Thread: Storm vs. Apogee - Overclocking Ability

Xtreme Member

Storm vs. Apogee - Overclocking Ability

I start out by saying that I am a novice when it comes to the properties of thermodynamics. I do not carry expert knowledge of how heat transfers from one object to another. I am not an authority on waterblock performance, (nor do I claim to be) but my own results speak for themselves.

This morning I got my storm block from sidewinder, and have test results, as they relate to overclocking.

My loop: D4 pump > WhiteWater > dual bayres > BIX120 > Maze4GPU > BIX120 > D4 pump

Processor: X2 4400+ @ 1.65vcore
    Mobo: DFI SLI-DR (N4D623-3 bios)
    vid: x850xt @ 1.7vcore

Temps as reported by everest @ 100% load (dual prime95 for 30min)
    I mounted each block 5 times to ensure good mounting. Results were the same. (spent all morning on this... lol)

Whitewater - 46c
    Storm - 41c
    Apogee - 41c

Whitewater in - GPU temp = 44c
    Storm in - GPU temp = 44c
    Apogee in - GPU temp = 42c

The apogee and storm ran identical load temps in my loop, as reported by everest. Due to the increased flowrate, my gpu temp was lowered by 2c when the apogee was in the loop. More flow in the maze4 helps a lot, as it is not an impingement block either. HOwever, it did not allow me to overclock the gpu any higher.

Originally, with the WhiteWater in the loop, I had a max stable overclock of 2.7ghz @ 1.65vcore 10x270. Higher voltage did not get me any higher clocks. With the Storm, I was able to get to 2.8ghz 10x280 stable at same voltage. With the apogee, I could not get past 2.7ghz.

I bought both blocks, so I could see for myself how they performed in my own system. I wanted to know which one would be the best for ME in MY system. Now I know. Which one cools the best? I don't know... Don't have the proper testing equipment to tell. Which one gave me the highest overclock? ... this I now know. The storm gave me another 100mhz @ the same voltage.