Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 76

Thread: CPUCalc, a new Ocing-Calculator

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    100

    CPUCalc, a new Ocing-Calculator

    My new programm CPUCalc is a Overclocking-calculator for Intel and AMD processors.
    First you have to choose the manufacturer, cpu and ram, and then test clocks by editing some values. CPUCalc will calculate the other values automatically, it´s also able to calculate the RAM-Divider and the resulting RAM-Clock. CPUCalc will always try to get the common RAM-Clock.
    So CPUCalc is the best tool for calculating and testing specific settings and clocks.

    The calculating-buttons are just there for emergencies, in case if CPUCalc won't calculate automatically.

    This programm is not finished yet and will still be developed. So CPUCalc needs your bugreport and any advices here in this thread or by sending a mail to CPUCalc@yahoo.de.

    Please also visit the official CPUCalc homepage, which is actually under construction:
    www.cpucalc.com


    Newest verision (1.6) direct download link:
    http://cpucalc.com/downloads/CPUCalc1.6.exe

    Because Im German it would be very nice if German advices are sent to me by pm to get the right order in this thread.

    Screenshot1.JPG
    Screenshot2.JPG

    Things I need from you:

    -Screenshot of the BIOS showing all possible DDR3-Clocks and the actually set FSB to add the RAM-Dividers for DDR3-RAM.
    -And of course MANY ADVICES and BUG-REPORT.

    Updates in future:

    -Possibility of reading out the type of CPU and the normal or actual settings and editing them automatically in the textboxes.

    I hope you enjoy this nice programm.

    PS:
    As you see in the post under me, this application needs the newest .NET Framework installed on your system.
    Last edited by Cyba_Mephisto; 08-09-2008 at 04:58 AM.

  2. #2
    Xtremely unstable loonym's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Between Hell and Nowhere
    Posts
    2,803
    Very interesting app. Will not work with XP64?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    dx58so
    w3520@4100
    4x1gb corsair ddr3-1333
    gtx 295
    TR ultra-x, 2 scythe ultrakaze push/pull
    xclio stablepower 1000
    vista ultimate


    -------------------------------

    would you crunch if you thought it would save her life?

    maybe it will!

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    100
    It will.
    But it needs .NET Framework, newest version is best.
    But every updated and ORIGINAL windows has it.^^

  4. #4
    Xtremely unstable loonym's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Between Hell and Nowhere
    Posts
    2,803
    Ok, that explains it, thanks. I'll try it on a machine with .net updates
    dx58so
    w3520@4100
    4x1gb corsair ddr3-1333
    gtx 295
    TR ultra-x, 2 scythe ultrakaze push/pull
    xclio stablepower 1000
    vista ultimate


    -------------------------------

    would you crunch if you thought it would save her life?

    maybe it will!

  5. #5
    Xtreme Member motopen1s's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    190
    Works well over here (Vista x64 SP1).

    Nice handy little piece of software.
    CPU: Q9450 @3.6GHz (lapped) Cooling: Scythe Zipang (lapped)
    RAM: Mushkin (996580) 2x2gb XP2-6400 @5-5-5-15, DDR2-1080 Mobo: Asus Rampage Formula (Bios 0410), tRD=7
    GPU: EVGA GTX 280 @712/1512/2700 PSU: Enermax Modu82+ 625 Optical Drive: LG Electronics GGC-H20L
    HDD:
    1x 160GB Intel X-25M G2, 1x VelociRaptor, 2x Samsung SpinPoint F1 640GB in 2x CM STB-3T4-E3-GP 4-in-3 cages
    Sound: Focusrite Saffire PRO 24 DSP / Grace Design M903 Speakers: M-Audio BX8a Deluxe, Shure SE535, Ultrasone Pro 900 w/ custom cable & dual entry mod, HD 800
    Case: Cooler Master Stacker 832 w/ 7x S-Flex SFF21F fans on 2x Zalman ZM-MFC1 Plus controllers
    Monitor: NEC MultiSync 24WMGX3 OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    23
    Some comments

    1) .NET isn't a good thinks for ocing tools because most of people use really light XP/Vista so most of them haven't .NET framework installed

    2) It will be better if you read CPUID/RDTSC instructions for having automatically processor info's/frequency
    I know that using asm instructions on .NET programs isn't so easy, but it will be really better

    3) On the same way, using MSR editor for having ram frequency/divider/SPD allow you to create a more usefull program

    4) if you need some help about CPUID/RDTSC/MSR instructions i'm here By using thoose instructions it's possible to have approximately all informations (from last phenom/C2Q to 486 DX ) including also temp read, SPD tool, manufacturing process/ VID...

    So it's a really good idea, but in C++ (VC++ or GCC) it will be really better More difficult to create it, but universal without support in fact

  7. #7
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    100
    Thx, but let those "problems" with the programming-language just be mine. There are really easy ways reading out clocks.

    And by the way the ATi-Driver for example needs Framework, too.
    It´s also included in SP3, isn´t it?

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyba_Mephisto View Post
    Thx, but let those "problems" with the programming-language just be mine. There are really easy ways reading out clocks.

    And by the way the ATi-Driver for example needs Framework, too.
    It´s also included in SP3, isn´t it?
    If I remember well ATI Driver still exist without .NET framework :jap: it's only the catalyst center wich is in .NET
    Yes most of CPUID/RDTSC/MSR instructions are easy to find, not more than 5/6 line of asm
    But if you mean easy by just using WMI you will be surprised by the worst quality of that

    Good luck for your app dude !

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    100
    I need help of you all.
    Download this little programm in the attachment, click the button and post the text in code tags.
    I need this from every kind of processor, like:
    C2Q
    C2Q 45nm
    C2D
    C2D 45nm
    AMD Opteron Dual/Single 939/AM2/AM2+
    And so on...

    Thx!
    Last edited by Cyba_Mephisto; 08-18-2008 at 01:13 PM. Reason: Attachment deleted. Feature is already included in CPUCalc.

  10. #10
    Xtreme Member patrickadizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    271
    Cyba, the test.exe works fine for me, displays my CPU correctly, but not the speed.

    Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU 6600 @ 2.40GHz.


    Don't know if you were intending for it to show an overclock or not, but yeah.
    i5-750 Quad Core
    HD 6950 1GB
    MSI P55 GD65
    4GB G.SKILL Trident DDR3
    OCZ GSX 700 PSU
    2* 80GB SATA
    1* 250GB SATA
    HTC Omega Claro+
    Lian Li V2000B

  11. #11
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    100
    Don´t worry, it´s doing what it´s supposed to do.
    But care of irony, the first poster actually has the same CPU as me.^^

    Don´t stop posting guys!

    EDIT:
    Please post correctly in CODE-Tags, I´ve got this result for the processor:

    Code:
    Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU          6600  @ 2.40GHz
    I need the space.
    Last edited by Cyba_Mephisto; 07-01-2008 at 03:19 PM.

  12. #12
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    287
    Code:
    Xeon X3350 (C2Q 45nm) - Procesor Intel Pentium III Xeon
    Last edited by mach82; 07-01-2008 at 10:29 AM.

  13. #13
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    100
    Please in CODE-TAGS, otherwise the editor here cuts away more than one Space ("Leerzeichen", my English isn´t enough for that.)!!!

  14. #14
    Love will tear us apart WrigleyVillain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    wrigleyville.chi.il.us
    Posts
    2,351
    Code:
    Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU           E5462  @ 2.80GHz
    Dark Star IV
    i5 3570K | Asrock Z77 Extreme4 | 8GB Samsung 30nm | GTX 670 FTW 4GB + XSPC Razer 680 | 128GB Samsung 830
    Apogee HD White | 140MM UT60/120MM UT45/120MM ST30 | XSPC D5 V2

  15. #15
    Xtreme Member alex17 GTX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Romania-CrazyPC
    Posts
    101
    Code:
    Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU     E8400  @ 3.00GHz
    How do you change the FSB : DRAM ? And in the english version it is RAM-Teiler ... it should be something like : FSB : DRAM Ratio or Strap ....
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by alex17 GTX; 07-01-2008 at 10:46 AM.
    E8400 Q746A| 2Gb Gskill Micron D9GMH | DFI LanParty P35 DK T2R/S | Sapphire X1950PRO | Antec Nine Hundred | Tuniq Tower |

    / E8400 @ 4752 @ 1.664v/ AIR / 9.734 spi /
    / G.Skill @ 1200 4-4-4-9 @ 2.52v /
    / G.Skill @ 900 3-3-3-3 @ 2.45v /



    // Smart Guardian Skin DFI LanParty DK P35 //

  16. #16
    Registered User jdb2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Klein/Spring, Texas, USA
    Posts
    25
    Perhaps you should create a multi-platform version. ( I run Linux ) I'm running a Debian derivative with the latest version of Mono installed and when I try to fire up your app with Wine I get this exception :

    Code:
    Unhandled Exception: System.InvalidOperationException: An error occured while creating the form. See Exception.InnerException for details. The error is: An exception was thrown by the type initializer for System.Windows.Forms.WindowsFormsSynchronizationContext ---> System.TypeInitializationException: An exception was thrown by the type initializer for System.Windows.Forms.WindowsFormsSynchronizationContext ---> System.TypeInitializationException: An exception was thrown by the type initializer for System.Windows.Forms.ThemeEngine ---> System.ArgumentException: The requested FontFamily could not be found [GDI+ status: FontFamilyNotFound]
      at System.Drawing.GDIPlus.CheckStatus (Status status) [0x00000]
      at System.Drawing.FontFamily..ctor (GenericFontFamilies genericFamily) [0x00000]
      at (wrapper remoting-invoke-with-check) System.Drawing.FontFamily:.ctor (System.Drawing.Text.GenericFontFamilies)
      at System.Drawing.FontFamily.get_GenericSansSerif () [0x00000]
      at System.Drawing.Font.CreateFont (System.String familyName, Single emSize, FontStyle style, GraphicsUnit unit, Byte charSet, Boolean isVertical) [0x00000]
      at System.Drawing.Font..ctor (System.String familyName, Single emSize, FontStyle style, GraphicsUnit unit, Byte charSet, Boolean isVertical) [0x00000]
      at System.Drawing.Font..ctor (System.String familyName, Single emSize, System.String systemName) [0x00000]
      at (wrapper remoting-invoke-with-check) System.Drawing.Font:.ctor (string,single,string)
      at System.Drawing.SystemFonts.get_DefaultFont () [0x00000]
      at System.Windows.Forms.Theme..ctor () [0x00000]
      at System.Windows.Forms.ThemeWin32Classic..ctor () [0x00000]
      at System.Windows.Forms.ThemeEngine..cctor () [0x00000] --- End of inner exception stack trace ---
    
      at System.Windows.Forms.SystemInformation.get_MenuAccessKeysUnderlined () [0x00000]
      at System.Windows.Forms.Control..ctor () [0x00000]
      at (wrapper remoting-invoke-with-check) System.Windows.Forms.Control:.ctor ()
      at System.Windows.Forms.WindowsFormsSynchronizationContext..cctor () [0x00000] --- End of inner exception stack trace ---
    
      at System.Windows.Forms.Control..ctor () [0x00000]
      at System.Windows.Forms.ScrollableControl..ctor () [0x00000]
      at System.Windows.Forms.ContainerControl..ctor () [0x00000]
      at System.Windows.Forms.Form..ctor () [0x00000]
      at WindowsApplication1.Form1..ctor () [0x00000]
      at (wrapper managed-to-native) System.Reflection.MonoCMethod:InternalInvoke (object,object[])
      at System.Reflection.MonoCMethod.Invoke (System.Object obj, BindingFlags invokeAttr, System.Reflection.Binder binder, System.Object[] parameters, System.Globalization.CultureInfo culture) [0x00000] --- End of inner exception stack trace ---
    
      at WindowsApplication1.My.MyProject+MyForms.Create__Instance__[Form1] (WindowsApplication1.Form1 Instance) [0x00000]
      at WindowsApplication1.My.MyProject+MyForms.get_Form1 () [0x00000]
      at WindowsApplication1.My.MyApplication.OnCreateMainForm () [0x00000]
      at Microsoft.VisualBasic.ApplicationServices.WindowsFormsApplicationBase.OnRun () [0x00000]
      at Microsoft.VisualBasic.ApplicationServices.WindowsFormsApplicationBase.Run (System.String[] commandLine) [0x00000]
      at WindowsApplication1.My.MyApplication.Main (System.String[] Args) [0x00000]
    jdb2
    Definiti facultate nostro potis in impossibilem ultra videre modo sumus


    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T BE || ASUS Crosshair IV Extreme || 2x EVGA Superclocked GTX 580s || 8GB (2GBx4) CMG4GX3M2A1600C6 Corsair Dominator GT 1600MHz 6-6-6-18 || Thermalright Silver Arrow heatsink w/ 3 TY-140 74 CFM PWM fans in push-pull-pull config || 8TB RAID-0 array -- 2x 2TB Western Digital Caviar Black SATA-3Gbps 64MB cache WD2001FASS + 2x 2TB Western Digital Caviar Black SATA-6Gbps WD2002FAEX 64MB cache : 256MB cache total || 2x Western Digital Velociraptor WD6000HLHX SATA-6Gbps 32MB Cache 10K RPM hard drives in RAID-0 config : 64MB cache total || Akasa PowerMax 1KW PSU || SATA Lite-On iHBS212 12x Blu-Ray SuperMulti burner w/ LightScribe & 8MB cache || SATA ASUS DVD-E818A6T 18x DVD-ROM SuperMulti drive || Acer HN274Hbmiiid, Black, 27", 120Hz, WLED, 2ms GTG, 3D, Full HD, 1920x1080, 3xHDMI 1.4a / 1x DVI-DL, WideScreen LCD Monitor, 4W Stereo Speakers , 300 cd/m2, 10,000,000:1 ACM

  17. #17
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    100
    The ratio is set automatically when calculating. Best ratio is 1:1, so your RAM=FSB. CPUCalc takes the ratio with the nearest clock to default, 400MHz at your example. At this high FSB there is no "better" setting than 1:1.

    I´ll correct the translation.
    When I have more CPU-Data-posts, there will be a new release with autoselection of the CPU. But I need the information.
    Also I need a screenshot of a BIOS with DDR3-RAM. It has to show the different FSB-RAM-Ratios so I can add them to CPUCalc.

    @jdb2:
    Im afraid there is no solution for you (yet).
    As you can see in the message CPUCalc needs specific dlls because it´s using the Windows-Style.
    I look what I can do in order to change this but Im afraid I cant do anything. Else it would take some time, but if I´ll find a solution, I post a tux-friendly version of CPUCalc here and at the CPUCalc-Page.
    Last edited by Cyba_Mephisto; 07-01-2008 at 11:03 AM.

  18. #18
    Xtreme Member alex17 GTX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Romania-CrazyPC
    Posts
    101
    You need to change that so we can set what ratio we want. This is how the DFI P35 bios looks. This is the real use for this program, otherwise i can simply calculate fsb and frequency with a given multi. Also it would be nice if you do some slides or something to change the numbers.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    E8400 Q746A| 2Gb Gskill Micron D9GMH | DFI LanParty P35 DK T2R/S | Sapphire X1950PRO | Antec Nine Hundred | Tuniq Tower |

    / E8400 @ 4752 @ 1.664v/ AIR / 9.734 spi /
    / G.Skill @ 1200 4-4-4-9 @ 2.52v /
    / G.Skill @ 900 3-3-3-3 @ 2.45v /



    // Smart Guardian Skin DFI LanParty DK P35 //

  19. #19
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    100
    kk, I think I can understand.
    You want to calculate it for all ratios instantly so you can see all settings like in BIOS, won´t you?
    I´ll make a table at this place. Then there will be an option weather to show the best ratio or not. Is that ok so?
    I think slides are not necessary for the textboxes. The values can be just typed in and it starts calculating automatically.
    Last edited by Cyba_Mephisto; 07-01-2008 at 11:09 AM.

  20. #20
    Xtreme Member alex17 GTX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Romania-CrazyPC
    Posts
    101
    About the ratio, it's your choice how you implement that. I don;t know if the setting are the same on every board but there are 3 settings on 965 and P35 : 1:1 , 2:3 and 4:5. What it's in the image in the previous post it's strap related. Basicaly there are only 333/667, 333/800 and 333/1066 for my cpu.

    The + - buttons or slides are actually very usefull. If you need to reach a certain frequency you can type the value you thing it's close and then you can adjust it with the buttons. It's like SetFSB. There was another program like yours a few years ago but it wasn't updated. You can have a look at it.

    And many thanks for doing this program, it could turn out very usefull.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    E8400 Q746A| 2Gb Gskill Micron D9GMH | DFI LanParty P35 DK T2R/S | Sapphire X1950PRO | Antec Nine Hundred | Tuniq Tower |

    / E8400 @ 4752 @ 1.664v/ AIR / 9.734 spi /
    / G.Skill @ 1200 4-4-4-9 @ 2.52v /
    / G.Skill @ 900 3-3-3-3 @ 2.45v /



    // Smart Guardian Skin DFI LanParty DK P35 //

  21. #21
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    100
    Good, I do what I can and tomorrow there will be a new release if you post the data.
    But now Im watching House.

  22. #22
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    100
    Common guys, YOUR HELP is needed!
    And mods, please push it back where it was before.

    At the website there´s version 1.35Beta already, which is supporting AM2 X2 CPUs having Windsor-core.

    EDIT: Which mod can I write to so that he can push the thread back to "Overclocking"?
    I´ve written two mods here more than one week ago and I received no answer yet.
    Last edited by Cyba_Mephisto; 07-13-2008 at 04:15 AM.

  23. #23
    Xtreme Member alex17 GTX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Romania-CrazyPC
    Posts
    101
    I'm still waiting for that updated version. I mean with those little things i've asked you to do.
    E8400 Q746A| 2Gb Gskill Micron D9GMH | DFI LanParty P35 DK T2R/S | Sapphire X1950PRO | Antec Nine Hundred | Tuniq Tower |

    / E8400 @ 4752 @ 1.664v/ AIR / 9.734 spi /
    / G.Skill @ 1200 4-4-4-9 @ 2.52v /
    / G.Skill @ 900 3-3-3-3 @ 2.45v /



    // Smart Guardian Skin DFI LanParty DK P35 //

  24. #24
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    100
    Working on it. Brisbane-CPUs are now included as well.
    New release tomorrow!!!

  25. #25
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    100
    Done.
    New Version 1.5 NONBETA available for download on the official CPUCalc homepage:
    cpucalc.funpic.de

    Just klick on "Download" left and then on the highest download-button.

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •