Results 1 to 23 of 23

Thread: Intel's Dual Core EE chip to support HT?

  1. #1
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    On a crazy college campus! (Nash, TN)
    Posts
    1,489

    Question Intel's Dual Core EE chip to support HT?

    http://www.xtremesystems.org/modules...rder=0&thold=0

    What do you think? Overpriced? Not suited for gamers? Just what the doctor ordered?
    Last edited by matt9669; 02-07-2005 at 06:56 PM.
    Want your news on the front page? Click here!




  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Broomfield, CO
    Posts
    4,088
    I can't imagine to amount of cache the Smithfield EE chips will have on-core. Oh baby, need I say? 4MB?

  3. #3
    ^^Not dead!!^^
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    4,816
    I can only imagine what these can do for the D2OL team

    I'll be getting me a chip when they come out.

  4. #4
    XS D2OL & RAM News
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Somewhere, USA
    Posts
    4,458
    yep, probly 4mb of on die cache...man...just think...even if you can only get it to something like 3.6ghz on air...still....4 instancies of D2OL...that'd be great.

    jjcom

  5. #5
    ^^Not dead!!^^
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    4,816
    I wonder how that would compare to our dual Xeon rigs?

  6. #6
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    On a crazy college campus! (Nash, TN)
    Posts
    1,489
    It'd be about the same, if you think about it - 4 thread handlers, 800MHz shared bus - the only factor that could make a reasonable difference is the new chipsets for Intel's dual cores, which are supposed to be highly improved.

    Then factor in cost, and the dual core EE can't touch our dual Xeons.

    EDIT: my bad, I would guess these are 1066FSB myself, being EE chips.
    Last edited by matt9669; 02-08-2005 at 07:48 AM.
    Want your news on the front page? Click here!




  7. #7
    XS D2OL & RAM News
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Somewhere, USA
    Posts
    4,458
    1066mhz FSB on The EE

    jjcom

  8. #8
    ^^Not dead!!^^
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    4,816
    Yes but on the EE cores they are using for the dual core?

  9. #9
    XS D2OL & RAM News
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Somewhere, USA
    Posts
    4,458
    last I knew it was the regular Pentium's were 800mhz FSB and the ExtremeEditons were using the 1066mhz FSB. Altho I could be wrong, but I was very sure of this

    jjcom

  10. #10
    ^^Not dead!!^^
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    4,816
    The new EE's will be... but they aren’t out yet (I don't think...)

    The current crop of EE chips are 800MHz...

  11. #11
    XS D2OL & RAM News
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Somewhere, USA
    Posts
    4,458
    the current ones are 1066mhz FSB
    http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...116-189&depa=1

    So it makes sence to Intel to keep going with the 1066mhz FSB. I also belive there was an article...saying something along the lines of Intel sepperating there regular chips from the high end ones by FSB speed

    jjcom

  12. #12
    ^^Not dead!!^^
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    4,816
    Quote Originally Posted by jjcom
    the current ones are 1066mhz FSB
    http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...116-189&depa=1

    So it makes sence to Intel to keep going with the 1066mhz FSB. I also belive there was an article...saying something along the lines of Intel sepperating there regular chips from the high end ones by FSB speed

    jjcom
    Thanks for clearing that up!

    So these new dual core chips will be something like $2K

    They might sell a couple

  13. #13
    XS D2OL & RAM News
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Somewhere, USA
    Posts
    4,458
    Quote Originally Posted by Rodzilla
    So these new dual core chips will be something like $2K

    They might sell a couple
    yep knowing Intel...They'll be thinking:
    "Two cores, twice the price! Wheres Donald Trump...maybe he will buy..."

    jjcom

  14. #14
    ^^Not dead!!^^
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    4,816
    Quote Originally Posted by jjcom
    yep knowing Intel...They'll be thinking:
    "Two cores, twice the price! Wheres Donald Trump...maybe he will buy..."

    jjcom
    If I had the $$ I would get one... Man... that would make you king of any LAN party!

  15. #15
    XS D2OL & RAM News
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Somewhere, USA
    Posts
    4,458
    King of the LanParty.....

    that Intel dual core could really turn out to be nice...just have to wait...who ever gets one needs to test out D2OL on it

    jjcom

  16. #16
    Xtreme Gentoo User
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    3,605
    I wonder how these things will overclock.

  17. #17
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Broomfield, CO
    Posts
    4,088
    Oh, there is no doubt in my mind. I WILL have this chip. And then later on I will have a dual dual-core Xeon machine, too!

  18. #18
    ^^Not dead!!^^
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    4,816
    Quote Originally Posted by freecableguy
    Oh, there is no doubt in my mind. I WILL have this chip. And then later on I will have a dual dual-core Xeon machine, too!
    Then you could fire up D2OL again for the team! That would be some serious crunching power!!!!

    Dual, Dual core Xeon's... that would be 8 D2OL client nodes on one machine!

  19. #19
    XS D2OL & RAM News
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Somewhere, USA
    Posts
    4,458
    Quote Originally Posted by Rodzilla
    Then you could fire up D2OL again for the team! That would be some serious crunching power!!!!

    Dual, Dual core Xeon's... that would be 8 D2OL client nodes on one machine!
    Amazing the power that kind of rig would have....just need to hope for at least the 1066mhz...at a minimum. 1200 would be better.

    jjcom

  20. #20
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    On a crazy college campus! (Nash, TN)
    Posts
    1,489
    Thanks D2OL crew for making the first news-related discussion a minor success! We WILL have more as time goes on, but interest is key . . .
    Want your news on the front page? Click here!




  21. #21
    ^^Not dead!!^^
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Indiana, USA
    Posts
    4,816
    There are a couple things on the front page that I would have loved to comment on... I think a "discuss it here" link should be in every story posted...

    We can put all the Threads in the News forums... Sounds like a winner to me!

  22. #22
    c[_]
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    20,447
    discuss it here links are a good idea. Just link the forums directly to the news page so when a news post is made it creates a thread in this forum maybe, then all replies to to the news post go to its thread... or something like that
    Heatware || 01.01.08; AND 111.2%

    Dead Z7S-WS? Click!. || XS Z7S-WS Thread || Current Dead Asus Z7S-WS count: 26+ ($15,000 in dead motherboards).
    All along the watchtower the watchmen watch the eternal return.
    Want to use my Anti-asus logo? Go ahead, but use this link please!: http://i853.photobucket.com/albums/a...sus/noasus.gif
    Bring back the game. http://reclaimyourgame.com/. EA are mean.

  23. #23
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    On a crazy college campus! (Nash, TN)
    Posts
    1,489
    Quote Originally Posted by Rodzilla
    There are a couple things on the front page that I would have loved to comment on... I think a "discuss it here" link should be in every story posted...

    We can put all the Threads in the News forums... Sounds like a winner to me!
    This was the idea! We'll keep them going then . . .

    Quote Originally Posted by STEvil
    discuss it here links are a good idea. Just link the forums directly to the news page so when a news post is made it creates a thread in this forum maybe, then all replies to to the news post go to its thread... or something like that
    Something automatic would be nice - changes are coming to the front page, so hopefully we'll see this in the future.
    Want your news on the front page? Click here!




Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •