X

    Subscribe to New Ads!

    Receive weekly ads in your inbox!



Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 32

Thread: AMD Sampron Preview

  1. #1
    Xtreme Owner Charles Wirth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    12,379

    Thumbs up AMD Sempron Preview

    Per AMD request, the Sempron preview has been removed.

    My appologies to all, but to those who had a chance at the sneak peek
    Intel 9990XE @ 5.1Ghz
    ASUS Rampage VI Extreme Omega
    GTX 2080 ti Galax Hall of Fame
    64GB Galax Hall of Fame
    Intel Optane
    Platimax 1245W

    Intel 3175X
    Asus Dominus Extreme
    GRX 1080ti Galax Hall of Fame
    96GB Patriot Steel
    Intel Optane 900P RAID

  2. #2
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Kortrijk-Belgium
    Posts
    313
    whats the sempron?
    Allendale 15sec pi
    x800gto 42k2001

    Coolermaster ATC 310
    1.5Tera

  3. #3
    Xtreme Owner Charles Wirth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    12,379
    An unreleased AMD processor.
    Intel 9990XE @ 5.1Ghz
    ASUS Rampage VI Extreme Omega
    GTX 2080 ti Galax Hall of Fame
    64GB Galax Hall of Fame
    Intel Optane
    Platimax 1245W

    Intel 3175X
    Asus Dominus Extreme
    GRX 1080ti Galax Hall of Fame
    96GB Patriot Steel
    Intel Optane 900P RAID

  4. #4
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    687
    Derf. That's a shame. That was pretty nice info. At least I've still got it in my head....
    Bedroom: D201GLY2, Celeron 220 (1.2ghz/512k cache); 1gb DDR2 PC-5300; Geforce 6200 PCI
    -----------------
    Gaming: Core 2 Duo E4500@2.93ghz (266x11); Abit IP35-E; 3gb Crucial Ballistix PC5300@400mhz (4-4-4-15); XFX Geforce 8800GS@680/800 10123 3dmark06
    -----------------
    HTPC: Athlon 64 X2 BE-2300 (1.9ghz); ECS mATX mb; 2gb Crucial PC5300; Radeon HD2600 Pro 256mb (DXVA HA in BD and HD-DVD)

    Originally posted by Thunderbird1Ghz(Geforce4Ti4200) at Sharky Forums
    And you arent gonna believe this, but that DVD rom will even read regular CD roms!!!!!!!

  5. #5
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,647
    2 more months till amd releases the cpus!!!!

    no wonder they didnt like seeing benchmarks of it already

  6. #6
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,647
    Originally posted by koensa
    whats the sempron?
    sempron will be amds new budget line ,like the duron.

    there will be amd seprons based on the barton/thorton/tbred core and there will be semprons based on the a64 core with 256kb L2 cache (and some will only have 128kb L2 cache! )

    theres still a thread of a pic and benchmarks of a mobile sempron 2600+ with 128kb L2 cache "somewhere"

  7. #7
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Durham, NC
    Posts
    449
    Well, if AMD's reaction doesn't tell you that the Sempron is going to kick some ass, nothing will! Thanks for the scoop saaya!
    BIOSTAR TP67B+ | RPP 750W
    Core i5-2500K @ 4.7 GHz | TRUE
    256GB Samsung 840 Pro | X-Fi Titanium
    16GB G.Skill Ripjaws X | Sapphire HD 7950 3L

  8. #8
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,647
    dont thank me! thank sheik without him pointing me to that forum i wouldnt even know what a sempr0n is ^^

  9. #9
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,647
    for all the people who are looking for the sempron review, sorry, but we had to remove it.

    for some reason amd didnt care about the pictures and benchmarks of a mobile sempron 2600+ we also posted in another thread though. those benchamraks and the pic are located in the amd section of the forum.

    the benchmarks are not very revealing, but hey, the cpu wont be out for around 1 month, so better than nothing

    actually its even more interesting as you actually get to see the core of the cpu as mobile cpus dont have a heatspreader.

  10. #10
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    624
    LOL thanks for the credit, but I cannot say it was mine. I saw the link at AMDZone. But, as saaya said the thread with benchmarks still exists, you just gotta look a bit.

  11. #11
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    134
    I´ve seen the sempron-numbers, but how´s the impact of the reduced cache? I´ve got nothing to compare...

    Greetz, Flox
    "Physics is like sex: sure, it may give some practical results, but that's
    not why we do it." -- Richard Feynman.


    "A Celeron is not so much a processor, it is more a collection of shorting links to allow the motherboard to work." - read on xtremesystems.org

  12. #12
    Fused
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    2,789
    they even have sempron for socket A with 64bit disable.. why dont we tweak it and enable the extra bit and run it on socket A... that will be nice bang for buck

  13. #13
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,647
    hmmmm the problem is that sockt a chipsets dont support a HT link on the nb :/ but everything else would be possible in theory you would have to re route all the pins from the memory to the nb though so they lead to the cpu! dont even want to think of the mess

  14. #14
    Xtreme 3DMark Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    4,480
    dont flame me for this and I am not quoting it as fact either, but to the best of my memory, the socket A semprons are just tbreds anyway. theres already a northbridge on those mobos. s754 will be identical to the a64s minus 64 bits and half the cache which will cost about 200MHz worth of performance just like the clawhammers were worth that much over the newcastles
    3000+ Venice 240x9=2.16GHz(ondie controller limit) 2x512mb patriot tccd ram
    9700pro at 325/310 runs all games buttery smooth!

    9700(8 pipe softmod, 128m) at 410/325 23821 at 325/310 21287 at 275/270 19159
    9500(4 pipes, 128m) at 420/330 18454 at 275/270 13319
    9500(8 pipe softmod, 64m) at 390/310 19201 at 275/270 16052
    9500(4 pipes, 64m) at 400/310 16215 at 275/270 12560
    3dmark scores with Ti4200 and Ti4800se
    Ti4200 at 340/730 19558 at 300/650 18032 at 275/550 16494 at 250/500 15295
    3dmark scores with older gpus
    Ti500 at 275/620 14588 Ti200 at 260/540 13557 MX440 at 380/680 11551

  15. #15
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    somewhere in Massachusetts
    Posts
    1,030
    tictac, I tihnk the socket A Sempron is just a Barton re-named...

    Damn; I missed it though; how'd they look?

  16. #16
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,647
    check the mobile sempron thread in the amd section.

    the desktop semprons (s754) look like normal 754 cpus, heatspreader on em doesnt let you see anything.

  17. #17
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    487
    Didnt get a chance to read the thread but heard that a 3100+ was supposed to be only 1.8GHz? That doesnt stack up when a 64 bit 3000+ with 512KB of L2 cache is 2GHz. I think the rating was mixed up somewhere - unless it was subsequently revised in the thread that has been removed?

  18. #18
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    408
    Originally posted by OC Detective
    Didnt get a chance to read the thread but heard that a 3100+ was supposed to be only 1.8GHz? That doesnt stack up when a 64 bit 3000+ with 512KB of L2 cache is 2GHz. I think the rating was mixed up somewhere - unless it was subsequently revised in the thread that has been removed?
    AMD has Sempron using a differant PR rating system then the Athlon 64's.

  19. #19
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    487
    A different rating system? Would that not just confuse joe public if it were true? E.g. Someone goes and buys a 3100+ Sempron system from the compuer store at nearly half the price of a 3200+ a64 system because he perceives it to be way better value - I cant see AMD taking that risk of jeopardising A64 sales in such a way. If were say to be called at 310V or something like that it would make more sense but to use the same + sign and 4 numbers is asking for confusion.
    Last edited by OC Detective; 07-07-2004 at 07:40 PM.

  20. #20
    Fused
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    2,789
    Originally posted by Arkangyl
    tictac, I tihnk the socket A Sempron is just a Barton re-named...

    Damn; I missed it though; how'd they look?
    they said it is 64 disable version... dont worry

    we will enable the extra 32bit ... let see how it perform on socket a..

  21. #21
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    624
    Originally posted by tictac
    we will enable the extra 32bit ... let see how it perform on socket a..
    I love the way you guys think

  22. #22
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    377
    Originally posted by OC Detective
    A different rating system? Would that not just confuse joe public if it were true? E.g. Someone goes and buys a 3100+ Sempron system from the compuer store at nearly half the price of a 3200+ a64 system because he perceives it to be way better value - I cant see AMD taking that risk of jeopardising A64 sales in such a way. If were say to be called at 310V or something like that it would make more sense but to use the same + sign and 4 numbers is asking for confusion.
    What I've heard AMD is going for the same PR-rating that Intel started with a few weeks ago, i.e. 340, 540, 740 and so on. Guess that sempron is going to stick with the old. But then again, what's that suppose to stand for? Not celeron, they're gonna be 3xx. Maybe it's the barton core on socket 462?


    MSI+A64 4000+ X800XT PE : 39179
    TECHSWEDEN.ORG 3D MARK TEAM

  23. #23
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,647
    Originally posted by OC Detective
    A different rating system? Would that not just confuse joe public if it were true? E.g. Someone goes and buys a 3100+ Sempron system from the compuer store at nearly half the price of a 3200+ a64 system because he perceives it to be way better value - I cant see AMD taking that risk of jeopardising A64 sales in such a way. If were say to be called at 310V or something like that it would make more sense but to use the same + sign and 4 numbers is asking for confusion.
    sempron rating = celeron
    A64 rating = Pentium 4
    FX rating = P4EE

    easy as that
    and amd is still very generous with that rating if you ask me, a 1.8ghz a64 with 256kb L2 cache is comparing nicely against a celeron.

    and afaik semprons are not all the same. there are semprons based on the AthlonXP and on the Athlon64. the socket a semprons will be renamed bartons with less cache and the socket 754 939 semprons will be A64s.


    Originally posted by Marquzz
    What I've heard AMD is going for the same PR-rating that Intel started with a few weeks ago, i.e. 340, 540, 740 and so on. Guess that sempron is going to stick with the old. But then again, what's that suppose to stand for? Not celeron, they're gonna be 3xx. Maybe it's the barton core on socket 462?
    i only heard that amd is thinking about labeling their semprons diferent and adopting the celron numbers for the semprons. havent heard about the idear to change the entire pr rating, but would make sence...

  24. #24
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    111
    semprons suck

    what is amd thinking?


    why are they copying Intel's idiotic celeron strategy?

  25. #25
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    757
    Because it works and AMD's processors aren't crippled as much from smaller cache.
    Take out your ex tonight... one bullet should do it.

    I've effectively killed my sig because it is no longer accurate. Oh well!

    A64 3200+ Newcie
    2x512 OCz PC3500 GX
    DFI NF3 250gb LPUT
    No Name 9700 that refuses to die!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •