Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 26 to 34 of 34

Thread: BIOS Flash Guide

  1. #26
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    55
    Quote Originally Posted by InfinityNX View Post
    What's the best bios for the blackops to use for overclocking? My PC specs are in my sig
    I've decided on G28 after trying G30, G32, P04, and P05. If you try wading through the hundreds of OC/BIOS posts dealing with the BlackOps, you can make the determination for yourself. After all that I read, and trying them all myself, I prefer G28.

    I'm sure P06 might be good as well; however, I probably won't still have my BlackOps in 2015....
    e8400 E0 , OCZ Flex EX, CM V8, Sapphire HD4870 1GB, 750GB WD Caviar Black, onboard SONAR, Vista Home Premium 64. Stock for now.... OC'ing as soon as I get a few free minutes or hours...

  2. #27
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    56
    Is there a recovery method, if something does wrong. Can i boot into BIOS2 and then try to re-flash BIOS1 ?

  3. #28
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Heart of Europe
    Posts
    1,992
    Probably yes.. Never tried that. But should be possible.
    i7 930 D0 - 4,2 GHz + Megashadow
    3x4GB Crucial 1600MHz CL8
    Foxconn Bloodrage rev. 1.1 - P09
    MSI HAWK N760
    Crucial M500 240GB SSD
    SeaGate ES.2 1TB + 1TB External SeaGate
    Corsair HX 850W (its GOLD man!)
    ASUS STX + Sennheiser HD 555 (tape mod)

    Old-new camera so some new pics will be there.. My Flickr My 500px.com My Tumblr

  4. #29
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    163
    I am trying to make a USB stick bootable, i formatted to FAT32 but the HP tool is no longer available and I can not find it anywhere. any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

  5. #30
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Heart of Europe
    Posts
    1,992
    i7 930 D0 - 4,2 GHz + Megashadow
    3x4GB Crucial 1600MHz CL8
    Foxconn Bloodrage rev. 1.1 - P09
    MSI HAWK N760
    Crucial M500 240GB SSD
    SeaGate ES.2 1TB + 1TB External SeaGate
    Corsair HX 850W (its GOLD man!)
    ASUS STX + Sennheiser HD 555 (tape mod)

    Old-new camera so some new pics will be there.. My Flickr My 500px.com My Tumblr

  6. #31
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    163
    Quote Originally Posted by Mescalamba View Post
    Thanks for the fast response, but formatting to FAT32 isn't the same as making it bootable right???
    When clicking the box Create a Dos Startup disk, where do I find the files located at?

    Thanks

  7. #32
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Heart of Europe
    Posts
    1,992
    You should be able to use internal MS-DOS files.. or not? I can look for them, it will just take some time..
    i7 930 D0 - 4,2 GHz + Megashadow
    3x4GB Crucial 1600MHz CL8
    Foxconn Bloodrage rev. 1.1 - P09
    MSI HAWK N760
    Crucial M500 240GB SSD
    SeaGate ES.2 1TB + 1TB External SeaGate
    Corsair HX 850W (its GOLD man!)
    ASUS STX + Sennheiser HD 555 (tape mod)

    Old-new camera so some new pics will be there.. My Flickr My 500px.com My Tumblr

  8. #33
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    163
    Quote Originally Posted by Mescalamba View Post
    You should be able to use internal MS-DOS files.. or not? I can look for them, it will just take some time..
    the second box wasn't highlighted, the MS-DOS option.

    I gave it a go from Fox live update, seemed to install with out issue but now it hangs on A1 checking into that issue now, but would still like to be able to boot from the USB stick, I just feel safer that way.

    Thanks for all your help btw.
    Jb

  9. #34
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    169
    Quote Originally Posted by ptrout View Post
    Is there a recovery method, if something does wrong. Can i boot into BIOS2 and then try to re-flash BIOS1 ?
    With older technology, hot-flashing is/was an option if you had two motherboards with the same rom chip.
    With dual-bios boards, hot-flashing might still be an option if your software (for some reason) isn't programming the chip you want.

    IIRC, Hot-flash routine is typically :
    1) Insert known good rom __lightly__ into active bios socket.
    2) Boot into dos/whatever.
    3) Remove good rom while system remains powered-up.
    4) Insert bad rom into same socket.
    5) Flash the bad rom.

    Step 3) may be easier if you dump some non-conductive dental floss in and out of the socket. You can use this floss to gently lift the good rom out without your fingers or tools going near the energized motherboard. This may require some practice.

    Cheers,
    XmX

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •