MMM
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 26 to 33 of 33

Thread: BlackOps/Avenger: GTL Ref Table

  1. #26
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Athens
    Posts
    558
    i/we hope soon
    Last edited by Vatos_locos; 01-11-2009 at 02:11 PM.
    CPU : Q9550 / Board : Asus P5E64 WS Evolution / Ram : 2x1 OCZ D9GTR DDR3 / Vga : HD 4870 / PSU : PPC&C 750W / SSD Ocz Vertex 30Gb / All under Water & Tec's
    Overclockers Wannabe Athens Dept...

  2. #27
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    307
    Quote Originally Posted by Vatos_locos View Post
    i/we hope soon
    yeah, me too, i love the design and the 5,25" device
    NAME:

    CPU: e8500 @ 3.7 for now, stock volts
    COOLING: xigmatek HDT-1283 (water coming soon)
    MOBO: MSI p35 neo2-fir
    VGA: Club3d 3850, 830/1060 (stock volts!!! modded gx810 cooler) (4850 iceq3 coming soon)
    RAM: 2gb tracers 1066@940 CL4 (1.85 V)
    CASE: CM690
    PSU: Corsair VX550
    HDD: WD3200AAKS

  3. #28
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Athens
    Posts
    558
    honestly i would like to have it too to see how it works but it seems i have to wait to be available
    CPU : Q9550 / Board : Asus P5E64 WS Evolution / Ram : 2x1 OCZ D9GTR DDR3 / Vga : HD 4870 / PSU : PPC&C 750W / SSD Ocz Vertex 30Gb / All under Water & Tec's
    Overclockers Wannabe Athens Dept...

  4. #29
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    55
    OK I'm trying to wrap my head around this as well. I'm not sure if I'm overcomplicating it in my head or what, but it's pretty confusing.

    Let's say, just as an example, I am set to 1.375 in BIOS for VTT (I know it's probably not an option, but it's for the example's sake)

    1.375 VTT is actually 1.275

    1.275*.667 = .85

    So, I find .85 on Saaya's excel spreadsheet after entering the value 1.275 and I see it should be around +11. Would this be true for all four values?

    I see many people with quads have had success with the +10, +5, +10, +10 values. Would the same general behavior with GTL's be true for us dualies?

    And what about NB GTL?
    e8400 E0 , OCZ Flex EX, CM V8, Sapphire HD4870 1GB, 750GB WD Caviar Black, onboard SONAR, Vista Home Premium 64. Stock for now.... OC'ing as soon as I get a few free minutes or hours...

  5. #30
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    QLD, AU
    Posts
    155
    With my E8600 @ 4.0GHz, VTT 1.275 bios (1.175 actual) I run (on Black Ops) -1, -8, -1 -8, dual core cpus will always be a negative value as opposed to the quad positive value.

    The -1 is to account for the m/board anomally shown in saaya's "read" values for the E8600 as opposed to the m/boards "default" values

    The -8 was arrived at using a combo of saaya's spreadsheet, the GTL calculator by Seban and LinX to graph results with regard to the optimal values.

    For a 45nm dual core you need to achieve values as close as possible to .635 as opposed to a quad which utilises .667

    LINK

    NB GTL is still somewhat of a mystery to me at this stage


  6. #31
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    55
    omg all this GTL stuff is giving me a headache. I spent about four and a half hours reading up on it yesterday, and I still got it wrong....

    I'm really regretting not getting the E8600 now. I wish I had that multiplier of 10.... I'm having trouble finding a happy medium where my chip and my RAM are both running as high as I can get stable on air....

    Wotcher, what are your CPU PLL, vcore, SB, and NB voltages that work best for you? I understand everyone is going to have different successful settings, but I want to make sure I'm not way off in left field with any of my values.... Also, I read in one of the threads that you want your PLL, VTT, and vcore all in the same general vicinity? Usually my PLL is a good .3 or so above my vcore and VTT. I also read that you want your PLL and NB voltages to be as far away from eachother as possible, but I always end up getting them pretty close to eachother (within about .06 or so)... so this is where using the NB DTL would come in handy, right? Are these true, or just rumors?

    Sorry for all the noob questions, but I just want to make sure I have all the little voltage "rules" and guidelines understood before I go ahead and mess something up or pull my hair out of my head for another few hours doing something that's simply wrong.
    Last edited by ragingclue; 02-20-2009 at 06:54 AM.
    e8400 E0 , OCZ Flex EX, CM V8, Sapphire HD4870 1GB, 750GB WD Caviar Black, onboard SONAR, Vista Home Premium 64. Stock for now.... OC'ing as soon as I get a few free minutes or hours...

  7. #32
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    QLD, AU
    Posts
    155
    I'm no guru myself but as I understand it my GTL Ref settings are in the right direction. It seems to work OK for me.

    I based my settings on this quote from the thread by cryptiK that I linked earlier.

    If you have a 45nm cpu, you are aiming for the voltage given by the 0.635x multiplier, so to work out what to put for the the 0.667x GTL Ref (Y) values (it will be a negative number to make the resulting voltage the same as the 0.635x GTL Ref voltage
    saaya posted some actual "read" voltages (for Black Ops & E8600) which showed the .635 to be overvolted at .639 which is why I use -1 for that value as it is less 5.875mV which give around the .634 mark with an actual VTT of 1.175.

    Did you d/load the calculator by seban from the linked post?

    BTW, I'm running 500*8 for 4.0GHz so I don't use the 10 multi option anyway, I used the same for my E3110 which is basically an E8400. My memory is 1333MHz, I'm considering upgrading to 1600MHz but prices have risen quite markedly with the "recession"

    I try to keep my voltages as low as possible due to my geographic location giving high ambient air temps (I live in close proximity, within 100km, of the Tropics)

    For 4.0GHz (E8600)

    CPU PLL is 1.509
    vcore is 1.2375
    SB is default (will check actual voltage and edit)
    NB is 1.25

    With regard to the truth or rumour question, I've never seen these "rules" before and certainly don't adhere to them. Apart from raising vcore, nb and dimm voltages I leave most others as low as I can achieve stability with, I'm not an extreme overclocker in any sense of the description so I've never really bothered to go in depth too much as I can usually manage to attain my desired overclocks using this method. I originally started fooling around with GTL Ref voltages in an attempt to run at a lower vcore but never managed any quantifiable result, in fact I had more luck with a different bios to be honest


  8. #33
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    28
    Quote Originally Posted by saaya View Post
    Ill pass this on to the BIOS engineer and the future BIOSes should have the direct table and no more "+1" or "-4" stuff
    I'm using G30 at the moment. Is there a more recent beta BIOS with GTL ref voltages instead of in/decrements ?

    Robert
    |Cooler Master Stacker STC-T01|Corsair HX1000W|Foxconn BlackOps (X48)|Intel C2Q Q9550@3785Mhz|OCZ Vendetta 2| OCZ OCZ3P20004GK (2x) 8GB@1425Mhz |Sapphire Radeon HD 3870 (RV670) 1GB GDDR4@stock|SAMSUNG HD642JJ 640GB (2x)|SAMSUNG HD103UJ 1TB (2x)|Hitachi HDS722516VLSA80 160GB (2x)|Windows Vista Ultimate SP1 x64|BENQ DW1650|Hitachi GSA-H22N|Logitech Cordless Desktop S520|HP p1230 22" CRT (2x)|

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •