Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 26 to 45 of 45

Thread: Gigabyte P55-UD3R + i5-660 boot issue

  1. #26
    Xtreme Mentor stasio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    3,032
    BIOS F4,F5a,F5b and F5,as previous beta BIOS as well are on the link above or:
    http://www.station-drivers.com/page/...a-p55-ud3r.htm
    Need a Gigabyte latest BIOS?
    Z370 AORUS Gaming 7,
    GA-Z97X-SOC Force ,Core i7-4790K @ 4.9 GHz
    GA-Z87X-UD3H ,Core i7-4770K @ 4.65 GHz
    G.Skill F3-2933C12D-8GTXDG @ 3100 (12-15-14-35-CR1) @1.66V
    2xSSD Corsair Force GS 128 (RAID 0), WD Caviar Black SATA3 1TB HDD,
    Evga GTS 450 SC, Gigabyte Superb 720W
    XSPC RayStorm D5 EX240 (Liquid Ultra)
    NZXT Phantom 630 Ultra Tower
    Win 7 SP1 x64;Win 10 x64

  2. #27
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    23
    Thanks! I don't know why F5 is not posted on the Gigabyte site...

    Well, so far so good - 175MHz BCLK and the CPU is at 4.375GHz with every voltage at auto but Load Line Calibratian is enabled (the CPU is receiving 1.4V at its maximum load, according to CPUZ).

    However, the memory situation has not improved - I'm stuck at CL11 whatever I set in the BIOS.

    Btw, I had to manually lower my QPI Link Speed to 28x - it would not POST on any higher setting above BCLK of 166 - is that normal? (tried increasing voltages, but no help)

    Also Is Realtemp accurately monitoring multiplier changes? It seems to change correctly according to CPU load, but CPUZ shows only the VCore changing, while the CPU clock is always at 4375MHz.

    Last edited by Csybe; 02-02-2010 at 05:19 AM.

  3. #28
    I am Xtreme FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Czech republic
    Posts
    6,796
    Quote Originally Posted by hicookie View Post
    thanks, i'll come back this thread, see if need help
    a bit OT, u are "gigabyte only Intel" man? Or do u have too some good BIOS for AMDs?
    ROG Power PCs - Intel and AMD
    CPUs:i9-7900X, i9-9900K, i7-6950X, i7-5960X, i7-8086K, i7-8700K, 4x i7-7700K, i3-7350K, 2x i7-6700K, i5-6600K, R7-2700X, 4x R5 2600X, R5 2400G, R3 1200, R7-1800X, R7-1700X, 3x AMD FX-9590, 1x AMD FX-9370, 4x AMD FX-8350,1x AMD FX-8320,1x AMD FX-8300, 2x AMD FX-6300,2x AMD FX-4300, 3x AMD FX-8150, 2x AMD FX-8120 125 and 95W, AMD X2 555 BE, AMD x4 965 BE C2 and C3, AMD X4 970 BE, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD X6 1100T BE, A10-7870K, Athlon 845, Athlon 860K,AMD A10-7850K, AMD A10-6800K, A8-6600K, 2x AMD A10-5800K, AMD A10-5600K, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, 2x AMD A64 3000+, AMD 64+ X2 4600+ EE, Intel i7-980X, Intel i7-2600K, Intel i7-3770K,2x i7-4770K, Intel i7-3930KAMD Cinebench R10 challenge AMD Cinebench R15 thread Intel Cinebench R15 thread

  4. #29
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    644
    Using Ctrl+F1, I never saw any extra options in my BIOS either. I have the P55 UD3R.

    Also, BIOS F5 seems to be worse for me than F5b. With F5, dynamic overclocking isn't working properly, my CPU couldn't reach the 24x multiplier at all with my usual settings. I flashed back to F5b and all is well.

    I hope Gigabyte will improve the BIOS for this board. The Asus boards are much better for overclocking while making full use of power saving features.

  5. #30
    Xtreme Mentor stasio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    3,032
    Quote Originally Posted by Dee View Post
    Using Ctrl+F1, I never saw any extra options in my BIOS either. I have the P55 UD3R.

    Also, BIOS F5 seems to be worse for me than F5b. With F5, dynamic overclocking isn't working properly, my CPU couldn't reach the 24x multiplier at all with my usual settings. I flashed back to F5b and all is well.

    I hope Gigabyte will improve the BIOS for this board. The Asus boards are much better for overclocking while making full use of power saving features.
    For every P55(A) using Ctrl+F1:


    Btw,if you always apply usual setting for every BIOS,I don't think so will work for you.Every BIOS it's not the same.
    Need a Gigabyte latest BIOS?
    Z370 AORUS Gaming 7,
    GA-Z97X-SOC Force ,Core i7-4790K @ 4.9 GHz
    GA-Z87X-UD3H ,Core i7-4770K @ 4.65 GHz
    G.Skill F3-2933C12D-8GTXDG @ 3100 (12-15-14-35-CR1) @1.66V
    2xSSD Corsair Force GS 128 (RAID 0), WD Caviar Black SATA3 1TB HDD,
    Evga GTS 450 SC, Gigabyte Superb 720W
    XSPC RayStorm D5 EX240 (Liquid Ultra)
    NZXT Phantom 630 Ultra Tower
    Win 7 SP1 x64;Win 10 x64

  6. #31
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    Posts
    144
    Joining here with the bclk problems with clarkdale . I`m playing about 2-3 hours and my record for now is 22x191 testing with prime with i3 530 and it froze while I was writing this post after 20mins I guess. Cant pass 193-4 bclk the MB is GB P55M-UD4 is there a clarkdale BIOS? I`m using the F7 BIOS the last one on GB`s site but cant post over 160bclk, these 190 were using ET6.
    Thx.

  7. #32
    Xtreme Mentor stasio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    3,032
    Try with lower multi,18;19;20...and very important is your RAM.
    Need a Gigabyte latest BIOS?
    Z370 AORUS Gaming 7,
    GA-Z97X-SOC Force ,Core i7-4790K @ 4.9 GHz
    GA-Z87X-UD3H ,Core i7-4770K @ 4.65 GHz
    G.Skill F3-2933C12D-8GTXDG @ 3100 (12-15-14-35-CR1) @1.66V
    2xSSD Corsair Force GS 128 (RAID 0), WD Caviar Black SATA3 1TB HDD,
    Evga GTS 450 SC, Gigabyte Superb 720W
    XSPC RayStorm D5 EX240 (Liquid Ultra)
    NZXT Phantom 630 Ultra Tower
    Win 7 SP1 x64;Win 10 x64

  8. #33
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    Posts
    144
    I tried that, no change. Tried even 6x multi for the memory. 22x182 is stable 1 hour prime 95, but I cant boot from BIOS even 170 with the same voltages.

  9. #34
    Xtreme Mentor stasio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    3,032
    Are you using latest BIOS F7 (or F7c)?
    For sure must go over 200.
    Have a few good review for your mobo,refer here:
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=237166
    http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/mot...m-ud4-review/1
    http://techreport.com/articles.x/17789/1
    Last edited by stasio; 02-15-2010 at 05:30 PM.
    Need a Gigabyte latest BIOS?
    Z370 AORUS Gaming 7,
    GA-Z97X-SOC Force ,Core i7-4790K @ 4.9 GHz
    GA-Z87X-UD3H ,Core i7-4770K @ 4.65 GHz
    G.Skill F3-2933C12D-8GTXDG @ 3100 (12-15-14-35-CR1) @1.66V
    2xSSD Corsair Force GS 128 (RAID 0), WD Caviar Black SATA3 1TB HDD,
    Evga GTS 450 SC, Gigabyte Superb 720W
    XSPC RayStorm D5 EX240 (Liquid Ultra)
    NZXT Phantom 630 Ultra Tower
    Win 7 SP1 x64;Win 10 x64

  10. #35
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    Posts
    144
    F7 BIOS - release date - 01/28/2010.
    Thx for the links man but i cant see clarkdales there. I`m sure there is no problem passing 200fsb with i5 750 or i7.

  11. #36
    Xtreme Mentor stasio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    3,032
    BIOS F7c-01/18/2010 (F7) already fix OC with Clarkdale more then BCLK160.
    Need a Gigabyte latest BIOS?
    Z370 AORUS Gaming 7,
    GA-Z97X-SOC Force ,Core i7-4790K @ 4.9 GHz
    GA-Z87X-UD3H ,Core i7-4770K @ 4.65 GHz
    G.Skill F3-2933C12D-8GTXDG @ 3100 (12-15-14-35-CR1) @1.66V
    2xSSD Corsair Force GS 128 (RAID 0), WD Caviar Black SATA3 1TB HDD,
    Evga GTS 450 SC, Gigabyte Superb 720W
    XSPC RayStorm D5 EX240 (Liquid Ultra)
    NZXT Phantom 630 Ultra Tower
    Win 7 SP1 x64;Win 10 x64

  12. #37
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    Posts
    144
    Hm does it mean F7c is better than F7? I`ll try this f7c tomorrow to see is there any diffrence.
    Well I tried F7c and its the same. Is there a wall on these CPUs or? I can run prime 95 and when i rise the fsb with 1-2MHz it freezes or restarts. Its arround 195fsb from windows. Lowering the multi or HT off didnt help.

  13. #38
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    Posts
    144
    Well i solved the problem. Its working fine I booted at 245fsb no problem with low multi. 21x215 prime stable no problem. The problem was PCIe frequency has to be set to auto. I tried to manual set 100, 105, 110MHz it doesnt want to boot. The problem is when set to auto I dont know how high the freq is it can be 120 or 130 lol.

    EDIT: LOL Now no problems booting with 100 or 101 manual set wtf.
    I guess CPU Clock Drive and PCIe Clock drive made the magic I found that rising to 900mV helps me with the higher FSB.

  14. #39
    Xtreme Mentor stasio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    3,032
    Quote Originally Posted by The_Game View Post
    Well i solved the problem. Its working fine I booted at 245fsb no problem with low multi. 21x215 prime stable no problem. The problem was PCIe frequency has to be set to auto. I tried to manual set 100, 105, 110MHz it doesnt want to boot. The problem is when set to auto I dont know how high the freq is it can be 120 or 130 lol.
    You can check your PCIe frequency with EasyTune6 or SetFSB (ICS9LPRS918BKL-Gigabyte P55) .
    Want to know your reading.
    Last edited by stasio; 02-17-2010 at 03:15 AM.
    Need a Gigabyte latest BIOS?
    Z370 AORUS Gaming 7,
    GA-Z97X-SOC Force ,Core i7-4790K @ 4.9 GHz
    GA-Z87X-UD3H ,Core i7-4770K @ 4.65 GHz
    G.Skill F3-2933C12D-8GTXDG @ 3100 (12-15-14-35-CR1) @1.66V
    2xSSD Corsair Force GS 128 (RAID 0), WD Caviar Black SATA3 1TB HDD,
    Evga GTS 450 SC, Gigabyte Superb 720W
    XSPC RayStorm D5 EX240 (Liquid Ultra)
    NZXT Phantom 630 Ultra Tower
    Win 7 SP1 x64;Win 10 x64

  15. #40
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    Posts
    144
    Yeah I checked and ET6 was showing 100 I tested with lower clock and manual set to 103 and it was showing correct, so I guess when left on auto its 100. Dont know what I did but as I said its working now manual set to 100 or 101 also I tried CPU Clock Drive and PCIe Clock drive back to 700mV and it`s also booting . Tried lowering QPI to 1.35v I was using 1.45 before and still working. Sometimes if I change too many things in BIOS it doesnt want to boot I guess that was the problem. If I change voltages FSB and PCIe it wont boot. If I change and left PCIe to auto and after that I go to BIOS again and set it manually its working. Well I`m playing only 2 days with this board and CPU i`ll find the tricks .

  16. #41
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    pacific NW usa
    Posts
    2,721
    Quote Originally Posted by stasio View Post
    For every P55(A) using Ctrl+F1:


    Btw,if you always apply usual setting for every BIOS,I don't think so will work for you.Every BIOS it's not the same.
    hey stasio what does that spread spectrum do?
    _________________________________________________
    ............................ImAcOmPuTeRsPoNgE............................
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

    MY HEATWARE 76-0-0

  17. #42
    Xtreme Mentor stasio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    3,032
    Quote Originally Posted by radaja View Post
    hey stasio what does that spread spectrum do?
    Spread Spectrum in BIOS is set to [Enabled], varies the BCLK (clock) constantly in the range of up to + / - ~ 0.3%. This electromagnetic interference is reduced, for example, be used for the CE regulations. They indeed do not want to cause such interference to radio or television, or possibly also in the connected USB devices that are screened on the cable may be bad. The performance loss is so small that in most BIOSes have hidden the option to [Enabled] . If you want to disable the spread spectrum function, the option is usually only visible when using "Ctrl + F1" in the BIOS menu the extended area is free.
    More info:
    http://zone.ni.com/devzone/cda/tut/p/id/4154
    Last edited by stasio; 02-17-2010 at 09:04 AM.
    Need a Gigabyte latest BIOS?
    Z370 AORUS Gaming 7,
    GA-Z97X-SOC Force ,Core i7-4790K @ 4.9 GHz
    GA-Z87X-UD3H ,Core i7-4770K @ 4.65 GHz
    G.Skill F3-2933C12D-8GTXDG @ 3100 (12-15-14-35-CR1) @1.66V
    2xSSD Corsair Force GS 128 (RAID 0), WD Caviar Black SATA3 1TB HDD,
    Evga GTS 450 SC, Gigabyte Superb 720W
    XSPC RayStorm D5 EX240 (Liquid Ultra)
    NZXT Phantom 630 Ultra Tower
    Win 7 SP1 x64;Win 10 x64

  18. #43
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    pacific NW usa
    Posts
    2,721
    thanks for the info
    _________________________________________________
    ............................ImAcOmPuTeRsPoNgE............................
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

    MY HEATWARE 76-0-0

  19. #44
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    644
    Quote Originally Posted by stasio View Post
    For every P55(A) using Ctrl+F1:


    Btw,if you always apply usual setting for every BIOS,I don't think so will work for you.Every BIOS it's not the same.
    Thanks stasio.

    If the only change between F5B and F5 is the addition of Spread Spectrum, surely the same settings (I have them written down and enter them all manually) would work?

  20. #45
    Xtreme Mentor stasio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    3,032
    Quote Originally Posted by Dee View Post
    Thanks stasio.

    If the only change between F5B and F5 is the addition of Spread Spectrum, surely the same settings (I have them written down and enter them all manually) would work?
    Supose to,try.
    Need a Gigabyte latest BIOS?
    Z370 AORUS Gaming 7,
    GA-Z97X-SOC Force ,Core i7-4790K @ 4.9 GHz
    GA-Z87X-UD3H ,Core i7-4770K @ 4.65 GHz
    G.Skill F3-2933C12D-8GTXDG @ 3100 (12-15-14-35-CR1) @1.66V
    2xSSD Corsair Force GS 128 (RAID 0), WD Caviar Black SATA3 1TB HDD,
    Evga GTS 450 SC, Gigabyte Superb 720W
    XSPC RayStorm D5 EX240 (Liquid Ultra)
    NZXT Phantom 630 Ultra Tower
    Win 7 SP1 x64;Win 10 x64

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •