MMM
    X

    Subscribe to New Ads!

    Receive weekly ads in your inbox!



Page 1 of 26 123411 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 637

Thread: 6950 to 6970 flash thread

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Lancaster, UK
    Posts
    473

    6950 to 6970 flash thread

    Post here if you tried it. Looks like it worked for me, trying to test now

    Instrructions http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=335318



    ^That is a 6950!

    0.9v idle

    1.175 load
    CPU: Intel 2500k (4.8ghz)
    Mobo: Asus P8P67 PRO
    GPU: HIS 6950 flashed to Asus 6970 (1000/1400) under water
    Sound: Corsair SP2500 with X-Fi
    Storage: Intel X-25M g2 160GB + 1x1TB f1
    Case: Sivlerstone Raven RV02
    PSU: Corsair HX850
    Cooling: Custom loop: EK Supreme HF, EK 6970
    Screens: BenQ XL2410T 120hz


    Help for Heroes

  2. #2
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    606
    wow this is awesome! congrats your chip is golden

  3. #3
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Grande Prairie, AB, CAN
    Posts
    6,127
    Very interested on seeing if more of these cards can unlock successfully.

  4. #4
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    606
    Isn't Device ID # wrong ? 6970 should be 1002-6718 and 6950 1002-6719.. it would be better to see before-after performance results at same frequencies..

  5. #5
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    MA/NH
    Posts
    1,254
    Quote Originally Posted by Bodkin View Post
    Post here if you tried it. Looks like it worked for me, trying to test now

    Instrructions http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=335318


    ^That is a 6950!

    0.9v idle

    1.175 load
    Can you please post the exact make and model of your 6950, also lets see some results if you can to see if theres a difference.
    Mpower Max | 4770k | H100 | 16gb Sammy 30nm 1866 | GTX780 SC | Xonar Essence Stx | BIC DV62si | ATH AD700 | 550d | AX850 | VG24QE | 840pro 256gb | 640black | 2tb | CherryReds | m60 | Func1030 |
    HEAT

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    173
    Quote Originally Posted by Rattle View Post
    Can you please post the exact make and model of your 6950, also lets see some results if you can to see if theres a difference.
    I have an HIS 6950 in the mail so I can test this out once it arrives. Does this mean that the 6950 is just a crippled 6970?
    Thermalright Venemous-X
    I7 2600K
    P67-UD7
    G.SKILL PI 2 x 2GB 2133 (F3-17066CL7D-4GBPIS)
    2xHIS 6950
    Intel X-25M 160GB SSD
    3x640GB WD Black Raid 0
    2x1TB WD Green
    Seasonic 750w
    Corsair 800D

  7. #7
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    UK East Coast
    Posts
    219
    Will this work with a Sapphire 6950?

  8. #8
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Lancaster, UK
    Posts
    473
    Old 3d mark score was x1100

    New 3d mark score is x1789

    Clocks are the same, as far as I can tell it works, seems there is no laser cut

    Its a HIS 6950
    CPU: Intel 2500k (4.8ghz)
    Mobo: Asus P8P67 PRO
    GPU: HIS 6950 flashed to Asus 6970 (1000/1400) under water
    Sound: Corsair SP2500 with X-Fi
    Storage: Intel X-25M g2 160GB + 1x1TB f1
    Case: Sivlerstone Raven RV02
    PSU: Corsair HX850
    Cooling: Custom loop: EK Supreme HF, EK 6970
    Screens: BenQ XL2410T 120hz


    Help for Heroes

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    London
    Posts
    298
    Should've post this here - http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...&postcount=750

    Btw guys, i get artifacting in ati tool scanner, quite badly. But in all the benchmarks i've run i haven't seen any

    My 6950 never artifacted in the scanner. I tried lower clocks, 6950 speeds, still artifacted. But i haven't seen any in game
    -
    Core i7 860 @ 3.80GHz, 1.28v | GA-P55A-UD4 | G.Skill Ripjaw 4GB DDR3 @ 1900MHz 7-9-8-24 1N, 1.57v | HIS HD 6950 2GB, 1536sp @ 900/1400, 1.10v | Samsung F3 500GB | Thermaltake 750W | Windows 7 64bit | Air

    Crunching away...

  10. #10
    Artifacts in 3D mode for me.
    powercolor 2 cards.
    4670k 4.6ghz 1.22v watercooled CPU/GPU - Asus Z87-A - 290 1155mhz/1250mhz - Kingston Hyper Blu 8gb -crucial 128gb ssd - EyeFunity 5040x1050 120hz - CM atcs840 - Corsair 750w -sennheiser hd600 headphones - Asus essence stx - G400 and steelseries 6v2 -windows 8 Pro 64bit Best OS used - - 9500p 3dmark11 (one of the 26% that isnt confused on xtreme forums)

  11. #11
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Lancaster, UK
    Posts
    473
    Getting artifacts too, but the card flys along in game :S
    CPU: Intel 2500k (4.8ghz)
    Mobo: Asus P8P67 PRO
    GPU: HIS 6950 flashed to Asus 6970 (1000/1400) under water
    Sound: Corsair SP2500 with X-Fi
    Storage: Intel X-25M g2 160GB + 1x1TB f1
    Case: Sivlerstone Raven RV02
    PSU: Corsair HX850
    Cooling: Custom loop: EK Supreme HF, EK 6970
    Screens: BenQ XL2410T 120hz


    Help for Heroes

  12. #12
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    UK East Coast
    Posts
    219
    Quote Originally Posted by Bodkin View Post
    Getting artifacts too, but the card flys along in game :S
    When are you getting atifacts?


    Did you put your switch on position 2 to keep the original bios?

  13. #13
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Lancaster, UK
    Posts
    473
    Only getting artifacts on atitool 3d scanner, nothing else, furmark is fine. Bios 2 is the backup so flashed bios 1
    CPU: Intel 2500k (4.8ghz)
    Mobo: Asus P8P67 PRO
    GPU: HIS 6950 flashed to Asus 6970 (1000/1400) under water
    Sound: Corsair SP2500 with X-Fi
    Storage: Intel X-25M g2 160GB + 1x1TB f1
    Case: Sivlerstone Raven RV02
    PSU: Corsair HX850
    Cooling: Custom loop: EK Supreme HF, EK 6970
    Screens: BenQ XL2410T 120hz


    Help for Heroes

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    35
    Quote Originally Posted by Bodkin View Post
    Only getting artifacts on atitool 3d scanner, nothing else, furmark is fine. Bios 2 is the backup so flashed bios 1
    What about GPUTool stability test? Could you please test with GPUTool?
    |Asus P5W DH Deluxe|Intel Core2 Quad Q6600+Sycthe Ninja 1000P|G.Skill 2x1GB. DDR2 800MHz.|Samsung 160 GB SATA2 NCQ|AOpen H600B-28+Tagan EasyCon 530W.|Gigabyte 8800GT|Samsung 226BW|Audigy DE@Audigy2 ZS|Creative Inspire 5200|

  15. #15
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Lancaster, UK
    Posts
    473
    Run for 5 mins so far, seems fine!
    CPU: Intel 2500k (4.8ghz)
    Mobo: Asus P8P67 PRO
    GPU: HIS 6950 flashed to Asus 6970 (1000/1400) under water
    Sound: Corsair SP2500 with X-Fi
    Storage: Intel X-25M g2 160GB + 1x1TB f1
    Case: Sivlerstone Raven RV02
    PSU: Corsair HX850
    Cooling: Custom loop: EK Supreme HF, EK 6970
    Screens: BenQ XL2410T 120hz


    Help for Heroes

  16. #16
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Lancaster, UK
    Posts
    473
    15 min mark and its still not artifacting
    CPU: Intel 2500k (4.8ghz)
    Mobo: Asus P8P67 PRO
    GPU: HIS 6950 flashed to Asus 6970 (1000/1400) under water
    Sound: Corsair SP2500 with X-Fi
    Storage: Intel X-25M g2 160GB + 1x1TB f1
    Case: Sivlerstone Raven RV02
    PSU: Corsair HX850
    Cooling: Custom loop: EK Supreme HF, EK 6970
    Screens: BenQ XL2410T 120hz


    Help for Heroes

  17. #17
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    35
    Quote Originally Posted by Bodkin View Post
    15 min mark and its still not artifacting
    That's great! Thank you!
    |Asus P5W DH Deluxe|Intel Core2 Quad Q6600+Sycthe Ninja 1000P|G.Skill 2x1GB. DDR2 800MHz.|Samsung 160 GB SATA2 NCQ|AOpen H600B-28+Tagan EasyCon 530W.|Gigabyte 8800GT|Samsung 226BW|Audigy DE@Audigy2 ZS|Creative Inspire 5200|

  18. #18
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    MA/NH
    Posts
    1,254
    NICE

    I just ordered a 6950

    I have no self control rofl
    Mpower Max | 4770k | H100 | 16gb Sammy 30nm 1866 | GTX780 SC | Xonar Essence Stx | BIC DV62si | ATH AD700 | 550d | AX850 | VG24QE | 840pro 256gb | 640black | 2tb | CherryReds | m60 | Func1030 |
    HEAT

  19. #19
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    63
    I flash my sapphire 6950 and it worked gained about 100pts in 3dmark11 clock for clock
    i5 750 2.66@4.2ghz
    ASUS Max formula 3
    Sapphire 6950
    Dell 3007WFP HC
    http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=30801 35+-0-0

  20. #20
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    310
    Any artifacts?

  21. #21
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    UK East Coast
    Posts
    219
    Quote Originally Posted by Alucard- View Post
    I flash my sapphire 6950 and it worked gained about 100pts in 3dmark11 clock for clock
    Thats not alot

  22. #22
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Lancaster, UK
    Posts
    473
    30 mins in and still nothing
    CPU: Intel 2500k (4.8ghz)
    Mobo: Asus P8P67 PRO
    GPU: HIS 6950 flashed to Asus 6970 (1000/1400) under water
    Sound: Corsair SP2500 with X-Fi
    Storage: Intel X-25M g2 160GB + 1x1TB f1
    Case: Sivlerstone Raven RV02
    PSU: Corsair HX850
    Cooling: Custom loop: EK Supreme HF, EK 6970
    Screens: BenQ XL2410T 120hz


    Help for Heroes

  23. #23
    Champion
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    1,377
    Quote Originally Posted by Alucard- View Post
    I flash my sapphire 6950 and it worked gained about 100pts in 3dmark11 clock for clock
    Yah that scale closed with my running on 3dmark 11 too about 100pts, looking to approve for all
    Sorry For My English
    OverclockZone Team
    THAILAND

  24. #24
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    London
    Posts
    298
    Ran it for a good 10-15 minutes as well, no artifacting. I remember it being a good tool to test my 4890 core with, but same with ati tool gpu tool tester is hotter though, more on terms with furmark etc.




    Some more benches here: http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...&postcount=758
    -
    Core i7 860 @ 3.80GHz, 1.28v | GA-P55A-UD4 | G.Skill Ripjaw 4GB DDR3 @ 1900MHz 7-9-8-24 1N, 1.57v | HIS HD 6950 2GB, 1536sp @ 900/1400, 1.10v | Samsung F3 500GB | Thermaltake 750W | Windows 7 64bit | Air

    Crunching away...

  25. #25
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,251
    Quote Originally Posted by Rattle View Post
    NICE

    I just ordered a 6950

    I have no self control rofl
    rofl! i've already put the card in the shopping cart (232,99€, from powercolor), but didn't check out yet. artifacting with the atitools artifact scanner doesn't sound too good
    1. Asus P5Q-E / Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @~3612 MHz (8,5x425) / 2x2GB OCZ Platinum XTC (PC2-8000U, CL5) / EVGA GeForce GTX 570 / Crucial M4 128GB, WD Caviar Blue 640GB, WD Caviar SE16 320GB, WD Caviar SE 160GB / be quiet! Dark Power Pro P7 550W / Thermaltake Tsunami VA3000BWA / LG L227WT / Teufel Concept E Magnum 5.1 // SysProfile


    2. Asus A8N-SLI / AMD Athlon 64 4000+ @~2640 MHz (12x220) / 1024 MB Corsair CMX TwinX 3200C2, 2.5-3-3-6 1T / Club3D GeForce 7800GT @463/1120 MHz / Crucial M4 64GB, Hitachi Deskstar 40GB / be quiet! Blackline P5 470W

Page 1 of 26 123411 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •