Page 58 of 117 FirstFirst ... 8485556575859606168108 ... LastLast
Results 1,426 to 1,450 of 2906

Thread: ** OFFICIAL ** Intel DX38BT & DX48BT2 BoneTrail Thread

  1. #1426
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    In a house
    Posts
    21
    Manel
    My apologies, the rear panel expansion bracket I used which has two ports on it, came from my old BadAxe2 motherboard
    I was refering to the rear panel expansion bracket, not the normal USB ports which are alongside the LAN/ Audio outs...


    Glad the mouse/ keyboard problem was sorted


    Did anyone try the boot CPU # and RAM amount, in (Vista*) MSConfig?

    + edit
    Last edited by Wolf_Rider; 08-07-2008 at 02:43 PM.
    QX9650 3.0 @ 1333 MHz
    DX38BT
    4x 36GbRaptors... RAID_0
    1x 36Gb Raptor... satellite drive
    Twin3x2048 1600C7DHX (7-7-7-20 60-4-10-5-5)
    HIS Radeon 4870x2 2GB VGA
    Auzentech Prelude
    Samsung 226BW
    D-Tek CPU W/block with quad nozzle
    3.2 pump w/ Plexitop
    Vista* HP SP1 32bit
    Antec P190 case (c/w 650/ 550w PSU)
    Powerware 5125a UPS
    DeathAdder mouse
    Tarantula keyboard
    TrackIR 4
    CH Fighterstick and Hotas
    Saitek Pro pedals


    "You can always tell a coward by the people they bully"

  2. #1427
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    41
    I feel like crying, the intel DX48BT2 is beating me like a red headed stepchild. I've given up tonight but seems like I just can't get the darn thing to post stable at 400mhz with 1600mhz FSB/Memory.

    Memory: OCZ3X16004GK
    Board: Intel DX48BT2
    BIOS: 1782

    I've beat my head on the desk for about 3 days trying to reach 400mhz on the FSB. It just doesn't seem FSB friendly at all.

    - disabled C1E
    - disabled EIST
    - tried default voltages
    - tried various steps up to 1.35v on the MCH/NB as well, still no love.

    Has anyone had just a really bad board that doesn't work at 400FSB?

  3. #1428
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,917
    your MCH volts are too low. i think i'm at 1.35 vFSB and 1.425 vMCH to run my FSB at 450.
    My Videos
    GRID Demolition Derby * GRID Camaro vs. Mustang * Audiosurf - Speed Racer
    I Shot the Hosties * Slightly Stupid * Dump Truck


    Intel Haswell 4770K * 2x8GB Mushkin Redline DDR3 1866 CL9 * Asus Maximus VI Gene * Sapphire 7870 GHz Edition
    500GB Samsung 840 Series SSD + 2TB WD Raid Edition 3 magnetic * SilverStone Temjin case * Corsair TX750 PSU * Corsair H60 water cooler * Win7 Pro x64

  4. #1429
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    41
    Quote Originally Posted by xMrBunglex View Post
    your MCH volts are too low. i think i'm at 1.35 vFSB and 1.425 vMCH to run my FSB at 450.
    Tried those as well, it just hard locks, I'm beginning to wonder if something is wrong with this board.

    Does anyone with the DX48BT2 notice that the chipset drivers show up at the X38?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  5. #1430
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    49
    Blistering review on HardOCP. In the discussion thread Kyle asks for proof that the board can do better at overclocking, despite suggestions to test with at least the 1554 BIOS. If you have top end results to show that are stable and with CPU-Z to back it up, I suggest you head over there and let them know.

    Be polite, just provide proof.

    http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1333340
    MB: Intel DX48BT2 (Bios 2006) | CPU: Intel Q6600 (S-SPEC: SLACR) (FP0/BATCH: L805A094) | HSF: OCZ Vendetta 2 | RAM: 8GB Corsair XMS3 DHX DDR3 | GPU: Visiontek HD4850 | PSU: Zalman ZM600-HP 600Watt Heatpipe | OS: Windows 7 Home Premium x64

  6. #1431
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,917
    a "professional" review using a nine month old BIOS? that's brilliant. i'm not going to take the time to register on that forum just to tell Kyle he's a tool and get banned. i'm sure he knows anyway. i'll post a shot of my last 3DMark run in case he ever visits this thread. i've never tried to go higher than 480 FSB. the OC i got for this run worked on my first try.



    and Kyle couldn't get over 325 FSB. he sounds like a very honest reviewer.
    My Videos
    GRID Demolition Derby * GRID Camaro vs. Mustang * Audiosurf - Speed Racer
    I Shot the Hosties * Slightly Stupid * Dump Truck


    Intel Haswell 4770K * 2x8GB Mushkin Redline DDR3 1866 CL9 * Asus Maximus VI Gene * Sapphire 7870 GHz Edition
    500GB Samsung 840 Series SSD + 2TB WD Raid Edition 3 magnetic * SilverStone Temjin case * Corsair TX750 PSU * Corsair H60 water cooler * Win7 Pro x64

  7. #1432
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,917
    wasn't Kyle the guy that forged some CPU-Z validations to make an overclock of his look bigger than it was and then banned the members of his forum that called him on it?

    http://www.tweaktown.com/news/2658/h...ins/index.html
    My Videos
    GRID Demolition Derby * GRID Camaro vs. Mustang * Audiosurf - Speed Racer
    I Shot the Hosties * Slightly Stupid * Dump Truck


    Intel Haswell 4770K * 2x8GB Mushkin Redline DDR3 1866 CL9 * Asus Maximus VI Gene * Sapphire 7870 GHz Edition
    500GB Samsung 840 Series SSD + 2TB WD Raid Edition 3 magnetic * SilverStone Temjin case * Corsair TX750 PSU * Corsair H60 water cooler * Win7 Pro x64

  8. #1433
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,202
    Quote Originally Posted by xMrBunglex View Post
    wasn't Kyle the guy that forged some CPU-Z validations to make an overclock of his look bigger than it was and then banned the members of his forum that called him on it?

    http://www.tweaktown.com/news/2658/h...ins/index.html
    Jeez man, that link was dated in 2002. Criminals get off with less.

  9. #1434
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Old Vizima
    Posts
    958
    I mentioned to [H]ard if this board has the "watch dog" feature and they didn't kill it, that could gimp their OC.

    Why they wouldn't use the latest BIOS is a mystery to me as you can download the .exe and update it with one click. I love Intel BIOS updates

    BTW has anyone tried the below G Skill DDR 3 1600 4GB kit in this board?

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231167

    I been thinking about trying the DX48BT2 and would like to use said ram.
    Last edited by Blacklash; 08-08-2008 at 07:16 AM.

  10. #1435
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    41
    all I know is my board is kicking me in the face with a pair of steel toed boots trying to get this thing stable on anything other than the normal clocks. It just does not like 1600mhz FSB, with a 1333mhz processor.

  11. #1436
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    41
    The one thing I have noticed:

    - is that some people can't even reach 1333mhz FSB with a 1066 processor, but yet can turn around and drop an E6750 and it works at default speeds out the box. This definitely seems BIOS related, what's the default way most people have been updating the BIOS on the DX48BT2? I've tried the ISO that's on Intel's site but it can't find the cdrom. I'm beginning to wonder when I did the BIOS update if it didn't go right and something is fubar now.

  12. #1437
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    8
    I've tried the ISO that's on Intel's site but it can't find the cdrom
    fyi, are your drive configs set to ide mode, does'nt work in sata/ahci mode.

  13. #1438
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    41
    Quote Originally Posted by craftsman View Post
    fyi, are your drive configs set to ide mode, does'nt work in sata/ahci mode.
    Nope, that should fix it then.

    Thanks,
    - John

  14. #1439
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Denver, CO US
    Posts
    873
    Quote Originally Posted by Budman View Post
    After new bios my computer will now restart without the 4870 complaining about power. Glad i didn't buy that new power supply the the geniuses at visiontek said i needed (trust the end user, not the salesman). I did change some other things but i believe the bios upgrade fixed it. If it fixed it for Gtj then we know it has to be the bios fix. Just figured iI would give an update.

    Is yours all good Gtj?

    Intel DX38BT, Q9300, 4x 1Gb corsair xms 1333c9 (running at 1133 8-8-8-22) , ATI HD 4870, 425x7.5(orthos test tonite ) 415x7.5(tested 8hrs)
    Actually, I think it DID fix that problem. I hadn't even noticed.


    BERT: Intel DX48BT2, E8500, 2x 1G OCZ Plat DDR3-1800, 2xATI HD 3850, 450x9.5
    ERNIE: Intel DX38BT, Q9300, 2x 1G OCZ Plat DDR3-1800, ATI HD 3650, 400x7.5
    RALPH,ELMO,MONSTER: Intel 975XBX2, Q6600, 2x 1G OCZ DDR2-1066, 356x9
    COOKIE,OSCAR: DFI BloodIron, Q6600, 2x 1G OCZ DDR2-1066, stock

    GTJ's Intel 975XBX2 Bad Axe 2 Guide including the Memory Calculator
    GTJ's Intel DX38BT/DX48BT2 Bone Trail Memory Calculator



  15. #1440
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Denver, CO US
    Posts
    873
    Quote Originally Posted by Sean-E-Boy View Post
    anyone noticing delayed HDD detection/boot times with the new BIOS/RAID driver?

    Sean
    No issues here with 1 drive solo and 4 in a raid 10.

    Quote Originally Posted by HighTest View Post
    Blistering review on HardOCP. In the discussion thread Kyle asks for proof that the board can do better at overclocking, despite suggestions to test with at least the 1554 BIOS. If you have top end results to show that are stable and with CPU-Z to back it up, I suggest you head over there and let them know.

    Be polite, just provide proof.

    http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1333340
    I'd rather spend time helping folks who have the board than spending time trying to convince people to buy it.

    Quote Originally Posted by silvrhand View Post
    I feel like crying, the intel DX48BT2 is beating me like a red headed stepchild. I've given up tonight but seems like I just can't get the darn thing to post stable at 400mhz with 1600mhz FSB/Memory.

    Memory: OCZ3X16004GK
    Board: Intel DX48BT2
    BIOS: 1782

    I've beat my head on the desk for about 3 days trying to reach 400mhz on the FSB. It just doesn't seem FSB friendly at all.

    - disabled C1E
    - disabled EIST
    - tried default voltages
    - tried various steps up to 1.35v on the MCH/NB as well, still no love.

    Has anyone had just a really bad board that doesn't work at 400FSB?
    Quote Originally Posted by silvrhand View Post
    all I know is my board is kicking me in the face with a pair of steel toed boots trying to get this thing stable on anything other than the normal clocks. It just does not like 1600mhz FSB, with a 1333mhz processor.
    Quote Originally Posted by silvrhand View Post
    The one thing I have noticed:

    - is that some people can't even reach 1333mhz FSB with a 1066 processor, but yet can turn around and drop an E6750 and it works at default speeds out the box. This definitely seems BIOS related, what's the default way most people have been updating the BIOS on the DX48BT2? I've tried the ISO that's on Intel's site but it can't find the cdrom. I'm beginning to wonder when I did the BIOS update if it didn't go right and something is fubar now.
    and don't cry.

    2 threads I'd suggest anyone with this board read....
    http://www.ocztechnologyforum.com/fo...ad.php?t=40746

    http://www.ocztechnologyforum.com/fo...ad.php?t=38357

    These are written by Tony at OCZ but the theory applies to any X38/X48, DDR3 board. and just FYI... the reference voltage adjustments in the 1554 and 1782 bios don't work yet.


    BERT: Intel DX48BT2, E8500, 2x 1G OCZ Plat DDR3-1800, 2xATI HD 3850, 450x9.5
    ERNIE: Intel DX38BT, Q9300, 2x 1G OCZ Plat DDR3-1800, ATI HD 3650, 400x7.5
    RALPH,ELMO,MONSTER: Intel 975XBX2, Q6600, 2x 1G OCZ DDR2-1066, 356x9
    COOKIE,OSCAR: DFI BloodIron, Q6600, 2x 1G OCZ DDR2-1066, stock

    GTJ's Intel 975XBX2 Bad Axe 2 Guide including the Memory Calculator
    GTJ's Intel DX38BT/DX48BT2 Bone Trail Memory Calculator



  16. #1441
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by xMrBunglex View Post
    wasn't Kyle the guy that forged some CPU-Z validations to make an overclock of his look bigger than it was and then banned the members of his forum that called him on it?

    http://www.tweaktown.com/news/2658/h...ins/index.html
    He banned me from the motherboard forum for calling this X48BT2 review terrible.

  17. #1442
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    21
    ok. i have my memory prime95 stable now. the real truth is to run the hell out of it for a few days and see if i get and BSOD's. lol. if this turns out to be stable i am going to start trying to oc it in a week or so. any suggestions on what to start with. my fsb and cpu is at default my ram is at def ref and 1333 and seems to be stable at 1.82v. you people have been a real big help. thanks for all the support.
    Caneymud

    DX38BT
    Q9300
    4GB (2X2GB) OCZ Extreme edition
    NVIDIA 9600 (1GB)
    Zalman 750W PS
    Zalman CPU COOLER
    XP PRO

  18. #1443
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    21
    ok. so much for that i got a BSOD today while playing WOW. i ran prime95 all night last night and awoke to a screen with big blocks randomly placed on it. done a restart and it seems to work fine but these BSOD'S and crashes are getting annoying. any suggestions what to do next
    Caneymud

    DX38BT
    Q9300
    4GB (2X2GB) OCZ Extreme edition
    NVIDIA 9600 (1GB)
    Zalman 750W PS
    Zalman CPU COOLER
    XP PRO

  19. #1444
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Denver, CO US
    Posts
    873
    Quote Originally Posted by caneymud View Post
    ok. so much for that i got a BSOD today while playing WOW. i ran prime95 all night last night and awoke to a screen with big blocks randomly placed on it. done a restart and it seems to work fine but these BSOD'S and crashes are getting annoying. any suggestions what to do next
    If you're pretty sure it's not your memory then check your hard drives/filesystem. IIRC a version of Passmark's Burn-In Test came on the driver cd. Do the read-write test for a while and see what happens.


    BERT: Intel DX48BT2, E8500, 2x 1G OCZ Plat DDR3-1800, 2xATI HD 3850, 450x9.5
    ERNIE: Intel DX38BT, Q9300, 2x 1G OCZ Plat DDR3-1800, ATI HD 3650, 400x7.5
    RALPH,ELMO,MONSTER: Intel 975XBX2, Q6600, 2x 1G OCZ DDR2-1066, 356x9
    COOKIE,OSCAR: DFI BloodIron, Q6600, 2x 1G OCZ DDR2-1066, stock

    GTJ's Intel 975XBX2 Bad Axe 2 Guide including the Memory Calculator
    GTJ's Intel DX38BT/DX48BT2 Bone Trail Memory Calculator



  20. #1445
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,917
    i used to get random blue screens when i got this mobo. they stopped as soon as i uninstalled IDCC.
    My Videos
    GRID Demolition Derby * GRID Camaro vs. Mustang * Audiosurf - Speed Racer
    I Shot the Hosties * Slightly Stupid * Dump Truck


    Intel Haswell 4770K * 2x8GB Mushkin Redline DDR3 1866 CL9 * Asus Maximus VI Gene * Sapphire 7870 GHz Edition
    500GB Samsung 840 Series SSD + 2TB WD Raid Edition 3 magnetic * SilverStone Temjin case * Corsair TX750 PSU * Corsair H60 water cooler * Win7 Pro x64

  21. #1446
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    41
    This board is just not right:

    - C1E disabled
    - EIST disabled

    And CPUZ is reporting that the CPU multiplier is adjusting back and forth during idle periods. I've been able to get the FSB stable up to 433mhz but anything that breeches 1333mhz on the memory just starts giving all kind of fits.

    Also seems like the voltage is jumping ALL over the place constantly even though I have it fixed settings in the BIOS. It just seems like half the BIOS options right now for this board are not working.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by silvrhand; 08-09-2008 at 09:25 PM.

  22. #1447
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    84
    silvrhand:

    If you are NOT on the 1782 BIOS do it NOW, do not pass go, do not collect $200 dollars.

    1) Load optimized defautls
    2) Save config
    3) Set you general perf options, (not highly pushed) but mostly the correct setup.
    4) Save config.
    5) Reboot
    6) Test for stability, esp, if processor mostly at stock same with RAM purchages run time values, not the 1066 9-9-9-15 Bull.
    7) I get best works if I bump up MCH 1 notice and one FSB on the cpu as I run my Qx9770 at 3.6 Ghz and 2x2GB 1600 1t ram.
    8) C1 and EISt are. Also leave CPU voltage default, the BIOS seems to be pretty good at picknig the next 'UP' value for overclocking the CPU.

    Hope this helps.

  23. #1448
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    21
    What do you mean load optimized defaults dual? Is that reset to defaults with no jumper? Where do i find log to tell what happened when BSOD? and are you saying C1E, and EIST are enabled? I have 1782 BIOS and trying to run conservative. Running XP Pro, maybe it is corrupt from the crashes when tuning memory (idk). should i be running vista? I know these are alot of questions but i am trying to get this stable. I just hope i havent hurt hardware. right now my memory (OCZ3X13334GK) is at 9-9-9-24 1.82v 1T with ref of default. EIST, C1E, and watchdog are disabled. processor and MCH FSB settings are stock or default. i had memory at 7-7-7-20 1.82v (what it is supposed to run) and it seemed like no difference. It sucks to be playing WOW and just all of a sudden out of nowhere get a BSOD for no good reason (not doing anything special and WOW is the only prog running). i am going to try what gtj said tomorrow with the read write test. but i am leaning toward windows corrupt. if it is i will bail on xp and go to vista lol. thanks for the help y'all. this forum has saved a DX38BT from being broken against the wall!!!
    Caneymud

    DX38BT
    Q9300
    4GB (2X2GB) OCZ Extreme edition
    NVIDIA 9600 (1GB)
    Zalman 750W PS
    Zalman CPU COOLER
    XP PRO

  24. #1449
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    53
    Intel® Matrix Storage Technology (RAID) driver updated to version 8.5.0.1032

    As ususal, no release notes.
    Last edited by petr0id; 08-11-2008 at 04:38 AM.
    DX38BT (BIOS v.2006)
    Q9400@3.36GHz, Scythe Suriken rev. B
    2X2Gb Samsung DDR3 7-7-7-19-1T
    E-MU 1212m, Sapphire HD 4870
    EIZO S1910, CoolerMaster Cosmos 1000
    Thermaltake ToughPower 750w
    Win7 x64 Pro

  25. #1450
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    41
    Ok some progress it's definitely narrowed down to the MCH/memory, it's apparently very grouchy once you try to get past DDR3-667.

    - reflashed to 1782, even though I was already on it via the cdrom.
    - reloaded defaults
    - set multiplier to lowest possible.
    - set memory to or < DDR3-667 on every test.
    - was able to get 430mhz on the FSB with memory < DDR3-667.
    - bumped voltage a bit on the FSB to no avail, active cooler a no go due to thermaltake V1 cooler.

    I've tried two sets of memory, and was wondering what people have had the most luck with based on the DX48BT2.
    - which slots did you use (blue vs. black)
    - 2x2G or 2x1G memory?
    - brand/type

    Thanks,
    - John
    - anytime I get the memory > 1333mzh the board just goes into spasms.

Page 58 of 117 FirstFirst ... 8485556575859606168108 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •