Page 1 of 8 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 190

Thread: 1st look on asus P5K-VM: G33 matx board (56K warning!)

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    France
    Posts
    357

    1st look on asus P5K-VM: G33 matx board (56K warning!)

    Asus has brings out at last its new g33 mb!
    Will it performs like the top of the line Gigabyte GA-G33M-DS2R?

    Some pics of the retail version of this mb:


    The bundle:


    The mb:


    Full solids caps!

    My rig:
    x6800 + crucial ballistix 5300 + seasonic S12 II 380w + nvidia TNT 16Mo PCI:


    A closer look to the motherboard:
    back panel & Q connectors:


    Mofsets & capacitors around the socket:


    PPL and bios eprom soldered to the mb:


    ratio unlocked downward and also upward for x6800 (up to 13x)


    vcore max 1.60v:


    vcore min 1.15v:


    vddr up to 2.10v:
    Last edited by pvhk; 07-08-2007 at 12:38 AM.

  2. #2
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    France
    Posts
    357
    The famous DRAM frequency!!! the same issue as the gigabyte?


    fsb set to @300:


    fsb set to @400:



    fsb max @800:


    onboard video can be disabled in bios!



    update your bios easily and safely!


    Go into windows:
    fsb@300:


    fsb@400:



    fsb@450:


    So! this asus P5K-VM gives us at last this damned missing ratio 1:1 fsb/ram and performs like its rival the gigabyte (fsb@450 )

    You won't be compelled to use those killing rams needed on the ga-g33-ds2r!
    Last edited by pvhk; 07-08-2007 at 12:31 AM.

  3. #3
    D.F.I Pimp Daddy
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Still Lost At The Dead Show Parking Lot
    Posts
    5,182
    Dude where did you get the savory Darth Vador Doll? I had one of those when it first came out in 1977
    SuperMicro X8SAX
    Xeon 5620
    12GB - Crucial ECC DDR3 1333
    Intel 520 180GB Cherryville
    Areca 1231ML ~ 2~ 250GB Seagate ES.2 ~ Raid 0 ~ 4~ Hitachi 5K3000 2TB ~ Raid 6 ~

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Portugal!
    Posts
    256
    Dont forget to test the Intel GMA 3100
    GAME-AMD x6 1055T|ASUS M4A870TD|8GB DDR3|HD5858|SSD RAID0|Seasonic!700w
    VMWARE-E6420|Asus P5Q-VM|4GB|320GB|BEQUIET!600w|
    NAS-Via 1.5 GHz ITX|Dual Gigabit|1gb ddr|2*3TB WD
    MbP 13"|C2D 2.53GHz|4gb DDR3

    Barton 2600+@2800mhz SuperPI 37s Sempron 2800+@2665mhz SuperPI 35,5s OLD SCHOOl
    -Apple Iphone 3g |X10 mini Pro 2.2.1|Nintendo WII|PS3 Slim

  5. #5
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    169
    Nice pvhk, waiting 4 ur result
    Especially the divider options

    -tam2-

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    France
    Posts
    357
    The P5K-VM gives us at last the missing ratio 1:1

    See above!

  7. #7
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    107
    Thanks for your result pvhk.

    Can you test this mb with quad core?
    Machine 1:
    ASUS P5K Premium
    Q9450 (L803B436) @ 450*8 @ 1.3v
    Xigmatek S1283 + bolt-thru-kit + 120mm Scythe "Minebea NMB Silent IC Series" Case Fan - High
    G.Skill F2-8000CL5D-4GBPQ @ 540MHz (5-5-5-15) @ 2.15v
    MSI 7900GS
    Antec TruePower Trio 550

    Machine 2:
    ASUS P5K Pro
    Q9450 (L803B436) @ 450*8 @ 1.3v
    Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme + 120mm Panaflo medium
    G.Skill F2-8000CL5D-4GBPQ @ 540MHz (5-5-5-15) @ 2.15v
    EVGA 8400 GS
    OCZ GameXStream 600W

  8. #8
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    620
    Quote Originally Posted by pvhk View Post
    The P5K-VM gives us at last the missing ratio 1:1

    See above!
    nice

    can you fit a 16x card in the open ended 4x slot or does the battery get in the way?
    “You Americans are so gullible. No, you won’t accept communism outright, but we’ll keep feeding you small doses of socialism until you’ll finally wake up and find you already have communism. We won’t have to fight you. We’ll so weaken your economy until you’ll fall like overripe fruit into our hands." Nikita Khrushchev

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    169
    GJ pvhk
    I think i might get this one too
    ASUS FTW!!
    But it'll still need good rams to reach 800-900 with 4-4-4-x timings coz of the limited vddr up to 2.1V only :|

    -tam2-
    Last edited by tam2; 06-23-2007 at 10:11 PM.

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    12
    Where is that 1:1 option? Is it the "Auto" Option?

    And did you have a 800MHz FSB CPU to test if the 1:1 divider is available for those CPUs too?

    @tam2
    The timings are not so powerful on intel system ... and 800-900mhz should as good as every memory make with max. 2.1V ...

    The Asus seems to have the same high quality components like the Gigabyte, but i think i stay @ my DS2R yet

  11. #11
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    France
    Posts
    357
    Quote Originally Posted by PENNYW!SE View Post
    Where is that 1:1 option? Is it the "Auto" Option?

    And did you have a 800MHz FSB CPU to test if the 1:1 divider is available for those CPUs too?

    @tam2
    The timings are not so powerful on intel system ... and 800-900mhz should as good as every memory make with max. 2.1V ...

    The Asus seems to have the same high quality components like the Gigabyte, but i think i stay @ my DS2R yet
    You are blind man!!
    Look at cpuz!
    To have ratio 1:1 i had to set manually in bios "DDR 667"! I did not use "auto" setting....

    And yes, i have an e4300 & 4400 on my other rigs....
    will test later but i'm confident..
    This mb rocks and behaves like the giga otherwise...
    Last edited by pvhk; 06-24-2007 at 02:36 AM.

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    12
    I have seen that there IS an 1:1 divider, i mean the BIOS!

    It doesnt make sense for me, you have a 1066mhz CPU and set DDR2-667, that means you have a 4:5 dividor, so why you have 1:1?



  13. #13
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    510
    maybe the setting unlocks at 300FSB or something

    BTW what is the Transaction booster?
    Asus Rampage II Gene - i7 920 D0 Lapped - Lapped Noctua NH12U-F
    Sapphire HD4870 X2 - 6GB Corsair Dominator GT@T1 - Windows 7 x64
    2 x WD Velociraptor 150GB Raid 0 - 500GB Samsung T166
    Antec ThreeHundred - Samsung A656 40"- TX650W

  14. #14
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    169
    Availability? how much is it?
    The last thing we all wanna see is the fsb clocking on quads
    Thx for the quick review pvhk

    -tam2-

  15. #15
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    606
    Nice Little board.
    Thanks
    ||Asus P5B||Celeron 420 320*8||1GB RAM||Samsung 24IN LCD||Seti@HOME||
    ||XFX 680I LT||No CPU||2GB RAM||Seti@HOME||-Down
    ||PSP||PS3||Wii||iPhone||Mac Mini||LCD-TV||2-LAPTOPS||Z5500||

  16. #16
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    France
    Posts
    357
    Let the e4300 take place!
    e4300@2.4Ghz
    fsb@266 ram set to 667:



    fsb@266, ram set to 800 in bios:


    fsb@266, ram set to 887 in bios:


    For those who want this ratio 1:1, see what dividers are unlocked when fsb is set to @333 with a c2d fsb800:


    Boot under windows:



    This motherboard really rocks!!
    Last edited by pvhk; 07-08-2007 at 12:39 AM.

  17. #17
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    France
    Posts
    357
    fsb@486:
    Last edited by pvhk; 07-08-2007 at 12:40 AM.

  18. #18
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    France
    Posts
    357
    fsb@495
    Last edited by pvhk; 07-08-2007 at 12:40 AM.

  19. #19
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    France
    Posts
    357
    Last edited by pvhk; 06-29-2007 at 12:56 PM.

  20. #20
    Price of P5K-VM?
    www.HotOverclock.com Founder & Editor in Chief
    ---------------------
    Upgrading to X58 ...

    Q6600 G0 @ 3.8GHz FSB 423MHz w/Swiftech H2O 120 Compact Dual 120mm fan Last OC Details Here
    abit IX38 QuadGT Rev1.0 (X38 Rev.01)
    4x1GB Patriot +SL PC2-6400 Based on Aeneon AET760UD00-25D Chips! @ 1:1 1000MHz 5-4-4-8 2.0v
    Sapphire Radeon HD 4850 A2 Normal Edition @ Core 820MHz Mem 2100MHz
    Display 19" LG FLATRON L1960TR LCD Contrast 3000:1 Response Time 2ms Lightning Fast!! w/f-Engine Chip and DFC Technology
    HDD 250GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3250820AS
    HDD 120GB Maxtor Max.10 6L120M0

    PSU Zalman ZM1000-HP 1000 Watt Six 12v Rail and Dual Seperate Board
    A4Tech X7 Gaming Mouse X-750BF Dual Laser Engin w/2500DPI
    More about my Memory : it can do 950MHz 4-4-4-8 2.0v Stable and 1100MHz 5-7-7-12 2.2v Stable and 1200MHz 6-8-8-21 2.3v not Stable!

  21. #21
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    169
    Im soooo gonna buy this board

    -tam2-

  22. #22
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    510
    the same price as the gigabyte ds2r here in Denmark:P

    Remember it has no raid and max 2,1 vdimm!
    Asus Rampage II Gene - i7 920 D0 Lapped - Lapped Noctua NH12U-F
    Sapphire HD4870 X2 - 6GB Corsair Dominator GT@T1 - Windows 7 x64
    2 x WD Velociraptor 150GB Raid 0 - 500GB Samsung T166
    Antec ThreeHundred - Samsung A656 40"- TX650W

  23. #23
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Mansfield TX
    Posts
    1,724
    pvhk,

    When you get an opportunity can you do an orthos blend test @ 450FSB or 475FSB. If that FSB is stable @ those speeds, then my E6400 B has just found a new home. DDR2-900 is no problem @2.1v with some G. SKill 6400 HZ's. Default voltage for DDR2-800 is 2.0v-2.1v. Anyplace have this board available in the states yet?
    Praetor
    » Intel i7 2600K 3103B306 » Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z » Asus GTX 470's TRi-SLI » Corsair Dominator GT CMT4GX3M2A2000C8 » Corsair Force F180 SSD » Corsair AX1200 PSU » Corsair 800D
    » Cooling : Swiftec Apogee XT » Swiftec MCP350-DDC1 w/XSPC Dual DDC Bay Reservoir » Swiftech MCR320-QP w/Scythe SlipStreams 110CFM

    The Yamato
    » Intel i7 920 3849B028 or i7 980X » Asus Rampage III Extreme Black Edition » Asus HD6970's QuadFireX or Asus GTX 570's 4way SLI » 6GB Corsair Dominator GT TR3X6G1866C7GTF » Corsair Force F180 SSD » Corsair AX1200 PSU » Microcool Banchetto 101
    » Cooling : Dragon F1 Extreme Edition(LN2) » Custom SS by RunMc »


  24. #24
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    625
    Does S3 sleep/resume work?

    Thx.
    'He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose' - Jim Elliot
    Click on the pic to download a free pdf sample of the bestselling book!


  25. #25
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    France
    Posts
    357
    Quote Originally Posted by MacClipper View Post
    Does S3 sleep/resume work?

    Thx.
    Did not enabled it! will try....

Page 1 of 8 1234 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •