Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 41

Thread: Need new case that allows for 2 x 360 rads...

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Vegas
    Posts
    212

    Need new case that allows for 2 x 360 rads...

    Hey Guys,
    currently running single loop for GTX 470 and i920 in a Raven 2 case, with one 360 rad at the bottom.

    I want to add another GTX 470 so will need a beefier system, I have another 360 rad lying around doing nothing, so I am planning on selling the Raven 2 case and buying a different case that can house 2 x 360 rads...

    Can you guys suggest some cases that can house 2 x 360 rads without major modding, I am looking for something that can support the rads 'out of the box'....

    Thanks,

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    K Town
    Posts
    25
    Just used a Cooler Master Cosmos in a build for a friend, that thing is massive.
    Guarantee you could comfortably fit them in there with some creativity.
    Core i7 920 D0 4.2Ghz 1.296V | Asus P6T Deluxe V2
    Corsair Dominator DDR3 6Gb | Evga GTX 260 Core 216
    Western Digital Black 640Gb X2 RAID 0 | Corsair 750TX
    Silverstone RV-02 | CPU WC setup

  3. #3
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Latvia, Riga
    Posts
    3,959
    Simpliest and cheapest would be put second 3x120 rad externally keeping your current case.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    3
    Mountain Mods Pinnacle 24. The only MM case I really like -- because it's not a nasty cube case. Some options, too.

  5. #5
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,884
    If you want support for 2 360 rads without modding, Mountain Mods and Danger Den are probably your best choice. Both design large cases specifically designed for liquid cooling. The Pinnacle is a great option, though some prefer the Mountain Mod cubes.
    One thing you need to realize, is that those specialized cases will almost always cost more than the more average cases .
    “Little expense had been spared to create the impression that no expense had been spared.” - Hitchhiker's Guide
    It's better to ask dumb questions now, than to look stupid later
    Mondays:

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    94
    The Silverstone TJ07 / corsairs 800D / Coolermaster ATCS840 should do the trick.

    I'm personally using the ATCS and the rads fit in without any issues

  7. #7
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    271
    Quote Originally Posted by zedane View Post
    The Silverstone TJ07 / corsairs 800D / Coolermaster ATCS840 should do the trick.

    I'm personally using the ATCS and the rads fit in without any issues
    How did you fit the second 360 internally?

    The Corsair Obsidian can fit a 360 and 280 I believe with a bit of modding in the bottom HDD cages.

    The ACTS can fit a 360 and 240 internally with no modding.

    Silverstone TJ07 can fit 2x 480s lol.
    Cooler Master ATCS 840 Silver Water Cooled || Vista x64 || Corsair HX1000
    Swiftech MCR320 || MCP355 /w XSPC ResTop || Swiftech GTZ || 1/2" ID x 3/4" OD Duralene Tubing
    Q9550@3.7Ghz, E0, 1.215 VID || Asus Rampage, 1.25 vCore, 1.29 NB, 1.32 VTT ||XFX 4870x2
    Dell 3007WFP-HC || 2x Dell 2007WFP || 4GB(2x2GB) Mushkin DDR2 6400 800MHZ ram at 4-4-4-12-2T
    ATH-A900/Z-2300s || FiiO E5 Amp || G15 Rev 1 || G7 || Logitech 9000 Quickcam || Salar M8 Microphone
    6401AALS WD Caviar Black || 400GB Seagate || 500GB Seagate || 250 Seagate
    White MSI Wind U100 2GB Ram || Windows 7

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    94
    This is how i manage to fit the rads in





    I think its a pretty simple setup but nontheless i shall give some descriptions

    Notice i am using 2 long screws to hold the mounting bracket in place. 2x 120mm fans are used to prop the rads forward and towards the motherboard as there is a protrusion between the hdd rack and 5.25" bay.

    Also do note that the screws used to hold the mounting bracket are not perfectly fitted, and that the rad is slightly tilted at an angle but nontheless, it is still steady in place.

    I believe even without the screws, the rad would still be pretty stable in place.

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    271
    Ah okay, forgot that you can just extend it out past the HDD holder cage :p Upgraded to the 700D and I've already forgotten my ATCS840 :*(
    Cooler Master ATCS 840 Silver Water Cooled || Vista x64 || Corsair HX1000
    Swiftech MCR320 || MCP355 /w XSPC ResTop || Swiftech GTZ || 1/2" ID x 3/4" OD Duralene Tubing
    Q9550@3.7Ghz, E0, 1.215 VID || Asus Rampage, 1.25 vCore, 1.29 NB, 1.32 VTT ||XFX 4870x2
    Dell 3007WFP-HC || 2x Dell 2007WFP || 4GB(2x2GB) Mushkin DDR2 6400 800MHZ ram at 4-4-4-12-2T
    ATH-A900/Z-2300s || FiiO E5 Amp || G15 Rev 1 || G7 || Logitech 9000 Quickcam || Salar M8 Microphone
    6401AALS WD Caviar Black || 400GB Seagate || 500GB Seagate || 250 Seagate
    White MSI Wind U100 2GB Ram || Windows 7

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    29
    MM UFO, beast is a rockstar.

  11. #11
    Xtreme Enthusiast miptzi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Not sure if...
    Posts
    595
    cosmos S

    one on top, other standing in the bays....
    Raidmax ATOMIC - Core i7 3770s + Corsair H70 // Gigabyte H77N WIFI // Corsair Vengeance 2x4GB 2133mhz // EVGA GTX1060 ACX2.0// Kingston SUV400 480Gb // Sharkoon SFX500L

  12. #12
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Vegas
    Posts
    212
    Anyone else with some photos that show me position of the radiators, obviously I have little imagination when it comes to positioning the rads inside a case.....

    I have on my short list, the corsairs 700D / Coolermaster ATCS840 and the HAF X or the HAF 932 (again, just sold one to buy a Raven 2).....

  13. #13
    Chasing After Diety
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Absolutely Speachless :O
    Posts
    11,929
    go with the 800D.

    The built hotswap bays up front is worth the price difference.
    Well, I think the 800D can make things look cleaner IMO.

    And no there not the exact same... 700d vs 800d.
    Nadeshiko: i7 990 12GB DDR3 eVGA Classified *In Testing... Jealous? *
    Miyuki: W3580 6GB DDR3 P6T-Dlx
    Lind: Dual Gainestown 3.07
    Sammy: Dual Yonah Sossoman cheerleader. *Sammy-> Lind.*

    [12:37] skinnee: quit helping me procrastinate block reviews, you asshat. :p
    [12:38] Naekuh: i love watching u get the firing squad on XS
    Its my fault.. and no im not sorry about it either.

  14. #14
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Vegas
    Posts
    212
    Quote Originally Posted by soulesschild View Post
    How did you fit the second 360 internally?

    The Corsair Obsidian can fit a 360 and 280 I believe with a bit of modding in the bottom HDD cages.

    The ACTS can fit a 360 and 240 internally with no modding.

    Silverstone TJ07 can fit 2x 480s lol.
    How can the ACTS fit a 360 and 240 without modding, I can't see where to fit the second rad actually...

  15. #15
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Vegas
    Posts
    212
    Quote Originally Posted by NaeKuh View Post
    go with the 800D.

    The built hotswap bays up front is worth the price difference.
    Well, I think the 800D can make things look cleaner IMO.

    And no there not the exact same... 700d vs 800d.
    OK, not a problem adding an extra case to my options, but I can't see where to add the extra 360 rad. The Silverstone TJ07 is interesting as I believe both rads can be placed at the bottom drawing in air from the sides..... Not sure about the others....

  16. #16
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    1,005
    Quote Originally Posted by churchy View Post
    Simpliest and cheapest would be put second 3x120 rad externally keeping your current case.
    This.
    \Project\ Triple Surround Fury
    Case:
    Mountain Mods Ascension (modded)
    CPU: i7 920 @ 4GHz + EK Supreme HF (plate #1)
    GPU: GTX 670 3-Way SLI + XSPC Razor GTX670 water blocks
    Mobo: ASUS Rampage III Extreme + EK FB R3E water block
    RAM: 3x 2GB Mushkin Enhanced Ridgeback DDR3 @ 6-8-6-24 1T
    SSD: Crucial M4 256GB, 0309 firmware
    PSU: 2x Corsair HX1000s on separate circuits
    LCD: 3x ASUS VW266H 26" Nvidia Surround @ 6030 x 1200
    OS: Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium
    Games: AoE II: HD, BF4, MKKE, MW2 via FourDeltaOne (Domination all day!)

  17. #17
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    In the Land down -under-
    Posts
    4,439
    go with a mountainmods case, leaves you with alot of room, As for the cosmos if you mount the rad standing up Where you going to put your res/pump, it just isnt big enough imho..

    Another thing I find funny is AMD/Intel would snipe any of our Moms on a grocery run if it meant good quarterly results, and you are forever whining about what feser did?

  18. #18
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    15
    Lian Li PC-A77F

    Out of the box you can put a 360 in the front and a 280 in the top. If you buy the 3x 120mm Top cover for it ( http://www.lian-li.com/v2/en/product...s_index=74&g=f ), then you can put a 360 in the front and a 360 in the top.
    Main Gaming Rig-
    i7 920 @ 4.2Ghz, EK Supreme HF, EVGA X58 SLI w/ EK Full Cover Block, 6GB Corsair Dominator 1600Mhz, EVGA GTX480 SC w/ EK Full Cover Block, Auzentech Forte 7.1, OCZ Vertex 60GB, 2x WD 1TB Black RAID0, Corsair TX-750w

    Backup/HTPC Rig-
    i3 530 @ 4.05Ghz, Noctua NH-U12P, Gigabyte P55-UD3, 4GB G.Skill Value 1600Mhz, EVGA GTX285 SC, WD 200GB, Scythe Kamariki 4 650w

  19. #19
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    94
    Quote Originally Posted by Neutronman View Post
    How can the ACTS fit a 360 and 240 without modding, I can't see where to fit the second rad actually...
    As above

  20. #20
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    France
    Posts
    950
    I confirm the A77F, with the optional 3x120 top will fit 2 360 rads with zero modification, and plenty of room left.

    24/7 running quiet and nice

  21. #21
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Vegas
    Posts
    212
    Quote Originally Posted by UrbanSmooth View Post
    This.
    No can do, the Raven 2 case is designed around a 90 degree turned motherboard and all the connections are on the top side so it is not easy to mount anything externally, especially a 360 rad and fans...

  22. #22
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    In the Land down -under-
    Posts
    4,439
    Quote Originally Posted by gmat View Post
    I confirm the A77F, with the optional 3x120 top will fit 2 360 rads with zero modification, and plenty of room left.
    Where exactly can you fit 2 triple rads? 1 in top i can see , what about the other 360, front bays? Something like this..
    Last edited by Johnny87au; 08-03-2010 at 01:24 AM.

    Another thing I find funny is AMD/Intel would snipe any of our Moms on a grocery run if it meant good quarterly results, and you are forever whining about what feser did?

  23. #23
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Vegas
    Posts
    212
    Quote Originally Posted by Kayx View Post
    Lian Li PC-A77F

    Out of the box you can put a 360 in the front and a 280 in the top. If you buy the 3x 120mm Top cover for it ( http://www.lian-li.com/v2/en/product...s_index=74&g=f ), then you can put a 360 in the front and a 360 in the top.
    Interesting, never thought of Lian Li, I could remove the three drive cages at the front to install the 360 there...

    Ironic really as the design imitates the original CM Stacker that came out about 6 years ago, shame I sold this case.......

  24. #24
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    France
    Posts
    950
    Quote Originally Posted by Johnny87au View Post
    Where exactly can you fit 2 triple rads? 1 in top i can see , what about the other 360, front bays?
    Precisely, in stock form the front bays have 3.5" racks with front 120mm, and 3 more 5.25" bays on top, the 3.5" racks are totally removable so you can fit whatever radiator you want in front there.

    Neutronman, i think the A77 is quite bigger (in depth especially) than the stacker of old, and much higher quality. Also the top mount sold separately is a perfect fit. But yeah the stacker was a great design, most popular watercooling case before the TJ07 came in.

    24/7 running quiet and nice

  25. #25
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    15
    Note the A77 and the A77F are quite different cases.

    Heres some images of how I mounted the triple rad in the front of my A77F.





    Finished build, with the triple in front, and I have a 280 in the top (didnt bother going for a 360 in top with the other top since I didnt need that much cooling.)
    Last edited by Kayx; 08-03-2010 at 08:03 PM.
    Main Gaming Rig-
    i7 920 @ 4.2Ghz, EK Supreme HF, EVGA X58 SLI w/ EK Full Cover Block, 6GB Corsair Dominator 1600Mhz, EVGA GTX480 SC w/ EK Full Cover Block, Auzentech Forte 7.1, OCZ Vertex 60GB, 2x WD 1TB Black RAID0, Corsair TX-750w

    Backup/HTPC Rig-
    i3 530 @ 4.05Ghz, Noctua NH-U12P, Gigabyte P55-UD3, 4GB G.Skill Value 1600Mhz, EVGA GTX285 SC, WD 200GB, Scythe Kamariki 4 650w

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •