MMM
Page 61 of 117 FirstFirst ... 11515859606162636471111 ... LastLast
Results 1,501 to 1,525 of 2906

Thread: ** OFFICIAL ** Intel DX38BT & DX48BT2 BoneTrail Thread

  1. #1501
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    41
    swapped out the board with a new Intel DX48BT2 from Frys today and the same issues continue to plague me, if not I think this board is even a bit more unstable. I'm going to give up and swap out to another board.
    Main System Main System:
    CPU: i7 930 @4.2ghz
    Motherboard: EVGA X58 Classified E760
    CPU Cooler: Corsair H50
    Video Card: EVGA GTX580 SLI
    Audio: Creative Piece of crap PCI-E soundcard
    Power Supply: CoolerMaster Silent Pro Gold 1200w
    Case: Silverstone RV02-E
    Monitor1: Alienware AW2310
    Monitor2: Alienware AW2310
    Monitor3: Alienware AW2310

  2. #1502
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    84
    John (silvr)

    Before you do that, take out your audio, or make sure you have all the on board audio off/disabled.

    Creative labs make good chips, but SUCK at drivers. Ok, most the time the cards have some compatibility problems.

    I not over clock teh FSB, I am at 400, but I can push my RAM at 1600 (2x2GB) well at 7-7-7-18-60-5-7-5-5-1T.. So that is great.

    I 24x7 Fold on my 4870 and 4 cores are on 100% running BIONIC. One SETI applicaiton is true 64bit which also runs fine.

    Next time, spend money on the unlocked CPU and not worry about overclocking the booard.. It easier in the long run, when you factor in your time vs. money.

    R
    Last edited by DualCpuUser; 08-29-2008 at 02:29 AM.

  3. #1503
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,917
    raising the FSB gives you more memory bandwidth though. 9*445 will be faster overall than 10*400.
    My Videos
    GRID Demolition Derby * GRID Camaro vs. Mustang * Audiosurf - Speed Racer
    I Shot the Hosties * Slightly Stupid * Dump Truck


    Intel Haswell 4770K * 2x8GB Mushkin Redline DDR3 1866 CL9 * Asus Maximus VI Gene * Sapphire 7870 GHz Edition
    500GB Samsung 840 Series SSD + 2TB WD Raid Edition 3 magnetic * SilverStone Temjin case * Corsair TX750 PSU * Corsair H60 water cooler * Win7 Pro x64

  4. #1504
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    41
    Already removed the sound card.

    I'm sorry but telling me that it's an overclocking problem when the motherboard has obvious issues is not a valid response. I do appreciate the help but no way will I ever pay extra for an unlocked CPU when they should be locked anyways.

    The X48 is supposed to support 400/1600, unfortunately it's not even close to being stable on the default voltage/settings. This is not an overclocking problem. This is a stability issue with this board/BIOS.

    - John

    Quote Originally Posted by DualCpuUser View Post
    John (silvr)

    Before you do that, take out your audio, or make sure you have all the on board audio off/disabled.

    Creative labs make good chips, but SUCK at drivers. Ok, most the time the cards have some compatibility problems.

    I not over clock teh FSB, I am at 400, but I can push my RAM at 1660 (2x2GB) well at 7-7-7-18-60-5-7-5-5-1T.. So that is great.

    I 24x7 Fold on my 4870 and 4 cores are on 100% running BIONIC. One SETI applicaiton is true 64bit which also runs fine.

    Next time, spend money on the unlocked CPU and not worry about overclocking the booard.. It easier in the long run, when you factor in your time vs. money.

    R
    Main System Main System:
    CPU: i7 930 @4.2ghz
    Motherboard: EVGA X58 Classified E760
    CPU Cooler: Corsair H50
    Video Card: EVGA GTX580 SLI
    Audio: Creative Piece of crap PCI-E soundcard
    Power Supply: CoolerMaster Silent Pro Gold 1200w
    Case: Silverstone RV02-E
    Monitor1: Alienware AW2310
    Monitor2: Alienware AW2310
    Monitor3: Alienware AW2310

  5. #1505
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    8
    The X48 is supposed to support 400/1600
    did you try a qx9770?

  6. #1506
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    In a house
    Posts
    21
    Has anyone noticed yet, the cooling solution on the newer 4870 x2 2GB cards slightly foul the SATA ports 0 and 1 (the top two ports if mobo is held with CPU at the top) on this board?
    QX9650 3.0 @ 1333 MHz
    DX38BT
    4x 36GbRaptors... RAID_0
    1x 36Gb Raptor... satellite drive
    Twin3x2048 1600C7DHX (7-7-7-20 60-4-10-5-5)
    HIS Radeon 4870x2 2GB VGA
    Auzentech Prelude
    Samsung 226BW
    D-Tek CPU W/block with quad nozzle
    3.2 pump w/ Plexitop
    Vista* HP SP1 32bit
    Antec P190 case (c/w 650/ 550w PSU)
    Powerware 5125a UPS
    DeathAdder mouse
    Tarantula keyboard
    TrackIR 4
    CH Fighterstick and Hotas
    Saitek Pro pedals


    "You can always tell a coward by the people they bully"

  7. #1507
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    41
    Quote Originally Posted by Wolf_Rider View Post
    Has anyone noticed yet, the cooling solution on the newer 4870 x2 2GB cards slightly foul the SATA ports 0 and 1 (the top two ports if mobo is held with CPU at the top) on this board?
    That's with any full length video card, they should have been lower or facing to the side of the board. I have the same issue with a BFG 9800GX2.
    Main System Main System:
    CPU: i7 930 @4.2ghz
    Motherboard: EVGA X58 Classified E760
    CPU Cooler: Corsair H50
    Video Card: EVGA GTX580 SLI
    Audio: Creative Piece of crap PCI-E soundcard
    Power Supply: CoolerMaster Silent Pro Gold 1200w
    Case: Silverstone RV02-E
    Monitor1: Alienware AW2310
    Monitor2: Alienware AW2310
    Monitor3: Alienware AW2310

  8. #1508
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    84
    Quote Originally Posted by xMrBunglex View Post
    raising the FSB gives you more memory bandwidth though. 9*445 will be faster overall than 10*400.
    On paper yes, but in reality no, not always. From CPU to North bridge yes, but NB to RAM that depends.

    1) If you had to bump up the RAM timmings to get the ram to work at the new clock rate. At times you have add latencies that are greater than the change from 400-445.

    2) Being forced into 2T timming on the higher FSB. Many times I have seen in the past lower freq. and 1T are better, unless you are able to really bump up the ram freq. to then again compensate for 2T. It does appear Intel NB and depenind on # of ranks and chip banks can optimize out some of the 2T penelties.

    On the other had in one or more past NB, I have noticed looser timmings actually result in higher throughput. As different RAM settings worth better with FSB,RAM bus freq. domain changes (odd memory divisors).

    -R

  9. #1509
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    84
    Quote Originally Posted by silvrhand View Post
    That's with any full length video card, they should have been lower or facing to the side of the board. I have the same issue with a BFG 9800GX2.
    Well I have to have a board with 3 PCIe slots where #3 >= 8x for my hardware RAID controller.

    Thus a number of boards were out of the selection processes. If I was to give it a try with a real overclocking board I would replace our Intel boards with DFI's version. The versions I have had in the past were a PITA to get right, but once done had pretty good OC. But that was a long time ago.

    But this is moot, as I will sell this (which never seems to happen, I have x38 board, 680i, QX9700 and a E6600) in boxes now. When I upgrad to the x58 board. Then with the new CPU I am forgo the QX version to save some $$.

    -R

  10. #1510
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,917
    Quote Originally Posted by Wolf_Rider View Post
    Has anyone noticed yet, the cooling solution on the newer 4870 x2 2GB cards slightly foul the SATA ports 0 and 1 (the top two ports if mobo is held with CPU at the top) on this board?
    in case anyone is wondering, you can fit two Radeon 4870's on this board with all six SATA ports in use. i have three SATA hard drives, two DVD drives, and an eSATA port on my case's front panel. all my SATA ports are used and the video cards don't block them.



    My Videos
    GRID Demolition Derby * GRID Camaro vs. Mustang * Audiosurf - Speed Racer
    I Shot the Hosties * Slightly Stupid * Dump Truck


    Intel Haswell 4770K * 2x8GB Mushkin Redline DDR3 1866 CL9 * Asus Maximus VI Gene * Sapphire 7870 GHz Edition
    500GB Samsung 840 Series SSD + 2TB WD Raid Edition 3 magnetic * SilverStone Temjin case * Corsair TX750 PSU * Corsair H60 water cooler * Win7 Pro x64

  11. #1511
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Posts
    206
    Quote Originally Posted by Wolf_Rider View Post
    Has anyone noticed yet, the cooling solution on the newer 4870 x2 2GB cards slightly foul the SATA ports 0 and 1 (the top two ports if mobo is held with CPU at the top) on this board?
    A 280GTX also takes out 2 ports. I have a pair of 4870's as well and the ports are all open.
    975 XE @ 4.0GHZ - Thermaltake TRUE REV 3
    12GB Corsair Dominator 1600MHZ
    EVGA 132-BL-E758-A1
    2 X Gigabyte HD5970's CFX
    2X Runcore Pro IV 128GB SSD's in RAID 0 & 2X 2TB WD Enterprise in RAID 1
    2X Plextor 810SA DLDVD SATA
    Thermaltake 1KW Toughpower
    Coolermaster Sniper
    Dell 30" 3007FPW
    HEAT - Randy2

  12. #1512
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    3
    Hello Bonetail folks.

    I am about to make my final purchases for my new system. My main goal my systems are stability. I dont plan to OC this rig. If I could get some imput on it I would really like that. One main concern is the Mem I am getting or plan to.. Any imput would be great.. good or bad.

    Specs:
    MB: Intel DX48BT2
    Proc: Q9550
    Mem OCZ Fatal1ty Edition 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) (combo with the processor from the egg)
    Drive: V-raptor
    Video EVGA 512-P3-N801-AR GeForce 8800 GT 512MB 256-bit (I know sli is not supported the card was given to me)
    PSU Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
    OS: Vista Ultimate SP1 English NA DVD - Retail

    Thanks for your time and any comments.

  13. #1513
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Denver, CO US
    Posts
    873
    Quote Originally Posted by Rainstir View Post
    Hello Bonetail folks.

    I am about to make my final purchases for my new system. My main goal my systems are stability. I dont plan to OC this rig. If I could get some imput on it I would really like that. One main concern is the Mem I am getting or plan to.. Any imput would be great.. good or bad.

    Specs:
    MB: Intel DX48BT2
    Proc: Q9550
    Mem OCZ Fatal1ty Edition 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) (combo with the processor from the egg)
    Drive: V-raptor
    Video EVGA 512-P3-N801-AR GeForce 8800 GT 512MB 256-bit (I know sli is not supported the card was given to me)
    PSU Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
    OS: Vista Ultimate SP1 English NA DVD - Retail

    Thanks for your time and any comments.


    I don't think you'll have any problem but the at 9-9-9, the Fatal1ty series isn't exactly the speediest. I'd go with the Platinum series at 7-7-7 if your budget allows. If not, don't worry about it.


    BERT: Intel DX48BT2, E8500, 2x 1G OCZ Plat DDR3-1800, 2xATI HD 3850, 450x9.5
    ERNIE: Intel DX38BT, Q9300, 2x 1G OCZ Plat DDR3-1800, ATI HD 3650, 400x7.5
    RALPH,ELMO,MONSTER: Intel 975XBX2, Q6600, 2x 1G OCZ DDR2-1066, 356x9
    COOKIE,OSCAR: DFI BloodIron, Q6600, 2x 1G OCZ DDR2-1066, stock

    GTJ's Intel 975XBX2 Bad Axe 2 Guide including the Memory Calculator
    GTJ's Intel DX38BT/DX48BT2 Bone Trail Memory Calculator



  14. #1514
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    In a house
    Posts
    21
    Quote Originally Posted by Randy View Post
    A 280GTX also takes out 2 ports. I have a pair of 4870's as well and the ports are all open.
    I used to run a pair of 3870's without any fouling, myself...........
    but the (at least) HIS 4870x2 (not two individual 4870 cards but the new one card with two gpu's onboard)

    It's certainly a nice card though.
    QX9650 3.0 @ 1333 MHz
    DX38BT
    4x 36GbRaptors... RAID_0
    1x 36Gb Raptor... satellite drive
    Twin3x2048 1600C7DHX (7-7-7-20 60-4-10-5-5)
    HIS Radeon 4870x2 2GB VGA
    Auzentech Prelude
    Samsung 226BW
    D-Tek CPU W/block with quad nozzle
    3.2 pump w/ Plexitop
    Vista* HP SP1 32bit
    Antec P190 case (c/w 650/ 550w PSU)
    Powerware 5125a UPS
    DeathAdder mouse
    Tarantula keyboard
    TrackIR 4
    CH Fighterstick and Hotas
    Saitek Pro pedals


    "You can always tell a coward by the people they bully"

  15. #1515
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,917
    Quote Originally Posted by Rainstir View Post
    Hello Bonetail folks.

    I am about to make my final purchases for my new system. My main goal my systems are stability. I dont plan to OC this rig. If I could get some imput on it I would really like that. One main concern is the Mem I am getting or plan to.. Any imput would be great.. good or bad.

    Specs:
    MB: Intel DX48BT2
    Proc: Q9550
    Mem OCZ Fatal1ty Edition 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) (combo with the processor from the egg)
    Drive: V-raptor
    Video EVGA 512-P3-N801-AR GeForce 8800 GT 512MB 256-bit (I know sli is not supported the card was given to me)
    PSU Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
    OS: Vista Ultimate SP1 English NA DVD - Retail

    Thanks for your time and any comments.
    i don't think it would be worth it to buy a DDR3 motherboard if you don't plan on overclocking. DDR2 still costs less and has no trouble with the speeds you'll need to run a stock Q9550.
    My Videos
    GRID Demolition Derby * GRID Camaro vs. Mustang * Audiosurf - Speed Racer
    I Shot the Hosties * Slightly Stupid * Dump Truck


    Intel Haswell 4770K * 2x8GB Mushkin Redline DDR3 1866 CL9 * Asus Maximus VI Gene * Sapphire 7870 GHz Edition
    500GB Samsung 840 Series SSD + 2TB WD Raid Edition 3 magnetic * SilverStone Temjin case * Corsair TX750 PSU * Corsair H60 water cooler * Win7 Pro x64

  16. #1516
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    49
    Quote Originally Posted by xMrBunglex View Post
    Sweet looking rig! Why not cap it off with an OCZ Vendetta 2 instead of that ASUS HS? Still extremely quiet, but the temps will likely allow you to squeeze out a little more overclock.
    MB: Intel DX48BT2 (Bios 2006) | CPU: Intel Q6600 (S-SPEC: SLACR) (FP0/BATCH: L805A094) | HSF: OCZ Vendetta 2 | RAM: 8GB Corsair XMS3 DHX DDR3 | GPU: Visiontek HD4850 | PSU: Zalman ZM600-HP 600Watt Heatpipe | OS: Windows 7 Home Premium x64

  17. #1517
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,917
    thank you very much. i love my Asus heatsink because it's pretty and i'm shallow:



    besides, it has a special baffle inside that directs some of the airflow onto my VRM heatsinks, so it helps keep everything cool.
    My Videos
    GRID Demolition Derby * GRID Camaro vs. Mustang * Audiosurf - Speed Racer
    I Shot the Hosties * Slightly Stupid * Dump Truck


    Intel Haswell 4770K * 2x8GB Mushkin Redline DDR3 1866 CL9 * Asus Maximus VI Gene * Sapphire 7870 GHz Edition
    500GB Samsung 840 Series SSD + 2TB WD Raid Edition 3 magnetic * SilverStone Temjin case * Corsair TX750 PSU * Corsair H60 water cooler * Win7 Pro x64

  18. #1518
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Denver, CO US
    Posts
    873
    Quote Originally Posted by xMrBunglex View Post
    thank you very much. i love my Asus heatsink because it's pretty and i'm shallow:


    BERT: Intel DX48BT2, E8500, 2x 1G OCZ Plat DDR3-1800, 2xATI HD 3850, 450x9.5
    ERNIE: Intel DX38BT, Q9300, 2x 1G OCZ Plat DDR3-1800, ATI HD 3650, 400x7.5
    RALPH,ELMO,MONSTER: Intel 975XBX2, Q6600, 2x 1G OCZ DDR2-1066, 356x9
    COOKIE,OSCAR: DFI BloodIron, Q6600, 2x 1G OCZ DDR2-1066, stock

    GTJ's Intel 975XBX2 Bad Axe 2 Guide including the Memory Calculator
    GTJ's Intel DX38BT/DX48BT2 Bone Trail Memory Calculator



  19. #1519
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    3
    Today I recieved my Q9550 and the ram for my new build. I put it all togeter and on the first push of the start botton it has worked. I have Win Vist 64 install.. it seems to work very well on my bonetail 48. what a nice machine. Now to install some nice games Thanks for the advice I had asked for.. it paid off and I didnt fry 1600 dollars

  20. #1520
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Posts
    206
    Quote Originally Posted by Rainstir View Post
    Today I recieved my Q9550 and the ram for my new build. I put it all togeter and on the first push of the start botton it has worked. I have Win Vist 64 install.. it seems to work very well on my bonetail 48. what a nice machine. Now to install some nice games Thanks for the advice I had asked for.. it paid off and I didnt fry 1600 dollars


    Someones actually happy with this board out of the box !
    975 XE @ 4.0GHZ - Thermaltake TRUE REV 3
    12GB Corsair Dominator 1600MHZ
    EVGA 132-BL-E758-A1
    2 X Gigabyte HD5970's CFX
    2X Runcore Pro IV 128GB SSD's in RAID 0 & 2X 2TB WD Enterprise in RAID 1
    2X Plextor 810SA DLDVD SATA
    Thermaltake 1KW Toughpower
    Coolermaster Sniper
    Dell 30" 3007FPW
    HEAT - Randy2

  21. #1521
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Aveiro, Portugal
    Posts
    722
    I see no one posting new features on the newest 1814 BIOS. Nothing new? Still no mem timings enhancements? Is tRD (or Performance Level, whatever you wanna call it) already available?
    Tony, where are you man? Any news you can share with the crowd?
    I guess the power cycling issue is still there, otherwise someone would have noticed it, right?
    Guess IDCC will stay Beta forever, no new versions out for a (long) while now. Believe it or not I like the little sucker.
    Intel engineers, if you're listening/reading (I know you are), for when UEFI?
    Intel DX38BT BoneTrail AAD85848-503, BIOS BTX3810J.86A.2006.2009.1023.1057
    Intel Core 2 Duo E8200 Wolfdale 2.66GHz SLAPP
    OCZ Platinum DDR3 1333 (10666) Dual Channel 2x2GB 7-7-7-20-10-60-4-5 1T 1.82V
    XFX GeForce 8800GT 512MB
    Antec 900
    SeaSonic S12II 430W
    WD 80GB SATA HDD
    Sony DRU-190S SATA DVD-RW
    HP w2207 22" monitor
    Microsoft Wireless Laser Desktop 6000 v2
    Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium x32 SP2

  22. #1522
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,917
    i went to a LAN party this weekend and i can absolutely confirm that 1814 did not fix the no-POST after power has been cut off. we kept tripping circuit breakers and i was always the last person to get my computer rebooted because i had to boot it twice each time.
    My Videos
    GRID Demolition Derby * GRID Camaro vs. Mustang * Audiosurf - Speed Racer
    I Shot the Hosties * Slightly Stupid * Dump Truck


    Intel Haswell 4770K * 2x8GB Mushkin Redline DDR3 1866 CL9 * Asus Maximus VI Gene * Sapphire 7870 GHz Edition
    500GB Samsung 840 Series SSD + 2TB WD Raid Edition 3 magnetic * SilverStone Temjin case * Corsair TX750 PSU * Corsair H60 water cooler * Win7 Pro x64

  23. #1523
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Denver, CO US
    Posts
    873
    Odd, 1814 fixed the no-post after power issue on my x38 board but not the x48. Anyway, I just spent the weekend retuning both boards from scratch and I can say that 1814 is the best BIOS so far. I was able to get both boards stable with less voltage and tighter timings than before. Possibly because the GTL Reference voltage settings now work. Dropping them from 67 to 64-66 did a lot for me above 430 FSB.


    BERT: Intel DX48BT2, E8500, 2x 1G OCZ Plat DDR3-1800, 2xATI HD 3850, 450x9.5
    ERNIE: Intel DX38BT, Q9300, 2x 1G OCZ Plat DDR3-1800, ATI HD 3650, 400x7.5
    RALPH,ELMO,MONSTER: Intel 975XBX2, Q6600, 2x 1G OCZ DDR2-1066, 356x9
    COOKIE,OSCAR: DFI BloodIron, Q6600, 2x 1G OCZ DDR2-1066, stock

    GTJ's Intel 975XBX2 Bad Axe 2 Guide including the Memory Calculator
    GTJ's Intel DX38BT/DX48BT2 Bone Trail Memory Calculator



  24. #1524
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    86
    Well we may have a another problem if anyone besides me because I did it already, wants to upgrade to a 4870x2,the x48 chipset has problem with this card from what I read on the net and what happen to me if I try to play games on it. As soon as the game loads to play, the screen turns black and the computer restarts, it does it when I try to run 3dmark06 and in wow it runs for little until the graphics level goes up.
    I try the card in a p35 board and it works.
    Last edited by Moose2; 08-24-2008 at 10:15 AM.
    Computer#1-Intel X3360- Gigabyte X48T-DQ6- OCZ DDR3 Reaper- 2X150G Raptor & 250G Storage- Powercolor 4870x2-Antec 1000watt PS- Vista Business 64bit.

  25. #1525
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    53
    IMHO, X38 is constructed for CrossFire (ATI) and X48 for SLI (nVidia)

    btw. Mobo won't work stable on oc'ed settings. On default - it's my best hardware ever.
    Intel was'nt kidded about n00bz 8)
    DX38BT (BIOS v.2006)
    Q9400@3.36GHz, Scythe Suriken rev. B
    2X2Gb Samsung DDR3 7-7-7-19-1T
    E-MU 1212m, Sapphire HD 4870
    EIZO S1910, CoolerMaster Cosmos 1000
    Thermaltake ToughPower 750w
    Win7 x64 Pro

Page 61 of 117 FirstFirst ... 11515859606162636471111 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •