Page 2 of 11 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 271

Thread: Water_Chiller gallery

  1. #26
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    79
    Ill try to find better pics....
    Btw heres something the president of voodoo said
    http://www.voodoopc.com/boards/mess...3284&forum=1027


    And I really dont think that he is lying because millions of magazines have reviewed this rage F:1 ..and are probably sure that it is not watercooling....Say for example computergamingworld magazine rated it as the best gaming pc!
    ________QUIKSILVER_______

  2. #27
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    The Netherlands (Europe)
    Posts
    32
    Two months ago, I built my waterchiller from an old fridge. Keeps the water -15 C at load when my Barton is @ 1.7V.

    Pics:



    For more pics and a (Dutch) how-to / information:
    http://gathering.tweakers.net/forum/...essages/847675
    Pifast: 47.58ec :: 3DMark: 21042

  3. #28
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    1,104
    Nice setup
    I´ve also used vaseline for insulating the mainboard

  4. #29
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Cherry Hill, NJ
    Posts
    8,296
    The voodoo uses a pelt or something. Its not refrigeration and the temps sure as hell arnt bellow ambiant unless you mean with no load and temps probley blow.
    Its not deserving of going here and its not like anyone owns one anyway.
    Phenom II 940 BE / ASUS M4A79 / HD5770 Crossfire
    3770mhz CPU 2600mhz NB | DDR1040 5-5-5-15 | 900/1250

  5. #30
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Montreal Canada
    Posts
    212
    oh , thats why tehre was vaseline there :P i was thinking sbout smthing elsE :P

  6. #31
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    1,104
    lol

  7. #32
    X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Darby FL, USA
    Posts
    2,155
    Your condenser is sideways. The tubes in the condenser need to be horizontal. and the hot gas coming from the compressor needs to enter the top horizontal tube. Gravity is working against you.


    Author - Refrigeration Trouble Shooting Books

    Want to learn more? Click Here

  8. #33
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    USA, FL
    Posts
    748
    is the -50C temp the water or the evap
    and what gas did u use
    Your chiller looks nice and ghetto but its not the looks that count its the temps

  9. #34
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    New-Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    3,710
    I dont find any compressor anywhere!!!!!! I had one and ive cut the tubes(to remove the compressor from the freezer) and now i dont know what to do, how to put some gas in back, how to solder the tubes on it again. I hate that!!! I have spend 200$ CND for that freezer and ive just screw that up!!!!!!

    At least i can try a DI chiller that should be better, but when i will not use some DI(coze its not unlimited quantity) I still whant to chill my water!

    Can someone help me?!?!?

  10. #35
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Montreal Canada
    Posts
    212
    pc ice
    Xtreme Member


    Registered: Oct 2002
    Location: south bay
    Posts: 949
    14
    here's the block i used.

    pc ice has attached this image




    !!!! doesnt plexyglass crack under 0 degreee ?
    Current rig:
    Intel E6750 @ 3.6
    Gigabyte P965-DS3
    Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR2-800 2*1GB @ 449mhz 4-4-4-12
    eVGA 8800GTS 320MB @ 625/1000
    2*Raptor 36.7g 10k rpm
    All STOCK HSF air cooled

    Old school rig ^^:
    Intel Pentium 4 3.0e @ 4.01
    Abit IC7-Max3
    KHX 3500 2*256 Dual Channel
    ATI 9800pro @ 9800xt
    2*Raptor 36.7g 10k rpm
    CPU+VC Watercooled

  11. #36
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    USA, FL
    Posts
    748
    to solder tubes u need a torch and hard solder aka brazing rod
    u can get a torch at home depot
    u can get 4 types at home depot

    1.propane torch- cheap gets the job done but takes a very long time to get the tube to the right temp
    2.Mapp torch- little bit more expensive than propane it works alot better than propane and gets the job doine easier
    3.mapp/oxygen torch - i use this torch its very good at heating up the pipe and makes the job quick and easy but the oxygen tank only last for 20 min which isn't to long so u will have to replace the oxygen can may times
    4.Acetylene/oxygen torch - this is one of the best torch u can get and its the one used by the pros but the price tag is very high like $250 USD and up

    The solder used is called DYNAFLOW u can get it at AC or welding shops

  12. #37
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Cherry Hill, NJ
    Posts
    8,296
    So if I get a MAPP/oxy torch I can use it with just MAPP gas after the oxy runs out right?
    Phenom II 940 BE / ASUS M4A79 / HD5770 Crossfire
    3770mhz CPU 2600mhz NB | DDR1040 5-5-5-15 | 900/1250

  13. #38
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    USA, FL
    Posts
    748
    the torch doesn't work correctly w/o the oxygen

  14. #39
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Cherry Hill, NJ
    Posts
    8,296
    Oh ok I'll probley get a MAPP/propane torch than.
    Phenom II 940 BE / ASUS M4A79 / HD5770 Crossfire
    3770mhz CPU 2600mhz NB | DDR1040 5-5-5-15 | 900/1250

  15. #40
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Cherry Hill, NJ
    Posts
    8,296
    I think you have those temps backwards
    Phenom II 940 BE / ASUS M4A79 / HD5770 Crossfire
    3770mhz CPU 2600mhz NB | DDR1040 5-5-5-15 | 900/1250

  16. #41
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    USA, FL
    Posts
    748
    yep R404 is some great stuff i wish i had a tank of it but it's too much $$ so i just stick to R22 nice and cheap
    but R22 isn't that bad i got -40C with my chiller with R22
    Last edited by water_cooler 20; 03-14-2004 at 03:23 PM.

  17. #42
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Br!ban3 / Aus / State: St0n3d
    Posts
    1,545
    -50 SHEESH, can your pump handle that?

    Ripping it up on old technology
    i4memory.com

  18. #43
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Br!ban3 / Aus / State: St0n3d
    Posts
    1,545
    What pumps dude?

    Ripping it up on old technology
    i4memory.com

  19. #44
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Cherry Hill, NJ
    Posts
    8,296
    What kind of liquid mix
    Phenom II 940 BE / ASUS M4A79 / HD5770 Crossfire
    3770mhz CPU 2600mhz NB | DDR1040 5-5-5-15 | 900/1250

  20. #45
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    USA, FL
    Posts
    748
    so by adding R290 it lowers the high discharge temp of R22 which will give a all around lower temp
    I'm I right

  21. #46
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    New-Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    3,710
    THX alot for the torch info water!!!!!!

    But how do i put some gas in? and where i can find my gas?

    And about how much is a MAPP torch, and how much time it last(if you know that)?

  22. #47
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    USA, FL
    Posts
    748
    If u don't have a EPA lisence then the only gases u can buy R290 which is propane or R134a at an auto shop the propane is colder

    to fill the system with gas u need a Gauge Set here is one 1st product on page http://www.rparts.com/Catalog/Tools_...gauge_sets.asp

    I think the mapp gas torch is like $40 at homedepot and i'm not sure how long the can lasts

    and here is a guide to building a water chiller
    http://www.wc101.com/guides/refridgeration/

  23. #48
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    New-Brunswick, Canada
    Posts
    3,710
    THX, but where i canget the R290 gas? exept a car shop, i dont love the three car shop we have.

    THX alot

  24. #49
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Cherry Hill, NJ
    Posts
    8,296
    You can use propane for a torch right? Is a 16oz bottle of brenz0matic torch propane good?
    Phenom II 940 BE / ASUS M4A79 / HD5770 Crossfire
    3770mhz CPU 2600mhz NB | DDR1040 5-5-5-15 | 900/1250

  25. #50
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    USA, FL
    Posts
    748
    The propane torch will get the job done but it harder to use because it takes longer to heat up the pipe so u will have to hold it on the pipe for a little bit before brazing

    You can buy R290 at places were grills are sold and in the guide i posted above on the last page it shows how to hook up a propane bottle to the Gauge Set

    also rember to be careful because propane is very flamable

Page 2 of 11 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •