? I thought the bottom slot was always supposed to be the primary...

    I can confirm though that the mixed board arrangement (ATI & Nvidia) does not work with ATI in the primary and Nvidia in the secondary. The board ignores the Nvidia card as before.
    | Case: Cooler Master | PSU: Corsair TX650W | MoBo: ASUS M4A89GTD Pro/USB3 | CPU: AMD Phenom 1055T @3.9 | CPU Cooler: Corsair H50 | RAM: GSkill DDR3 2x2GB @ 1867 | GFX01: HD5850 | GFX02: 9600GT | HDD: Kingston SSD 128GB | DVD1: LG BD-ROM | DVD2: ASUS DVD-RW |Monitor: Asus 1080p |

  4. #1029
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    20
    Quote Originally Posted by taz2 View Post
    Was having the upper slot as the primary ever a design choice for this board? I thought the bottom slot was always supposed to be the primary...
    Then for what reasons "Primary Video Controller" option was added to BIOS?
    Nya-nya-nya...
    ------------------------------------
    CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1055T @ 3.9 Ghz
    MB: ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3
    COOLER: Scythe Infinity, 2xKama Flow 2 Fans
    RAM: 2x2 GB Transcend DDR3-1333
    VIDEO: MSI R6950 TwinFrozr II 2 GB+ASUS GeForce 8600GT 256 MB
    HDD: WD 1 TB EALS
    PSU: SeaSonic X-650
    ODD: Asus DRW-1608P2S+Teac DW-548D

  5. #1030
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    91
    Quote Originally Posted by -Px- View Post
    Found another not fixed bug on M4A89GTD PRO/USB3: with bios 1703, as with all other, Primary Video Controller option doesn't work at all, videocard in lower pci-e slot is always Primary...
    I had the same happen when I had the HD5750/8800GT-physx combo. No matter what I tried, the bios/cpu-z and windows, read the 8800 as if it were my primary/gpu-0.

  6. #1031
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    US, MI
    Posts
    1,680
    Has anyone tried upping cpu-vdda to compensate for the vcore increase that you'de need to go from 100% llc to 50% llc?

    The idea, increase vdda so you don't have to increase vcore.
    Then you can use 50% llc and prevent spikes (less fluctuation overall).

    I just noticed that decreasing vdda to 2.2v, I failed prime and had some issues in opera that I attribute to a low vcore, even though it's the same level that just pased 14hrs of it.
    So I increases to 2.3v, and all seems well.

    I'm thinking, instead of running another 12hrs run at vdda 2.3v, I should be focusing on decreasing the vcore back to it's min (which isn't to far...) and increasing the vdda to compensate for the loss of 100% llc.
    Gaining back my lower vcore advantage that I had with 100% llc.

    Sound feasible?
    I'm gonna try in 10mins...


    Edit:
    Tried, I'll mess with it more later, maybe with more vdda I can go down a step or 2 in vcore but it needs more testing.
    So far notta, only diff is the cpu is slightly faster (after 2.675v the speed diff dropped).
    Same goes for the nb 1.8v voltage, so far increasing it a notch hasn't allowed me to lower the nb voltage or keep the pcie bus stable (which upping the nb voltage one step is doing so far).

    I know this probably isn't the right thread to ask but, what's the vddr voltage setting that's around 1.2v stock?
    Where does it go to?

    And am I right to "assume" :\ that the chipset nb 1.8v setting is a pll voltage setting thing ?, just like vdda is to the vcore...
    Forgive me but I don't wanna take out my board and use a resistance meter with a 2nd pc running to map out stuff...
    Last edited by NEOAethyr; 02-12-2011 at 01:58 AM.

  7. #1032
    I am Xtreme zanzabar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SF bay area, CA
    Posts
    15,856
    did any1 test 1102 for the m4a89td pro, any chance that it fixes the ram clocking with micron kits
    5930k, R5E, samsung 8GBx4 d-die, vega 56, wd gold 8TB, wd 4TB red, 2TB raid1 wd blue 5400
    samsung 840 evo 500GB, HP EX 1TB NVME , CM690II, swiftech h220, corsair 750hxi

  8. #1033
    Xtreme 3D Team
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    8,491
    Quote Originally Posted by zanzabar View Post
    did any1 test 1102 for the m4a89td pro, any chance that it fixes the ram clocking with micron kits
    I've got a set of ballistix 1600 C8 here, would you like me to test them?
    I've got the Pro/USB3 board, but I'm on bios 1101.
    I really dont feel comfortable pushing 2.2-2.3v through my 1100T after what chew* has said about Thuban and memory voltage.
    Smile

  9. #1034
    I am Xtreme zanzabar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SF bay area, CA
    Posts
    15,856
    Quote Originally Posted by BeepBeep2 View Post
    I've got a set of ballistix 1600 C8 here, would you like me to test them?
    I've got the Pro/USB3 board, but I'm on bios 1101.
    I really dont feel comfortable pushing 2.2-2.3v through my 1100T after what chew* has said about Thuban and memory voltage.
    what did chew say, i run 1.8-1.9 but my kit dose nit like volts as much as the gtr as i have gts. i just knew that they did not clock well and i want to make sure i run a board that will clock them properly before i try and rma as i currently cannot go over about 1530mhz and be stable but back on 775 i could get over 2ghz with cas7 and i think it was also with pl7 or 8 (im not sure it was a few years ago now)

    anyways is the bios stable.
    5930k, R5E, samsung 8GBx4 d-die, vega 56, wd gold 8TB, wd 4TB red, 2TB raid1 wd blue 5400
    samsung 840 evo 500GB, HP EX 1TB NVME , CM690II, swiftech h220, corsair 750hxi

  10. #1035
    Xtreme 3D Team
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    8,491
    Quote Originally Posted by zanzabar View Post
    what did chew say, i run 1.8-1.9 but my kit dose nit like volts as much as the gtr as i have gts. i just knew that they did not clock well and i want to make sure i run a board that will clock them properly before i try and rma as i currently cannot go over about 1530mhz and be stable but back on 775 i could get over 2ghz with cas7 and i think it was also with pl7 or 8 (im not sure it was a few years ago now)

    anyways is the bios stable.
    My sticks are GTS, I've also got a kit with a bad stick from chew that doesn't like to go over 1.8 or it errors in memtest (subsequently BSOD's). ...so I've got 4 GTS sticks here and that's why I offered to help. We run similar boards, and I'm running a bios dated from December.

    GTS take 1.8-2.3 fine imo, GTR likes 2.0-2.4 to get results.

    chew said Thuban IMC gets screwy close to 1.8 I believe, he didnt want to run sticks above 1.7. I'd be happy to throw in the 965 or 565 with the good set and attempt to overclock them, I know I had 1M at 7-6-6 the first day I played with DDR3 when him, simon, and chispy donated me some things.
    Smile

  11. #1036
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    74
    Quote Originally Posted by jamesrb View Post

    Its too old to be anything important. The date of the bios was 08/2010 (wonder why it took so long to get it up)
    Hope there will be something new soon, something with the fixes / tweaks that bingo13 promised us years... um I mean month ago

  12. #1037
    Xtreme 3D Team
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    8,491
    Quote Originally Posted by zanzabar View Post
    what did chew say, i run 1.8-1.9 but my kit dose nit like volts as much as the gtr as i have gts. i just knew that they did not clock well and i want to make sure i run a board that will clock them properly before i try and rma as i currently cannot go over about 1530mhz and be stable but back on 775 i could get over 2ghz with cas7 and i think it was also with pl7 or 8 (im not sure it was a few years ago now)

    anyways is the bios stable.
    I understand it's a different model but fundamentally the same. As far as I know from what chew stated in the "Best ram for AMD" thread, the 2x2 GB (dual sided) D9 sticks dont clock as well.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Smile

  13. #1038
    I am Xtreme zanzabar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SF bay area, CA
    Posts
    15,856
    thats some rather good clocks compaired to what i can pull. and the td pro and td pro usb3 are the same boards the usb3 just has the extra chip plugged in, they also had the same bios checksums in the past and numbers so i assumed the same bios.
    5930k, R5E, samsung 8GBx4 d-die, vega 56, wd gold 8TB, wd 4TB red, 2TB raid1 wd blue 5400
    samsung 840 evo 500GB, HP EX 1TB NVME , CM690II, swiftech h220, corsair 750hxi

  14. #1039
    I am Xtreme zanzabar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SF bay area, CA
    Posts
    15,856
    i updated and still get no clocks and crashes/no boot if i try so time to rma the ram (and not feel bad about it since i did not over volt it, and it was alot of money)
    5930k, R5E, samsung 8GBx4 d-die, vega 56, wd gold 8TB, wd 4TB red, 2TB raid1 wd blue 5400
    samsung 840 evo 500GB, HP EX 1TB NVME , CM690II, swiftech h220, corsair 750hxi

  15. #1040
    Xtreme 3D Team
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    8,491
    Quote Originally Posted by zanzabar View Post
    i updated and still get no clocks and crashes/no boot if i try so time to rma the ram (and not feel bad about it since i did not over volt it, and it was alot of money)
    Well, let me hunt up chew*'s thoughts on dual sided D9 modules...it's gonna take a while.
    Smile

  16. #1041
    I am Xtreme zanzabar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SF bay area, CA
    Posts
    15,856
    with the new bios i can clock them in single channel (and surprisingly not raising the timings but uping the clocks from 1:3 to 1:4 gave the same aida results even though i changed to single channel mode.)

    so right now im doing 1644 with 1.825V on the ram and 7-7-7-18-30 1T (what they are rated for +44mhz)
    Last edited by zanzabar; 02-13-2011 at 03:08 PM.
    5930k, R5E, samsung 8GBx4 d-die, vega 56, wd gold 8TB, wd 4TB red, 2TB raid1 wd blue 5400
    samsung 840 evo 500GB, HP EX 1TB NVME , CM690II, swiftech h220, corsair 750hxi

  17. #1042
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    US, MI
    Posts
    1,680
    Quote Originally Posted by chew* View Post
    My personal reccomendations for 24/7 users is 50% core only LLC and leave the rest auto only on thuban, its not needed for deneb.

    My personal reccomendation for ln2 users is 100% llc cpu, 50% llc CPU_NB and OCP disabled for NB and CPU, if you must for whatever reason feel the need for PWM run 500K while on ln2...............
    1 ?
    The cpu-nb llc, are there any oddities with using a 100% value for that?
    Obviously there are issues with 100% on the cpu, but I'm wondering if it has a negative effect on the cpu-nb as well.

    So far I haven't need any extra voltage on my cpu-nb at all going from 100% to 50%.
    But I still haven't went back and checked to see if I can lower the voltage.
    I'm curious to know if using a 100% llc setting for cpu-nb will help anything or just make things worse.

    I should probably stick with 50% anyways since I don't seem to need the 100%.
    I guess it depends on if it lowers the req's for the voltage a shiz load like the cpu llc setting does.
    Rather not mess with it if it's gonna cause probs like the 100% llc on the cpu.

    I have half a mind to think that the 100% llc cpu setting was killing my stability...
    That and the bad ram didn't help either that's for sure.
    It's nice to have a system that seems reliable .

    Perhaps asus can add a 35% and 75% setting...
    Something a bit better that still doesn't have the wider fluctuations/spikes.

  18. #1043
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    US, MI
    Posts
    1,680
    double post, sorry...

    I was priming the other day for a 24/7 safe config.
    I got above 44hrs of prime, not exactly sure how close to 48hrs, I just know I was passed 44hrs.
    The pc just hard locked out of the blue.

    I have a suspicion that I got a cpu-nb voltage spike and I was wondering if anyone has noticed any voltage fluctuation/spiking issues on the cpu-nb.

    The same hardlock happens if I go past 1.4v on the cpu-nb, noticed this when testing for 3250mhz.
    I am able to get 3.1ghz stable on the cpu-nb but I can't get the mem to clock much past 2040mhz so it's pointless.
    When I was testing the cpu-nb limits I was getting the exact same hardlocks.

    I have this fealing that if I goto use my system as is from now on, non stop, that once every 2-3 days it'll hardlock out of the blue for no reason.

  19. #1044
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    51
    I suppose all the BIOS's will need updating now for the Phenom 975BE.
    ASUS BULLDOZER 990FX BIOS 0813
    BULLDOZER FX8150 @ 4.7ghz water cooled
    2 x G.Skill RipjawsX F3-17000CL9D-8GBXLD(16gig) @ 2133mhz 9-11-9-28-40-CR1 @1.65v
    PSU Coolermaster Silent Pro Gold 1200watt
    2xATI 5870 Crossfired
    Corsair Force Series 3 120gb SSD 3x1 terabyte Seagate Barracuda HD's

  20. #1045
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
    Posts
    65
    Any recent M498TD EVO BIOS love? I sure would like to see some further adjustability to compensate for vdroop.
    AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4 | Kingwin XT-1264 Direct Contact Push/Pull Cooler | Asus M4N98TD EVO AM3 NVIDIA nForce 980a SLI | 2x2gb A-Data DDR3-1600 | 2x EVGA GTX 460 Superclock 768mb SLI | Mushkin Enhanced Callisto Deluxe 60gb Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS Caviar Blue SE 16 | Antec Earthwatts EA650 Power Supply | Old 26" 720p/1080i TV | Logitech MX5500/Revolution and MS Sidewinder X5 | Altec Lansing ADA885 THX 4.1/5.1 | Windows 7 Ultimate

  21. #1046
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    605
    So no EFI bios for CHIV ?
    The Sound Blaster X-Fi Utility needs updating too , since it contains bugs . (last update 5/11/2009)


    Main rig 1: Corsair Carbide 400R 4x120mm Papst 4412GL - 1x120mm Noctua NF-12P -!- PC Power&Cooling Silencer MK III 750W Semi-Passive PSU -!- Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H -!- Intel i7 4790K -!- Swiftech H220 pull 2x Papst 4412 F/2GP -!- 4x4gb Crucial Ballistix Tactical 1866Mhz CAS9 1.5V (D9PFJ) -!- 1Tb Samsung 840 EVO SSD -!- AMD RX 480 to come -!- Windows 10 pro x64 -!- Samsung S27A850D 27" + Samsung 2443BW 24" -!- Sennheiser HD590 -!- Logitech G19 -!- Microsoft Sidewinder Mouse -!- Fragpedal -!- Eaton Ellipse MAX 1500 UPS .





  22. #1047
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Hungary (EU)
    Posts
    1,373
    Quote Originally Posted by CrimInalA View Post
    So no EFI bios for CHIV ?
    The Sound Blaster X-Fi Utility needs updating too , since it contains bugs . (last update 5/11/2009)
    IMHO we won't see any major (and minor?) update for CHIV. It was a fairly big disappointment for me. I'll drop this mobo as soon as any decent MSI AM3+ mobo become available.
    -

  23. #1048
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    6
    Why do you think that we won't see any major and / or minor BIOS updates for our Crosshair IV Formula in future?

  24. #1049
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    20
    Quote Originally Posted by Lonzo View Post
    Why do you think that we won't see any major and / or minor BIOS updates for our Crosshair IV Formula in future?
    That pessimistic point of view (not only on CIVF) came from simple conclusions: two month after SB release we don't see any updates, this and next one or two month will be spend on upcoming Bulldozer mobos, and june/july/august is Ivy Bridge time. And very sarcastic pessimist also remembers about Llano in Q2...
    Nya-nya-nya...
    ------------------------------------
    CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1055T @ 3.9 Ghz
    MB: ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3
    COOLER: Scythe Infinity, 2xKama Flow 2 Fans
    RAM: 2x2 GB Transcend DDR3-1333
    VIDEO: MSI R6950 TwinFrozr II 2 GB+ASUS GeForce 8600GT 256 MB
    HDD: WD 1 TB EALS
    PSU: SeaSonic X-650
    ODD: Asus DRW-1608P2S+Teac DW-548D

  25. #1050
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    21
    Sad but true ...

Page 42 of 54 FirstFirst ... 323940414243444552 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •