Page 13 of 14 FirstFirst ... 31011121314 LastLast
Results 301 to 325 of 326

Thread: AMD Zen FX - information, benchmarks, experience of users

  1. #301
    One-Eyed Killing Machine
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Inside a pot
    Posts
    6,393
    I tried it... didn't see any gains going from 8c to 10c with a OCed 1080 Ti.
    And from what I've seen in the past, neither other reviewers saw any performance increase from 6c to 8c which I haven't tried because... 6c is kinda the minimum nowadays with the Ryzen and Intel's strategy change due to Ryzen ( 6c mainstream chips )
    Coding 24/7... Limited forums/PMs time.

    -Justice isn't blind, Justice is ashamed.

    Many thanks to: Sue Wu, Yiwen Lin, Steven Kuo, Crystal Chen, Vivian Lien, Joe Chan, Sascha Krohn, Joe James, Dan Snyder, Amy Deng, Jack Peterson, Hank Peng, Mafalda Cogliani, Olivia Lee, Marta Piccoli, Mike Clements, Alex Ruedinger, Oliver Baltuch, Korinna Dieck, Steffen Eisentein, Francois Piednoel, Tanja Markovic, Cyril Pelupessy (R.I.P. ), Juan J. Guerrero

  2. #302
    Nerdy Powerlifter
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Down in the Bayou
    Posts
    4,549
    Quote Originally Posted by FlanK3r View Post
    Threadripper is almost here! HEDT AMD, summer 2017!
    I'm glad I've waited. I'm tired of being stuck on 4 cores since 2008! Anyone want to buy a 4790k?!
    I'm guessing watercooling will be a must.
    You must [not] advance.


    Current Rig: i7 4790k @ stock (**** TIM!) , Zotac GTX 1080 WC'd 2214mhz core / 5528mhz Mem, Asus z-97 Deluxe

    Heatware

  3. #303
    Pie assassin
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Where lights collide
    Posts
    2,271
    Quote Originally Posted by BenchZowner View Post
    I tried it... didn't see any gains going from 8c to 10c with a OCed 1080 Ti.
    And from what I've seen in the past, neither other reviewers saw any performance increase from 6c to 8c which I haven't tried because... 6c is kinda the minimum nowadays with the Ryzen and Intel's strategy change due to Ryzen ( 6c mainstream chips )
    We're you looking at fps or compute wait time between turns?
    Current Status - Testing & Research

  4. #304
    One-Eyed Killing Machine
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Inside a pot
    Posts
    6,393
    fps.
    Coding 24/7... Limited forums/PMs time.

    -Justice isn't blind, Justice is ashamed.

    Many thanks to: Sue Wu, Yiwen Lin, Steven Kuo, Crystal Chen, Vivian Lien, Joe Chan, Sascha Krohn, Joe James, Dan Snyder, Amy Deng, Jack Peterson, Hank Peng, Mafalda Cogliani, Olivia Lee, Marta Piccoli, Mike Clements, Alex Ruedinger, Oliver Baltuch, Korinna Dieck, Steffen Eisentein, Francois Piednoel, Tanja Markovic, Cyril Pelupessy (R.I.P. ), Juan J. Guerrero

  5. #305
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    967
    I am still using 3.2GHz Thuban...So old school..
    Main Rig:
    Processor & Motherboard:AMD Ryzen5 1400 ' Gigabyte B450M-DS3H
    Random Access Memory Module:Adata XPG DDR4 3000 MHz 2x8GB
    Graphic Card:XFX RX 580 4GB
    Power Supply Unit:FSP AURUM 92+ Series PT-650M
    Storage Unit:Crucial MX 500 240GB SATA III SSD
    Processor Heatsink Fan:AMD Wraith Spire RGB
    Chasis:Thermaltake Level 10GTS Black

  6. #306
    I am Xtreme FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Czech republic
    Posts
    6,796
    Threadripper listed


    http://wccftech.com/amd-threadripper...ors-x399-x390/

    Ohhh yes, wprime, Cinebenchs WR coming
    ROG Power PCs - Intel and AMD
    CPUs:i9-7900X, i9-9900K, i7-6950X, i7-5960X, i7-8086K, i7-8700K, 4x i7-7700K, i3-7350K, 2x i7-6700K, i5-6600K, R7-2700X, 4x R5 2600X, R5 2400G, R3 1200, R7-1800X, R7-1700X, 3x AMD FX-9590, 1x AMD FX-9370, 4x AMD FX-8350,1x AMD FX-8320,1x AMD FX-8300, 2x AMD FX-6300,2x AMD FX-4300, 3x AMD FX-8150, 2x AMD FX-8120 125 and 95W, AMD X2 555 BE, AMD x4 965 BE C2 and C3, AMD X4 970 BE, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD X6 1100T BE, A10-7870K, Athlon 845, Athlon 860K,AMD A10-7850K, AMD A10-6800K, A8-6600K, 2x AMD A10-5800K, AMD A10-5600K, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, 2x AMD A64 3000+, AMD 64+ X2 4600+ EE, Intel i7-980X, Intel i7-2600K, Intel i7-3770K,2x i7-4770K, Intel i7-3930KAMD Cinebench R10 challenge AMD Cinebench R15 thread Intel Cinebench R15 thread

  7. #307
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    3,109
    Quote Originally Posted by haylui View Post
    I am still using 3.2GHz Thuban...So old school..
    Hey, not bad chip there, I still use the same chip for my family game server!
    ~1~
    AMD Ryzen 3700X
    Asus x470 Prime
    Trident-Z 3200 CL14 16GB
    AMD Radeon 5700X
    ~2~
    AMD Ryzen ThreadRipper 2950x
    Asus Prime X399-A
    GSkill Flare-X 3200mhz, CAS14, 64GB
    AMD Radeon VII

  8. #308
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    3,109
    Quote Originally Posted by FlanK3r View Post
    Threadripper listed
    [IMG]snip[/IMG]

    http://wccftech.com/amd-threadripper...ors-x399-x390/

    Ohhh yes, wprime, Cinebenchs WR coming
    I'm glad to see Quad Channel is being used and some decent clock speeds! Plus, it still has a lower TDP than 9000 series FX chips, lol.
    ~1~
    AMD Ryzen 3700X
    Asus x470 Prime
    Trident-Z 3200 CL14 16GB
    AMD Radeon 5700X
    ~2~
    AMD Ryzen ThreadRipper 2950x
    Asus Prime X399-A
    GSkill Flare-X 3200mhz, CAS14, 64GB
    AMD Radeon VII

  9. #309
    I am Xtreme FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Czech republic
    Posts
    6,796
    yes, its crazy awesome work by AMD, big surprise this year
    ROG Power PCs - Intel and AMD
    CPUs:i9-7900X, i9-9900K, i7-6950X, i7-5960X, i7-8086K, i7-8700K, 4x i7-7700K, i3-7350K, 2x i7-6700K, i5-6600K, R7-2700X, 4x R5 2600X, R5 2400G, R3 1200, R7-1800X, R7-1700X, 3x AMD FX-9590, 1x AMD FX-9370, 4x AMD FX-8350,1x AMD FX-8320,1x AMD FX-8300, 2x AMD FX-6300,2x AMD FX-4300, 3x AMD FX-8150, 2x AMD FX-8120 125 and 95W, AMD X2 555 BE, AMD x4 965 BE C2 and C3, AMD X4 970 BE, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD X6 1100T BE, A10-7870K, Athlon 845, Athlon 860K,AMD A10-7850K, AMD A10-6800K, A8-6600K, 2x AMD A10-5800K, AMD A10-5600K, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, 2x AMD A64 3000+, AMD 64+ X2 4600+ EE, Intel i7-980X, Intel i7-2600K, Intel i7-3770K,2x i7-4770K, Intel i7-3930KAMD Cinebench R10 challenge AMD Cinebench R15 thread Intel Cinebench R15 thread

  10. #310
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    317
    Has anyone tried Crucial Ballistix Tactical/Elite (not lower bin Sport) 2666 16-17-17 1.2V or the newer Tactical/Elite 3000 15-16-16 1.35V, Elite 3466 16-18-18 1.35V sticks on Ryzen/1.0.0.6?
    In the past Micron stuff did very well on AMD, but I can't find any results on these.
    STRIX X470-F | R5 2600X, PBO OC + TRUE Bk Rev.A, 2xGT AP-15 | 2x8GB Flare X 3200C14 @3200MHz/CL14-14-14-34-1T| RX480 Gaming X 8G @1316/2025 | SB Z | M500 240GB, DT01ACA200, AD-7243S | Lian-Li PC-B70: FC5V2 + 2xNB PK-2, 2xNB PL-2 | RM750

  11. #311
    Xtreme Enthusiast Shocker003's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    718
    Quote Originally Posted by haylui View Post
    I am still using 3.2GHz Thuban...So old school..
    Am using the same cpu at the moment with Crosshair V; i sent back my crosshair 6 due to booting issues.
    Still waiting for the replacement board Am lucky i did not sell it on Ebay
    Last edited by Shocker003; 06-19-2017 at 04:39 AM.


    MAIN RIG--:
    Asus VE278Q---:AMD Ryzen 7 1700X @3.9GHz --:ASUS Crosshair VI Formula
    24GB G-Skill AEGIS F4-3000C16S-8GISB --:ASUS Strix R390 8GB--:X-Fi Titanium HD modded
    Inter-Tech Coba Nitrox Nobility CN-800 NS 800W 80+ Silver--:CYBORG RAT8--:STRIKE TE

  12. #312
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    967
    Quote Originally Posted by charged3800z24 View Post
    Hey, not bad chip there, I still use the same chip for my family game server!
    I have 2 1090T. Out of budget for Ryzen now...
    Main Rig:
    Processor & Motherboard:AMD Ryzen5 1400 ' Gigabyte B450M-DS3H
    Random Access Memory Module:Adata XPG DDR4 3000 MHz 2x8GB
    Graphic Card:XFX RX 580 4GB
    Power Supply Unit:FSP AURUM 92+ Series PT-650M
    Storage Unit:Crucial MX 500 240GB SATA III SSD
    Processor Heatsink Fan:AMD Wraith Spire RGB
    Chasis:Thermaltake Level 10GTS Black

  13. #313
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    967
    Quote Originally Posted by Shocker003 View Post
    Am using the same cpu at the moment with Crosshair V; i sent back(ram) my crosshair 6 due to booting issues.
    Still waiting for the replacement board Am lucky i did not sell it on Ebay
    In Singapore, people selling 1090T is easier than FX processor..So maybe you need to use it until your board died.
    Main Rig:
    Processor & Motherboard:AMD Ryzen5 1400 ' Gigabyte B450M-DS3H
    Random Access Memory Module:Adata XPG DDR4 3000 MHz 2x8GB
    Graphic Card:XFX RX 580 4GB
    Power Supply Unit:FSP AURUM 92+ Series PT-650M
    Storage Unit:Crucial MX 500 240GB SATA III SSD
    Processor Heatsink Fan:AMD Wraith Spire RGB
    Chasis:Thermaltake Level 10GTS Black

  14. #314
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    223
    Quote Originally Posted by AlleyViper View Post
    Has anyone tried Crucial Ballistix Tactical/Elite (not lower bin Sport) 2666 16-17-17 1.2V or the newer Tactical/Elite 3000 15-16-16 1.35V, Elite 3466 16-18-18 1.35V sticks on Ryzen/1.0.0.6?
    In the past Micron stuff did very well on AMD, but I can't find any results on these.
    not sure bout the crucial stick but i've seen vengeance LPX ddr4 3K utilize micron chips (if the table of corsair version is to be reliable). so far have yet to try any crucial sticks, only 2x 8gb mfr (gskill ripjaws v) & i got stuck at 2800 @ 14-14-14 1t w/ 1.35v. any higher (be it loosen timing to pumpin more vdimm) will just result in boot loop (memory error).

    crucial always gimme d feeling they are not high frequency lover but they sure can do tight timing, with above average voltage. :P

    will try out a pair of vengeance RGB 3K (version 4.31) in a couple of days & share the findings here.
    Last edited by ah_khoo; 06-16-2017 at 02:27 AM. Reason: typo

    | AMD Ryzen 5 3600 w/ Floe Riing RGB 240 TT Premium Edition | X570 I Aorus Pro WiFi | CMW16GX4M2C3600C18 | RX5700XT-8G | Acer VG271U P |
    | MZ-7KE128BW + WDS250G2B0B + WD10JPLX + ST2000LM015 | Aego M 2.1 | Xonar U7 MKII | SS-750AM2 | MG-NE210_BK01 | Vengeance K70 + Interceptor DS B1 |


  15. #315
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    317
    Thanks,
    I was asking given that Micron on AM4 feedback is scarce, and because before there weren't 3000 or 3466 parts in the Elite range and 2600s didn't seem to clock very well on old reviews. Latest Tactical 2600 1.2V parts could have the potential to be cheap on sale and behave like higher bins as in the past DDR3 parts did. I guess Ryzen prefers clock speed to tight timings due to CCX communication, which restricts the choice a bit.
    But if the current agesa doesn't like them, it's no use.
    Last edited by AlleyViper; 06-16-2017 at 12:51 PM.
    STRIX X470-F | R5 2600X, PBO OC + TRUE Bk Rev.A, 2xGT AP-15 | 2x8GB Flare X 3200C14 @3200MHz/CL14-14-14-34-1T| RX480 Gaming X 8G @1316/2025 | SB Z | M500 240GB, DT01ACA200, AD-7243S | Lian-Li PC-B70: FC5V2 + 2xNB PK-2, 2xNB PL-2 | RM750

  16. #316
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    223
    tested d vengeance RGB 3K (version 4.31 which believed to be Samsung B die) on Strix B350, 2933 @ 14-15-15 1t Prime stable (vdimm @ 1.35v, vsoc @ 1.1v). bootable @ 3066 but again no matter how lax or high d vdimm, workers in p95 fail right away. i guess i need more time to study bout ram tweaking @ Ryzen. hopefully official BIOS will do better. Currently on beta bios with Agesa 1.0.0.6.

    | AMD Ryzen 5 3600 w/ Floe Riing RGB 240 TT Premium Edition | X570 I Aorus Pro WiFi | CMW16GX4M2C3600C18 | RX5700XT-8G | Acer VG271U P |
    | MZ-7KE128BW + WDS250G2B0B + WD10JPLX + ST2000LM015 | Aego M 2.1 | Xonar U7 MKII | SS-750AM2 | MG-NE210_BK01 | Vengeance K70 + Interceptor DS B1 |


  17. #317
    Xtreme Enthusiast Shocker003's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    718
    Is there anyone running win7 on crosshair VI motherboard? I need help on bypassing the usb keyboard problem.


    MAIN RIG--:
    Asus VE278Q---:AMD Ryzen 7 1700X @3.9GHz --:ASUS Crosshair VI Formula
    24GB G-Skill AEGIS F4-3000C16S-8GISB --:ASUS Strix R390 8GB--:X-Fi Titanium HD modded
    Inter-Tech Coba Nitrox Nobility CN-800 NS 800W 80+ Silver--:CYBORG RAT8--:STRIKE TE

  18. #318
    I am Xtreme FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Czech republic
    Posts
    6,796
    What exactly is your issue? I have WIn7+Crosshair
    ROG Power PCs - Intel and AMD
    CPUs:i9-7900X, i9-9900K, i7-6950X, i7-5960X, i7-8086K, i7-8700K, 4x i7-7700K, i3-7350K, 2x i7-6700K, i5-6600K, R7-2700X, 4x R5 2600X, R5 2400G, R3 1200, R7-1800X, R7-1700X, 3x AMD FX-9590, 1x AMD FX-9370, 4x AMD FX-8350,1x AMD FX-8320,1x AMD FX-8300, 2x AMD FX-6300,2x AMD FX-4300, 3x AMD FX-8150, 2x AMD FX-8120 125 and 95W, AMD X2 555 BE, AMD x4 965 BE C2 and C3, AMD X4 970 BE, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD X6 1100T BE, A10-7870K, Athlon 845, Athlon 860K,AMD A10-7850K, AMD A10-6800K, A8-6600K, 2x AMD A10-5800K, AMD A10-5600K, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, 2x AMD A64 3000+, AMD 64+ X2 4600+ EE, Intel i7-980X, Intel i7-2600K, Intel i7-3770K,2x i7-4770K, Intel i7-3930KAMD Cinebench R10 challenge AMD Cinebench R15 thread Intel Cinebench R15 thread

  19. #319
    Xtreme Enthusiast Shocker003's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    718
    Quote Originally Posted by FlanK3r View Post
    What exactly is your issue? I have WIn7+Crosshair
    When i try to install win7 x64, my keyboard and mouse does not work so i can't choose langauge or keyboard layout during the installation.
    I tried googling but am a noob when it comes to modifying a software (encoding usb drivers into win7)
    Is there is any easy way to get around this problem?Thanks in advance


    MAIN RIG--:
    Asus VE278Q---:AMD Ryzen 7 1700X @3.9GHz --:ASUS Crosshair VI Formula
    24GB G-Skill AEGIS F4-3000C16S-8GISB --:ASUS Strix R390 8GB--:X-Fi Titanium HD modded
    Inter-Tech Coba Nitrox Nobility CN-800 NS 800W 80+ Silver--:CYBORG RAT8--:STRIKE TE

  20. #320
    Pie assassin
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Where lights collide
    Posts
    2,271
    Quote Originally Posted by Shocker003 View Post
    When i try to install win7 x64, my keyboard and mouse does not work so i can't choose langauge or keyboard layout during the installation.
    I tried googling but am a noob when it comes to modifying a software (encoding usb drivers into win7)
    Is there is any easy way to get around this problem?Thanks in advance
    add in usb card that is windows 7 native works. if you aren't partial to your own os, there is a version on hwbot that has drivers for ryzen integrated that avoids this issue.
    Last edited by ZenEffect; 06-29-2017 at 09:03 AM.
    Current Status - Testing & Research

  21. #321
    Xtreme Enthusiast Shocker003's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    718
    Quote Originally Posted by ZenEffect View Post
    add in usb card that is windows 7 native works. if you aren't partial to your own os, there is a version on hwbot that has drivers for ryzen integrated that avoids this issue.
    Thanks, i will try the usb card solution


    MAIN RIG--:
    Asus VE278Q---:AMD Ryzen 7 1700X @3.9GHz --:ASUS Crosshair VI Formula
    24GB G-Skill AEGIS F4-3000C16S-8GISB --:ASUS Strix R390 8GB--:X-Fi Titanium HD modded
    Inter-Tech Coba Nitrox Nobility CN-800 NS 800W 80+ Silver--:CYBORG RAT8--:STRIKE TE

  22. #322
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,020
    Honestly you just need to plug in a sata cd rom and manually search till you get it to accept the right driver.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  23. #323
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    411
    Quote Originally Posted by Shocker003 View Post
    When i try to install win7 x64, my keyboard and mouse does not work so i can't choose langauge or keyboard layout during the installation.
    I tried googling but am a noob when it comes to modifying a software (encoding usb drivers into win7)
    Is there is any easy way to get around this problem?Thanks in advance
    Hi

    ASUS have an utility for windows 7 install, take it here





  24. #324
    Xtreme Enthusiast Shocker003's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    718
    Quote Originally Posted by chew* View Post
    Honestly you just need to plug in a sata cd rom and manually search till you get it to accept the right driver.
    I gave that a shot too without making any head way
    Like i said maybe i need to take some lessons in programing(it has nothing to do with your sata cd rom search)
    Building a pc and watercooling is no longer enough when the hardwares are in constant evolution phase.
    will a usb 3.0 card work, while all 2.0 cards in found online are for pci slots which is missing on Crosshair 6?


    MAIN RIG--:
    Asus VE278Q---:AMD Ryzen 7 1700X @3.9GHz --:ASUS Crosshair VI Formula
    24GB G-Skill AEGIS F4-3000C16S-8GISB --:ASUS Strix R390 8GB--:X-Fi Titanium HD modded
    Inter-Tech Coba Nitrox Nobility CN-800 NS 800W 80+ Silver--:CYBORG RAT8--:STRIKE TE

  25. #325
    Pie assassin
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Where lights collide
    Posts
    2,271
    Quote Originally Posted by Shocker003 View Post
    I gave that a shot too without making any head way
    Like i said maybe i need to take some lessons in programing(it has nothing to do with your sata cd rom search)
    Building a pc and watercooling is no longer enough when the hardwares are in constant evolution phase.
    will a usb 3.0 card work, while all 2.0 cards in found online are for pci slots which is missing on Crosshair 6?
    Sd-pex20019
    Current Status - Testing & Research

Page 13 of 14 FirstFirst ... 31011121314 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •