Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 55

Thread: OCZ Platinum DDR3-1333 OCZ3P1333LVA6GK Animal Series @2000-2170Mhz!

  1. #26
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,776
    The P6T6 doesn't read or display cpu vtt in any bios monitoring or pcprobe/everest windows app.. I'm only going by what i need to set in bios for cpu vtt (qpi/dram). Yeah not entirely accurate but when DFI UT X58 needs 1.4-1.5v CPU VTT to do a certain setting vs P6T6 WS Revo needing 1.6-1.65v CPU VTT to do a lower but close to same setting - that's what I'm basing my statement on. But still early days with P6T6 WS Revo - new 0601 beta bios has improved things somewhat but need more time to tame the beast

  2. #27
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    108
    Nice review bro....

  3. #28
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,776
    thanks indiecom

    Pushing the cpu a bit with the memory @DDR3-1710Mhz 7-7-7-24 1T

  4. #29
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,549
    Quote Originally Posted by eva2000 View Post
    The P6T6 doesn't read or display cpu vtt in any bios monitoring or pcprobe/everest windows app.. I'm only going by what i need to set in bios for cpu vtt (qpi/dram). Yeah not entirely accurate but when DFI UT X58 needs 1.4-1.5v CPU VTT to do a certain setting vs P6T6 WS Revo needing 1.6-1.65v CPU VTT to do a lower but close to same setting - that's what I'm basing my statement on. But still early days with P6T6 WS Revo - new 0601 beta bios has improved things somewhat but need more time to tame the beast
    wow, it doesnt even show vtt in bios/os? LOL
    well the best is to meassure it on the back of the cpu socket, there should be several vtt and vtt ground pins which are perfect for meassuring it.

    on BR the diference between actual load vtt and bios vtt setting can be more than .1v! and the bios reading used to be way off as well, it was adjusted though... but still not great cause it meassures vtt close to the vtt pwm, which most boards do.

    luckily on BR there are voltage pads and the vtt one goes directly to the vtt pad inside the cpu socket, so that one is spot on... on other boards i always meassured vtt on the back of the cpu socket which worked great

  5. #30
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,776
    hard to measure from back of cpu socket when board is laying on cardboard box hehe but yeah very limited monitoring for Asus P6T6 WS Revolution which is surprising



    rest of bios screens http://i4memory.com/f54/asus-p6t6-ws...n-shots-18771/

    Much easier to measure on DFI UT X58 http://i4memory.com/f80/dfi-ut-x58-t...rements-16683/ heh

  6. #31
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,549
    Quote Originally Posted by eva2000 View Post
    hard to measure from back of cpu socket when board is laying on cardboard box hehe but yeah very limited monitoring for Asus P6T6 WS Revolution which is surprising



    rest of bios screens http://i4memory.com/f54/asus-p6t6-ws...n-shots-18771/

    Much easier to measure on DFI UT X58 http://i4memory.com/f80/dfi-ut-x58-t...rements-16683/ heh
    wow, no vtt, no vdimm, no chipset voltage...
    the evo seems to be a step backwards in evolution and not ahead, at least when it comes to hardware monitoring

  7. #32
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    pacific NW usa
    Posts
    2,721
    whats the highest vdimm i can safely give these,for benching? 1.9v? 2.0v
    or is that too high.ive given them 1.70v so far,but im having problems getting
    over 1900MHz at cas8.
    _________________________________________________
    ............................ImAcOmPuTeRsPoNgE............................
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

    MY HEATWARE 76-0-0

  8. #33
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,776
    Not 100% sure but I've find the sweet spot of voltages on my kit at 1.60-1.76v for super pi 32M. Haven't tried cas8 yet only c7 or c9 hehe.

    edit: My first hour messing around with CAS8 overclocking with OCZ3P1333LVA6GK 'Animal' and was a walk in a park to pull off single Super Pi 32M @DDR3-1954Mhz and validation @DD3-1997Mhz 8-8-8-24 1T all at same 1.70v vdimm voltage.

    @DD3-1997Mhz 8-8-8-24 1T at 1.70v






    @DD3-1954Mhz 8-8-8-24 1T at 1.70v


    click image for full screenshot





    System:
    ---

  9. #34
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    80
    They have Elpida BASE Chips, not Micron D9JNL. Or at least my set has elpids under them.

    I can do 8-9-8-24 @2000 Mhz @ 1,65v and 1,46vtt . And i can do 7-8-7-22 @ 1800 Mhz. But i haven't really tested much more. But they are good to scale up to 2100 MHz thas for sure but shortly after that mine seem to pass out.





    BTW: I have had 8 memory kits over the last 15 months. Starting with a DDR2 OCZ platinum up to cellshock or flex modules. The best and most efficent Heatspreader off them all has been the ugly OCZ Platinum Heatspreader. It has enough holes in it to let air pass or go through plus it'S open from above. All other Rams even with specialized HS (also OCZ reaper and stuff) are bs compared to this simple heatspreader (makes you wonder if they are necessary at all). I measered this with temp sensors which i always attach to my ram.
    Last edited by Elektrosadist; 08-07-2009 at 02:10 AM.





    more bandwidth ...

  10. #35
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,776
    Quote Originally Posted by Elektrosadist View Post
    They have Elpida BASE Chips, not Micron D9JNL. Or at least my set has elpids under them.

    I can do 8-9-8-24 @2000 Mhz @ 1,65v and 1,46vtt . And i can do 7-8-7-22 @ 1800 Mhz. But i haven't really tested much more. But they are good to scale up to 2100 MHz thas for sure but shortly after that mine seem to pass out.





    BTW: I have had 8 memory kits over the last 15 months. Starting with a DDR2 OCZ platinum up to cellshock or flex modules. The best and most efficent Heatspreader off them all has been the ugly OCZ Platinum Heatspreader. It has enough holes in it to let air pass or go through plus it'S open from above. All other Rams even with specialized HS (also OCZ reaper and stuff) are bs compared to this simple heatspreader (makes you wonder if they are necessary at all). I measered this with temp sensors which i always attach to my ram.
    Are you sure ? Did you actually look under heatspreader ? Photo ? Is it's OCZ3P1333LVA6GK and not OCZ3P1333LV6GK ? I was told these are definitely Micron ICs is the OCZ3P1333LVA6GK.

  11. #36
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    pacific NW usa
    Posts
    2,721
    this is what tony said in the heads up notice.
    "lastly it is NOT built using Hypers...just so you know it could be Samsung, Micron, or PSC, specs vary, warranty is for 1333 speed, its built using much higher bin though or slow moving lines are moved to it."

    how hard is it to remove the heatspreaders?i really want to know what IC's these are for sure.
    _________________________________________________
    ............................ImAcOmPuTeRsPoNgE............................
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

    MY HEATWARE 76-0-0

  12. #37
    Xtreme 3D Team
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
    Posts
    444
    Quote Originally Posted by radaja View Post
    how hard is it to remove the heatspreaders?i really want to know what IC's these are for sure.
    +1

    Judging by eva2000 results, I would guess they are binned D9 JNM or KPT
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  13. #38
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    80
    Quote Originally Posted by eva2000 View Post
    Are you sure ? Did you actually look under heatspreader ? Photo ? Is it's OCZ3P1333LVA6GK and not OCZ3P1333LV6GK ? I was told these are definitely Micron ICs is the OCZ3P1333LVA6GK.
    lol yeah really. i'm no douche who posts wihtout confirming. I have removed the hs today with my hair heater and a knife. they pop off very easy if you heat em enough and slice carefully.

    I'm about to pick up my car from the garage and i will stop by my sister to get my camera then i will make a photo but my macro function is not so good and its only 4 mp.

    They use Elpida 1109BBSE (or Base, cant read it so good). Definatly. But maybe they are just like the reaper 1866 which ship either with micron or with elpida hyper.


    and of course it's the animal kit i bought ordered it after reading your review 2 weeks ago.


    specs on the chip as far as i could read them (glue removed some of the printed letters):

    Elpida AN (not totally sure if its AN or just N)
    J1108BASE
    -DJ-F
    0907A93BCD
    Last edited by Elektrosadist; 08-07-2009 at 05:31 AM.





    more bandwidth ...

  14. #39
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,776
    Ah interesting so it could be any IC that is binned much higher than rated product specs ? I got my Animals ages ago - at the time Tony did say they were Micron 2000Mhz IC binned on my kit. So might have changed now. Elpida BBSE still great value
    ---

  15. #40
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    80
    2000 mhz + @ Cl8 is a great value w/e chips they mounted. I made some pics now but i can't remove my ram atm cuz my sister kiddies are wutchin sumthin now. Gonna upload some later.


    The only thing that matters to me is that these rams keep up there promise that they would be superb overclockers. What IC manages that doesn'T bother me.





    more bandwidth ...

  16. #41
    the jedi master
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Manchester uk/Sunnyvale CA
    Posts
    3,885
    The batch you guys are seeing out there now is 1866 Platinum, rebadged at 1333 animals, they may be Elpida, Samsung, PSC or Micron, infact anything that met the spec for 1866 plats.

    The first batch was cas 9 2000 rated Microns, these soon sold out and yield went down, I pushed 1600 animal to 2000 spec and 1333 to 1866, ofcouse this does not mean you guys will not see 2000+ from them with a little extra voltage, it just means they failed our 2000 bin spec and made the 1866 spec instead.
    Got a problem with your OCZ product....?
    Have a look over here
    Tony AKA BigToe


    Tuning PC's for speed...Run whats fast, not what you think is fast

  17. #42
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    80
    Yeah great ram im really satisfied specially with the cooling with a silent fan on top of it. They barely reach 40 + and my room temp is 30 atm. In fact they cool so good that i don'T mount on the flex HS which i still have here caue it's not needed. I bought reaper 1866 a week before and hoped for hypers but they were microns and the dumbest thing was they didn't even made their specs (8-8-8-28 @ 1,65) i needed 1,74v to have the ram stable (even at 1600 MHz).

    But after buying the animal and returning the other i was totally happy with this kit. Everything was stable so far and i haven't even finished to get all out of them. C7 @ 1800 and C8 @ 2000 was no prob and i have these settings running for a week now @ stock voltages. Vtt needs to be above 1,44v for me but it doesn't need to exceed much over that. I will try to tigthen up the timings and the subtimings now in the next weeks and up the voltage a bit to 1,74v which doesn't bother me since im all watercooled.





    more bandwidth ...

  18. #43
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,776
    Quote Originally Posted by Tony View Post
    The batch you guys are seeing out there now is 1866 Platinum, rebadged at 1333 animals, they may be Elpida, Samsung, PSC or Micron, infact anything that met the spec for 1866 plats.

    The first batch was cas 9 2000 rated Microns, these soon sold out and yield went down, I pushed 1600 animal to 2000 spec and 1333 to 1866, ofcouse this does not mean you guys will not see 2000+ from them with a little extra voltage, it just means they failed our 2000 bin spec and made the 1866 spec instead.
    Thanks Tony for the clarification

    DDR3-2232MHz 9-9-9-24 1T at 1.84v


    Starting to get a better understanding of P6T6 WS Revolution board, managed to pull off higher cpuz validation of DDR3-2232Mhz 9-9-9-24 1T and Super Pi 1M @DDR3-2160Mhz 9-9-9-24 1T both at 1.84v with CPU VTT (QPI/DRAM) of 1.65v.







    System:
    ---

  19. #44
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Bangkok,Thailand (DamHot)
    Posts
    2,690
    D9KPT repeat value king as D9JNM
    Intel Core i5 6600K + ASRock Z170 OC Formula + Galax HOF 4000 (8GBx2) + Antec 1200W OC Version
    EK SupremeHF + BlackIce GTX360 + Swiftech 655 + XSPC ResTop
    Macbook Pro 15" Late 2011 (i7 2760QM + HD 6770M)
    Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 (2014) , Huawei Nexus 6P
    [history system]80286 80386 80486 Cyrix K5 Pentium133 Pentium II Duron1G Athlon1G E2180 E3300 E5300 E7200 E8200 E8400 E8500 E8600 Q9550 QX6800 X3-720BE i7-920 i3-530 i5-750 Semp140@x2 955BE X4-B55 Q6600 i5-2500K i7-2600K X4-B60 X6-1055T FX-8120 i7-4790K

  20. #45
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    pacific NW usa
    Posts
    2,721
    well i got the heatspreaders off and mine are D9KPT's.
    so now my question is,can i go as high as 1.9v with
    these sticks and not ruin them?

    Last edited by radaja; 08-08-2009 at 04:50 PM.
    _________________________________________________
    ............................ImAcOmPuTeRsPoNgE............................
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

    MY HEATWARE 76-0-0

  21. #46
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    519
    Quote Originally Posted by radaja View Post
    well i got the heatspreaders off and mine are D9KPT's.
    so now my question is,can i go as high as 1.9v with
    these sticks and not ruin them?
    the most important thing is mantain a delta between vdimm and vqpi lower than 0.5volt...if you use ram not elpida IC based IMHO 2.2/2.3volt for test are quite safe.
    with my KPT based ram i don't have any improvement with vdimm higher than 2.1volt.

  22. #47
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    pacific NW usa
    Posts
    2,721
    Quote Originally Posted by Mafio View Post
    the most important thing is mantain a delta between vdimm and vqpi lower than 0.5volt...if you use ram not elpida IC based IMHO 2.2/2.3volt for test are quite safe.
    with my KPT based ram i don't have any improvement with vdimm higher than 2.1volt.
    im using the rampage extreme LGA775 board.but this info helps
    with the vdimm question.thanks
    _________________________________________________
    ............................ImAcOmPuTeRsPoNgE............................
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

    MY HEATWARE 76-0-0

  23. #48
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,776
    thanks for the nice naked shot confirmation

    as to vdimm who knows, my set have optimal vdimm range on i7/x58 between 1.74-1.84v higher doesn't necessarily mean better

    OCZ3P1333LVA6GK 'Animals' CAS8 Overclocking continued....

    Improved on previous max 8-8-8-24 1T clocks of DDR3-1997Mhz validation and DDR3-1954Mhz for Super Pi 32M at 1.70v. Managed validation @DDR3-2080Mhz 8-8-8-24 1T at 1.76v and Super Pi 32M @DDR3-1990Mhz 8-8-8-24 1T at 1.76v (seems 200bclk with DDR3-2000Mhz gets 5-10 errors on test #5 loop in memtest86+ v2.11).

    Interesting thing is BACK To BACK CAS# Delay subtiming optimal values for this clock are either 4 or 8. AUTO, 6, and 10 result in less stability for these memory modules.

    @DDR3-2080Mhz 8-8-8-24 1T at 1.76v






    @DDR3-1990Mhz 8-8-8-24 1T at 1.76v




    System:
    Last edited by eva2000; 08-09-2009 at 06:37 AM.
    ---

  24. #49
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    33
    Anyone know if you can still get the Micron based Animals? I live in Australia, but Id pay top dollar for them.

    Thanks
    Pete

    CPU i7 920 D0 @ 4.2GHz
    Motherboard ASUS R2G
    RAM Corsair XMS3 3x2GB CL7 1600MHz
    GPU ATI 4870x2
    Sound Card Auzentech Prelude 7.1
    PSU Corsair HX1000W
    Cooling Mega Shadow + Noctua NC-U6
    Case Antec P180 Mini Picture

  25. #50
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Sthlm
    Posts
    269
    I needed to buy some inexpensive spare memory when I came across this thread. I purchased the Blade 2000 Elpida Hyper a few weeks before the withdrawal and sure enough one of the sticks died almost immediately. OCZ was very nice and quickly offered me Blade 2133 CAS 8 as replacement. Unfortunately they are little bit late to market and I'm still waiting. In the mean time I've been using a dual channel kit from my old Nvidia 790i mobo but they are not possible to OC with only 1.65v.

    Anyway I discovered this thread and decided to try the Animal. No shops here in Sweden had them but I found out that Amazon in Germany stocks them for EUR 122 (now 111). With little bit help from Google translator I was able to order a kit. The total price with sales tax and ground delivery was eventually EUR 136 which is a very good price for 2000+ CAS9 memory.

    Right now I have the memory at 1840 MHz 8-8-8-24-74-1T @ 1.67v LinX/Prime95 Blend stable. I've tried different combinations of CAS7 at the same speed but I can't boot into BIOS.

    I'm very happy with the purchase. Thanks eva2000 for bringing this memory to my attention.
    Last edited by 0xdeadbeef; 10-02-2009 at 05:43 AM.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •