Page 1 of 22 123411 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 545

Thread: X3350 Arrival

  1. #1
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    America's Finest City
    Posts
    2,077

    X3350 Arrival

    My X3350 has arrived and i will be putting it in my rig right now and i will report back with results...

  2. #2
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    413
    Very nice, looking forward to seeing results
    Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 rev 1,0| AMD FX-8120@?| Corsair H100| 2x4 GB Patriot Viper Xtreme Division 2 PC15000 9-11-9-27| 2*Powercolor Radeon HD6970 2048MB @ Crossfire| 3*NEC MultiSync EA231WMi 23" Monitorer @ Eyefinity| OCZ Vertex 3 60 GB| 2*Intel 80GB X25-M G2 @ RAID0| Cooler Master Silent Pro M1000W| Cooler Master ATCS 840|

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    139
    Mine is coming tomorrow!

    Can't wait to see your results
    i7 2600K 4.9Ghz @ 1.424v, Noctua NH-D14, Asus P8P67, 16GB Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz, GB GeForce GTX 460 OC, OCZ 600W PSU - www.LV-88.com

  4. #4
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    750
    Nice to hear more people are jumping on the train. Here's hoping someone can finally boot into Windows at 4GHz. I can only POST at 4GHz.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Victoria
    Posts
    35
    Mine should be coming soon as well.

    Runawayprisoner, you should start a new thread, or post to this one, with your results and experiences with the x3350. Seeing as there isn't much info about the chip right yet, any personal experiences would be appreciated :P

  6. #6
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    10009
    Posts
    3,698
    mine arrives tomorrow.

  7. #7
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    TasMania
    Posts
    179
    Quote Originally Posted by RunawayPrisoner View Post
    Nice to hear more people are jumping on the train. Here's hoping someone can finally boot into Windows at 4GHz. I can only POST at 4GHz.
    More info please
    CPU: i7 860 4000Mhz 1.3v
    MoBO: GA-P55-UD5
    RAM: GSkill RipJaws 800 7.7.7.
    HdD: Seagate 7200.11 500Gb
    CoOlinG: Noctua 12P
    VGa: Gigabyte HD6870
    PSu: Silverstone 550W

  8. #8
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    112
    where r u guys buying them from ? moogr ? lagoom ?

    is moogr legit ?

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    313
    Eagerly awaiting your results as I have one on the way was well. A lot of later ES were hitting 480MHz FSB, so hopefully they have the retail cores tweaked even more.

  10. #10
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    America's Finest City
    Posts
    2,077
    Well i got it running, I think i may have a bad stick of memory... but otherwise everything runs great. CPU-Z detected it wonderfully and now its a matter of figuring out the C1 error i get with one stick and not the other.

    This chip works great though!

  11. #11
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    Posts
    517
    Quote Originally Posted by Russian View Post
    This chip works great though!

    8 x 475 great?
    i7 3770k - p8z77-v pro - 4x4gb - gtx680 - vertex 4 256gb - ax750
    i5 3570k - z77-pro3 - 2x4gb - arc-1231ml - 12x2tb wdgp r6 - cx400
    heatware

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Victoria
    Posts
    35
    Quote Originally Posted by zoob View Post
    8 x 475 great?
    That would be "great"

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by Nebulus View Post
    That would be "great"
    8 x 500 ... that would be REALLY great.... My chip comes tomorrow.

  14. #14
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    313
    Quote Originally Posted by RedHOT View Post
    8 x 500 ...
    will be possible. Depends on how many volts you feel comfortable putting into the chip

  15. #15
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    America's Finest City
    Posts
    2,077
    We will find out soon... im not at my PC but i know it works. The key is to figure out my OC tomorrow.

  16. #16
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Victoria
    Posts
    35
    Quote Originally Posted by Russian View Post
    We will find out soon... im not at my PC but i know it works. The key is to figure out my OC tomorrow.
    Why not today?

  17. #17
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Madison, TN
    Posts
    934
    Quote Originally Posted by wolf2009 View Post
    where r u guys buying them from ? moogr ? lagoom ?

    is moogr legit ?
    I picked mine up from lagoom. They seemed to have the best price, but I think they've raised it.

    Edit: They have, but it also seems they're out of stock. Here's another place, but more expensive.

    http://www.excaliberpc.com/Intel_BX8...id-585292.html
    Last edited by PhilDoc; 03-24-2008 at 04:45 PM.

  18. #18
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    America's Finest City
    Posts
    2,077
    Quote Originally Posted by Nebulus View Post
    Why not today?
    1. Not at work
    2. Still wanna figure out if i have a bad slot or bad module of memory
    3. My new videocard comes tomorrow
    4. I still need to install Vista64 ultimate

  19. #19
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    750
    http://forums.ngemu.com/hardware-dis...s-warning.html

    ^= All you need to know, guys. I can run mine at 475 x 8, and has been running at that clock for four days now. VCore is only 1.320V for a rock solid Prime stable system at 475 x 8. I can POST at 500 x 8, but it would hang as soon as Windows starts loading... so I'm guessing my G35 motherboard cannot handle 500MHz for a quad 45nm. Now I'm curious if anyone with a X38 or X48 mainboard can get into Windows at 500MHz.

    Here's how I got it to POST at 500MHz x 8, in case you can't read much from that forum post I linked above.

    http://youtube.com/watch?v=QzF4Vg6_R9Y

    And... here are some results from Crysis Benchmark Tool:

    DX9:



    DX10:



    Not too shabby... but I guess these quads are just what Crysis has been dreaming about all this time.

    Edit: Or heck, here are all I have at the moment:

    Idle temp before I lapped my ACF7:



    What VCore is needed to get into Vista @ 3.60GHz:



    VCore needed to get into Vista (and watch a movie) @ 3.80GHz:



    And yep, I don't think this thing has any problem running two instances of the PlayStation 2 emulator:



    Impressive temps at that, too... considering I haven't lapped my ACF7 yet.

    Now here's 3DMark06 with a 9600GT:



    Voltage for Prime completely stable at 3.60GHz:



    And... that's it for now. I think I'll leave her on tonight for either Prime at 3.80GHz or 100 times Crysis benchmark.
    Last edited by RunawayPrisoner; 03-24-2008 at 07:24 PM.

  20. #20
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Newcastle, Australia
    Posts
    1,317
    Mmm tasty, 3.8Ghz at ~1.3v. That's a hell of a lot better than my Q6600 B3's 3.5Ghz at ~1.5v

    It'll be good to see some more reports on them, but providing most of the X3350/Q9450's can hit 475FSB fairly easily, it's definitely a winner over a Q6600.

    Eller

    Desktop: Q6600 G0 @ 3.6 Ghz | P5E | 2x2 Gb G.Skill PC8000 | GTX 560 Ti | CM690 | TT TP 750 watt | Win 7 Pro x64 | Water Cooling
    Server: i3 530 (Stock) | CM Vortex Low-Profile | Zotac H55-ITX WIFI | 2x2Gb Corsair 1333Mhz | IGP | VX450 | Server 2008 R2 x64

  21. #21
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    750
    Well, thing is... I can't go any further than 475 and stay stable for long. At this point, I think it's the motherboard that is holding the chip back. Watch the video and you'll see that it's completely possible to POST at 500 but it won't go into Windows no matter how high the VCore is set.

    Edit: Oh, and I lapped my chip today, too. Idle temp dropped by 10C and load temp dropped by 5C after lapping both the chip and the ACF7. When I lapped just the ACF7, idle temp dropped by 5C and load temp did not drop at all. And beware, at 1.35V, this chip can really heat up to 80C (with Prime95 small FFTs) when you don't monitor her.
    Last edited by RunawayPrisoner; 03-24-2008 at 07:32 PM.

  22. #22
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Madison, TN
    Posts
    934
    Quote Originally Posted by RunawayPrisoner View Post
    Well, thing is... I can't go any further than 475 and stay stable for long. At this point, I think it's the motherboard that is holding the chip back. Watch the video and you'll see that it's completely possible to POST at 500 but it won't go into Windows no matter how high the VCore is set.

    Edit: Oh, and I lapped my chip today, too. Idle temp dropped by 10C and load temp dropped by 5C after lapping both the chip and the ACF7. When I lapped just the ACF7, idle temp dropped by 5C and load temp did not drop at all. And beware, at 1.35V, this chip can really heat up to 80C (with Prime95 small FFTs) when you don't monitor her.
    Thanks for all the info. Looks like you have a great chip there. I think most would be happy with what you've gotten. There seems to be quite a few people with these on order, so it wont be too long for the mb questions to be answered. Mine will be here on Wed and I have an X38 mb.

  23. #23
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    Posts
    517
    Awesome chip!! However after being spoiled with a QX9650 @ 4.0 I am going to wait to see if more of them 3350/9450 hit 4.0 on high end water before I consider one.

    Cheapest available X3350 is still $390 in Canada... garrr
    i7 3770k - p8z77-v pro - 4x4gb - gtx680 - vertex 4 256gb - ax750
    i5 3570k - z77-pro3 - 2x4gb - arc-1231ml - 12x2tb wdgp r6 - cx400
    heatware

  24. #24
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    304
    i wonder how well one of these will do on a P35 mobo on air.. i doubt 4 ghz

  25. #25
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Victoria
    Posts
    35
    Quote Originally Posted by zoob View Post
    Cheapest available X3350 is still $390 in Canada... garrr
    Not so. TDDirect.ca is selling them for 371.

Page 1 of 22 123411 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •