X

    Subscribe to New Ads!

    Receive weekly ads in your inbox!



Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 75

Thread: Twins - 640MB Gainward Bliss 8800GTS Dual DVI (G80 series)

  1. #1
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,801

    Cool Twins - 640MB Gainward Bliss 8800GTS Dual DVI (G80 series)

    640MB Gainward Bliss 8800GTS Dual DVI


    The temptation to try out the new Nvidia G80 series was just all too great. So I hooked myself up with twins - 2x 640MB Gainward Bliss 8800GTS Dual DVI Unfortunately, no SLI until someone or Nvidia provides SLI drivers for 8800 series on 975x/965P chipset motherboards So single 8800GTS tests below







    The 640MB Gainward Bliss 8800GTS Dual DVI cards run at stock speeds of 513/1584 and CD-ROM came with 91.47 and 96.89 Forceware drivers as well as Expert Tool to overclock the video card. Expert Tool overclocking feature allows a max of 670Mhz GPU core and 1900Mhz Memory clocks.





    Card #1 temps with room temps of 26C
    Idle = 53-54C
    Load = 63C for 3Dmark06 and 73C max for ATI Tool show 3D window test loop for 20 mins.

    Card #2 temps with room temps of 26.3C
    Idle = 47-52C
    Load = 61C for 3Dmark06 and 69-72C max for ATI Tool show 3D window test loop for 20 mins.

    ---

  2. #2
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,801
    System:


    Single 640MB Gainward Bliss 8800GTS Dual DVI


    Stock speeds @513/1584


    3Dmark06 - Control panel quality = High Performance


    3Dmark05 - Control panel quality = High Performance
    = 12,881

    3Dmark2003 - Control panel quality = High Performance
    = 24,691

    3Dmark2001 - Control panel quality = High Performance
    = 41,115

    Overclocked @650/1900

    After a while ATI Tool caused slowness in performance for the card, 3Dmark2001 slowed to 14k score! So removed ATI Tool, reinstalled 96.89 drivers and only used Gainward Expert tool to overclock the video card.

    Gainward Expert tool slider for memory was maxed out at 1900Mhz. While GPU core was clocked at easy 650Mhz.

    3Dmark06 - Control panel quality = High Performance


    3Dmark05 - Control panel quality = High Performance
    = 14,332

    3Dmark2003 - Control panel quality = High Performance
    = 30,058

    3Dmark2001 - Control panel quality = High Performance
    = 43,438

    See how it compares to stock X6800 speeds of 2.93Ghz.
    Last edited by eva2000; 11-21-2006 at 06:01 AM.
    ---

  3. #3
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,801

    Overclocked Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield cpu to 9x325FSB = 2927Mhz.
    Single 640MB Gainward Bliss 8800GTS Dual DVI


    Stock speeds @513/1584


    3Dmark06 - Control panel quality = High Performance


    Overclocked @650/1900


    3Dmark06 - Control panel quality = High Performance


    Overclocked @650/2050


    3Dmark06 - Control panel quality = High Performance

    3Dmark06 = 11,680
    http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm06=640724






    Moving the 8800GTS cards over to my E6600 + Asus P5B Deluxe system for further tests
    ---

  4. #4
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,801
    System:


    Stock E6600 @2400Mhz +
    640MB Gainward Bliss 8800GTS Dual DVI stock @513/1584


    click images for full screenshots

    3Dmark06 = 8,374 vs Q6600 stock 9,337


    3Dmark05 = 13,974 vs Q6600 stock 12,881


    3Dmark2003= 25201 vs Q6600 stock 24,691


    3Dmark2001= 43,278 vs Q6600 stock 41,115


    Seems Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 B1 cpu beat Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @2400Mhz speeds in all but 3Dmark06 tests. Whether that is due to different motherboard chipsets, I will find out when I test Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 on the same Asus P5B Deluxe motherboard.

    Overclocked @650/2050


    3Dmark06


    3Dmark05


    3Dmark2003


    3Dmark2001
    ---

  5. #5
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,801
    Overclocked E6600 @9x430FSB = 3878Mhz (clockgen from 400FSB)
    +
    640MB Gainward Bliss 8800GTS Dual DVI SLI


    @650/2050


    3Dmark06


    3Dmark05


    3Dmark2003


    3Dmark2001


    Aquamark3
    ---

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Hollanda
    Posts
    373
    me asus 8800gts gets about the same score at 660/1000 (the score sm2.0 :4711 hdr/sm.03: 4683)...

    need to get me some more power on my cpu do

  7. #7
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Herbert's House in Family Guy
    Posts
    2,389
    i got 10850 on 3DMark06 with E6400 @ 3.4GHz and 8800GTS @ 660/1030

    i aint spending $300 just for that little 400 points...
    E6600 @ 3.6
    IN9 32x MAX
    EVGA 8800Ultra
    750W

  8. #8
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,801
    $300 for what ? all above are single 8800GTS results not SLI
    ---

  9. #9
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Herbert's House in Family Guy
    Posts
    2,389
    for E6600, i have a E6400 3.4GHz + single 8800GTS 660/2030 and scored 10850 on 3dmark06

    u had E6600 OC to 3.9GHz,

    RAM only gives u little boost. I remember changing multiplier from DDR2 800 to DDR2 1000 was like a 50 points difference..
    E6600 @ 3.6
    IN9 32x MAX
    EVGA 8800Ultra
    750W

  10. #10
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,801
    which drivers you using ? just goes to show how cpu limited it is with G80 series even with Core 2 Duo cpus

    What about 3dmark05/2003 ?
    ---

  11. #11

  12. #12
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Hollanda
    Posts
    373
    i got 10956 whit cpu: e6600 @ 3609 mb: p5b dlx mem: 2gb duelchanel 1:1 at 5,5,5,15 asus 8800gts @ 660/1000 96.89.. havent done any tweaking.. just a litle oc..


    SM 2.0 Score 4711 Marks
    SM 3.0 Score 4683 Marks
    CPU Score 3177 Marks

    http://service.futuremark.com/compare?c=4131100_2
    Last edited by lookmomnobrains; 11-20-2006 at 01:18 PM.

  13. #13
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    2,808
    Awesome results Eva. I enjoyed reading your review more than most of the reviews on others sites on this card. I really enjoy seeing you keep the E6600 at 2.4ghz. Judging by your cpu scores in 06 its is right on par to what my 4800+ gets at 2.83ghz. Nice to see what I could be getting on my system as compared to the outrageous scores others are getting with C2D systems.

    Wondering EVA, would you be willing to upload that Expert tool for others to try out? I understand all the 8800's are manufactured from the same source so I would think the tool would work on any branded 8800. Seems much more fool proof to use that program than Atitool, ntune etc. I like how there is a checkbox to keep settings upon reboot.
    Last edited by cantankerous; 11-20-2006 at 01:29 PM.
    Silverstone Temjin TJ-09BW w/ Silverstone DA750
    Asus P8P67
    2600K w/ Thermalright Venomous X Black w/ Sanyo Denki San Ace 109R1212H1011
    8GB G.Skill DDR-1600 7-8-7-24
    Gigabyte GTX 460 1G
    Modded Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty w/ Klipsch Promedia 2.1
    1 X 120GB OCZ Vertex
    1 X 300GB WD Velociraptor HLFS
    1 X Hitachi 7K1000 1TB
    Pioneer DVR-216L DVD-RW
    Windows 7 Ultimate 64


    Quote Originally Posted by alexio View Post
    From the hip and aim at the kitchen if she doesn't approve your purchases. She'll know better next time.

  14. #14
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Herbert's House in Family Guy
    Posts
    2,389
    just use ATI tool or ntune

    ntune:
    cant load overclock/fan speed during startup... cant evne load any profile, so that means reoverclock every time u reboot

    ATI Tool .25 beta 15 :
    CAN load overclock profile during startup, but no fan control...

    Rivatuner 2 RC 16.01
    same as ATI Tool. It has fan control, but its fan control dont work... and u have to ForceVGADevice 92 to overclock. it does load overclock during startup.
    E6600 @ 3.6
    IN9 32x MAX
    EVGA 8800Ultra
    750W

  15. #15
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    2,808
    I still think this Expertool will be better as it seems to be made just for overclocking this current generation of cards. I really can't see something of that calibre taking up a lot of hd space or having a large memory footprint. If it can do clocks and fan settings in one with settings being kept at reboot then I see no need for anything else, especially multiple programs each doing something different.
    Silverstone Temjin TJ-09BW w/ Silverstone DA750
    Asus P8P67
    2600K w/ Thermalright Venomous X Black w/ Sanyo Denki San Ace 109R1212H1011
    8GB G.Skill DDR-1600 7-8-7-24
    Gigabyte GTX 460 1G
    Modded Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty w/ Klipsch Promedia 2.1
    1 X 120GB OCZ Vertex
    1 X 300GB WD Velociraptor HLFS
    1 X Hitachi 7K1000 1TB
    Pioneer DVR-216L DVD-RW
    Windows 7 Ultimate 64


    Quote Originally Posted by alexio View Post
    From the hip and aim at the kitchen if she doesn't approve your purchases. She'll know better next time.

  16. #16
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Stamford, UK
    Posts
    1,339
    eva could you get us some benchies at a resolution of 1680x1050 - or 1600x1200 depending on your aspect ratio -and higher with high IQ (such as 16x AF, etc) . I wanna see how these cards react at high rez with some high IQ .
    If you could that would be awesome! Those are some nice results btw
    FX8350 @ 4.0Ghz | 32GB @ DDR3-1200 4-4-4-12 | Asus 990FXA @ 1400Mhz | AMD HD5870 Eyefinity | XFX750W | 6 x 128GB Sandisk Extreme RAID0 @ Aerca 1882ix with 4GB DRAM
    eXceed TJ07 worklog/build

  17. #17
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    4,919
    Do these have the 1.2ns memoiry on them then, rather than 1.2 ?

    Regards

    Andy

  18. #18
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    34
    good bench

    AMD ATHLON 3000+ 512+512+256+256 KINGSTON DDR400 RAM +EPOX NF4 SLI+ SEAGATE 160G

  19. #19
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    George great as always

    where is that 680i of yours......................mine is getting sent tomorrow.....so probably another week for it to get here from US.....i'm sharpening my pencil for RAM tweaking........(shamelessly) looking forward to some master tips from ya






    Quote Originally Posted by fhpchris
    where in this thread does it ask you to post your 8800GTX results.....what's going on with these kids today......seriously....htf do you just rock up to a thread of eva's and just slap your scores without any into and discussion...... what is the purpose of you post mate
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  20. #20
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,801
    I'll try and find expert tool on the cd-rom - it isn't labeled as Expert tool so harder to find on the cd-rom as it has it's own auto run GUI install interface etc

    it's meant to have 1.1ns memory but haven't checked to see if it does have it.. both my cards do 2050mhz on memory so

    High res 1600x1200 benchies come much later.. doing the Power-Mate power draw tests right now for the rig http://i4memory.com/showthread.php?t=3229 i.e. http://i4memory.com/showthread.php?t=3262 but with my above rig instead.

    dinos, no 680i for me right now, waiting on local eVGA disty to have some review samples return back to them before sending me one 680i + 8800GTX to test... hence why i purchased 8800GTS to tie me over.. it's nearing Xmas and Aussie disty/retailers will close for Xmas within 3-5 weeks for between 1-2 months heh
    ---

  21. #21
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    2,808
    Ok thanks Eva, I would appreciate the try on looking for Expertool. I am sure others here would like to try it out as well.
    Silverstone Temjin TJ-09BW w/ Silverstone DA750
    Asus P8P67
    2600K w/ Thermalright Venomous X Black w/ Sanyo Denki San Ace 109R1212H1011
    8GB G.Skill DDR-1600 7-8-7-24
    Gigabyte GTX 460 1G
    Modded Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty w/ Klipsch Promedia 2.1
    1 X 120GB OCZ Vertex
    1 X 300GB WD Velociraptor HLFS
    1 X Hitachi 7K1000 1TB
    Pioneer DVR-216L DVD-RW
    Windows 7 Ultimate 64


    Quote Originally Posted by alexio View Post
    From the hip and aim at the kitchen if she doesn't approve your purchases. She'll know better next time.

  22. #22
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,801
    Expert Tool download here (5.8MB)

    Power-Mate power meter test

    Power-Mate power meter used to measure total system power draw from mains wall socket.



    System:


    Peak power draw values (Watts)


    2400Mhz - 9x266FSB at 1.35v bios set with 8800GTS stock 513/1584
    • Windows Boot up = 195.5W (0.934A)
    • Windows Idle = 176.1W to 181.4W
    • Opening CPUZ = power spike to 198.1W
    • Stressprime Orthos Small FFTs Load = 220.7W (1.007A)
    • TAT internal cpu load test = 225.7W (1.035A)
    • PCmark05 = 240.6W (1.083A)
    • 3Dmark06 = 247.4W (1.127A)
    • ATI Tool 0.25 Beta 16 Show 3D View load = 251.3W (1.146A)
    • ATI Tool Show 3D View + Stressprime Orthos Small FFTs Load = 270.2W (1.219A)


    2400Mhz with 8800GTS oc' from 513/1584 to 650/2050
    • Windows Idle = 181.4W to 183.8W
    • Opening CPUZ = power spike to 199.3W
    • Stressprime Orthos Small FFTs Load = 220.9W
    • TAT internal cpu load test = 229.9W (1.046A)
    • PCmark05 = 254.7W (1.149A)
    • 3Dmark06 = 264.7W (1.202A)
    • ATI Tool 0.25 Beta 16 Show 3D View load = 274.4W (1.233A)
    • ATI Tool Show 3D View + Stressprime Orthos Small FFTs Load = 288.3W (1.297A)


    Note, there's no direct comparison to http://i4memory.com/showthread.php?t=3262 as different power supplies were used with different rated efficiency levels as well as different hardware configurations.

    Oc'd E6600 results coming soon...
    Last edited by eva2000; 11-21-2006 at 06:11 AM.
    ---

  23. #23
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Cairo
    Posts
    2,382
    quad core got same score(SM2 and SM3) as E6600 Stock so where is the CPU limit that is GPU limit
    ________
    marijuana pictures
    Last edited by kemo; 01-31-2011 at 11:20 AM.

  24. #24
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,801
    yeah GPU limit... but remember i used different motherboards for Q6600 tests than for E6600

    Q6600 was on D975XBX
    E6600 on P5B Deluxe
    Last edited by eva2000; 11-21-2006 at 06:02 AM.
    ---

  25. #25
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Cairo
    Posts
    2,382
    Quote Originally Posted by eva2000
    yeah GPU limit... but remember i used different motherboards for Q6600 tests than for E6600

    Q6600 was on D975XBX
    E6600 on P5B Deluxe
    So you proved my point I have been saying that 3GHZ opty is enough run 8800GTS with ease but every body said Conroe is must
    As far as I know 975 is better in 06 So still advantage for Q6600
    ________
    Volvo B4B engine specifications
    Last edited by kemo; 01-31-2011 at 11:20 AM.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •