Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: PROJECT: Osiris (800D)

PROJECT: Osiris (800D)

UPDATE!! 16JAN2010
    Almost done:

Post #30

Introduction:
    I've been lurking here for a while. I guess my first post will be also be my first worklog.

I've been building computers for myself for about 10 years or so, but made my first venture into water cooling early this year. In January 2008 I built myself a pretty high end machine (XFX 780i with a Q6600, 4GB GSkill, and three 8800GTX all housed in a Silverstone TJ10.

In March of this year, I upgraded my video cards and decided I'd try and wet my feet with liquid cooling (pardon the probably over-used pun). I didn't know too much, but I did a little research and ended up with this:

It's all Swiftech: a 655, a single 120 rad and another 2x120 rad with an Apogee GTZ, and MCRES Rev2. I was never really happy with it visually, but it got the job done, and quite well too.

When I moved to i7/X58 in August, I picked up a 355 and XSPC bay mount dual pump / dual res because (a) I wanted to clean up the case and (b) planned on adding another loop for the video cards.

So, a couple months later I bought myself two EK blocks for the 285's and started thinking about that second loop. Originally, my plan was to place the CPU on the single 120 rad and the two vid cards on the 240 rad. After thinking about it a while I said to myself,
    "Self, if you want to overclock that 920, it would just be silly to try and keep it on that single 120. If you are going to do it, do it right."
    Self thought it was a good idea.

I knew I would need a larger radiator and I was having problems figuring out how I was going to fit it all in the TJ10. I didn't really want to go external either, so I decided it was time to buy a bigger case. And you all know how it goes: once you buy one thing, you keep buying and buying....

Purpose: