OCN2
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 56

Thread: Corsair Dominator GTX 8 for quad-channel SB-E

  1. #1
    Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    449

    Corsair Dominator GTX 8 for quad-channel SB-E

    "As you know, processors and motherboards for socket LGA2011 is preparing to launch this month. Obviously, any RAM manufacturers could not stay away and they will also launch a host of kits with different capacities and frequencies.
    Corsair prepares a quad-channel kit for overclocking enthusiasts and lovers, named Dominator GTX 8. It consists of 4 modules of 2GB each with a specified frequency of 2400MHz with 10-12-10-30 1.65v.
    For this, Corsair used high density Hynix chips in Single-Sided configuration."

    Corsair prepares Dominator GTX 8 for LGA2011 | lab501
    Born to lose, live to win!

  2. #2
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    AB. Canada
    Posts
    827
    to bad it isn't 4GB sticks, better yet 8GB sticks


    "Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds" - (Einstein)

  3. #3
    Aussie God
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    4,702
    Quote Originally Posted by matose View Post
    "As you know, processors and motherboards for socket LGA2011 is preparing to launch this month. Obviously, any RAM manufacturers could not stay away and they will also launch a host of kits with different capacities and frequencies.
    Corsair prepares a quad-channel kit for overclocking enthusiasts and lovers, named Dominator GTX 8. It consists of 4 modules of 2GB each with a specified frequency of 2400MHz with 10-12-10-30 1.65v.
    For this, Corsair used high density Hynix chips in Single-Sided configuration."

    Corsair prepares Dominator GTX 8 for LGA2011 | lab501
    That is really sad... Single-sided for highest end ram, the overkill super GTX...
    Sexy looking setup Matose!
    Competition ranking;
    2005; Netbyte, Karise/Denmark #1 @ PiFast
    2008; AOCM II, Minfeld/Germany #2 @ 01SE/AM3/8M (w. Oliver)
    2009; AMD-OC, Viborg/Denmark #2 @ max freq Gigabyte TweaKING, Paris/France #4 @ 32M/01SE (w. Vanovich)
    2010: Gigabyte P55, Hamburg/Germany #6 @ wprime 1024/SPI 1M (w. THC) AOCM III, Minfeld/Germany #6 @ 01SE/AM3/1M/8M (w. NeoForce)

    Spectating;
    2010; GOOC 2010 Many thanks to Gigabyte!


  4. #4
    Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    449
    Dominator GTX 6 was also single-sided and every stick did 3000MHz easy, so this is not always a bad thing
    Born to lose, live to win!

  5. #5
    Aussie God
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    4,702
    Quote Originally Posted by matose View Post
    Dominator GTX 6 was also single-sided and every stick did 3000MHz easy, so this is not always a bad thing
    1500Mhz

    You are right, but, would you ever use GTX6 for other things than CPU-z? I would not.
    But I saw a news that got me excited some while back.... I just WISH I could get 2 kits of these.
    Competition ranking;
    2005; Netbyte, Karise/Denmark #1 @ PiFast
    2008; AOCM II, Minfeld/Germany #2 @ 01SE/AM3/8M (w. Oliver)
    2009; AMD-OC, Viborg/Denmark #2 @ max freq Gigabyte TweaKING, Paris/France #4 @ 32M/01SE (w. Vanovich)
    2010: Gigabyte P55, Hamburg/Germany #6 @ wprime 1024/SPI 1M (w. THC) AOCM III, Minfeld/Germany #6 @ 01SE/AM3/1M/8M (w. NeoForce)

    Spectating;
    2010; GOOC 2010 Many thanks to Gigabyte!


  6. #6
    Xtreme n00berclocker
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    1,457
    Quote Originally Posted by M.Beier View Post
    That is really sad... Single-sided for highest end ram, the overkill super GTX...
    Sexy looking setup Matose!
    Why you hating on them? Maybe single sided is better....
    Last edited by Planet; 11-03-2011 at 10:21 AM.
    Quote Originally Posted by 3oh6
    damn you guys...am i in a three way and didn't know it again
    Quote Originally Posted by Brian y.
    Im exclusively benching ECS from this point forward

  7. #7
    Aussie God
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    4,702
    Quote Originally Posted by Planet View Post
    Maybe single sided is better....
    Lighter on IMC, easier to bin high, half IC's..
    But, lower performance.. After all; GTX, in my book, is king of the hill when it comes to benching ram... G.Skill has tried, and failed - to get the crown...
    Competition ranking;
    2005; Netbyte, Karise/Denmark #1 @ PiFast
    2008; AOCM II, Minfeld/Germany #2 @ 01SE/AM3/8M (w. Oliver)
    2009; AMD-OC, Viborg/Denmark #2 @ max freq Gigabyte TweaKING, Paris/France #4 @ 32M/01SE (w. Vanovich)
    2010: Gigabyte P55, Hamburg/Germany #6 @ wprime 1024/SPI 1M (w. THC) AOCM III, Minfeld/Germany #6 @ 01SE/AM3/1M/8M (w. NeoForce)

    Spectating;
    2010; GOOC 2010 Many thanks to Gigabyte!


  8. #8
    Admin
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Hillsboro, OR
    Posts
    5,275
    And surely if they were double sided, you would be complaining about how it would hinder overclockability.

  9. #9
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    5,485
    Quote Originally Posted by MadHacker View Post
    to bad it isn't 4GB sticks, better yet 8GB sticks
    8gb sticks are way to expensive right now... a 8gb stick is 10x the price of a 4gb stick (same timings).. so for the same price of a 8gb stick you could get 40gb of ram...

  10. #10
    Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    449
    Quote Originally Posted by M.Beier View Post
    You are right, but, would you ever use GTX6 for other things than CPU-z? I would not.[/URL]
    Single-sided is easier for the IMC, especially for SB-E which works in quad-channel. This means higher frequencies, the only thing which is interesting is the performance hit but something tells me this will be minimal on SB-E
    Born to lose, live to win!

  11. #11
    Aussie God
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    4,702
    Quote Originally Posted by matose View Post
    Single-sided is easier for the IMC, especially for SB-E which works in quad-channel. This means higher frequencies, the only thing which is interesting is the performance hit but something tells me this will be minimal on SB-E
    From what I hear, past 1866mhz is not really gaining, and tighter timings doesnt really gain neither.... But I do not have the platform yet, time will tell.
    But half interleave I've never considered a positive thing, except for 3Dmark2001SE in the old days.
    Competition ranking;
    2005; Netbyte, Karise/Denmark #1 @ PiFast
    2008; AOCM II, Minfeld/Germany #2 @ 01SE/AM3/8M (w. Oliver)
    2009; AMD-OC, Viborg/Denmark #2 @ max freq Gigabyte TweaKING, Paris/France #4 @ 32M/01SE (w. Vanovich)
    2010: Gigabyte P55, Hamburg/Germany #6 @ wprime 1024/SPI 1M (w. THC) AOCM III, Minfeld/Germany #6 @ 01SE/AM3/1M/8M (w. NeoForce)

    Spectating;
    2010; GOOC 2010 Many thanks to Gigabyte!


  12. #12
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Bangkok,Thailand (DamHot)
    Posts
    2,690
    very loosen CL

    look like some PSC / Hynix
    Intel Core i5 6600K + ASRock Z170 OC Formula + Galax HOF 4000 (8GBx2) + Antec 1200W OC Version
    EK SupremeHF + BlackIce GTX360 + Swiftech 655 + XSPC ResTop
    Macbook Pro 15" Late 2011 (i7 2760QM + HD 6770M)
    Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 (2014) , Huawei Nexus 6P
    [history system]80286 80386 80486 Cyrix K5 Pentium133 Pentium II Duron1G Athlon1G E2180 E3300 E5300 E7200 E8200 E8400 E8500 E8600 Q9550 QX6800 X3-720BE i7-920 i3-530 i5-750 Semp140@x2 955BE X4-B55 Q6600 i5-2500K i7-2600K X4-B60 X6-1055T FX-8120 i7-4790K

  13. #13
    CL10
    Where courage, motivation and ignorance meet, a persistent idiot awakens.

  14. #14
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    10,379
    Quote Originally Posted by M.Beier View Post
    Lighter on IMC, easier to bin high, half IC's..
    But, lower performance.. After all; GTX, in my book, is king of the hill when it comes to benching ram... G.Skill has tried, and failed - to get the crown...
    Wait and see... awaiting a better board to test...
    Question : Why do some overclockers switch into d*ckmode when money is involved

    Remark : They call me Pro Asus Saaya yupp, I agree

  15. #15
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Evje, Norway
    Posts
    3,425
    2gb sticks Thats soo 2005 >_>
    Quote Originally Posted by iddqd View Post
    Not to be outdone by rival ATi, nVidia's going to offer its own drivers on EA Download Manager.
    X2 555 @ B55 @ 4050 1.4v, NB @ 2700 1.35v Fuzion V1
    Gigabyte 890gpa-ud3h v2.1
    HD6950 2GB swiftech MCW60 @ 1000mhz, 1.168v 1515mhz memory
    Corsair Vengeance 2x4GB 1866 cas 9 @ 1800 8.9.8.27.41 1T 110ns 1.605v
    C300 64GB, 2X Seagate barracuda green LP 2TB, Essence STX, Zalman ZM750-HP
    DDC 3.2/petras, PA120.3 ek-res400, Stackers STC-01,
    Dell U2412m, G110, G9x, Razer Scarab

  16. #16
    Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    449
    Per stick yes, but the total of 8GB I think is enough for 99% of the people
    Born to lose, live to win!

  17. #17
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    AB. Canada
    Posts
    827
    Quote Originally Posted by matose View Post
    Per stick yes, but the total of 8GB I think is enough for 99% of the people
    I agree, however we are Xtreme.
    I have 12GB and run out of memory at times.


    "Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds" - (Einstein)

  18. #18
    Aussie God
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    4,702
    Quote Originally Posted by matose View Post
    Per stick yes, but the total of 8GB I think is enough for 99% of the people
    Agree, the capacity is not the concern, the impact of half interleave is possible issue...
    But you are right, I should have more faith in the vendor, Corsair has tested this quite alot before, and have taken it into consideration - and I hope you are right, after all, it would mean that if buying, it will be a heck of alot cheaper, win/win, cant argue with that..
    I am just critical about the impact, that it might have, negative on performance... If it shows that it doesnt have any, I'll go for single sided myself... But honestly; I would be suprised if it is the case..

    But I am not all knowing, far from, unfortunately
    Competition ranking;
    2005; Netbyte, Karise/Denmark #1 @ PiFast
    2008; AOCM II, Minfeld/Germany #2 @ 01SE/AM3/8M (w. Oliver)
    2009; AMD-OC, Viborg/Denmark #2 @ max freq Gigabyte TweaKING, Paris/France #4 @ 32M/01SE (w. Vanovich)
    2010: Gigabyte P55, Hamburg/Germany #6 @ wprime 1024/SPI 1M (w. THC) AOCM III, Minfeld/Germany #6 @ 01SE/AM3/1M/8M (w. NeoForce)

    Spectating;
    2010; GOOC 2010 Many thanks to Gigabyte!


  19. #19
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Hungary (EU)
    Posts
    1,373
    May we expect to see such an awesome preview from lab501 about SB-E what we saw about Bulldozer before its launch?
    Last edited by Oliverda; 11-04-2011 at 10:18 AM.
    -

  20. #20
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Bonnie Scotland / Sunny England
    Posts
    1,362
    Would prefer a 16gb kit but I do agree, CAS10 2400Mhz is a little disappointing...

    I miss the CAS7 2000Mhz days... They used to run 2300Mhz for benching!
    PROJECT :: The Xtreme (WET) Dream!!!

    PERSONAL H2O BESTS :
    E8600 @ 4.8GHz
    E6750 @ 4GHz QX9650 @ 4.6GHz
    i7 920 @ 4.6GHz

    PERSONAL AIR BESTS :
    Sempron140 @ 4Ghz (Stock Cooler)
    i7 3960x @ 5.4ghz (Air Cooler)

    Bex : "Who said girls can't play PC games or overclock!? Do I look like your imagination!?"
    Aaron : "TBH, a girl doing all that is a pretty perfect girl!"
    Swift_Wraith : "could someone please check bex for a penis?"

  21. #21
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    440
    I really wish Corsair would limit the height of there heatspreaders. It limits the CPU coolers you can use on some setups.

  22. #22
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    AB. Canada
    Posts
    827
    Quote Originally Posted by MaddMuppet View Post
    I really wish Corsair would limit the height of there heatspreaders. It limits the CPU coolers you can use on some setups.
    isn't that what a dremmel is for? or a chainsaw.. take your pick.


    "Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds" - (Einstein)

  23. #23
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    AB. Canada
    Posts
    827
    Quote Originally Posted by MaddMuppet View Post
    I really wish Corsair would limit the height of there heatspreaders. It limits the CPU coolers you can use on some setups.
    isn't that what a dremmel is for? or a chainsaw.. take your pick.


    "Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds" - (Einstein)

  24. #24
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    AB. Canada
    Posts
    827
    Quote Originally Posted by MaddMuppet View Post
    I really wish Corsair would limit the height of there heatspreaders. It limits the CPU coolers you can use on some setups.
    isn't that what a dremmel is for? or a chainsaw.. take your pick.


    "Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds" - (Einstein)

  25. #25
    R.I.P computer
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    chicago
    Posts
    287
    Quote Originally Posted by MadHacker View Post
    isn't that what a dremmel is for? or a chainsaw.. take your pick.
    maybe he can just use an allen wrench? lol, no need to cut off the heatsink.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •