Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 35

Thread: Old Skool socket 7

  1. #1
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    4,714

    Old Skool socket 7

    Last night I tried to fit my modded mach2 on the Asus P5A socket7 motherboard. The board doesn't have any socket holes, so I had to improvise a bit :p

    This is why I like old school system to the max: I managed to run my k6/2 500MHz. to 6x120MHz, which is the absolute maximum of the board.







    Where courage, motivation and ignorance meet, a persistent idiot awakens.

  2. #2
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    4,714
    Quote Originally Posted by |JACK- View Post
    let me guess 8.91secs superpi?
    Haha ... you're so funny

    Actually, I couldn't run pi at 720Mhz, but maybe I can run at 650+.

    If you're really interested, this is how a k6/2 performs:

    Where courage, motivation and ignorance meet, a persistent idiot awakens.

  3. #3
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    864
    great, finally you've also benched with a phase change cooling


    what was you max winodws-bootable clock?

    looks like, i've to strike back.
    Last edited by Turrican; 05-06-2007 at 03:07 AM.

  4. #4
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    521
    old skool cpus overclocking its funny hehe

    want to try 32m SPI? lol

    Regards

  5. #5
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    4,714
    Quote Originally Posted by Turrican View Post
    great, finally you've also benched with a phase change cooling


    what was you max winodws-bootable clock?

    looks like, i've to strike back.
    120*6 = 720Mhz., the max of my motherboard

    I currently trying to get the max bench freq. up to 689mhz, but it's really hard to keep it stable for 10 minutes (PiFast)
    Where courage, motivation and ignorance meet, a persistent idiot awakens.

  6. #6
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    864
    Quote Originally Posted by massman View Post
    120*6 = 720Mhz., the max of my motherboard

    I currently trying to get the max bench freq. up to 689mhz, but it's really hard to keep it stable for 10 minutes (PiFast)
    yeah, i know what you're talking about

    unfortunately i have no chance against your tweaking skills in super pi.
    my cpu is faster (more mhz, more l2-cache), but still a lot slower.

  7. #7
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Newcastle Under Lyme - Staffordshire - UK
    Posts
    569
    Superb!

    Great to see old Chompers all icy

    I'll see if i can join you in a few days

    Tom
    "What will become of us, will we evolve"

  8. #8
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    4,714
    Quote Originally Posted by Turrican View Post
    yeah, i know what you're talking about

    unfortunately i have no chance against your tweaking skills in super pi.
    my cpu is faster (more mhz, more l2-cache), but still a lot slower.
    Superpi is easy to tweak, pifast on the other hand ...

    Your 622s is a hard nut to crack. At the same speeds + tweaks I only managed to get 634s. I bet the l2 does mather a lot when it comes to pifast benching .

    The problem is that I really need to bench at 650+ Mhz. to beat that score, but the system is not at all stable at those speeds. I've tried 115*6, 110*6 and 120*5.5 and nothing works stable 'till the end of the bench.

    By the way, do you have problems too when you up the voltage up to 3.2v? 2.9-3.0v seems to be the sweet spot for stability/performance.
    Where courage, motivation and ignorance meet, a persistent idiot awakens.

  9. #9
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Stara Zagora,Bulgaria
    Posts
    173
    I fell down from my chair.I like it oooh i want one of those phase change...but... Anyway its cool!Also good improvisation.This should be called HDD Phase Clipper
    Greetings from Bulgaria

  10. #10
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    864
    Quote Originally Posted by massman View Post
    Superpi is easy to tweak, pifast on the other hand ...

    Your 622s is a hard nut to crack. At the same speeds + tweaks I only managed to get 634s. I bet the l2 does mather a lot when it comes to pifast benching .

    The problem is that I really need to bench at 650+ Mhz. to beat that score, but the system is not at all stable at those speeds. I've tried 115*6, 110*6 and 120*5.5 and nothing works stable 'till the end of the bench.

    By the way, do you have problems too when you up the voltage up to 3.2v? 2.9-3.0v seems to be the sweet spot for stability/performance.

    yes, some of my cpus don't even boot with more than 2,9V. Looks like the cpus can't handle that voltage.
    very strange.

    maybe next week i'm gonna set my sockel7 rig for some benching up again.
    now i must bench my main-system a little bit

  11. #11
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    4,714
    Quote Originally Posted by Turrican View Post
    yes, some of my cpus don't even boot with more than 2,9V. Looks like the cpus can't handle that voltage.
    very strange.

    maybe next week i'm gonna set my sockel7 rig for some benching up again.
    now i must bench my main-system a little bit
    I hope you do. The only WR you have left is the pifast WR
    Where courage, motivation and ignorance meet, a persistent idiot awakens.

  12. #12
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    864
    Quote Originally Posted by massman View Post
    I hope you do. The only WR you have left is the pifast WR
    the empire will strike back
    i see what i can do

  13. #13
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    4,714
    Quote Originally Posted by PPInDaHouse View Post
    old skool cpus overclocking its funny hehe

    want to try 32m SPI? lol

    Regards
    32M is weird, I have never been able to run it. Even on stock speeds, the system freezes
    Where courage, motivation and ignorance meet, a persistent idiot awakens.

  14. #14
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    [EU] Latvia, Jelgava
    Posts
    1,736
    Buy a few more and do handpick
    Maybe you'll squeeze 720Mhz at benchmarks stable.
    This is with 6x83FSB or 5x100 by default?
    Or search for K6-III with 256KB cache and 180nm, that will break a wall.
    By the way, your spi score is incredibly slow, my PII 366Mhz laptop can do spi1m about 50sec faster.

  15. #15
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    4,714
    Quote Originally Posted by Kasparz View Post
    Buy a few more and do handpick
    Maybe you'll squeeze 720Mhz at benchmarks stable.
    This is with 6x83FSB or 5x100 by default?
    Or search for K6-III with 256KB cache and 180nm, that will break a wall.
    By the way, your spi score is incredibly slow, my PII 366Mhz laptop can do spi1m about 50sec faster.
    The only chip I have left is a K6-2 350Mhz, but I'll have to search for it

    Default 5*100

    The k6/2 is indeed very slow, I have tested the pentium II's myself and I'm pretty sure that the k6/2 will never touch a PII when it comes to SPi performance. The time isn't slow because of the bad OS, it's because the chip itself is incredibly slow
    Where courage, motivation and ignorance meet, a persistent idiot awakens.

  16. #16
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    5
    The lack of (onchip) L2 cache kills SuperPi performance indeed. The K6-2+/3+ are definitely better.

  17. #17
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    [EU] Latvia, Jelgava
    Posts
    1,736
    Blah, checked prices on ebay for K6-III. For that price you can buy nF2 motherboard and barton. Sheesh.

  18. #18
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Coeur d' Alene, Idaho, USA
    Posts
    585
    AMD-K6-2/350AFR
    2.2V CORE/3.3V I/O
    A 9916DPMW


    any good? would some one like to use it?
    "If It Doesn't Overclock Its Broken"
    "NexGen Overclocking"
    "Overclocking, its a life style"

  19. #19
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    101
    great looking setup
    Asus P5N32-E SLI
    Intel Core 2 E6700 @3.62Ghz
    2 x 36gb Western Digital Raptor 10000rpm in Raid 0
    2 x Hitachi 160gb 7200rpm Sata HDD in Raid 0
    4gb crucial ddr2-1066
    evga 8800GTS

  20. #20
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Belgrade, Serbia
    Posts
    594
    Quote Originally Posted by massman View Post
    Haha ... you're so funny

    Actually, I couldn't run pi at 720Mhz, but maybe I can run at 650+.

    If you're really interested, this is how a k6/2 performs:

    Didi u try copywaza tweak before run maybe u will improve result , kidding great old school result
    Born to overclock

  21. #21
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    4,714
    Quote Originally Posted by Misko View Post
    Didi u try copywaza tweak before run maybe u will improve result , kidding great old school result
    Watch out, maybe I'll try :p

    But first ... dfi p965
    Where courage, motivation and ignorance meet, a persistent idiot awakens.

  22. #22
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    839
    If your mobo is hitting the limits you might want to change the 14MHz crystal. Try 15MHz instead (and hope for your HD's that they not loose any data)

    Also check for any voltmod for you NB.
    What memory's are being used?

  23. #23
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    POLAND/Cracow
    Posts
    1,246
    nice one
    you should get a K6-2+ or K6-3+ (with 6x mulitplier)
    and try to break fsb 150 (maybe @ ln2 )
    6*150 =900mhz the fastest socket7 processor

  24. #24
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    4,714
    Quote Originally Posted by wittekakker View Post
    If your mobo is hitting the limits you might want to change the 14MHz crystal. Try 15MHz instead (and hope for your HD's that they not loose any data)

    Also check for any voltmod for you NB.
    What memory's are being used?
    I'll contact you

    Quote Originally Posted by Duniek View Post
    nice one
    you should get a K6-2+ or K6-3+ (with 6x mulitplier)
    and try to break fsb 150 (maybe @ ln2 )
    6*150 =900mhz the fastest socket7 processor
    150Mhz. will be very dificult as I'm bios limited to 120Mhz.

    The 6x multiplier is already okay

    Where courage, motivation and ignorance meet, a persistent idiot awakens.

  25. #25
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    1,015
    What about clockgen or cpufsb to change fsb in win
    The man with the littel Barebone!
    And proud Crew of!!!
    Octeamdenmark.com
    Shuttle SX38P2Pro Barebone E8600cpu and HD4870X2 gfx and 2gig Crusial Ballistix PC8500 Cl5 and 2x150gig Raptor in raid 0 and 1x750 gig seagate
    Msi 790FX-GD70 Mobo Amd 955-965 PHII cpus and 2gig Crucial value PC10600@800mhz 7-5-5-15 1T
    And 4x500GB Seagate 7200.12 in raid0
    4xHD5770 in CFQ.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •