OCN2
Page 1 of 9 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 210

Thread: 4870 ASUS TOP BIOS (upto 900MHz in CCC)

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    47

    4870 ASUS TOP BIOS (upto 900MHz in CCC)

    Enjoy, I flashed it, it works, default 815MHz core (900MHz max), 925MHz RAM (1100MHz max).

    http://www.mvktech.net/index.php?opt...filecatid=2733

  2. #2
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Oxford, UK
    Posts
    746
    same voltages?
    || 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.7 3, 4.6 4 1.284V ||
    || P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
    || 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
    || 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    47
    Same voltages.

    Time to vmod my card, well this weekend maybe.

  4. #4
    Engineering The Xtreme
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    MA, USA
    Posts
    7,222
    wont flash for me on an HIS card , subsytem ID mismatch error. Rick, did you flash using winflash or atiwinflash(aka from windows) ??

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    47
    Flashed from DOS, ATIflash.

    I always use,

    atiflash -p -f 0 *.bin

    *.bin being the bin/rom file name.

  6. #6
    c[_]
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    20,447
    Should bit check them and see what changed, maybe we can unlock CCC's limit?
    Last edited by STEvil; 07-29-2008 at 08:55 PM.
    Heatware || 01.01.08; AND 111.2%

    Dead Z7S-WS? Click!. || XS Z7S-WS Thread || Current Dead Asus Z7S-WS count: 26+ ($15,000 in dead motherboards).
    All along the watchtower the watchmen watch the eternal return.
    Want to use my Anti-asus logo? Go ahead, but use this link please!: http://i853.photobucket.com/albums/a...sus/noasus.gif
    Bring back the game. http://reclaimyourgame.com/. EA are mean.

  7. #7
    Engineering The Xtreme
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    MA, USA
    Posts
    7,222
    it workes for me now

    no more f-ing around with flashing a lot or amd gpu clock tool, and it has a good fan profile to boot (even tho i am on water its good news for others)

    heres a nice little pic for yall:
    Attached Images Attached Images

  8. #8
    amazing find... flashed to both cards...
    ati auto tune has set 870mhz core on one card and 860 on another...
    needless to say, i'm very happy...
    Last edited by purecain; 07-29-2008 at 08:00 PM.

  9. #9
    The Blue Dolphin
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,992
    Quote Originally Posted by STEvil View Post
    Should bit check them and see what changed, maybe we can unlock CCC's limit?
    The part of the BIOS where the limit is stored has some sort of checksum. I'll take a look at it again if I can find the time.
    Quote Originally Posted by purecain View Post
    isnt the size of the bios too small... has everyone tried to cold boot there pc since this flash...
    The BIOS file is 128KB in size, so it should be fine. Unpack the RAR-archive to see for yourself.


    edit - fixed my quote lol
    stevil
    Last edited by STEvil; 07-29-2008 at 08:55 PM.
    Blue Dolphin Reviews & Guides

    Blue Reviews:
    Gigabyte G-Power PRO CPU cooler
    Vantec Nexstar 3.5" external HDD enclosure
    Gigabyte Poseidon 310 case


    Blue Guides:
    Fixing a GFX BIOS checksum yourself


    98% of the internet population has a Myspace. If you're part of the 2% that isn't an emo bastard, copy and paste this into your sig.

  10. #10
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    196
    With default core voltage what are you guys geting with this set of bio's? (if anyone has default lol)

  11. #11
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    746
    sniipe dogg is that on default voltage?

    I really hope it is or just voltage increased through that bios whether then hard mods.

  12. #12
    Engineering The Xtreme
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    MA, USA
    Posts
    7,222
    i have 2 voltmodded cards sorry to dissapoint you

  13. #13
    Muslim Overclocker
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,897
    Thanks for sharing. Will test on a visiontek 4870 soon...

    My watercooling experience

    Water
    Scythe Gentle Typhoons 120mm 1850RPM
    Thermochill PA120.3 Radiator
    Enzotech Sapphire Rev.A CPU Block
    Laing DDC 3.2
    XSPC Dual Pump Reservoir
    Primochill Pro LRT Red 1/2"
    Bitspower fittings + water temp sensor

    Rig
    E8400 | 4GB HyperX PC8500 | Corsair HX620W | ATI HD4870 512MB


    I see what I see, and you see what you see. I can't make you see what I see, but I can tell you what I see is not what you see. Truth is, we see what we want to see, and what we want to see is what those around us see. And what we don't see is... well, conspiracies.



  14. #14
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,478
    Quote Originally Posted by SNiiPE_DoGG View Post
    it workes for me now
    Nice! Did you use the dos AtiFlash or WinFlash?

  15. #15
    this only works with ati flash... winflash will give you a subvender id mismatch error....

    here's a before and after score with surface deformer benchmark...
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by purecain; 07-29-2008 at 08:23 PM.

  16. #16
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,478
    Sweet. Well i gues i'll have to learn how to use dos! What are the main commands that i'll need?

  17. #17
    atiflash -f -p 0 4870.bin (press enter to flash)
    restart and enjoy m8....

  18. #18
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,478
    Thanks heaps! I presume that's after booting from a USB stick? Or can you just use command prompt? Sorry i'm not too good with these things.

  19. #19
    The Blue Dolphin
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,992
    Quote Originally Posted by twwen2 View Post
    Thanks heaps! I presume that's after booting from a USB stick? Or can you just use command prompt? Sorry i'm not too good with these things.
    You need a true DOS environment. A Windows 98 bootup 'disc' (stick in this case) works well.
    Blue Dolphin Reviews & Guides

    Blue Reviews:
    Gigabyte G-Power PRO CPU cooler
    Vantec Nexstar 3.5" external HDD enclosure
    Gigabyte Poseidon 310 case


    Blue Guides:
    Fixing a GFX BIOS checksum yourself


    98% of the internet population has a Myspace. If you're part of the 2% that isn't an emo bastard, copy and paste this into your sig.

  20. #20
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,478
    Ah right. Thanks for clarifying that.

  21. #21
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The O.C.
    Posts
    1,452
    Good work guys...tempted to get one soon...must wait for the 4870x2...
    Wow - haven't flashed an ATI card since my connect3d x800gto to unlock the pixel pipelines =)
    i7-2600k L041C108 4.8ghz 1.32v PLL off Venomous-X Push/Pull http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...postcount=1063
    Asus P8P67 Vanilla
    Samsung 30nm MV-3V4G3D/US 2x4GB @ 9-10-10-28 1T DDR3 2133 1.6v http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/sh...d.php?t=159320
    Diamond HD 7970
    WD 600GB Velociraptor
    Corsair TX750W
    CM 690 II Advanced

    Q822A549 E8500 @ 4.5ghz air TRUE @ http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=203762

    G.Skill F3-12800CL6D-4GBXH @ 7-10-8-27 1T DDR3 2133 1.6v http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=266839

  22. #22
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,917
    just what i've been waiting for. thanks, Rick
    My Videos
    GRID Demolition Derby * GRID Camaro vs. Mustang * Audiosurf - Speed Racer
    I Shot the Hosties * Slightly Stupid * Dump Truck


    Intel Haswell 4770K * 2x8GB Mushkin Redline DDR3 1866 CL9 * Asus Maximus VI Gene * Sapphire 7870 GHz Edition
    500GB Samsung 840 Series SSD + 2TB WD Raid Edition 3 magnetic * SilverStone Temjin case * Corsair TX750 PSU * Corsair H60 water cooler * Win7 Pro x64

  23. #23
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Oxford, England
    Posts
    3,431
    nice find will do this tonight as can't find bluumin usb stick
    "Cast off your fear. Look forward. Never stand still, retreat and you will age. Hesitate and you will die. SHOUT! My name is…"
    //James

  24. #24
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    53
    Nice to see this! Any improvement on core OC against orig. BIOS? I am using ATiTool so max clock was 870..

  25. #25
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    674
    Anyone flashed a sapphire with this bios ? I got one card and it has qimonda mems, maybe it should work then ?
    [SIGPIC]http://techsweden.org[/SIGPIC]
    Gigabyte Z87X-OC, Haswell 4770K, 8GB Team Group 2666mhz, Asus HD7970

Page 1 of 9 1234 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •