MMM
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 37

Thread: Asus Immensity - Lucid Hydra implementation

  1. #1
    Champion
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    lab501.ro
    Posts
    1,077

    Asus Immensity - Lucid Hydra implementation

    Asus will show this year at Computex their Lucid Hydra implementation in a concept called "Asus Immensity"; it is a member of the ROG family, but for some reason it only has 2 PCI-e 16X slots (?!).



    Also, they have the new Sabertooth X58 on display; if you remember the Sabertooth i55 - the motherboard with military grade components and special ceramic coating, well this is the same concept applied to the X58 chipset.

    Other interesting stuff: Asus Rampage III Gene and the tiny passive-cooler Atom-powered Asus AT5IONT-I Deluxe.

    Source: http://lab501.ro/stiri/computex-2010...cu-lucid-hydra

  2. #2
    XIP
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    5,580
    Asus is a top notch when it comes to innovation.....but can they make a mobo that moisture resistant/water proofed?

  3. #3
    NooB MOD
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    5,796
    Is it just me or does that board look a lot wider than normal? I don't understand why they'd make a high end board with only two PCIe16s though
    Xtreme SUPERCOMPUTER
    Nov 1 - Nov 8 Join Now!


    Quote Originally Posted by Jowy Atreides View Post
    Intel is about to get athlon'd
    Athlon64 3700+ KACAE 0605APAW @ 3455MHz 314x11 1.92v/Vapochill || Core 2 Duo E8500 Q807 @ 6060MHz 638x9.5 1.95v LN2 @ -120'c || Athlon64 FX-55 CABCE 0516WPMW @ 3916MHz 261x15 1.802v/LN2 @ -40c || DFI LP UT CFX3200-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 SLI-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra D || Sapphire X1950XT || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 290MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v || 2x256MB G.Skill TCCD @ 350MHz 3-4-4-8 3.1v || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 294MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v

  4. #4
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    1,885
    its almost as lame as the rog expander

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    2
    It only has 2 PCI-e x16 slots as you would be using this with the Asus "Ares" 4GB 5970. Atleast thats what i hope they were thinking
    Notice how the slots are 3 slots apart. Thats because the Ares takes up 3 Expension slots. Its a board made specifically for Ares Overclocking.

  6. #6
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    1,023
    you can tell they're planning for something when they only use 36 PCIe lanes out of a possible 68

    might think about getting that mobo
    i7 920 @ 4GHz 1.25v
    GTX 470 @ 859MHz 1062mv

  7. #7
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    2,635
    Yea, what good is lucid hydra with just two 16x slots?

  8. #8
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    1,885
    Quote Originally Posted by Helloworld_98 View Post
    you can tell they're planning for something when they only use 36 PCIe lanes out of a possible 68

    might think about getting that mobo

    can they allocate more lane on those slots ??? making each slot 32lanes instead of 16 ???

  9. #9
    Xtremely Hot Sauce
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    3,586
    No; a PCI-E x32 slot would be friggin enormous; about 90% longer than an x16 slot. You need an electrical connection for those additional lanes; an x32 slot would double the data pins (everything after the notch).

    Now then, I don't quite know what's going through Asus's head to use Lucid Hydra with an x16-x16 board. Even so, I doubt most CFX/SLI users are doing tri-/quad-card setups.

    My toys:
    Asus Sabertooth X58 | Core i7-950 (D0) | CM Hyper 212+ | G.Skill Sniper LV 12GB DDR3-1600 CL9 | GeForce GTX 670-2048MB | OCZ Agility 4 512GB, WD Raptor 150GB x 3 (RAID0), WD Black 1TB x 2 (RAID0) | XFX 650W CAH9 | Lian-Li PC-9F | Win 7 Pro x86-64
    Gigabyte EX58-UD3R | Core i7-920 (D0) | Stock HSF | G.Skill Sniper LV 4GB DDR3-1600 CL9 | Radeon HD 2600 Pro 512MB | WD Caviar 80GB IDE, 4TB x 2 (RAID5) | Corsair TX750 | XClio 188AF | Win 7 Pro x86-64
    Dell Dimension 8400 | Pentium 4 530 HT (E0) | Stock HSF | 1.5GB DDR2-400 CL3 | GeForce 8800 GT 256MB | WD Caviar 160GB SATA | Stock PSU | (Broken) Stock Case | Win Vista HP x86
    Little Dot DAC_I | Little Dot MK IV | Beyerdynamic DT-880 Premium (600 Ω) | TEAC AG-H300 MkIII | Polk Audio Monitor 5 Series 2's

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    2
    Like i said before, they are using 16x-16x to support their Asus Ares 4gb gpu which covers 3 slots.

  11. #11
    Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    449
    The problem is that the Hydra chip doesn't support dual-GPU cards for the time beeing, so no GTX295, HD5970 for now
    Born to lose, live to win!

  12. #12
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    522
    Regarding the 2-16x slots, it could be that's the configuration that worked best with the Hydra chip for the price point. If it's <$240, it could be interesting, if it's >$240, then WTH were they thinking.
    Asrock Extreme 4 | 2600K | 16G G Skill | Powercolor LCS 7970 | PCP&C 910 Silencer | Crucial C300 + Intel X-25V + Raptors | D-Tek Fusion v2 | Swiftech MCR Drive 360 | HP LP2475

  13. #13
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    1,023
    Quote Originally Posted by Sailindawg View Post
    Regarding the 2-16x slots, it could be that's the configuration that worked best with the Hydra chip for the price point. If it's <$240, it could be interesting, if it's >$240, then WTH were they thinking.
    isn't the MSI one like $300?

    and that uses the P55 chipset which makes it cheaper, <$240 I think not
    i7 920 @ 4GHz 1.25v
    GTX 470 @ 859MHz 1062mv

  14. #14
    NooB MOD
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    5,796
    Perhaps it's just a bit of showing off?
    Xtreme SUPERCOMPUTER
    Nov 1 - Nov 8 Join Now!


    Quote Originally Posted by Jowy Atreides View Post
    Intel is about to get athlon'd
    Athlon64 3700+ KACAE 0605APAW @ 3455MHz 314x11 1.92v/Vapochill || Core 2 Duo E8500 Q807 @ 6060MHz 638x9.5 1.95v LN2 @ -120'c || Athlon64 FX-55 CABCE 0516WPMW @ 3916MHz 261x15 1.802v/LN2 @ -40c || DFI LP UT CFX3200-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 SLI-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra D || Sapphire X1950XT || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 290MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v || 2x256MB G.Skill TCCD @ 350MHz 3-4-4-8 3.1v || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 294MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v

  15. #15
    Assistant Administrator systemviper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Newtown, CT
    Posts
    2,875
    Quote Originally Posted by matose View Post
    The problem is that the Hydra chip doesn't support dual-GPU cards for the time beeing, so no GTX295, HD5970 for now
    wow, now that cought me by suprise, didn't know that....
    HWbot - Team: XtremeSystems
    XS cruncher - Team: XtremeSystems
    OCN Feedback
    HEAT


    *** Being kind is sometimes better then being right.

  16. #16
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    187
    The PCB layout is looking like the Rampage 3 extreme, which is quite crowded. It's possible adding the Lucid Hydra chip need the expansion slot took up the space
    ATCS 840| Core i7 920 - 4.2Ghz - H20| Corsair Dominator GT 1600Mhz 6GB| EVGA X58 Classified| GTX480 2-Way SLI| WD 640GB X2 (Raid 0)| Corsair HX1000W

  17. #17
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,549
    Quote Originally Posted by Micutzu View Post
    "Asus Immensity"
    whats that supposed to mean?
    is that... the name of the board?
    very weird marketing name...

    Quote Originally Posted by Micutzu View Post
    Also, they have the new Sabertooth X58 on display; if you remember the Sabertooth i55 - the motherboard with military grade components and special ceramic coating, well this is the same concept applied to the X58 chipset.
    totally forgot about that board... that about sums it up... it didnt work for p55, why redo the same for 1366?

    asus is doing some weird stuff for sure...

    Quote Originally Posted by bhavv View Post
    Yea, what good is lucid hydra with just two 16x slots?
    did they finally unlock 4x mode?
    does it scale well?
    if no, then whats the point of having more than 2 slots?

    Quote Originally Posted by Bobsama View Post
    No; a PCI-E x32 slot would be friggin enormous; about 90% longer than an x16 slot. You need an electrical connection for those additional lanes; an x32 slot would double the data pins (everything after the notch)
    actually not necessarily...
    youd be surprised to know how many ground pins a pciE 16x slot contains that are used for signal noise insulation
    if theyd figure out how to use even half the pins in a x16 slot to shovel data around, 32x in a 16x slot wouldnt be a problem at all...

    Quote Originally Posted by matose View Post
    The problem is that the Hydra chip doesn't support dual-GPU cards for the time beeing, so no GTX295, HD5970 for now
    exactly...

  18. #18
    ODOC
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Copenhagen - Denmark
    Posts
    2,189
    Thanks for posting in man , much appreciated
    Last edited by Oliver; 05-31-2010 at 07:35 AM.

  19. #19
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    312
    Actually it does support the dual cards from different companies. This is known as if I am reading this correctly their X-mode. But this is one of 2 boards that Asus is coming out with for hydra the other is the Crosshair IV extreme for amd and there are also 3 more boards coming out this year for a total of 5 bringing the total of Hydra capable boards to 6. This should speed up support of it across all areas.
    My rig the Kill-Jacker

    CPU: AMD Phenom II 1055T 3.82GHz
    Mobo: ASUS Crosshair IV Extreme
    Game GPU: EVGA GTX580
    Secondary GPU 2: EVGA GTX470
    Memory: Mushkin DDR3 1600 Ridgeback 8GB
    PSU: Silverstone SST-ST1000-P
    HDD: WD 250GB Blue 7200RPM
    HDD2: WD 1TB Blue 7200RPM
    CPU Cooler: TRUE120 Rev. B Pull
    Case: Antec 1200


    FAH Tracker V2 Project Site

  20. #20
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    2,635
    Quote Originally Posted by saaya View Post

    did they finally unlock 4x mode?
    does it scale well?
    if no, then whats the point of having more than 2 slots?
    I thought that Hydra was meant to be for using several Nvidia and ATI cards together, but maybe I'm just behind on the news.

  21. #21
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    1,885
    Quote Originally Posted by saaya View Post
    actually not necessarily...
    youd be surprised to know how many ground pins a pciE 16x slot contains that are used for signal noise insulation
    if theyd figure out how to use even half the pins in a x16 slot to shovel data around, 32x in a 16x slot wouldnt be a problem at all...

    exactly...

    good to know saaya


    any reading on said subject i could get my hand on ????

  22. #22
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    145
    Too bad the link is dead. Fortunately I found a forum that saved a pic of the sabertooth.


  23. #23
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    423
    The Immensity is a concept board for crying out loud.

    Both of Intel's upcoming desktop platforms are going to offer less than 32 PCIe links (16 x 5 Gbps for LGA1155, 24 x 8 Gbps for LGA13xx) so graphically intensive applications may actually benefit from a "graphics workload distributor" like the Hydra instead of just passively splitting the available bandwidth like most boards now do. Providing of course, Hydra's active mode catches up with ATi's and Nvidia's native multi GPU solutions, because the performance gap right now doesn't make it worth the silicon it occupies.

    The Sabertooth board on the other hand looks so pleasantly ugly I might have bought one if it wasn't so late in the game. No splitting the x16 links (0,1% might find more than two actually useful), no double digit phase counts, no weird form factors, just works for a comfortable 4.0 GHz OCed daily driver... of course you might as well buy a Gigabyte for that and save 50$.
    Last edited by sholvaco; 05-31-2010 at 08:13 AM.

  24. #24
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    1,023
    Quote Originally Posted by sholvaco View Post
    (16 x 5 Gbps for LGA1155, 24 x 8 Gbps for LGA2011)
    just corrected it for you
    i7 920 @ 4GHz 1.25v
    GTX 470 @ 859MHz 1062mv

  25. #25
    NooB MOD
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    5,796
    Quote Originally Posted by Bobsama View Post
    No; a PCI-E x32 slot would be friggin enormous; about 90% longer than an x16 slot. You need an electrical connection for those additional lanes; an x32 slot would double the data pins (everything after the notch).

    Now then, I don't quite know what's going through Asus's head to use Lucid Hydra with an x16-x16 board. Even so, I doubt most CFX/SLI users are doing tri-/quad-card setups.
    Actually, not so:

    Code:
    Lanes	Pins Total	variable section	Total Length	variable section
    1	218=36[23]	27=14			25 mm		7.65 mm
    4	232=64		221=42			39 mm		21.65 mm
    8	249=98		238=76			56 mm		38.65 mm
    16	282=164	271=142		89 mm		71.65 mm
    If the scaling was linear, a x16 slot would be 576 pins and 400mm long
    Last edited by [XC] Oj101; 05-31-2010 at 08:28 AM.
    Xtreme SUPERCOMPUTER
    Nov 1 - Nov 8 Join Now!


    Quote Originally Posted by Jowy Atreides View Post
    Intel is about to get athlon'd
    Athlon64 3700+ KACAE 0605APAW @ 3455MHz 314x11 1.92v/Vapochill || Core 2 Duo E8500 Q807 @ 6060MHz 638x9.5 1.95v LN2 @ -120'c || Athlon64 FX-55 CABCE 0516WPMW @ 3916MHz 261x15 1.802v/LN2 @ -40c || DFI LP UT CFX3200-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 SLI-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra D || Sapphire X1950XT || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 290MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v || 2x256MB G.Skill TCCD @ 350MHz 3-4-4-8 3.1v || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 294MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •