Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 57

Thread: Water cooled DDR :)

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    257

    Water cooled DDR :)

    I've had a lot of interest in the water blocks i made for my ram that can be seen in my avatar.

    They are made from bars of aluminium, i drilled a simple channel down them, epoxied off the one end, then cross drilled the 2 holes, fitted in a small bit of brass tube for the hose connection, epoxied and thats about it.

    On the ram modules themselves i used normal thermal paste, and used hot melt glue to hold it on the ram module - if i ever need to change the ram i can just carefully peel the glue off.

    Some pics:






    More pics of them (and the rest of my work in progress system) can be seen here :

    http://www.coolmods.com/blackice2/spec

  2. #2
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    437
    if you have any copper in the loop, you already made trouble!!!

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    257
    Not with inertx - atm its water, but im building a chiller using a litre of inertx preflurocarbon coolant

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    30
    holy ,your my hero

  5. #5
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    VIENNA
    Posts
    632
    nice, one quick question... how did you get your NB so clean... no matter what I do the stick guey stuff on my Abit ic7 g NB wont come off.
    Overclocking made in Austria

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Broomfield, CO
    Posts
    3,882
    Goo-gone

  7. #7

  8. #8
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    436
    Let's see some temps bro, maybe this'll catch on like wildfire
    Home PC: Intel i7 4770K @ 4.6ghz l Asus Maximus VI Hero l Corsair Dominator Plantinum 2400mhz (4x4GB) l Asus GTX 690 l Samsung 840 Pro 256gb l 2 x WD Black 1T storage drive l WD MyBook 500gb External l Samsung SH-S203N DVD l Creative X-Fi Titanium HD l Corsair AX1200 PSU l Planar SA2311W23 3D LCD Monitor l Corsair 800D Case l Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit l Sennheiser HD-590

    Water Cooling Setup: Swiftech 320 Radiator (3 X Gentle Typhoons 1450rpm 3 x Gentle Typhoons 1850 rpm) l Swiftech Pump w/XSPC Res Top l Heatkiller 3.0 CPU Block l Heatkiller GPU-X GTX 690 "Hole Edition" Nickel l Heatkiller Geforce GTX 690 GPU Backplate l Koolance 140mm Radiator l Danger Den 1/2ID UV Green tubing l EK EKoolant UV Green Liquid


    -Impossible is not a word

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    257
    Temps.....

    Well i run the ram at 3.5 volts, without the water blocks the modules heatspreaders (which i of course removed) get scorching hot when gaming/prime95...with them, the blocks themselves are only 1c above ambient.

    Hard to tell what the ram module temps are themselves, but if i stop the water flow and play a game/run prime95, they soon warm up and become scorching hot - so they are definately doing their job lol

  10. #10
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    437
    check the water temp in vs the water temp out ... that'll give you some idea

  11. #11
    Xtreme Hardware Killer
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Behind you
    Posts
    1,265
    You have one of the coolest systems I've ever seen.
    Level 80 UD Death Knight on Murmur (Beta)

  12. #12
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    gulf breeze, FL
    Posts
    137
    Thats crazy, you should start selling

  13. #13
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Berkeley, CA
    Posts
    609
    why do you run them like 1 in the figure, rather than like 2 in the figure? 2 would use less tubing.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	untitled.jpg 
Views:	3900 
Size:	11.6 KB 
ID:	14394  

  14. #14
    Bulletproof
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Shun low, K?
    Posts
    2,553
    2 would be more restrictive due to tighter bends.
    Only the stupidest humans believe that the dogma of relative filth is a defense.

  15. #15
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    257
    Yep, 2 would be impossible to do the tight bends - without having to have great lengths of tubing to reduce the radius of the bend.

  16. #16
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Baku, Azerbaijan
    Posts
    164
    froudeg nice setup! What chanel diameter?
    A64 FX55, Asus A8V DLX, 2X512MB OCZ EL GOLD PC4000, Asus AX800XT Water cooled!

  17. #17
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    7

    Question

    i have been trying 2 build ram water blocks for quite a while and i keep running into trouble

    is it possible 2 get the design of your water block off you so i can overcome some technicalitys

  18. #18
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Portsmouth - Bristol, UK
    Posts
    96
    what size barbs/tubing is that?

  19. #19
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    257
    Here's a pic of the channels i drill in the block (ive drawn on it in black):



    As you can see its fairly simple, just a straight channel down, then 2 channels for the brass pipe inserts - to connect the tubing to. I used a very long drill bit to do the job, was bit fiddly as i had to empty the swarf out all the time - but it did the job.

    All i did then was seal off the hole i drilled on the side, with epoxy...and also epoxy in the brass pipe bits.

    These blocks r tailored to my motherboard btw - they are quite thick and will only work if there is a good bit of space btwn the 2 dimms you intend to use them on. Luckily with the ic7-g there is plenty of space. If there is less space you could always use a thinner block of aluminium - but your channel diameter may have to be very small. - altho that problem could be alleviated by a more elaborate design using 2 channels in and out in parallel.

    The tubing size is just 5mm internal, 8mm external - its small but very flexible and nice to route round the case. I wouldnt put this inline with a cpu cooling loop etc as its too restrictive - but i've used a seperate pump to cool this section...you could always use a splitter with a good pump.

    It doesnt need much water flow to keep the blocks at room temp

  20. #20
    Xtreme Gentoo User
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    2,468
    COOOOL! I'm gonna try this one day when I get off my ass.

  21. #21
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    8
    This very roox, what you fiz your conections on your DIY block
    I´m braziliam man, my interests is vmods, hardware and mods.

  22. #22
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    7
    how have you managed to get the ram inside of the block??

  23. #23
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    126
    Originally posted by deadmanwalking
    how have you managed to get the ram inside of the block??
    If you pay attention to 1st pic, you see that he've two blocks to cool one ddr module

    The blocks are 'attached' to ddr module with transparent glue by glue gun I think.


    Btw, nice job froudeg
    Conroe E6600 @ 4712.8MHz on VapoLS (+6C )
    Asus P5B Deluxe wi-fi edition
    2x1GB CellShock 8000 CL4 @ 1144MHz 4-4-4-12 2.35v
    StockCooled X800GTO with XT bios mod (Sapphire X1900XTX DEAD!)
    Enermax Liberty 620W
    Western Digital 250GB 16MB 7200 SATA2
    Lian-Li PC60

    3Dmark01: http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=8959998

  24. #24
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    257
    Thx lasac

    Yep, they are held on via hot glue....and i used oridinary thermal paste (white goop) btwn the chips and the block.

  25. #25
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    7
    yer but how did u make the slot for them is wat im asking???

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •