Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Xtremely OLD benching

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Yankee Nation
    Posts
    361

    Xtremely OLD benching

    Hey guys, I just dug out my second PC i ever owned, a PII 450, to rebuild for a friend who has never owned a PC.

    In doing so, I wanted to see if I could OC it and possibly run some benches.

    http://picasaweb.google.com/d.hopero/OldSchoolOc

    some pics, including a SPi 1m run. 4min45sec, eat my dust!

    My question to you all is, what can I use to OC this bad boy? I did a lot of searching, and found softFSB but that's for win98. I also found a version of setfsb for 440BX, but that wouldn't work either. It's an OEM board, so there are no bios options.

    The spi screenshot shows motherboard and bios info.
    Stealth Water


    Quote Originally Posted by TheGanG View Post
    Yeah, x15 makes me happy...

  2. #2
    Turkey Man
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Jakarta (ex-Australia)
    Posts
    2,584
    Didnt mobos of that era have jumpers for OC'ing?

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Melbourne - Australia
    Posts
    116
    Yup. Back in the era where you tuned cars with a screwdriver
    e6420 @ 500x7 - 1.48v
    Asus P5B DLX
    2x1024mb GSkill HZ's @ 500 4-4-4-12 @ 2.25v
    Asus 320mb 8800gts @ 675/985
    ThermalTake Armor Black
    OCZ 850w

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Yankee Nation
    Posts
    361
    I've made a little more progress.
    Turned out i wasnt running the actual softfsb program(the extractor ).

    When I run SoftFSB, it give an error:
    Code:
    softfsb.sys Dynamic Load NG!
    Then I run it again and the gui opens with no errors. But it still doesn't work.

    I found which chip is the clock generator. You can see it in the pic. It's an IC Worldwide 149h. The numbers on the chip are 'w149h b468 1844ka'. I selected w149x in softfsb, and when i click get fsb, the keyboard freezes. I can still move the mouse and open things but i always have to do a hard poweroff.

    Oh yea, and it's an OEM board so no low level oc possibility at all. Bios or jumpers. Only software.
    Stealth Water


    Quote Originally Posted by TheGanG View Post
    Yeah, x15 makes me happy...

  5. #5
    c[_]
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    20,447
    Sure you got the right chip?

    Hard to tell for sure in this picture but looks like its made by ICS: http://picasaweb.google.com/d.hopero...42382092392354
    Heatware || 01.01.08; AND 111.2%

    Dead Z7S-WS? Click!. || XS Z7S-WS Thread || Current Dead Asus Z7S-WS count: 26+ ($15,000 in dead motherboards).
    All along the watchtower the watchmen watch the eternal return.
    Want to use my Anti-asus logo? Go ahead, but use this link please!: http://i853.photobucket.com/albums/a...sus/noasus.gif
    Bring back the game. http://reclaimyourgame.com/. EA are mean.

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Yankee Nation
    Posts
    361
    Wow! I didn't realize how blurry that pic was when i uploaded it. Newcastle will do that to ya. ;^)

    Gallery updated with better pic.

    http://picasaweb.google.com/d.hopero...23401526122466
    Stealth Water


    Quote Originally Posted by TheGanG View Post
    Yeah, x15 makes me happy...

  7. #7
    c[_]
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    20,447
    may just be out of luck with that motherboard.
    Heatware || 01.01.08; AND 111.2%

    Dead Z7S-WS? Click!. || XS Z7S-WS Thread || Current Dead Asus Z7S-WS count: 26+ ($15,000 in dead motherboards).
    All along the watchtower the watchmen watch the eternal return.
    Want to use my Anti-asus logo? Go ahead, but use this link please!: http://i853.photobucket.com/albums/a...sus/noasus.gif
    Bring back the game. http://reclaimyourgame.com/. EA are mean.

  8. #8
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Yankee Nation
    Posts
    361
    Yea, that's the case. Thinking the OS was the problem, i loaded 98 onto it. Softfsb still locks up in the same manner. SPi won't even complete a run, it throws an exception and barfs all over me.

    I had great expectations, but it was not to be. Ah well. I'll have to wait until I'm finished with my C2D build to have any fun.
    Stealth Water


    Quote Originally Posted by TheGanG View Post
    Yeah, x15 makes me happy...

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    172
    Sorry to jump in here so late. I've been playing around with a 440BX-3 (Dell OEM mobo with a PIII 550).
    CPUFSB (V2.2.18 Oct 20 2006) works on mine.
    Trial version: http://www.softpedia.com/get/Tweak/C...k/CPUFSB.shtml

    You have to choose
    Mainboard = Intel
    Type = AL440LX
    PLL = cypress/icw
    Type = W149

    The FSB choices are 66.6, 66.8, 83.3, 100, 100.2, 103, 124, 133, and 133.3
    Mine is a 100 FSB board, so 124+ crashes.

    There's supposed to be a PCI lock mod for this board somewhere here on XS, but I haven't found it yet.
    ASUS A8N32, FX-57, 6800GT's(SLI)
    PCP&C 1kw, Raptors, DDR600

  10. #10
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Yankee Nation
    Posts
    361
    Sweet it worked! CPU needs more volts it seems. :-(

    I benched 103 FSB for a time of 4:16!

    I can set to 124, but SPI gives an error after the 3rd loop.

    Thanks!
    Stealth Water


    Quote Originally Posted by TheGanG View Post
    Yeah, x15 makes me happy...

  11. #11
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    172
    Quote Originally Posted by yankee View Post
    Sweet it worked!

    I can set to 124, but SPI gives an error after the 3rd loop.
    Glad to help.
    My PIII 550/100 will run for a minute or so at 124 (5.5 x 124 = 682 mhz) then locks up. I suspect it's the PCI buss going from 33 to 41.3 wacking the VooDoo 5 card as I left the card overclocked (160>180) and tried 125 and it destroyed the VooDoo driver...?

    Try Intel, Seatle BX-2, should go right to cypress/icw, W149.
    Try disabling L2 cache in your bios. Lowers performance, but sometimes it will allow you to overclock further and get the performance back ...or maybe more.

    If you're interested, here's a BIOS "tweaker" that gives access to settings not in the BIOS screen (like memory timings).
    http://www.miro.pair.com/tweakbios/
    Last edited by billb; 02-18-2008 at 10:33 PM.
    ASUS A8N32, FX-57, 6800GT's(SLI)
    PCP&C 1kw, Raptors, DDR600

  12. #12
    c[_]
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    20,447
    Does your 550 have 512kb L2 or 256kb L2?

    If its 512kb then you're not going to be able to break ~600mhz very easily. Either that or your memory timings are too tight for 124mhz.

    There are no PCI lock mods for 440bx/lx/etc. Is your Vooodoo 5 AGP or PCI? Either way it shouldnt matter as they have run over 83mhz AGP easily. They also come stock at 166/166 by the way.
    Heatware || 01.01.08; AND 111.2%

    Dead Z7S-WS? Click!. || XS Z7S-WS Thread || Current Dead Asus Z7S-WS count: 26+ ($15,000 in dead motherboards).
    All along the watchtower the watchmen watch the eternal return.
    Want to use my Anti-asus logo? Go ahead, but use this link please!: http://i853.photobucket.com/albums/a...sus/noasus.gif
    Bring back the game. http://reclaimyourgame.com/. EA are mean.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •