X

    Subscribe to New Ads!

    Receive weekly ads in your inbox!



Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: What am I doing Wrong With SLI?

  1. #1
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,681

    What am I doing Wrong With SLI?

    So the problem is, whenever I SLI my 2x GTX 275's the picture in 3D apps flickers around with the wrong colours. To me it appears that one card is rendering it correctly, then other is using the wrong colours (normally the opposite to what it should be). Sorry not sure if this makes sense, i'm not good at writing. The problem might be that one is a factory oc'ed card, and the other is a reference card. But i'v got friends with cards that run difference stock MHz and their's work fine.

    Its happened on 2x different boards (Classified E760 and 790i Ultra), over 6 difference OS's installs (win xp32 and win7 64), different HDDs and every driver I have tried.

    What I have Tried...

    Tested both cards by themselves, no problem, so its not a dead card.
    Neither card is overheating.
    I'v clock'ed both at the same MHz's.
    Swapping the slots their in and which card is in the primary slot.
    Changing SLI cables positions.
    I'm out of ideas, anyone got a suggestion?
    Disabling PHYX.

    Thanks
    Last edited by fatguy1992; 04-04-2010 at 09:24 PM.

  2. #2
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    CT, USA!!!
    Posts
    2,968
    I'm pretty sure its a known SLI issue my gtx 295's do the same thing

  3. #3
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Franklin, TN
    Posts
    855
    Power supply maybe not big enough or to weak? You have the sli bridge connected right? My GTX 295's don't do anything like that....
    (New build):MSI Big Bang X-power II with XSPC MB blocks, Core I7 3930k@4.6Ghz with HT on, 3x GTX 480 SLI with EK Waterblocks(for now), X-fi Titanium, Gskill quad kit 16GB 2133mhz, 2x240GB Corsair GT SSD's(raid 0), 3xWD 2TB drives, Silverstone Strider ST1500 Watt, Dell3007WFP and 2x Samsung 305T's. Water loop: EK HF CPU block, XSPC RX480 Rad, Coolgate GC480, Airplex Revolution 420 Rad, 2x DDC 3.25 18W with EK dual top, Caselabs STH10 white with customizations....

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    USA mn
    Posts
    324
    maybe that dual headed gpu ss will help

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    72
    if you have friends with setups, i would test a different PSU and a different sli bridge.

  6. #6
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,681
    Thanks, but I have tested it with both of my PSUs. 750watt and 1000watts so I doubt thats the problem and yes I have tried the SLI cable in every way, as well as the tri sli bridge.

  7. #7
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    CT, USA!!!
    Posts
    2,968
    Which 3D apps are you having issues with?

  8. #8
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,681
    All of them Games 3D mark, everything.

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    somewhere called australia
    Posts
    116
    ive had similar problem where all games work fine but the color is weird , kinda like 16bit color or something.. i was able to fix it by moving one of GTX 295's in its slot.. looks like it wasnt sitting in there right.. maybe that helps..
    i7 4770K (EK-HF)
    ASRock Z87 Professional Fatal1ty (BIOS L1.42)
    Trident X F3-2400C10D-8GTX
    GTX 480 SLI (Koolance NX-480) / E-MU 1212M / Antec Quattro 1.2kW / HP ZR30w / Lian Li 1010B
    Cooling; TFC Xchanger 240 & RX360 / 655 w/EK-Top V2 / Tygon / BP Compressions

  10. #10
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,681
    Thanks, i'll give that ago soon.

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Posts
    16
    1. make sure the cards are tight and fully locked in the slots.
    2. make sure the VGA coolers are snugly secured to the cards and temps stay reasonable.
    3. update to the newest drivers that were just released a couple weeks ago that fixes a bunch of SLI bugs...(driver ver: 197.13)
    4. try changing 3d settings in nvidia control panel.. (ie: force alternate frame rendering 1, maximum pre-rendered frames: 1, etc)

    btw setting max pre-rendered frames to 1 will make huge SLI performance gains in most games
    Last edited by ATMA-WEAPON; 04-16-2010 at 07:47 PM.
    workstation rig
    Board: ASRock x399 Taichi
    Proc: AMD Ryzen ThreadRipper 1950x @ 4.05GHz
    Ram: 32GB G.Skill RipJaws DDR4-3600 @ 3200MHz (4x8GB)
    Vid: Nvidia GTX 1080 Founders Edition
    PSU: Silverstone Strider-P 1000w
    HDD/SSD: 960 Evo 500GB, Optane 900p 280GB U.2, 256GB M4, 600GB Vraptor, 4TB barracuda
    Cooling: koolance 280 rad, 240 rad, DDC pumps x2, full cover CPU and GPU blocks.
    Case: Corsair Vengeance C70 OD-Green

    Gaming rig
    Board: Asus ROG Maximus XI Hero (WiFi)
    Proc: Intel Core i9-9900KF @ 5.0GHz all cores
    RAM: 32GB G.Skill Trident Z Royal Silver DDR4-3600 (2x16GB)
    Vid: Nvidia RTX 2080 TI Founders Edition @ 2100MHz GPU 7000MHz mem
    PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1000G+
    SSD: 2x Samsung 970 EVO Plus 500GB M.2
    Cooling: Hardware Labs Blackice Nemesis L-Series Xtreme 480x54 rad, 360x54 rad, XSPC D5 pump/res, EKWB mono block and full cover GPU block, all fans in silent mode.
    Case: Lian Li PC-V3000

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    2
    Hello from Germany!

    I am new in this forum and I hope that anyone could help me or found a solution to the problems described here in this thread.
    I have the flicker / color problems too!

    My system:
    i7 @4,2 GHZ
    Gigabyte EX 58 UD5
    6 GB Corsair Dominator
    2 x Gtx 295 (one EVGA and one Zotac) in SLI
    1100 W UCP Coolermaster
    Windows 7 Premium 64bit
    latest nvidia driver.

    ALL components are watercooled!! (execpt the PSU)

    In SLI-Mode (in all 3d apps, e.g. COD MW2, Crysis, 3D Vantage) the screen flickers and the colors seem to be reduced to 16 bit (or something like that) on all all textures.
    Using both cards seperately is without any problem...nice and smooth.

    I tried everything.....
    Cleaned all contacts (Sli and PCI), tried 3 different SLI-Bridges, flashed the EVGA Bios to the Zotac, used a separate 600 W PSU for one GTX 295, clean driver installation............
    no solution found........

    Has anyone an idea?
    I would be really happy if someone could help me..........

  13. #13
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,647
    sounds odd... never seen this or heard of it before...
    what does nvidia say?
    have you guys tried to underclock the cards?

    oh and what are you doing wrong with sli?
    your using it ^^

    there are few games that have no glitches and bugs with sli...
    the last game i played was crysis warhead and it had glitches all over the place...
    Last edited by saaya; 05-04-2010 at 10:38 PM.

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    2
    Haven't contacted nvidia.....but so many people have a quad sli with two GTX 295 and not THIS problems......who wants to have this hardware when no game seems to be playable.....just for nice bench scores?
    it is even in the menue of the games...in crysis, crysis warhead and COD MW2 not only when the "game" is running......
    Could it be a setting in the mobo bios? (haven't found anything).....perhaps PCIE uncore of 700mv too low? (this is auto setting)....

    of course I use sli when having a gtx 295........^^

    I capitulate................*sniff*

  15. #15
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    251
    If you tried a different motherboard and a different psu, then something is wrong with one of those cards, despite the fact that they work fine independently. Install them one at a time and run an artifact scanner.

    Intel Core i7 3770K | Asus Maximus V Gene | 16GB DDR3-1600 | Asus GTX 670 directCU TOP | Intel 320 120GB | WD Caviar Black 1TB | Enermax Revolution 1050W | Silverstone TJ08-E | Dell UltraSharp U2711

  16. #16
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,647
    once again, underclock them and see if that makes a difference... if yes, then you got it...
    one of the cards is not fully stable...
    might be stable on its own, but using more cards and gpus puts more load on the chips and they start acting funny, like reversing colors :P

    and stop whining :P
    so what, youll have to make due with a SINGLE 295 ONLY for some time until you figured out whats wrong...
    poor you!
    Last edited by saaya; 05-05-2010 at 09:42 AM.

  17. #17
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    U.S of freakin' A
    Posts
    1,931
    Quote Originally Posted by Landarzt View Post
    Hello from Germany!

    I am new in this forum and I hope that anyone could help me or found a solution to the problems described here in this thread.
    I have the flicker / color problems too!

    My system:
    i7 @4,2 GHZ
    Gigabyte EX 58 UD5
    6 GB Corsair Dominator
    2 x Gtx 295 (one EVGA and one Zotac) in SLI
    1100 W UCP Coolermaster
    Windows 7 Premium 64bit
    latest nvidia driver.

    ALL components are watercooled!! (execpt the PSU)

    In SLI-Mode (in all 3d apps, e.g. COD MW2, Crysis, 3D Vantage) the screen flickers and the colors seem to be reduced to 16 bit (or something like that) on all all textures.
    Using both cards seperately is without any problem...nice and smooth.

    I tried everything.....
    Cleaned all contacts (Sli and PCI), tried 3 different SLI-Bridges, flashed the EVGA Bios to the Zotac, used a separate 600 W PSU for one GTX 295, clean driver installation............
    no solution found........

    Has anyone an idea?
    I would be really happy if someone could help me..........
    Sounds to me like you have either a bad PCIE slot on your motherboard, or a defunct video card.

    Have you tried testing each card in both slots by themselves? If each separate card tests well in both slots, then the slots are probably working as intended and the problem is with one of the graphic cards.

    Installing both cards on another motherboard would be the best way to test them..
    Intel Core i7 6900K
    Noctua NH-D15
    Asus X99A II
    32 GB G.Skill TridentZ @ 3400 CL15 CR1
    NVidia Titan Xp
    Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5
    Sennheiser HD-598
    Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Western Digital Raptor 600GB
    Asus 12x Blu-Ray Burner
    Sony Optiarc 24x DVD Burner with NEC chipset
    Antec HCP-1200w Power Supply
    Viewsonic XG2703-GS
    Thermaltake Level 10 GT Snow Edition
    Logitech G502 gaming mouse w/Razer Exact Mat
    Logitech G910 mechanical gaming keyboard
    Windows 8 x64 Pro

  18. #18
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    290
    i had the exact same problem and the fix was very funny
    before doing anything the dvi cable is connected to the first card right ?
    ok connect it to the second card and look at the monitor xD
    if u see weird colors then just remove the card clean the slot and clean the card (gold area)

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •