Page 1 of 14 123411 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 343

Thread: Vision Tek 4850 review

  1. #1
    Xtreme 3D Team Member jimmyz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    small town in Indiana
    Posts
    2,296

    Vision Tek 4850 review

    Today we will be looking at the Visiontek HD 4850 512MB Video card.

    First off I would like to thank FXvideocards for supplying me with a review unit, as you can imagine it hasn't been easy, but they never let that stop them before.

    The card: Radeon HD 4850

    The site: http://fxvideocards.com/

    Reseller ratings (platinum): http://www.resellerratings.com/store/FxVideoCards


    As you probably already know from the news and leaks around the web, this card is code named "Makedon " presumably after Terry Makedon who heads up the Catalyst driver team. This is a good omen for having driver support, as it would be a bad move to have a card named for you and have the drivers not work well. So far I have no way of confirming the shader count or rops, tmu's etc. so that info will be updated as it becomes avaiable.

    First off some pictures:

    The VisionTek box, My favorite part is on the back where it says Lifetime Warranty!!! They have really stepped up where most board partners have adopted the 1 YR policy of ATI.

    [IMG][/IMG]

    What's inside the box, VisionTek doesn't bundle any games or Benchmark discs nor is there any DVD trial offers like other board partners, What you do get is a clean reference design card without the often tacky stickers of the other makers. which I find to be a better look. they do however include all the connectors you would need like the DVI to HDMI adapter, as well as a component out cable. and the usual DVI to VGA adapter. Also included is the crossfirex interconnect bridge. They also Include a PCI-E power adapter plug for the cards six pin power plug.

    [IMG]
    [/IMG]

    Now onto the card itself. If you saw the HD3850 reference design this should look familiar to you, it is essentially the same card with a slightly different cooler,( and of course a truckload more power). It comes with UVD-2 the second generation on-chip video decoder.

    [IMG][/IMG]

    On to the back, again pretty familiar stuff here nothing earthshaking, It does BTW use the same mounting pattern as the reference 3850 so most coolers should fit fine

    [IMG]
    [/IMG]


    Now onto the pron...lol here is the obligatory Die shot. The actually quite large chip is once again surrounded by a shield but this one looks to pose no issues with most coolers I have seen, the possible exceptions being the full cover waterblocks, but as the layout is very similar they may possible fit with some slight modification or with little contact on some ramchips.( which shouldn't affect performance)



    [IMG][/IMG]

    The main difference between the 3850 and 4850 visually is this vent which exits the side. to allow better airflow. instead of just bouncing the hot air off of the i/o plate.

    [IMG][/IMG]

    The sticker of course, and this is also the area that hide the volt mod...more on that in the overclocking section or you can look here http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=190990


    [IMG][/IMG]
    Last edited by jimmyz; 06-14-2008 at 02:52 AM.
    QX 9650 5ghz with 1.55v 4.8ghz with 1.5v 24/7 in a VAPOLI V-2000B+ Single stage phase cooling.
    DFI LP LT X-38 T2R
    2X HD4850's water cooled , volt modded
    Thermaltake 1KW Psu
    4x Seagate 250GB in RAID 0
    8GB crucial ballistix ram

  2. #2
    Xtreme 3D Team Member jimmyz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    small town in Indiana
    Posts
    2,296
    been hard pressed for time today, and internet has been going out along with the power. here is the first round in vista 64 ultimate.

    Test rig:
    QX9650 @4ghz for all of the non o.c runs.
    4gb Patriot Viper 8500 ram. @ 960 5-5-5-12 all runs
    DFI LP X38T2R running the chip @10 x400mhz for 4ghz
    4 Seagate Hdds in Raid 0 dual booting XP PRO and Vista 64 ultimate.
    Drivers show as 8.5 in ccc 3d driver is irect3D Version 6.14.10.0590


    Some notes before the testing. The fan speed very low on the factory bios, I haven't been able to use any fan control to raise the speed so far. The temp is most likely fine even with an Idle of 79c but Being an XS'er I removed the factory thermal goop and replaced it with A.S. Ceramique. the idle temps are now 55c most of the time. That was a huge jump and I wonder if all of the cards suffer from this as I have seen rumors of other 4850's with similar temps (IE: FUD).
    The card makes no capacitor squealing noise even during ATI TOOL scanning. I also ran 3d01 which makes most cards squeal if they are going to, not a peep out of it.
    During testing I have noticedThis card seems very smooth. VPU recover works perfectly and the overclocking seems very rewarding. clock speed seems to play a huge role in performance of this card.

    First up vantage.

    performance setting.

    [IMG][/IMG]


    Xtreme setting.

    [IMG][/IMG]

    05 Default run.

    [IMG][/IMG]

    06 Default run.

    [IMG][/IMG]

    Call of Juarez basic default 1280x 1024 low details etc.

    [IMG][/IMG]

    Call of Juarez 1920 x1200 default settings.

    [IMG][/IMG]

    call of juarez 1920 x 1200 4 x AA default settings.

    [IMG][/IMG]


    As you can see it seems to scale well with the high resolution, I still can't get Crysis to run the proper bench, it keeps starting the game instead, any ideas?
    Last edited by jimmyz; 06-14-2008 at 12:46 AM. Reason: update.
    QX 9650 5ghz with 1.55v 4.8ghz with 1.5v 24/7 in a VAPOLI V-2000B+ Single stage phase cooling.
    DFI LP LT X-38 T2R
    2X HD4850's water cooled , volt modded
    Thermaltake 1KW Psu
    4x Seagate 250GB in RAID 0
    8GB crucial ballistix ram

  3. #3
    Xtreme 3D Team Member jimmyz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    small town in Indiana
    Posts
    2,296
    Finally some XP testing. I use service pack 3 on XP media center 2005, Basically XP Pro.

    I had immense problems with crysis benchmark utilities on 64 bit ultimate. the bench app would start the game at the july 7 screen and proceed to be the game not the beach flyover that it should be. I re-installed twice, both the game and applications as well as the patch. also tried without the patch. any advice is welcome. On XP it runs fine though so lets see how it fares.


    1680 x 1050 no aa high settings card stock

    [IMG][/IMG]

    1680 x 1050 4x aa high settings card stock

    [IMG][/IMG]

    1900 x 1200 no aa high settings card stock

    [IMG][/IMG]

    1900 x 1200 4 x aa high settings card stock

    [IMG][/IMG]

    On to the synthetic tests.

    3DMark 06 stock gpu.
    [IMG][/IMG]

    3DMark 05 stock gpu.

    [IMG][/IMG]

    3DMark 03 stock gpu.

    [IMG][/IMG]

    Lightsmark 2007 for this I used the stock setting when bench is opened. as I have with my other cards. big improvements in this bench.

    [IMG][/IMG]

    These runs at 3240 Mhz on the cpu. including custom config runs.

    A member ask me to post a comparison with his rig. so this is for Kai. But I figured the rest of you might like a lower cpu run or two. these also are at 1400 x 960 so that might be of use to some also. this represents a midrange rig a little better.

    3240 360 x 9 baseline no aa

    [IMG][/IMG]

    same but with 4 x aa

    [IMG][/IMG]

    custom config no aa

    [IMG][/IMG]

    custom 4 x aa

    [IMG][/IMG]

    same but with a decent oc, still under CCC control unfortunately
    It ran through 2 1/2 loops at 700/1138 but would lock. (vpu recover FTW). and i dropped it to 685/1100 and all was good again. I figured this would be a good place to start my overclocking area as well.

    [IMG][/IMG]
    Last edited by jimmyz; 06-14-2008 at 10:50 AM.
    QX 9650 5ghz with 1.55v 4.8ghz with 1.5v 24/7 in a VAPOLI V-2000B+ Single stage phase cooling.
    DFI LP LT X-38 T2R
    2X HD4850's water cooled , volt modded
    Thermaltake 1KW Psu
    4x Seagate 250GB in RAID 0
    8GB crucial ballistix ram

  4. #4
    Xtreme 3D Team Member jimmyz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    small town in Indiana
    Posts
    2,296
    Overclocking section.

    First off let me say the card runs hot. the default fan speeds are very low. while this is fine at stock settings for the overclocking I used a 80mm fan covering the fan hole on the card, only because there is no utility to increase the fan in software, and I don't feel like modding the wiring any more. temperature fluctuates badly at idle, some times 60c sometimes 70c.

    There is still no utilities for overclocking except for catalyst control center which tops out at 700 on the core. it allows up to 1200 on the memory but the highest I could push so far (un-modded) is 1133 wich seems to be fully stable.



    W1zzard worked very hard to get GPU-Z updated to include detection of 4850 GPU's. and I am Glad to say it seems to work fine.
    I had no idea there was so much effort that goes into developing these utilities. He deserves all of our thanks for the hard work he puts in to his utilities.



    [IMG][/IMG]


    K404 has a volt mod thread and I was the tester. results on second page for now. http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=190990


    Here is some 01 action, cpu clocked at 4.0 on this one.

    [IMG][/IMG]

    03 at 4.8ghz and card clocked up.

    [IMG][/IMG]

    06 at 4ghz card at 700 /1100

    [IMG][/IMG]

    05 at 4ghz ...23k done

    [IMG][/IMG]

    ONE last shot of the weekend, more to come of course when I can overclock the card properly. but this looks promising 25k single card 05 run in Vista 64 ultimate!!

    [IMG][/IMG]
    Last edited by jimmyz; 06-16-2008 at 01:15 AM. Reason: update.

  5. #5
    Registered User DarkDisciple's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    81
    GL on the tests! Cant wait to see how it compares to 8800 Ultra, 3870x2, whatever else.

  6. #6
    Xtreme Addict GoldenTiger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    1,955
    Woooo!

  7. #7
    Xtreme Addict Miwo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Hopatcong, NJ
    Posts
    1,082
    vmods eh? Please give details on what to do! Subscribed

    'Gaming' AMD FX-6300 @ 4.5GHz | Asus M5A97 | 16GB DDR3 2133MHz | GTX760 2GB + Antec Kuhler620 mod | Crucial m4 64GB + WD Blue 2x1TB Str
    'HTPC' AMD A8-3820 @ 3.5GHz | Biostar TA75A+ | 4GB DDR3 | Momentus XT 500GB | Radeon 7950 3GB
    'Twitch' AMD 720BE @ 3.5GHz | Gigabyte GA-78LMT-S2P | 4GB DDR3 | Avermedia Game Broadcaster

    Desktop Audio: Optical Out > Matrix mini DAC > Virtue Audio ONE.2 > Tannoy Reveal Monitors + Energy Encore 8 Sub
    HTPC: Optoma HD131XE Projector + Yamaha RX-V463 + 3.2 Speaker Setup

  8. #8
    Xtreme Addict Knight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1,037
    Quote Originally Posted by Miwo View Post
    vmods eh? Please give details on what to do! Subscribed
    Look here.

    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...29#post3059729
    ░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░ Intel i7 3770k
    ░░░░░░▄▄▄▄▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄▄▄▄▄▄░░░░░░░░░ ASUS GTX680
    ░░░░░░█░░░░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░░▀▀▄░░░░░ ASUS Maximun V Gene
    ░░░░░█░░░▒▒▒▒▒▒░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░█░░░░ Mushkin 8GB Blackline
    ░░░░█░░░░░░▄██▀▄▄░░░░░▄▄▄░░░█░░░░ Crucial M4 256GB
    ░░░▀▒▄▄▄▒░█▀▀▀▀▄▄█░░░██▄▄█░░░█░░░ Hitachi Deskstar 2TB x2
    ░░█▒█▒▄░▀▄▄▄▀░░░░░░░░█░░░▒▒▒▒▒█░░ FSP 750W Gold
    ░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░ Fractal Arc Mini

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    80
    During the test, temps would be nice to see too...soo...


  10. #10
    Xtreme Member BRiT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    355
    Care to provide measurements of the GPU die? Or provide a closer shot of the die with some sort of scale near it? It certainly looks larger than the rumored size of 276mm^2.

  11. #11
    Xtreme Member Eniqmah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    138
    Thanks for putting this up. Can't wait. Would love to know if Accelero S1 Rev 2 would fit. If you need one, I will send it.
    Multimedia:
    __________________
    CPU: E6600@3705MHZ : / Idle 40C / Load 62C / Zalman 9700
    MOBO: P5W DH Deluxe / Bios v1707 / Idle 39C / Load 45C
    GPU: ATI Radeon X1950Pro / (574 Core|688 Mem) Idle 48C @ 36% Fan
    RAM: 2GB OCZ XTC Gold 6400 OCZ2G8002GK 5-6-6-18 1GB OCZ Platnum 6400 OCZ1G8002PK
    Sound: Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer / Logitech Z5300E
    Keyboard: G15 | Mouse: G7 + MX518 | Display: Sceptre 20"
    Case: Silverstone TJ06 Sloppy Modshttp://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=142817.
    HDD: WD160SATA / WD5000KSRTL SATA / WD 5000AAKB PATA
    DVD: Samsung SH-S183L (SATA) / Sony DRU-720A
    PSU: Thermaltake ToughPower 700W

    Laptop:
    __________________
    TravelMate 8204WLMi
    Intel Core Duo T2500, 2.0GHz ,667MHz FSB
    2 GB DDR2 667 RAM
    ATI Mobility Radeon X1600 51MB HyperMemory, 256MB dedicated GDDR3 VRAM
    120 GB 5400 RPM SATA HDD internal
    120 GB 5400 RPM PATA HDD external

    Game Machine:
    QX6700@ 3.74Ghz, GTX or HD2900XT?
    All the usual other crap.

  12. #12
    Xtreme Enthusiast w0mbat's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    over the rainbow
    Posts
    969
    How many SPs u got on this one?
    AMD Phenom II X6 1055T@3.5GHz@Scythe Mugen 2 <-> ASRock 970 Extreme4 <-> 8GB DDR3-1333 <-> Sapphire HD7870@1100/1300 <-> Samsung F3 <-> Win8.1 x64 <-> Acer Slim Line S243HL <-> BQT E9-CM 480W

  13. #13
    Love will tear us apart WrigleyVillain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    wrigleyville.chi.il.us
    Posts
    2,351
    Sweet Jim! Looking forward to the results...
    Dark Star IV
    i5 3570K | Asrock Z77 Extreme4 | 8GB Samsung 30nm | GTX 670 FTW 4GB + XSPC Razer 680 | 128GB Samsung 830
    Apogee HD White | 140MM UT60/120MM UT45/120MM ST30 | XSPC D5 V2

  14. #14
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Banja Luka, Bosnia and Herzegovina
    Posts
    423
    Looking forward to reading this

  15. #15
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    2,125
    Can't wait to read this!

    And yeah, a measurement of the actual chip would be nice if at all possible.. that thing looks huge compared to the RV670

  16. #16
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    3,602
    Woohoo. Keep us updated

  17. #17
    Xtreme Mentor mascaras's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    3,414
    800SP .............



    waiting for results



    regards
    Last edited by mascaras; 06-13-2008 at 02:41 PM.

    [Review] Core i7 920 & UD5 » Here!! « .....[Review] XFX GTX260 216SP Black Edition » Here!! «
    [Review] ASUS HD4870X2 TOP » Here!! «
    .....[Review] EVGA 750i SLi FTW » Here!! «
    [Review] BFG 9800GTX 512MB » Here!! « .....[Review] Geforce 9800GX2 1GB » Here!! «
    [Review] EVGA GTX280 1GB GDDR3 » Here!! « .....[Review] Powercolor HD4870 512MB GDDR5 » Here!! «

  18. #18
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    1,825
    Nice. If ATI can get numbers close to an 9800GTX, then people will buy these cards. Single slot and low heat.
    Desktop:
    Antec 300
    Foxcon A7AD-S 790GX
    8GB Gskill PC-1066@5/5/5/12
    PII X940 BE @3.6GHZ
    Sunbeam Core Contact
    2x 640GB in Raid 0+1
    4870 512MB@800/1000
    Vista Business 64bit W/ SP1

  19. #19
    Xtreme Enthusiast msgclb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    35n28, 97w31
    Posts
    675
    Quote Originally Posted by mascaras View Post
    Wow, this card has a memory bandwidth of 55nm!

    HD 4850 specs.jpg
    | Intel Core i7-2600K | ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3 | G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1866 | EVGA GTS 450 |
    | Swiftech APOGEE Drive II CPU Waterblock with Integrated Pump | XSPC RX360 | Swiftech MCP655-B Pump | XSPC Dual 5.25in. Bay Reservoir |
    | Thermaltake 850W PSU | NZXT SWITCH 810 | Windows 7 64-bit |


  20. #20
    Xtreme Mentor demonkevy666's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    cleveland ohio
    Posts
    2,813
    Quote Originally Posted by msgclb View Post
    Wow, this card has a memory bandwidth of 55nm!

    HD 4850 specs.jpg
    lol

    55 the rest seem ok.

    that the real SP count for a 4850?

    I wonder is the 4870 will have a 1,000 then maybe.
    HAVE NO FEAR!
    "AMD fallen angel"
    "Behold the gaseous stench of Skeletor's breakfast burrito!"
    Quote Originally Posted by Gamekiller View Post
    You didn't get the memo? 1 hour 'Fugger time' is equal to 12 hours of regular time.

  21. #21
    Xtreme Member conzymaher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Kilkenny, Ireland
    Posts
    259
    ^ Nicely spotted

    The 4850 is going to be the best bang for buck card in years! I'm going to stick a HR03 on it and hopefully it will approach / surpass 4870 core speeds and probably beat DDR3 versions of the 4870 \o/

  22. #22
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Banja Luka, Bosnia and Herzegovina
    Posts
    423
    How would 4850 compare to current 9800GtX? I have 8800GTS 320MB and I want to update. Maybe I should wait for official benchmarks beetwen GTX200 and 48xx series

  23. #23
    Xtreme Addict G0ldBr1ck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Birmingham AL.
    Posts
    1,079
    Im realy starting to think that this was real all along. Especialy considering how big AMD is on the whole Flops messurment in there marketing this round.



  24. #24
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Banja Luka, Bosnia and Herzegovina
    Posts
    423
    I'm just glad that AMD will have chance to fight Nvidia in Hign-end graphic market.

  25. #25
    Xtreme Member conzymaher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Kilkenny, Ireland
    Posts
    259
    Quote Originally Posted by G0ldBr1ck View Post
    Im realy starting to think that this was real all along. Especialy considering how big AMD is on the whole Flops messurment in there marketing this round.


    exactly, doesn't the whole Teraflop marketing campaign prove that is has 800SP?!

    1Teraflop = 800 shaders X 2 flops per unit X 625mhz
    1Teraflop = 480 shaders X 2 flops per unit X 1040mhz!!!

    And it sure as hell is not clocked at 1ghz +

Page 1 of 14 123411 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •