Thread: Dry ice for everyday computer use

Dry ice for everyday computer use

Hi,
    I am new to Dry ice cooling and wanted know if dry ice cooling can also be used for everyday tasks such as word or playing games or does the dry ice evaporate too quickly???

I am from the UK and also wanted to know where I can buy cheap dry ice. let me know. thanks.

Diablo 3! Who's Excited?
    Not feasible for 24/7 cooling due to cost, bulk of dry ice required, and sub-ambient nature of dry ice.

Xtreme Member
    you can get dry ice from BOC in the UK. or try and contact a local food distributor.
    "Computers in the future may weigh no more than 1.5 tons."
    - Popular Mechanics, 1949

"I think there is a world market for maybe five computers."
    - Thomas Watson, chairman of IBM, 1943

Heat

Xtreme Enthusiast
    YouŽll get issues with condensation after a few hours, depending on your ambient temp and CPU Load.
    Last edited by Paxi; 06-06-2009 at 01:39 PM.
    System #1:
    i7 975 for bench, W3540 @ 4,4 Ghz HT On, Asus P6X58 Premium, 3x2048 Corsair Dominator 2000CL7, Sapphire 5970 @ stock, Corsair HX1000, 1xOCZ Vertex2 120GB, 3x1TB WD Green
    Cooled by:
    Loop 1: Watercool HK rev 3.0, Laing Ultra 18W /w XSPC Res Top, Thermochill PA120.3 /w Phobya Fans @ 5V Pull
    Loop 2: EK 5970 Nickle, Laing Ultra 18W /w XSPC Res Top, Thermochill PA120.3 /w Phobya Fans @ 5V Pull
    Loop 3: EK Asus NB/SB, Mips Asus Mosfet 1 + 2, Laing Ultra 18W /w XSPC Res Top, Thermochill PA120.2 /w Phobya Fans @ 5V Pull

4,6Ghz (21x220) 1,42Vcore with Single Stage (HT enabled)
    http://img402.imageshack.us/img402/1251/83962063.jpg

AMD @ testing
    X4 955, Asus Crosshair III, same Rams as on Intel Setup, Sapphire 4870X2 @ Stock, PC Power&Cooling 910W

Xtreme Mentor
    Quote Originally Posted by Bla$nA View Post
    YouŽll get issues with condensation after a few hours, depending on your ambient temp and CPU Load.
    He'll also suffocate himself in a small closed room.