X

    Subscribe to New Ads!

    Receive weekly ads in your inbox!



Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 73

Thread: Please note the capacitor explosion of P5K-E

  1. #1
    Team Japan
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    344

    Please note the capacitor explosion of P5K-E

    The capacitor of my P5K-E exploded suddenly.
    A big load never hung.
    The loud sound and the smoke and the smell......

    Condition
    M/B : ASUS P5K-E
    CPU : E6700
    PSU : OCZ PowerStream 520W
    Vcore : 1.65V
    Clock : 4.5GHz
    CPU Temp : -70C

    Image of exploding capacitor


    I repaired it.

    Removal of capacitor


    Replacement of capacitor(1000μF/16V)


    Fortunately, CPU and the power supply were safely.
    Mobo came to work when capacitor was exchanged.
    I tested it with E6700 and P4-631.
    It seems to have made the repair good.

    E6700 MAX FSB on water


    P4-631 MAX Clock(SPi-1M) under LN2
    (There is a bug for CPU-Z, and SetFSB is correct)


    DEWA DEWA~
    NewBeetle
    Last edited by NewBeetle; 07-18-2007 at 11:42 PM. Reason: Addition and correction

  2. #2
    L-l-look at you, hacker.
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    4,643
    ZOMGWTFBBQ! Nice repair job, though.
    Rig specs
    CPU: i7 5960X Mobo: Asus X99 Deluxe RAM: 4x4GB G.Skill DDR4-2400 CAS-15 VGA: 2x eVGA GTX680 Superclock PSU: Corsair AX1200

    Foundational Falsehoods of Creationism



  3. #3
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,037
    so it just unravelled itself?
    goes of on a kaboom, then unravels this black rubber?

  4. #4
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,801
    pushing a bit too hard on oc's there I guess

    nice repair job there
    ---

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    14
    what is the value of replaced capacitor?

  6. #6
    IT Engineer in the making
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Former Kingdom of Bavaria
    Posts
    2,109
    I'd guess that at 4.5GHz and 1.65V the ripple current was just too high for that poor cap. Please measure the resistance of the caps contacts to the empty pad for another cap, on the right next to the FETs. If they are directly connected, I'd advise you to add another cap there and have a look at the ripple current values of the caps that you add. Perhaps it'll help your overclock.
    Quote from one of our professors:
    "Reality is hiding in the imaginary part."

  7. #7
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,200
    wow I've never heard of a sold cap exploding before. It looks pretty crazy. Did it look like that right away or did you pull at the capacitor cap first?

    Nice repair job.
    CPU: Q6600 @ 3.6ghz G0 Week 37B
    Mobo: Asus P5k Deluxe
    Cooler: TRUE 120 (150cfm Delta)
    2xHR-05
    2xHR-09
    Mem: G.Skill 4x1Gb 6400HZ
    Vid: HIS 4850
    HDD: 80Gb 16mb Cache Raptor
    500Gb 7200.11 Seagate
    PSU: Enermax Noisetaker 600w
    Case: Thermaltake Armor (4x120mm 104CFM Panaflo)

    3dmark06: 16k

  8. #8
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    There's no place like 127.0.0.1, Brazil
    Posts
    889
    where is the aluminium cover? did it hit the ceiling?

  9. #9
    Team Japan
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    344
    Quote Originally Posted by justin_c View Post
    so it just unravelled itself?
    goes of on a kaboom, then unravels this black rubber?
    Yes, it unravelled itself by explosion.

    Quote Originally Posted by mutapha View Post
    what is the value of replaced capacitor?
    1000μF/16V

    Left : original capacitor cap ---------------------- Right : replaced capacitor


    Quote Originally Posted by celemine1Gig View Post
    I'd guess that at 4.5GHz and 1.65V the ripple current was just too high for that poor cap. Please measure the resistance of the caps contacts to the empty pad for another cap, on the right next to the FETs. If they are directly connected, I'd advise you to add another cap there and have a look at the ripple current values of the caps that you add. Perhaps it'll help your overclock.
    Thank you very much for your advice.

    Quote Originally Posted by ineedaname View Post
    wow I've never heard of a sold cap exploding before. It looks pretty crazy. Did it look like that right away or did you pull at the capacitor cap first?

    Nice repair job.
    The image shows the state after the explosion almost.
    The cap of the capacitor flew like the bullet.

    Quote Originally Posted by Morais View Post
    where is the aluminium cover? did it hit the ceiling?
    Yes, it hit the ceiling and flew somewhere in the room.
    I was able to find it by the next day's coming.
    Last edited by NewBeetle; 07-19-2007 at 08:06 AM.

  10. #10
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    121
    Wow that thing could've put somebodys eye out.... Nice repair BTW.
    Quote Originally Posted by STEvil View Post
    I see many mosfets and coils screaming in agony and releasing brilliant light shows in the future.

    Awesome

  11. #11
    That looks pretty bad NewBeetle

    Well if something is going to blow up, it's better a cap than something else like a CPU. Thats an interesting bug with CPU-Z, I have not seen it report falsely for quite some time.

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    94
    OT: The capacitors last word: Blow me b****!!!
    Mobo: Asus P5Q-E
    CPU: Intel Q9550 C1 @ stock ATM
    CPU Cooler: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
    RAM: 2x2GB Corsair Dominator 1066mhz
    Graphics: Ati Radeon 4870X2
    Storage: Samsung F1 32mb cache 750Gb
    Opticals: Samsung dvd burner
    PSU: Corsair HX 620watt

  13. #13
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,801
    NewBeetle you need to bench with safety googles/glasses
    ---

  14. #14
    I thougt aluminium caps did not explode/leak that easy?
    What was the vcore you were running at the time of the explosion?
    Gigabyte P35C-DS3--E6600 L628B123--2x1GB Gskill Pc6400HZ+1GB D9GMH OEM--Sapphire x1900XTX--Tagan 580w--GFX Watercooled--Cpu Cooled By Mach2 GT modded by Jort


  15. #15
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    590
    So much for solid caps

    Shouldn't you have replaced the exploded cap with something slightly better higher rated max voltage/capacitance just for good measure?

  16. #16
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,200
    yea he should bench behind some ballistic glass. :P
    CPU: Q6600 @ 3.6ghz G0 Week 37B
    Mobo: Asus P5k Deluxe
    Cooler: TRUE 120 (150cfm Delta)
    2xHR-05
    2xHR-09
    Mem: G.Skill 4x1Gb 6400HZ
    Vid: HIS 4850
    HDD: 80Gb 16mb Cache Raptor
    500Gb 7200.11 Seagate
    PSU: Enermax Noisetaker 600w
    Case: Thermaltake Armor (4x120mm 104CFM Panaflo)

    3dmark06: 16k

  17. #17
    -_-
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    ATLanta, Ga.
    Posts
    523
    Quote Originally Posted by ineedaname View Post
    yea he should bench behind some ballistic glass. :P
    no kidding!

    That was a very nice repair job though
    Quote Originally Posted by Gautam View Post
    I'll add my name to this elpida graveyard as soon I even think about running 32M. (yes, the thought is enough)



  18. #18
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    ithaca, ny
    Posts
    2,430
    so much for the solid cap hype
    E8400 8x500=4000 | ABIT IP35-E
    2x2GB Tracer PC2-6400 1:1 500MHz 5-5-5-15 2.0V
    Galaxy 8800GT 800/2000/1100 1.3V | 80GB X25-M G2 + 1.5TB 7200.11 | XFiXG
    Fuzion | MCW60 | DDC2+Petra | Coolrad22T+BIP1

    Merom 13x133=1733 1MB L2 0.950V

  19. #19
    IT Engineer in the making
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Former Kingdom of Bavaria
    Posts
    2,109
    Quote Originally Posted by ziddey View Post
    so much for the solid cap hype

    Great conclusion.

    The solid caps are indeed better and you could argue as long as you wanted. This wouldn't change. It's the circuit design that makes the difference. I doubt that Asus designed this particular board for someone running his CPU at 4.6GHz with 1.65V VCore. That's the point.

    Edit: Sorry, of course I meant 4.5Ghz with 1.65V VCore.
    Last edited by celemine1Gig; 07-28-2007 at 11:46 AM.
    Quote from one of our professors:
    "Reality is hiding in the imaginary part."

  20. #20
    Team Japan
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    344
    Thank you for your comment, friedchips-san, G H Z-san, TTmodder-san, eva2000-san, El Snorro-san, stealthbomber-san, ineedaname-san, White B-san, ziddey-san, celemine1Gig-san

    Quote Originally Posted by G H Z View Post
    That looks pretty bad NewBeetle

    Well if something is going to blow up, it's better a cap than something else like a CPU. Thats an interesting bug with CPU-Z, I have not seen it report falsely for quite some time.
    It seems not CPU-Z's bug but P5K-E's BIOS bug.
    Because CPU-Z is OK for P4-631 with P5B-D or P5K or P965-S.

    Quote Originally Posted by eva2000 View Post
    NewBeetle you need to bench with safety googles/glasses
    As I am a chemist, I always do benches putting on safety glasses and experiment wear.

    Quote Originally Posted by El Snorro View Post
    I thougt aluminium caps did not explode/leak that easy?
    What was the vcore you were running at the time of the explosion?
    Vcore was 1.65V and system was not running bench but idle.

    Quote Originally Posted by stealthbomber View Post
    So much for solid caps

    Shouldn't you have replaced the exploded cap with something slightly better higher rated max voltage/capacitance just for good measure?
    As 1000μF/16V capacitors are used with P5B-D's EATX-12V line, I used it.
    And it seems OK because I can get WR with this repaired board.

    Quote Originally Posted by ineedaname View Post
    yea he should bench behind some ballistic glass. :P
    Always I put it.

    Quote Originally Posted by White B View Post
    no kidding!

    That was a very nice repair job though
    It's OK because I like joke.

    Quote Originally Posted by celemine1Gig View Post
    Great conclusion.

    The solid caps are indeed better and you could argue as long as you wanted. This wouldn't change. It's the circuit design that makes the difference. I doubt that Asus designed this particular board for someone running his CPU at 4.6GHz with 1.65V VCore. That's the point.

    Edit: Sorry, of course I meant 4.5Ghz with 1.65V VCore.
    It is as you say.
    ASUS produces good boards.
    I think the defect of the capacitor caused this accident.

    DEWA DEWA ~
    NewBeetle

  21. #21
    IT Engineer in the making
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Former Kingdom of Bavaria
    Posts
    2,109
    Quote Originally Posted by NewBeetle View Post
    It is as you say.
    ASUS produces good boards.
    I think the defect of the capacitor caused this accident.

    DEWA DEWA ~
    NewBeetle
    Hi NewBeetle,

    I don't even think that the capacitor was defective to begin with. I rather think that it was just not rated high enough to withstand the extreme current draw of your CPU at 4.5GHz with 1.65V. It seems that this cap is filtering the 12V-EPS 8-pin power connector that is located right next to it. The CPU draws it's main power from there.
    As I said, I think the ripple current just got too big for the cap, thus it exploded. If there would've been two of the these solid caps in parallel, I think they would still be OK. But the single one was just not up to the extreme task. Perhaps your replacement cap has got a higher ripple current rating, or it's just the larger physical size that let's it withstand more strain and that's why it's still OK.
    Quote from one of our professors:
    "Reality is hiding in the imaginary part."

  22. #22
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Durham University, UK
    Posts
    1,204
    The caps on my P5K-E appear to be different:



    The rig
    CPUs: E6300 ES B0 @ 3220 MHz w/1.35v orthos stable | E6600 B2 @ 3400 MHz w/1.43v --> Sold | Xeon 3050 L2 @ 3304 MHz w/1.45v orthos stable
    MoBo: Asus P5K-E WiFi-AP @ 520 x * orthos stable
    Graphics: 256 MB Connect 3D Radeon X1900XT @ 661/828 (core/mem)
    RAM: 2 x 1 GB Team Xtreem PC2 5300 @ DDR1010 4-4-4-8 / DDR1100 5-5-5-12 w/2.25v orthos stable
    HDDs: 300 GB (16 MB Cache) and 80 GB Maxtor Diamondmax 10 drives
    Optical: NEC ND3500AG DVD +/- RW
    PSU: Antec True Power 2.0 550W
    H2O
    Swiftech MCR220-QP | Laing D5 | AquaXtreme MP-05 Pro LE | DangerDen Maze 4 LP | 2 x 120mm NoiseBlocker SX1 fans
    Lappy
    MSI MS1022 14.1" Widescreen Barebone | Celeron-M 360 1.4 GHz @ 1.86 GHz / Pentium M 715A | GeForce 6200 Go | 80 GB Fujitsu HDD | Sony DVD +/- RW
    Waiting for
    Nehalem

  23. #23
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    590
    Looks like your board has slightly higher rated caps, NewBeetle's been ripped off, typical Asus, even their high end boards are inconsistent in the parts used

  24. #24
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Oregon , USA
    Posts
    452
    LOL dude thats awful , but may i ask where i the shell of the cap ?

    mukmaster
    FOLD for XS WCG ; or Rodzilla kills a kitten

  25. #25
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,200
    man that really sucks. I can't believe they used lower rated caps on new beetle's board.
    CPU: Q6600 @ 3.6ghz G0 Week 37B
    Mobo: Asus P5k Deluxe
    Cooler: TRUE 120 (150cfm Delta)
    2xHR-05
    2xHR-09
    Mem: G.Skill 4x1Gb 6400HZ
    Vid: HIS 4850
    HDD: 80Gb 16mb Cache Raptor
    500Gb 7200.11 Seagate
    PSU: Enermax Noisetaker 600w
    Case: Thermaltake Armor (4x120mm 104CFM Panaflo)

    3dmark06: 16k

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •