Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 34

Thread: BIOS Flash Guide

  1. #1
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,549

    BIOS Flash Guide

    In case you run into problems updating your BIOS here are some tips
    There are several ways to update the BIOS, from a floppy, usb stick or from within windows.

    You can download the latest BIOSes here (official) and here (beta)
    You need to register and log in to be able to download from the quantum force site, registering takes only a minute and doesnt require email verification, so you can log in and download immediatly.

    FLOPPY
    you need to create a bootable floppy disk, id recommend you a windows 98SE boot disk.
    You can get loads of different tools that format and then create a bootable floppy on www.bootdisk.com
    Then place the flash tool and BIOS image onto the same or another floppy and boot the pc and then follow the flash tools instructions

    USB
    Backup all data from the UBS stick and then format it to FAT16 or FAT32.
    Download this HP tool here to make your USB stick bootable. Put the BIOS and Award files on the USB stick and plug it in any of the USB Slots. Power on the System and select to boot from HDD (!) and then select the HDD Bootup list where your USB stick should show up now. Make sure its no1 in the list and then hit Exit and Save. The Board should now boot from the USB stick and show you the DOS command prompt. From here is the same as updating the BIOS from a floppy.

    WINDOWS
    updating the bios from within windows is the easiest way. Install the FOX Live Update utility from the CD that comes with the board, then update the utility if necessary and backup/flash the Main and Backup BIOS's with the file above.
    Please Note: Main=BIOS1 and Backup=BIOS2 (thanks to ric9887 for pointing this out)

    Please make sure you are at safe speeds when updating the BIOS, and please load the setup defaults and then save and exit the BIOS after updating it and then configure the settings.




    BlackOps Notes:
    The blackops has 2 BIOS chips, the default one that the board will boot from is the left one.
    If you run into any problems you can change the jumpers to select to boot from the second chip.
    The jumpers work like this, from left to right:
    jumper position 1 slects BIOS chip 1 (left chip)
    jumper position 2 slects BIOS chip 2 (right chip)
    jumper position 3 slects BIOS chip 1 (left chip) by default but you can change in bios to select chip2
    jumper position 4 slects BIOS chip 2 (right chip) by default but you can change in bios to select chip1

    Dreadnought Notes:
    The Dreadnought has 2 BIOS chips, the default one that the board will boot from is the top one.
    If you run into any problems you can change the jumpers to select to boot from the second chip below the first one.
    The jumpers work like this, from left to right:
    jumper position 1 slects BIOS chip 1 (top chip)
    jumper position 2 slects BIOS chip 2 (bottom chip)
    jumper position 3 slects BIOS chip 1 (top chip) by default but you can change in bios to select chip2
    jumper position 4 slects BIOS chip 2 (bottom chip) by default but you can change in bios to select chip1

    If you have any questions or comments please let me know
    Last edited by saaya; 07-09-2008 at 01:43 AM.

  2. #2
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    715
    I have a bootable USB key, but what is that gbdf folder for? Is that what you use to write the new BIOS, the "Ghost" application inside?

  3. #3
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,549
    hmmmm, sorry, i dont get what you mean

  4. #4
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    715
    Attached - folders, descending. Does Ghost write the new BIOS?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  5. #5
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,549
    ahhhh, i see, no, its a part of the hp tool it seems...
    i actually havent checked if its necessary to get the usb stick to boot, but id think so...
    did you do a virus scan on it?

    EDIT: I checked to be sure, the file is safe, i ran several virus scans on it and it passes symantec, antivir and trendmicro
    Last edited by saaya; 06-30-2008 at 07:48 PM.

  6. #6
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,549
    i updated the first post and added links to the BIOS download sections and more details about the winflash tool.
    please let me know if you have any questions

  7. #7
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    ARIZONA
    Posts
    1,565
    eye havent had any problums whatsoever using the in windows live updater (knock on wood)

    but every time eye go to use it .. thiers an updated version window that pops up so ya eye go to get the updated version ..and every time it fails no latest version for me

    but does it matter any at all ?? the one eye have works great so far

    is thier any reason to have the latest version is it important to have ?? am eye missing anything here ?

    in my book if it aint broke then dont fix it
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    PENT E8400 batch #814A014 ...4.3 at 1.34v~4.7 at 1.45v
    FOXCONN MARS
    COOLIT Eliminator 7*c idle~27~38*c load $95bucks !
    BUFFALO FireStix's ddr2-800 do 1200 eazy at 2.1v
    OCZ 2x2 kit pc2 8500 - 1066 @1069 atm
    Quattro 1000W
    Radeon 2-4850's in crossfire
    OCZ Vertex SSD thanks Tony!
    ALL PIPED INTO HOUSE AIRCOND ;}
    *QUANTUM FORCE* saaya & sham rocks !
    *REAL TEMP*
    At least you've got some Xtreme software now for working in Xtreme situations! "Unclewebb" rocks !
    *MEMSET* Felix rocks !
    *SUPER TEC MAN* UncleJimbo rocks !
    OVERCLOCKERS MAG..http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=197660

  8. #8
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,549
    heheh, generally yes
    but if you want to tweak some more then the latest BIOS might help and give you some extra settings

    latest bios for mars hmmm let me check...
    and yes, theres some weird problem with some files when using the fox live update, on the blackops i wasnt able to download the new jmicron driver, it always started and then the download was aborted with an error message :/

    i already contacted the china guys and will have all files hosted elsewhere until this is fixed.
    as soon as its set up i will post the link to the laternative host location

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    172
    Is there a guide to flash a bios without a flash drive or a floppy disk? I'm talking about cd-rom flashing?
    Mobo: Foxconn MARS
    Cpu: Wolfdale E8200 C0 @ 4ghz @1.38v w/ TRUE-120 Black
    GFX: 8800GT G92 @stock
    Memory: Team Extreem 2x1 5-5-5-15 1100ghz @2.11v
    Hard Drive: SB 500GB
    Optical Drive: LG 22x DVD/RW LS
    Case: Lian-Li PC-G7B

    Foxconn ROCKS!

  10. #10
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,549
    there will be in a few days
    hang in tight!

  11. #11
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,082
    I suggest using the Fox Live Update program, it's really quick and really painless, have used it a good 5 or 6 times now
    TJ07 | Corsair HX1000W | Gigabyte EX58 Extreme | i7 930 @ 4ghz | Ek Supreme | Thermochill PA 120.3 | Laing DDC 12v w/ mod plexi top | 3x2gb Corsair 1600mhz | GTX 680 | Raid 0 300gb Velociraptor x 2 | Razer Lachesis & Lycosa | Win7 HP x64 | fluffy dice.

  12. #12
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,549
    yeah, that or a usb stick with a .bat file really works well too.
    but i always preferred flashing from windows too...

  13. #13
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    172
    What happens if flashing fails in my mars?
    Mobo: Foxconn MARS
    Cpu: Wolfdale E8200 C0 @ 4ghz @1.38v w/ TRUE-120 Black
    GFX: 8800GT G92 @stock
    Memory: Team Extreem 2x1 5-5-5-15 1100ghz @2.11v
    Hard Drive: SB 500GB
    Optical Drive: LG 22x DVD/RW LS
    Case: Lian-Li PC-G7B

    Foxconn ROCKS!

  14. #14
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,549
    Quote Originally Posted by grungero View Post
    What happens if flashing fails in my mars?
    if its still running, try to flash it again, and dont power it off until you managed to complete it
    if its not running, reset cmos and try to boot, then reflash it.
    if that doesnt work, contact your local shop and ask them if you can lend a bios chip from a mars board to reflash your own chip, or ask them if they can do it. or let me know and ill send you a new bios chip with a working mars bios on it

  15. #15
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    172
    Quote Originally Posted by saaya View Post
    if its still running, try to flash it again, and dont power it off until you managed to complete it
    if its not running, reset cmos and try to boot, then reflash it.
    if that doesnt work, contact your local shop and ask them if you can lend a bios chip from a mars board to reflash your own chip, or ask them if they can do it. or let me know and ill send you a new bios chip with a working mars bios on it
    You can provide that for me? Cool!
    Mobo: Foxconn MARS
    Cpu: Wolfdale E8200 C0 @ 4ghz @1.38v w/ TRUE-120 Black
    GFX: 8800GT G92 @stock
    Memory: Team Extreem 2x1 5-5-5-15 1100ghz @2.11v
    Hard Drive: SB 500GB
    Optical Drive: LG 22x DVD/RW LS
    Case: Lian-Li PC-G7B

    Foxconn ROCKS!

  16. #16
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,549
    sure
    so you need one?

  17. #17
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    172
    Quote Originally Posted by saaya View Post
    sure
    so you need one?
    No saaya, but in case i'll have some serious trouble, that's the time.
    Mobo: Foxconn MARS
    Cpu: Wolfdale E8200 C0 @ 4ghz @1.38v w/ TRUE-120 Black
    GFX: 8800GT G92 @stock
    Memory: Team Extreem 2x1 5-5-5-15 1100ghz @2.11v
    Hard Drive: SB 500GB
    Optical Drive: LG 22x DVD/RW LS
    Case: Lian-Li PC-G7B

    Foxconn ROCKS!

  18. #18
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,549
    sure thing, just let me know

  19. #19
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    172
    I've updated my bios to P14 through windows. Glad it's a success!
    Mobo: Foxconn MARS
    Cpu: Wolfdale E8200 C0 @ 4ghz @1.38v w/ TRUE-120 Black
    GFX: 8800GT G92 @stock
    Memory: Team Extreem 2x1 5-5-5-15 1100ghz @2.11v
    Hard Drive: SB 500GB
    Optical Drive: LG 22x DVD/RW LS
    Case: Lian-Li PC-G7B

    Foxconn ROCKS!

  20. #20
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,549
    good to hear
    windows flashing always went fine for me, even at highly oced speeds, but i def recommend clocking the rig down to stable speeds to flash the bios

  21. #21
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    172
    Quote Originally Posted by saaya View Post
    good to hear
    windows flashing always went fine for me, even at highly oced speeds, but i def recommend clocking the rig down to stable speeds to flash the bios
    I disabled OC for that moment. Just for safety.
    Mobo: Foxconn MARS
    Cpu: Wolfdale E8200 C0 @ 4ghz @1.38v w/ TRUE-120 Black
    GFX: 8800GT G92 @stock
    Memory: Team Extreem 2x1 5-5-5-15 1100ghz @2.11v
    Hard Drive: SB 500GB
    Optical Drive: LG 22x DVD/RW LS
    Case: Lian-Li PC-G7B

    Foxconn ROCKS!

  22. #22
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    35
    I have tried the windows flashing method above several times with no luck. No I did not mess up my board or anything I was able to clear CMOS and start over again. But I do not understand why it says "flash was successful, would you like to restart your pc now?" and then when I restart I cannot get a post screen.

    When I get home later I am going to try to flash the p13 instead( On p12 right now).
    Computer:
    CPU: PII X6 1055t @ 3.7Ghz
    Motherboard: MSI NF980-G65
    Memory: G.SKILL Ripjaws 8GB(4X2) 4GBRL DDR3 1600
    Graphics: Tri-SLI Gtx470's
    Power: Corsair AX1200
    Case: CM HAF-X
    Monitors: 3x ASUS VG236H -120HZ/3D

  23. #23
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,549
    Quote Originally Posted by matttehman View Post
    I have tried the windows flashing method above several times with no luck. No I did not mess up my board or anything I was able to clear CMOS and start over again. But I do not understand why it says "flash was successful, would you like to restart your pc now?" and then when I restart I cannot get a post screen.

    When I get home later I am going to try to flash the p13 instead( On p12 right now).
    did you select the "clear cmos" and "load setup defaults" option?
    did you use the award winflash tool or the foxconn tool?
    its normal that you have to clear cmos after a bios update if you dont select the "clear cmos" or "load setup defaults" switch when flashing the bios

  24. #24
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    29
    Can anyone tell me how to make a bootable cd for vist 64
    Thermaltake Armor+
    Foxconn Bloodrage
    i7 965
    Gskill 2000 7 8 7 2000
    Evga gtx295 quad sli
    Custom watercooled
    Ultra 1600w psu
    Velocirapror 300
    Vista64

    latest vantage 43200

  25. #25
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    113
    What's the best bios for the blackops to use for overclocking? My PC specs are in my sig
    Project RAE
    Intel Q9550 @ 3.4GHZ | Foxconn Blackops X48 | 2x1GB Team Xtreem DDR3 1600mhz | Powercolor Radeon 4870 in Crossfire | 250GB Western Digital 16MB SATA |Corsair HX1000W Modular PSU

    Watercooling:
    Dtek Fuzion V1 with Quad-Core Insert
    Swiftech MCW30
    HWLabs GTX II 360
    Feser 1/2 ID 3/4 OD UV Blue
    Swiftech MCP655
    Alphacool 10" Reservoir

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •