Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 26 to 49 of 49

Thread: Kayls CNC machined cpu/Gpu pots

  1. #26
    -100C Club Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    3,767
    Quote Originally Posted by Freddie123 View Post
    How do you thread the base and pots? Is there a tool or is it milled on the cnc machine?

    no i dont do the threading myself, i got this tool to do threads, but its much easier to get them to do it, if i was to stuff a thread there goes the tube . im not sure how they do it though?


  2. #27
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    On top of a mountain
    Posts
    4,163
    Very Nice. I am thinking about shifting gears up to Drice and those would be my first choice!
    20 Logs on the fire for WCG: i7 920@2.8 X3220@3.0 X3220@2.4 E8400@4.05 E6600@2.4

  3. #28
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    France, Dijon
    Posts
    130
    Very nice job

  4. #29
    Turkey Man
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Jakarta (ex-Australia)
    Posts
    2,584
    Happy to report that i've just been sent two tubes ready for SLI benching action this weekend on 8800GTXs.
    Impressive chunkiness in the base, but i think the aluminium tube need not have been so thick walled.
    The internal diameter of the tube is a little restrictive when thinking about the size of DICE pellets/chunks, but will see this weekend the real story.

    My package also contained sheets of foam not included in the photos.
    Supplied MCW-60 MOunting kit plates do not fit around the mounting face, so will stick with the supplied mild steel plates.






  5. #30
    X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Mumbai, India
    Posts
    1,094
    Good to know that, TIM. Have a go @ it and let us know

  6. #31
    -100C Club Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    3,767
    thanxs for that tip there T_M, cant wait to see your results he with the 8800’s.
    The tubes im getting made now will have skinnier walls so its a little easier to stick the dice pellets in
    I couldn’t make the actual tube wider as I wanted to use 19mm thick insulation. A wider tube would mean they couldn’t be used for SLI.
    THe G80 adaptor kit was an after though from Young_pro, it has all the springs n stuff.
    I guess you could use it for the back plate if you wanted.
    Last edited by kayl; 08-29-2007 at 01:38 AM.

  7. #32
    -100C Club Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    3,767
    Seems that my QX6700 cold bugged around -150c.
    I kept it between -140c to -145c to be safe
    Only had 10 litres of Ln2 so didn’t get much benching done
    Stock mobo no vmods.



    5127Mhz validation
    http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=248035














    32mB SPI 4.9Ghz ram 534MHZ 4-4-4-4



    3dmark 01 71771Marks 4882Mhz Ram 532Mhz 4-4-4-8

    Last edited by kayl; 10-03-2007 at 06:01 PM.

  8. #33
    -100C Club Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    3,767
    Heres some 3dmark youtube action
    that horrible noise is the 2 desk fans sucking nitrogen gas out of the room for safety reasons

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lj_qam2rDI8

    and

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8I5zsoWobvM
    Last edited by kayl; 01-01-2008 at 05:42 AM.

  9. #34
    -100C Club Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    3,767
    CPu on the cascade and Gpu on a dice pot. Dice pot sat at -70c the hole day.

    77k 3dmark01 with a 8800GTS 320Mb no vmods
    And 15k in 3dmark06 , ranked 5th on Hwbot for this card










    Last edited by kayl; 11-05-2007 at 03:51 PM.

  10. #35
    OCTeamDenmark Founder Nosfer@tu's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Denmark, Copenhagen
    Posts
    2,368
    Must have been a max of 1.7 Vcore on that mobo yes ?
    Former owner of OCTeamDenmark.com
    MSI MOTHERBOARD!!!!!!

    Linkedin


  11. #36
    -100C Club Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    3,767
    Quote Originally Posted by Nosfer@tu View Post
    Must have been a max of 1.7 Vcore on that mobo yes ?
    i was using a non volt modded asus mobo, which dropped to 1.65v or so at load. All the gigabyte mobos at the event which had the over volt protect mods done were used on the ln2 systems. Nice board though

  12. #37
    OCTeamDenmark Founder Nosfer@tu's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Denmark, Copenhagen
    Posts
    2,368
    Quote Originally Posted by kayl View Post
    i was using a non volt modded asus mobo, which dropped to 1.65v or so at load. All the gigabyte mobos at the event which had the over volt protect mods done were used on the ln2 systems. Nice board though
    It is the same af the Formula people say. When removing the white sticker

    So a bios update should give it more volt options?`

    Nice OC at that Volt
    Former owner of OCTeamDenmark.com
    MSI MOTHERBOARD!!!!!!

    Linkedin


  13. #38
    -100C Club Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    3,767
    New tubes with the 2900 face
    Also new cpu tube copper base slightly taller with added base surface area, and total length of tube reduced to 200mm.



  14. #39
    Wanna look under my kilt?
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Glasgow-ish U.K.
    Posts
    4,509
    Those new bases for the CPU tubes are very very nice

    Do the new bases work with the old alu tubes? I.E: could users upgrade their bases as you develop the idea?
    Quote Originally Posted by T_M View Post
    Not sure i totally follow anything you said, but regardless of that you helped me come up with a very good idea....
    Quote Originally Posted by soundood View Post
    you sigged that?

    why?
    ______

    Sometimes, it's not your time. Sometimes, you have to make it your time. Sometimes, it can ONLY be your time.

  15. #40
    -100C Club Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    3,767
    Quote Originally Posted by K404 View Post
    Those new bases for the CPU tubes are very very nice

    Do the new bases work with the old alu tubes? I.E: could users upgrade their bases as you develop the idea?
    yeah that do, the aluminium cost bugger all compared to the copper part though.


    I had a Lan part demo on Saturday, but it fell through so I was stuck with 30L to use.
    Didn’t get off to a good start as I fried my GIG X38T DQ6, and then decided to start playing with a ASUS P5b deluxe I just got, Did LN2 on the cpu, cpu could run -150c without cold bugging just fine but couldn’t do the highest fsb speeds with my E8500. That was it for Friday. Then Saturday night I then decided to do the vcore, vdroop, vmem and vmch mods and put a dice pot on the NB I was running cpu at close to -150c @ 1.9v and nb around 1.75v.Not sure if it was my mobo or the E8500 but was FSB limited at around 560FSB with the 9.5X. I will be doing some more test with the mobo (only got it Thursday first tested on ln2) but in a months time will be doing another ln2 run






    With limited time I decided to install the QX9650 for some benching. Seems that the QX9650 didn’t play well at all in the ASUS P5b Deluxe even 400 FSB it wasn’t booting.
    I decided to boot at 333FSB and use the 15x multi and now things were cooking.
    I could also boot with the 16X multi but for some reason when I used the 16x multi CPUz wouldn’t load and was forced to use the 15x multi.
    The QX9650 either doesn’t have a cold boot bu, or this issue is only related to the new mobos I think???
    The QX9650 would crash in windows at around -145c but happly boot at -150c ???
    I ran the Nb at around -30c, it would handle -50 to -60c but I didn’t want to run it too cold as it would cause condensation troubles down the track. At -76c on the NB the system would blue screen and shut down and then would need to wait to -50c to reboot.
    I know the NB temps reported in bios are incorrect though heheh even with -50c it wouldn’t go any colder that 35c


    Didn’t get much results though sadly run out of time and still had heaps of Ln2 left unused
    .
    Max validation was 5670 validation 2cores and only around 5.4X 4cores.
    http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=333789



    1mb SPi



    3dmark01 89k


  16. #41
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    shame about FSB issues
    that chip is VERY good considering the cold bug at -150C wow
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  17. #42
    -100C Club Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    3,767
    New copper tubes, 1.9kg in weight.
    Little Australian icon for the cold transfer, something original









    Last edited by kayl; 03-20-2009 at 06:16 AM.

  18. #43
    ODOC
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Copenhagen - Denmark
    Posts
    2,193
    Hey Kayl , whats up ? long time since ...

    good work man , awesome to sth from you again

    good weekend

  19. #44
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Croatia
    Posts
    750
    wow.. kyle is back
    Nice idea man


    MBO Gigabyte P67-UD4-B3 // CPU Intel i5 2500k //
    GPU Gigabyte GTX470 // PSU Corsair TX650W //
    RAM 2*2GB Geil Black Dragon + 2*2GB Corsair DominatorGT // HDD WD 640GB + Seagate 250GB (410AS)

  20. #45
    -100C Club Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    3,767
    Quote Originally Posted by Oliver View Post
    Hey Kayl , whats up ? long time since ...
    good work man , awesome to sth from you again
    good weekend
    thanxs oliver, not much is up little benching here and there when i get spare time

    Quote Originally Posted by Bullet92 View Post
    wow.. kyle is back
    Nice idea man
    thanxs Bullet92, little aussie icon does the job

  21. #46
    -100C Club Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    3,767
    Tried my i7 950 on ln2, and GTX 280 as well, but there is a low cold bug on my i950 which makes benching hard.
    Nice video though here, first pour of the night, i love the way the ln2 boils inside the souther cross holes.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ojaB_YJiryg









  22. #47
    ODOC
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Copenhagen - Denmark
    Posts
    2,193
    Thanks for posting, cool vid

    how was the temp control, pouring wise?

  23. #48
    -100C Club Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    3,767
    Quote Originally Posted by Oliver View Post
    Thanks for posting, cool vid

    how was the temp control, pouring wise?
    very good, temps would increase slowly and hold load very well, just enough copper and surface area i think. Wont be changing this design

  24. #49
    -100C Club Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    australia
    Posts
    3,767
    Gig X58 UD5 I7 960 on ln2










    Last edited by kayl; 09-05-2009 at 06:54 AM.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •