OCN2
Page 5 of 25 FirstFirst ... 234567815 ... LastLast
Results 101 to 125 of 613

Thread: "Core Temp" - A program for accurate K8 temperature monitoring

  1. #101
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    1,204
    Nice app….. I’ve never been much for running “Topless”. I usually only pick up a few degrees anyway, nothing that could really help an OC….

    Testing with this app I found I was running:

    Core #1 @ 41 idle and 58 load
    Core #2 @ 36 idle and 48 load

    Finally a tool that can detect a problem…. Needless to say I popped the top.

    Results:

    Core #1 33 idle and 45 load
    Core #2 33 idle and 45 load

    Pretty damn cool! Guess it’s time to bump the clock!

    Thanks again - Great Tool.......
    Asus P8P67-M Pro - Bios 413
    i7-2600K LO41C106
    Cooler Master V8 - Antec 180 Mini
    G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB)
    Sissy OC - 4.6 @ 1.3175 24/7 | 18' Idle - 55' Load
    Windows 7 MS Is Getting Better...

    Personal Site!

  2. #102
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Tel Aviv, Israel
    Posts
    1,144
    Quote Originally Posted by Stigma
    So basicly, all the other programs to date have been relying on motherboard sensors? I haven't really researched into that. I was just assuming support for reading the internal sensor was implemented shortly after the CPUs started to come equiped with them.

    But yea, if thats the case, then obviously the internal sensor will be much more accurate, probably as close as close to a truthful reading that we can get, depending on the quality of the sensors themselves (which I assume are within 1-2 degrees maxium given todays technology).

    You should definately contact the creators of the other popular monitor programs and share your findings so they can implement the same into their own creations. Not that your program isn't adequate, but it would be a shame not to spead the information. I assume that commercial profit from this isn't your goal anyway =)

    -Stigma
    Not quite.
    The mobos read the temp using external sensors connected to the internal diode inside the CPU. So the accuracy of the reading will really depend on the quality of the sensor and on the quality of the signal which that little diode is putting out, going outside the CPU, into the mobo's circuitry and into the external sensor located on the board.

    Quote Originally Posted by 3oh6
    hey The Coolest...is there anyway that a naked core vs an IHS covered one would result in a false reading. i have a 3/8" waterchill loop setup on one test rig and on my 3200+ AM2 I would load around 45-50C @ 2.8GHz depending on ambient temp.

    a few minutes ago i popped the top on the little sucker and put it back under water...almost 20C drop in load temps was the result. i am not one to trust such a wide swing and was curious to know if you think a naked core would effect the temp readings that much?
    Are you speaking of a 20C drop via Core Temp? If so its quite possible I guess, if the IHS had really poor contact with the core. Also IHS represents another layer of material interfering the HSF/Waterblock to take the heat away from the CPU core as efficiently as possible.

    Quote Originally Posted by pcdoc1
    Nice app….. I’ve never been much for running “Topless”. I usually only pick up a few degrees anyway, nothing that could really help an OC….

    Testing with this app I found I was running:

    Core #1 @ 41 idle and 58 load
    Core #2 @ 36 idle and 48 load

    Finally a tool that can detect a problem…. Needless to say I popped the top.

    Results:

    Core #1 33 idle and 45 load
    Core #2 33 idle and 45 load

    Pretty damn cool! Guess it’s time to bump the clock!

    Thanks again - Great Tool.......
    That is some interesting info. I wonder if this kind of result will be consistent or not.
    Last edited by The Coolest; 07-06-2006 at 07:24 PM.
    Member of Overclockers.com Folding @ Home team
    "<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
    Main rig:
    AMD Ryzen 7 2700X / Mobo: Asrock Fatal1ty X470 / EVO 970 500GB + WD Blue 250GB + HDD / GPU: Dell RX 570 4GB / Mem: 2x16GB DDR4-3200 G.Skill 32GTZKW TridentZ - 32GB total / PSU: Seasonic Prime Ultra Gold 650W
    Secondary rigs:
    Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.3GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / 2x Inland Pro 120GB / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 8GBXL RipJawsX - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
    Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ 4.0GHz (Freezer 7 Pro) / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 4x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 8GB total / PSU: Antec 380W.

    Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors

  3. #103
    uncore challenged...
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    ontari-ho (canada)
    Posts
    1,656
    Quote Originally Posted by The Coolest
    Are you speaking of a 20C drop via Core Temp? If so its quite possible I guess, if the IHS had really poor contact with the core. Also IHS represents another layer of material interfering the HSF/Waterblock to take the heat away from the CPU core as efficiently as possible.
    yeah, 20C gap between the Core Temp readings. the contact looked good, that is what stumped me. i thought perhaps there was something else going on because 20C seems waaaay to much for just the IHS coming off unless of course it was dry under there but it wasn't. the thermal paste looked in really good shape. thanx for the response.

  4. #104
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Upstate, NY
    Posts
    5,612
    My old Venice looked to have great contact but I still got 3-5*C drop!

    Nick
    Core i3-550 Clarkdale @ 4.2GHz, 1.36v (Corsair A50 HS/F) LinX Stable
    MSI H55-GD65 Motherboard
    G.Skill 4GBRL DDR3-1600 @ 1755, CL9, 1.55v
    Sapphire Radeon 5750 1GB
    Samsung F4 320GB - WD Green 1TB
    Xigmatek Utgard Case - Corsair VX550

  5. #105
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Harlingen, TX
    Posts
    382
    I noticed a big difference in the temps on my a8n32-sli and fx-57 the asus temp program and speedfan both report my cpu temp as being -12c at idle in windows. your program reports the core temp as being -28c (im running a prometeia mach II) I hope you program is right as being i like your numbers better I really think you should have the title of your thread changed now that you have it working on processors other than the Rev F chips. and i think you should have it stickied on one of the forum topics, finally there is a way for people with fairly current hardware to get accurate cpu temps. As soon as my jinuv2000 ss phase shows up and i build my fx-62 system i will be downloading all your software and sending you a paypal. Very nice work, Thanks a ton. Please keep working on it. Give us a speedfan type app but with your accurate measurements, logging and gui enhancements are all thats lacking.
    Thanks again and my paypal is on the way
    Thanks
    Lee

  6. #106
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    Quote Originally Posted by 3oh6
    yeah, 20C gap between the Core Temp readings. the contact looked good, that is what stumped me. i thought perhaps there was something else going on because 20C seems waaaay to much for just the IHS coming off unless of course it was dry under there but it wasn't. the thermal paste looked in really good shape. thanx for the response.
    i had a 20C dropped on one of my Opti CPUs after popping the hood
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  7. #107
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    172
    I have a 3 degrees difference

    Intel D975XBX2
    X6800 ES @3.6 Ghz
    4X1024MB OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 Gold Dual Channel 4-4-4-12
    2x500GB Western Digial SATA II HDD-Raid 0
    Sapphire Radeon HD 4870 512MB
    Corsair HX620W
    Water loop: Storm,D5,Silverprop Cyclone FusionHL, Coolingworks 32T
    My Stacker

  8. #108
    uncore challenged...
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    ontari-ho (canada)
    Posts
    1,656
    i finally have some screenshots of Core Temp in action, catching the AMD IHS napping. notice how the idle temperature at a lower clock with less volts is higher than the load temp with more volts and clock. if i didn't do the testing myself i wouldn't believe it. no IHS makes the waterchill unit look king

    290 x 10 / 1.60v set in nTune / IDLE - w/IHS max CPU on waterchill


    300 x 10 / 1.65v set in nTune / LOAD - wo/IHS max CPU on waterchill


    bloody hell i hate not having working programs for voltages and whatnot that are ss friendly. ntune works with the C51 for clocking and is the only way i can get past HTT290 but to take a ss with any amount of info...forget it.
    Last edited by 3oh6; 07-06-2006 at 10:22 PM.

  9. #109
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    60
    Firstly, nice proggy Coolest Many people have been waiting for something like this for a long while.

    I thought I might make you aware, when running OCCT & Core Temp simultaneously, the Core Temp reading jumps straight to -49 until OCCT is exited.

    Not too much of a biggie as I can just run Prime, Stress CPU etc but thought I may as well make you aware while the proggy is still in beta mode.

    Best of luck
    i4memory.com

    Main: E8400 @ 4Ghz / 1.32v (Q745 & Q807) | ASUS P5Q-E | 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer
    Secondary: Intel E6600ES Step 5 B1 (3.6Ghz/1.38v) | P5B Deluxe | 4GB Micron D9GCT (OEM)
    Laptop: IBM Thinkpad T60 [Core Duo T2500 - 2Ghz] | 2GB DDR2 | 100GB HDD | ATi Radeon X1400
    HTPC: A64x2 3800+ @ 2.75Ghz/1.35v | DFI CFX3200-DR | 2x512MB GSkill GH | 6600GT | WD 160GB | Antec 500W Earthwatts | Antec 1000AMG | 32" LCD

  10. #110
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    98
    this is the best program i have ever used

    for people who are a having a weaker core, or what they belive to be weaker isnt so

    i was getting 60c load on core 1 then 40c on core 2

    if u run prime watch the core temps, slowly adjust the screws on you heatsink until the temps are close or the same, then u will notice your weak core will run alot better
    fx60@3.0ghz, A8R32-MVP, Corsair XMS3500Pro, x1900xt Crossfire Setup, Acer 24" pi1m 26.203
    3D Mark 01-40435, 03-32515, 05-16708 06-10308 http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=102457

  11. #111
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    Quote Originally Posted by turbotoaster
    this is the best program i have ever used

    for people who are a having a weaker core, or what they belive to be weaker isnt so

    i was getting 60c load on core 1 then 40c on core 2

    if u run prime watch the core temps, slowly adjust the screws on you heatsink until the temps are close or the same, then u will notice your weak core will run alot better
    nice idea
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  12. #112
    Egyptian OverClocker
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Cairo, Egypt
    Posts
    3,375
    Soon to be :
    ASUS P8P67 Deluxe, Intel SB i7-2600k, G.Skill Rj-X F3-12800CL6D-4GBXH, MSI HD6950 2GB, Corsair 750AX, Intel 80GB G2 SSD, DELL U2410

    Used to be: SaFrOuT

  13. #113
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    OZtralia
    Posts
    2,052
    I cant wait to try this great proggy on my Conroe
    lots and lots of cores and lots and lots of tuners,HTPC's boards,cases,HDD's,vga's,DDR1&2&3 etc etc all powered by Corsair PSU's

  14. #114
    version 2.0
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Flanders
    Posts
    3,864
    I had 20°C dif6ference between core0 & core1 !
    My waterblock barely made contact with the core (it's a naked chip)
    I tried to correct this while the system was runnning , very stupid of me.
    I think I killed my cpu

    But anyway , cool program

  15. #115
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Thessaloniki - Padova
    Posts
    153
    for my opty 170 this program shows only -1C

    i use smartguardian for the temp!!

    thx
    Pc Server: Amd Opteron 170 Dual Core 2000@3100Mhz, Dfi Lanparty Nf4 Sli-DR AD0, 2x1Gb Crucial Ballistix 280Mhz Cas 3-3-3-8 , Nvidia XFX 8800 GTS 512Mb , Matrox RT X100 Pro Video editing Card , Dexatek Sphere DVB-S Card , 4x1000Gb Western Digital 7200 Sata In Raid , 4x500Gb Western Digital 7200 Sata In Raid, 2xSamsung 20x Dvd-Rw , Thermaltake 1500Watt Mod , Dell 24' Lcd Black and much much more
    Pc Desktop: Intel E8400 3000@4200Mhz, Asus Maximus Formula SE , 2x1Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer Pc8500 D9GMH , Nvidia XFX 8800GTS 512Mb , 1x200Gb Maxtor 7200 Eide , Nec Dvd-Rw 3520, Ocz Powerstream 600Watt........
    Pc Desktop 2: Intel Q6600 G0 2400@3800MHz , Dfi DK P35 T2RS , 2x1Gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer Pc8500 D9GMH , Nvidia Zotac AMP 8800GT , 1x200Gb Maxtor 7200 Eide , Thermaltale 750Watt Mod .......
    Pc Laptop: Dell Xps Gen2 , Centrino Sonoma 2,0Ghz , Ram DDR2 Kingston 2x1Gb 533Mhz , Nvidia 6800Ultra 256 Gddr3 , Ibm 60gb 7200 , Lcd 17'UltraWide With TrueLife, DvdRW-Dual....
    Pc Tablet: Toshiba Portege M200 , Centrino 1,5Ghz , Ram 2x512mb 400Mhz , Nvidia 5200 , Ibm 60gb 7200 ....

  16. #116
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Tel Aviv, Israel
    Posts
    1,144
    Quote Originally Posted by tzitzos
    for my opty 170 this program shows only -1C

    i use smartguardian for the temp!!

    thx
    Can you post a screenshot and tell us what kind of cooling you use?
    Member of Overclockers.com Folding @ Home team
    "<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
    Main rig:
    AMD Ryzen 7 2700X / Mobo: Asrock Fatal1ty X470 / EVO 970 500GB + WD Blue 250GB + HDD / GPU: Dell RX 570 4GB / Mem: 2x16GB DDR4-3200 G.Skill 32GTZKW TridentZ - 32GB total / PSU: Seasonic Prime Ultra Gold 650W
    Secondary rigs:
    Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.3GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / 2x Inland Pro 120GB / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 8GBXL RipJawsX - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
    Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ 4.0GHz (Freezer 7 Pro) / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 4x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 8GB total / PSU: Antec 380W.

    Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors

  17. #117
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    1,204
    Quote Originally Posted by The Coolest
    I would also like to see pics of idle, load core0/idle core1, idle core0/load core1 and load both cores.
    Core0 loaded:



    Core1 loaded:
    i950 (3035B684)
    Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R
    3x4GB G.Skill PC3-12800 7-8-7-24
    HIS Radeon HD 6970 2GB & Dell 3007WFP-HC
    Asus Xonar DX
    128GB C300, Velociraptor & Sammy F3's
    Corsair AX850W
    Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1

  18. #118
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Lvsitania
    Posts
    177
    Still no one answered if this program readings are to be trustworthy...?

    A64 3800+ X2 3.0Ghz |DFI LanParty UT nF4 Ultra-D |OCZ EL DDR PC4000 Gold GX XTC |Corsair AX850W |XFX 260GTX Black Edition

    Opteron 150 2.8Ghz |Mushkin Redline PC4000 |Asus A8N-SLI |Corsair VX550W |XpertVision 7600GS

  19. #119
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Verona (Italy)
    Posts
    77
    Quote Originally Posted by tzitzos
    for my opty 170 this program shows only -1C

    i use smartguardian for the temp!!

    thx
    Lol Giorgio....

    My core 2 in 10 °C hotter than core 1 in idle... Next week i will set up more tests.
    Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4250 MHz (500x8.5) 1,280 Volt; Cooled by Thermalright IFX-14
    Asus P5E64WS professional
    Kingston HyperX PC14400 @ 1600 MHz 7-6-6-18 1T 1,92 Volt
    Leadtek 8800 GTS 512 MB 800 (1970) / 2200 MHz

  20. #120
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Tel Aviv, Israel
    Posts
    1,144
    Quote Originally Posted by Gak
    Still no one answered if this program readings are to be trustworthy...?
    The accuracy of the readings are as accurate as the Digital Thermal Sensor (or DTS) is.
    Member of Overclockers.com Folding @ Home team
    "<The_Coolest> you can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
    Main rig:
    AMD Ryzen 7 2700X / Mobo: Asrock Fatal1ty X470 / EVO 970 500GB + WD Blue 250GB + HDD / GPU: Dell RX 570 4GB / Mem: 2x16GB DDR4-3200 G.Skill 32GTZKW TridentZ - 32GB total / PSU: Seasonic Prime Ultra Gold 650W
    Secondary rigs:
    Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.3GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / 2x Inland Pro 120GB / GPU: HD5450 / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 8GBXL RipJawsX - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
    Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ 4.0GHz (Freezer 7 Pro) / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 4x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 8GB total / PSU: Antec 380W.

    Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors

  21. #121
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Lvsitania
    Posts
    177
    So why haven't mb manufacturers used this fuction? Temp readings would be a lot more accurate....

    A64 3800+ X2 3.0Ghz |DFI LanParty UT nF4 Ultra-D |OCZ EL DDR PC4000 Gold GX XTC |Corsair AX850W |XFX 260GTX Black Edition

    Opteron 150 2.8Ghz |Mushkin Redline PC4000 |Asus A8N-SLI |Corsair VX550W |XpertVision 7600GS

  22. #122
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    MA, United States
    Posts
    1,231
    Quote Originally Posted by The Coolest
    Pyr0: YGPM
    This feature was undocumented in any documentation prior to the official implementation in RevF chips. A user reported that this could also work on his RevE chip, and after some digging around and testing it appears to work on all the chips since the early Rev C0.
    Does this mean there will be Rev E support soon?


    Heatware | Abit IP35 Pro | Intel E6750@3.8Ghz 1.56v | Storm R2 | Ballistix DDR2-8500 | Sapphire HD3870 512MB@TBA | MCW60 | WD Raptor 74GB | WD2500KS | OCZ GameXSteam 600w | SoundBlaster Audigy 2 ZS | DT770/80Pro | WinTV PVR-250 | Antec P180 | 7 Yate Loon D12SL-12 | AQ50Z | PA120.2 Custom Painted | BIP GTS 120mm | MasterKleer 7/16 Tubing | VX924 | G15 Keyboard/G5 Mouse/Steelpad QCK+

  23. #123
    Love and Peace!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    hiding somewhere!
    Posts
    3,734
    Quote Originally Posted by MikalCarbine
    Does this mean there will be Rev E support soon?
    if i'm not mistaken, there already is
    Got a fan over those memory sticks? No? Well get to it before you kill them

  24. #124
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,200
    I tried it out on my opty 165 seems to work great altho its a bit awkward cuz my core 0 shows up as core 2 and my core 1 shows up as core 1. Or at least i think it is. When i load core 0, core 2 goes up more but when i load up both cores core 2 has a lot lower temps but fails earlier, weird.
    Core 1 would go up to like 60C but keep going while core 2 fails at about 50C. Also i noticed the program sometimes jumps to some crazy number then goes back to normal.
    CPU: Q6600 @ 3.6ghz G0 Week 37B
    Mobo: Asus P5k Deluxe
    Cooler: TRUE 120 (150cfm Delta)
    2xHR-05
    2xHR-09
    Mem: G.Skill 4x1Gb 6400HZ
    Vid: HIS 4850
    HDD: 80Gb 16mb Cache Raptor
    500Gb 7200.11 Seagate
    PSU: Enermax Noisetaker 600w
    Case: Thermaltake Armor (4x120mm 104CFM Panaflo)

    3dmark06: 16k

  25. #125
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    497
    Question:

    How low temps would this sensor be able to read from a conroe? I will be phase-cooling one soon to very low (far sub zero) temps.

    -Stigma

Page 5 of 25 FirstFirst ... 234567815 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •