Page 2 of 117 FirstFirst 123451252102 ... LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 2906

Thread: ** OFFICIAL ** Intel DX38BT & DX48BT2 BoneTrail Thread

  1. #26
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Denver, CO US
    Posts
    873
    Quote Originally Posted by ChaosMinionX View Post
    Did you buy the 1800C7DF?
    Exactly.


    BERT: Intel DX48BT2, E8500, 2x 1G OCZ Plat DDR3-1800, 2xATI HD 3850, 450x9.5
    ERNIE: Intel DX38BT, Q9300, 2x 1G OCZ Plat DDR3-1800, ATI HD 3650, 400x7.5
    RALPH,ELMO,MONSTER: Intel 975XBX2, Q6600, 2x 1G OCZ DDR2-1066, 356x9
    COOKIE,OSCAR: DFI BloodIron, Q6600, 2x 1G OCZ DDR2-1066, stock

    GTJ's Intel 975XBX2 Bad Axe 2 Guide including the Memory Calculator
    GTJ's Intel DX38BT/DX48BT2 Bone Trail Memory Calculator



  2. #27
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Montreal, Qc
    Posts
    552
    Quote Originally Posted by gtj View Post
    Exactly.
    Ouch how much did you pay these? And they arrived broken... I hope you will get a replacement for that price...
    Main system:
    Q6600 G0 L737B 3,8GHz
    Maximus Formula X38
    Ballistix PC2-8500 2x1GB
    XFX 8800GT XT
    Corsair HX620
    X-Fi Platinum
    150GB Raptor (Dual Boot) /2x 250GB WD Caviar (Apps)
    Lian-Li V2000B Plus II

    School: MacBook
    Studying in: Pharmacy
    Where: University of Montreal

  3. #28
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Denver, CO US
    Posts
    873
    $579 for 2x1024mb. Already got an RMA and ordered the OCZs. They should be here tomorrow. Till then, I'm limping along on 1 stick.


    BERT: Intel DX48BT2, E8500, 2x 1G OCZ Plat DDR3-1800, 2xATI HD 3850, 450x9.5
    ERNIE: Intel DX38BT, Q9300, 2x 1G OCZ Plat DDR3-1800, ATI HD 3650, 400x7.5
    RALPH,ELMO,MONSTER: Intel 975XBX2, Q6600, 2x 1G OCZ DDR2-1066, 356x9
    COOKIE,OSCAR: DFI BloodIron, Q6600, 2x 1G OCZ DDR2-1066, stock

    GTJ's Intel 975XBX2 Bad Axe 2 Guide including the Memory Calculator
    GTJ's Intel DX38BT/DX48BT2 Bone Trail Memory Calculator



  4. #29
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    GO CANUCKS GO!!!
    Posts
    400
    Quote Originally Posted by gtj View Post
    $579 for 2x1024mb. Already got an RMA and ordered the OCZs. They should be here tomorrow. Till then, I'm limping along on 1 stick.
    For that price, you could have bought a nice proven P35 board and DDR2 ram with change left over. I think any of you moving to DDR3 are crazy!!!

    i7 3770K
    ASUS P8Z77-V Deluxe
    16GB Kingston HyperX DDR3-1600
    240GB HyperX SSD
    EVGA GTX 680 SC+
    X-Fi Fatality
    Corsair AX1200


  5. #30
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Denver, CO US
    Posts
    873
    Quote Originally Posted by theonlybabyface View Post
    For that price, you could have bought a nice proven P35 board and DDR2 ram with change left over.
    Come on, what's fun about that?
    Besides, "Xtreme" can also apply to cost.
    .


    BERT: Intel DX48BT2, E8500, 2x 1G OCZ Plat DDR3-1800, 2xATI HD 3850, 450x9.5
    ERNIE: Intel DX38BT, Q9300, 2x 1G OCZ Plat DDR3-1800, ATI HD 3650, 400x7.5
    RALPH,ELMO,MONSTER: Intel 975XBX2, Q6600, 2x 1G OCZ DDR2-1066, 356x9
    COOKIE,OSCAR: DFI BloodIron, Q6600, 2x 1G OCZ DDR2-1066, stock

    GTJ's Intel 975XBX2 Bad Axe 2 Guide including the Memory Calculator
    GTJ's Intel DX38BT/DX48BT2 Bone Trail Memory Calculator



  6. #31
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    43
    Quote Originally Posted by gtj View Post
    Come on, what's fun about that?
    Besides, "Xtreme" can also apply to cost.
    .

    QFT!
    -=Gaming Rig=-
    Sabertooth Z77 | i7-3770K | 2x 8gb Ballistix Elite DDR3-1866
    MSI HD7970 | Crucial m4 256gb | 2x WD RE4 1Tb RAID1
    LG 10x Blu-ray Burner | Enermax Revolution85+ 1050w
    CaseLabs M8 | Dell u2711 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64
    Xonar DX > MisterX PPAv2 > DT880/250 w/ Cardas recable

    -=Mobile=-
    Macbook Pro | i7 | 8gb | 256gb | Retina
    iPad 3 | 32gb | WiFi
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus

  7. #32
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    437
    Subscribed.
    Home PC: Intel i7 4770K @ 4.6ghz l Asus Maximus VI Hero l Corsair Dominator Plantinum 2400mhz (4x4GB) l Asus GTX 690 l Samsung 840 Pro 256gb l 2 x WD Black 1T storage drive l WD MyBook 500gb External l Samsung SH-S203N DVD l Creative X-Fi Titanium HD l Corsair AX1200 PSU l Planar SA2311W23 3D LCD Monitor l Corsair 800D Case l Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit l Sennheiser HD-590

    Water Cooling Setup: Swiftech 320 Radiator (3 X Gentle Typhoons 1450rpm 3 x Gentle Typhoons 1850 rpm) l Swiftech Pump w/XSPC Res Top l Heatkiller 3.0 CPU Block l Heatkiller GPU-X GTX 690 "Hole Edition" Nickel l Heatkiller Geforce GTX 690 GPU Backplate l Koolance 140mm Radiator l Danger Den 1/2ID UV Green tubing l EK EKoolant UV Green Liquid


    -Impossible is not a word

  8. #33
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Posts
    206
    I am having an issue with my DX38BT. I'm a newb at this so don't laugh. I have Corsair XMS3 that is rated @ 1333, 9-9-9-24. I set it in the bios, and the settings stay there on the setting page after reboot, but the memory only runs at 1066. The morons at Corsair aren't any help. Why won't the settings stick ?

  9. #34
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Denver, CO US
    Posts
    873
    Quote Originally Posted by Randy View Post
    I am having an issue with my DX38BT. I'm a newb at this so don't laugh. I have Corsair XMS3 that is rated @ 1333, 9-9-9-24. I set it in the bios, and the settings stay there on the setting page after reboot, but the memory only runs at 1066. The morons at Corsair aren't any help. Why won't the settings stick ?
    Exactly what are you setting in the BIOS and how do you know it's running at 1066?


    BERT: Intel DX48BT2, E8500, 2x 1G OCZ Plat DDR3-1800, 2xATI HD 3850, 450x9.5
    ERNIE: Intel DX38BT, Q9300, 2x 1G OCZ Plat DDR3-1800, ATI HD 3650, 400x7.5
    RALPH,ELMO,MONSTER: Intel 975XBX2, Q6600, 2x 1G OCZ DDR2-1066, 356x9
    COOKIE,OSCAR: DFI BloodIron, Q6600, 2x 1G OCZ DDR2-1066, stock

    GTJ's Intel 975XBX2 Bad Axe 2 Guide including the Memory Calculator
    GTJ's Intel DX38BT/DX48BT2 Bone Trail Memory Calculator



  10. #35
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Posts
    206
    Quote Originally Posted by gtj View Post
    Exactly what are you setting in the BIOS and how do you know it's running at 1066?
    Memory Configuration = Non-ECC

    Performance Memory Profiles = Manual - User Defined

    Reference Frequency = 333
    Memory Frequency = 1333
    tCL = 9
    tRCD = 9
    tRP = 9
    tRASmin = 24
    Memory Voltage = 1.70v


    The main bios screen says the CPU is @ 1333FSB and the memory is at 1066.
    Everest and the Intel Desktop Utility also says 1066 on the memory. CPU-Z doesn't support the X38 yet, so I get no report other than SPD values.
    975 XE @ 4.0GHZ - Thermaltake TRUE REV 3
    12GB Corsair Dominator 1600MHZ
    EVGA 132-BL-E758-A1
    2 X Gigabyte HD5970's CFX
    2X Runcore Pro IV 128GB SSD's in RAID 0 & 2X 2TB WD Enterprise in RAID 1
    2X Plextor 810SA DLDVD SATA
    Thermaltake 1KW Toughpower
    Coolermaster Sniper
    Dell 30" 3007FPW
    HEAT - Randy2

  11. #36
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Denver, CO US
    Posts
    873
    In the memory bios screen check what the SPD is reporting. Initially my sticks were actually reporting DDR3 1066 and that was goofing things up. unfortunately I don't remember what I did to fix it. Also try going back to Automatic and see what happens


    BERT: Intel DX48BT2, E8500, 2x 1G OCZ Plat DDR3-1800, 2xATI HD 3850, 450x9.5
    ERNIE: Intel DX38BT, Q9300, 2x 1G OCZ Plat DDR3-1800, ATI HD 3650, 400x7.5
    RALPH,ELMO,MONSTER: Intel 975XBX2, Q6600, 2x 1G OCZ DDR2-1066, 356x9
    COOKIE,OSCAR: DFI BloodIron, Q6600, 2x 1G OCZ DDR2-1066, stock

    GTJ's Intel 975XBX2 Bad Axe 2 Guide including the Memory Calculator
    GTJ's Intel DX38BT/DX48BT2 Bone Trail Memory Calculator



  12. #37
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Denver, CO US
    Posts
    873
    More observations while I'm waiting for my OCZ to arrive (9am tomorrow hopefully).

    The BIOS Watchdog is as useless as mammaries on a male Sus Scrofa. Same as the XBX2. Thankfully the default is "disabled".

    If you put the Intel controller in RAID mode, and you have a SATA DVD drive, USB keyboards don't work.

    The Marvell SATA controller also handles IDE port so disabling the Secondary SATA Controller also disables the internal IDE port as well as the external SATA ports.

    Vista will install cleanly on an Intel RAID array without any additional driver stupidity.

    Vista doesn't include the driver for the new LAN controller so you have to install it separately from the driver CD.

    The mosfet heatsinks have a much lower profile than the XBX2.

    The vCore vMCH and vDIMM measurement points seem to be close to, if not exactly in the same place as the XBX2. I'll post pics later.

    The BIOS screens are pretty close to the XBX2. Pics later.


    BERT: Intel DX48BT2, E8500, 2x 1G OCZ Plat DDR3-1800, 2xATI HD 3850, 450x9.5
    ERNIE: Intel DX38BT, Q9300, 2x 1G OCZ Plat DDR3-1800, ATI HD 3650, 400x7.5
    RALPH,ELMO,MONSTER: Intel 975XBX2, Q6600, 2x 1G OCZ DDR2-1066, 356x9
    COOKIE,OSCAR: DFI BloodIron, Q6600, 2x 1G OCZ DDR2-1066, stock

    GTJ's Intel 975XBX2 Bad Axe 2 Guide including the Memory Calculator
    GTJ's Intel DX38BT/DX48BT2 Bone Trail Memory Calculator



  13. #38
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    674
    definitely subscribed, but there's no way I'm upgrading until next year at the earliest!!
    ....

  14. #39
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    437
    Looking good so far, I just hate the thought of paying 500+ for DDR3...
    Home PC: Intel i7 4770K @ 4.6ghz l Asus Maximus VI Hero l Corsair Dominator Plantinum 2400mhz (4x4GB) l Asus GTX 690 l Samsung 840 Pro 256gb l 2 x WD Black 1T storage drive l WD MyBook 500gb External l Samsung SH-S203N DVD l Creative X-Fi Titanium HD l Corsair AX1200 PSU l Planar SA2311W23 3D LCD Monitor l Corsair 800D Case l Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit l Sennheiser HD-590

    Water Cooling Setup: Swiftech 320 Radiator (3 X Gentle Typhoons 1450rpm 3 x Gentle Typhoons 1850 rpm) l Swiftech Pump w/XSPC Res Top l Heatkiller 3.0 CPU Block l Heatkiller GPU-X GTX 690 "Hole Edition" Nickel l Heatkiller Geforce GTX 690 GPU Backplate l Koolance 140mm Radiator l Danger Den 1/2ID UV Green tubing l EK EKoolant UV Green Liquid


    -Impossible is not a word

  15. #40
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Denver, CO US
    Posts
    873
    Quote Originally Posted by WeaponX View Post
    Looking good so far, I just hate the thought of paying 500+ for DDR3...
    And the 45nm Quad will cost you how much???

    OCZ memory is in and memtesting...


    BERT: Intel DX48BT2, E8500, 2x 1G OCZ Plat DDR3-1800, 2xATI HD 3850, 450x9.5
    ERNIE: Intel DX38BT, Q9300, 2x 1G OCZ Plat DDR3-1800, ATI HD 3650, 400x7.5
    RALPH,ELMO,MONSTER: Intel 975XBX2, Q6600, 2x 1G OCZ DDR2-1066, 356x9
    COOKIE,OSCAR: DFI BloodIron, Q6600, 2x 1G OCZ DDR2-1066, stock

    GTJ's Intel 975XBX2 Bad Axe 2 Guide including the Memory Calculator
    GTJ's Intel DX38BT/DX48BT2 Bone Trail Memory Calculator



  16. #41
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Posts
    206
    Quote Originally Posted by gtj View Post
    In the memory bios screen check what the SPD is reporting. Initially my sticks were actually reporting DDR3 1066 and that was goofing things up. unfortunately I don't remember what I did to fix it. Also try going back to Automatic and see what happens


    Think, think think !!!

    I just ried some Patriot 1333 7-7-7-20 @ 1.7V and it does the exact same thing. 1066.

  17. #42
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    43
    Quote Originally Posted by Randy2 View Post
    Think, think think !!!

    I just ried some Patriot 1333 7-7-7-20 @ 1.7V and it does the exact same thing. 1066.
    put a call into intel tech support.
    -=Gaming Rig=-
    Sabertooth Z77 | i7-3770K | 2x 8gb Ballistix Elite DDR3-1866
    MSI HD7970 | Crucial m4 256gb | 2x WD RE4 1Tb RAID1
    LG 10x Blu-ray Burner | Enermax Revolution85+ 1050w
    CaseLabs M8 | Dell u2711 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64
    Xonar DX > MisterX PPAv2 > DT880/250 w/ Cardas recable

    -=Mobile=-
    Macbook Pro | i7 | 8gb | 256gb | Retina
    iPad 3 | 32gb | WiFi
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus

  18. #43
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Posts
    206
    Quote Originally Posted by gs274 View Post
    put a call into intel tech support.

    Been there. I worked with a tech for about an hour, and he said the board was new and he couldn't solve the issue. Currently there is no qualified memory for this board ?

    SOMEBODY must have this same board and 1333 memory. There has got to be a setting to resolve this.
    975 XE @ 4.0GHZ - Thermaltake TRUE REV 3
    12GB Corsair Dominator 1600MHZ
    EVGA 132-BL-E758-A1
    2 X Gigabyte HD5970's CFX
    2X Runcore Pro IV 128GB SSD's in RAID 0 & 2X 2TB WD Enterprise in RAID 1
    2X Plextor 810SA DLDVD SATA
    Thermaltake 1KW Toughpower
    Coolermaster Sniper
    Dell 30" 3007FPW
    HEAT - Randy2

  19. #44
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    374
    Did you try rev.1308 bios?

    BIOS Version 1308
    About This Release:
     November 12, 2007
     BTX3810J.86A.1308.2007.1112.1659
     SATA RAID info:
    Intel(R) RAID for SATA - v7.6.0.1011
     SATA AHCI info:
    Version UPSD src 04-20-2007 for ICH9
     PXE Nahum info:
    Intel(R) Boot Agent GE v1.2.50
    New Fixes/Features:
     Fixed issues where some BIOS Setup options are hidden.
     Added updates to BIOS support for Intel® Desktop Control
    Center.
     Fixed display of cache for multi-core processors.
    Fixed PC28 memory error beeps on warm boot with 1333 CPU / 1333
    Memory.

     Fixed issue where XMP settings were causing system instability.
     Fixed issue where overclocking settings were causing HW
    Watchdog Timer to fire on every boot.
     Added Hardware-based Watchdog Timer implementation.
     Added support for XMP (Extreme Memory Profile).
     Added some boot/S3 resume time optimizations.
     Fixed a bug where IERR got asserted on certain CPUs.
    Intel QX9650 @ 3.6GHz 1.25v in bios
    Asus P5E64 WS Evolution
    Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1600 7-7-7-20-1T 4X1Gb 1.76v
    EVGA 8800GTS 512Mb
    Antec P180b with Corsair 620HX

  20. #45
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Posts
    206
    Quote Originally Posted by bobov View Post
    Did you try rev.1308 bios?
    Yes,
    currently running.
    975 XE @ 4.0GHZ - Thermaltake TRUE REV 3
    12GB Corsair Dominator 1600MHZ
    EVGA 132-BL-E758-A1
    2 X Gigabyte HD5970's CFX
    2X Runcore Pro IV 128GB SSD's in RAID 0 & 2X 2TB WD Enterprise in RAID 1
    2X Plextor 810SA DLDVD SATA
    Thermaltake 1KW Toughpower
    Coolermaster Sniper
    Dell 30" 3007FPW
    HEAT - Randy2

  21. #46
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Denver, CO US
    Posts
    873
    Well, I'm running at 1333 on the OCZs but like I said, I can't remember what I did. How about going into maintenance mode and doing a bios settings reset?


    BERT: Intel DX48BT2, E8500, 2x 1G OCZ Plat DDR3-1800, 2xATI HD 3850, 450x9.5
    ERNIE: Intel DX38BT, Q9300, 2x 1G OCZ Plat DDR3-1800, ATI HD 3650, 400x7.5
    RALPH,ELMO,MONSTER: Intel 975XBX2, Q6600, 2x 1G OCZ DDR2-1066, 356x9
    COOKIE,OSCAR: DFI BloodIron, Q6600, 2x 1G OCZ DDR2-1066, stock

    GTJ's Intel 975XBX2 Bad Axe 2 Guide including the Memory Calculator
    GTJ's Intel DX38BT/DX48BT2 Bone Trail Memory Calculator



  22. #47
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    86
    How's this board's overclocking compared to ASUS or DFI?
    E8400
    ECS 8800GT-SLI
    Asus Striker II
    OCZ 4GB

  23. #48
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Posts
    206
    Quote Originally Posted by gtj View Post
    Well, I'm running at 1333 on the OCZs but like I said, I can't remember what I did. How about going into maintenance mode and doing a bios settings reset?
    Are the OCZ's programmed to 1333 by SPD ?

  24. #49
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Posts
    206
    Well, at this point what it looks like is I can't overclock the CPU or memory. Tried overclocking the FSB just a little bit and it bounces right back to default. Maybe this board is hosed ? It must have something to do with the watchdog feature. I think I am going to throw in the towel on this one until Intel get's a better bios out. Funny thing is, the latest bios was supposed to fix a ton of related issues, and intel is usually pretty good about that. If that OCZ is 1333 by SPD, I may take a stab at it - why not, I got about $900 of memory sitting in front of me now, what's another $500.
    Last edited by Randy; 11-21-2007 at 04:19 PM.

  25. #50
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    São Paulo - Brasil
    Posts
    85
    I like where intel is going...Black PCB, hardcore(ish) names for stuff..Remember the SkullTrail monster some time ago? They are showing a little more interest for the xtreme crowd..
    But...Yadda yadda yadda...whatever..!
    Waiting to see some results!!
    MalkbookII Asus G1S Notebook | C2D T7500 rev. G0 @ 2.2GHz 1.000v (undervolt) | 2Gb DDR2 667 5-5-5 | GeForce 8600M GT 256Mb @ 500/800 | 15" LCD @ 1680x1050

    EeePC EeePC1000HA | 2Gb Ram | 160Gb HD | 10.2"

    Malkserver ECS 650I SLI mobo (crappy, crappy mobo) | E2160 @ 2.250 1.2v | 2Gb DDR2 800 @ 1000 5-5-5 | Asus 8400GS @ 800/1800/435

Page 2 of 117 FirstFirst 123451252102 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •