Results 1 to 21 of 21

Thread: Virtual Cores/Shaders on ATi Radeon GPUs?

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    26

    Virtual Cores/Shaders on ATi Radeon GPUs?

    This the first time I'm hearing about this and oddly enough, it's being done on a mobile GPU(s) rather than on a desktop chip. Long story short, a guy made a VBIOS for the Radeon 6970M in the M18x that threads the physical shaders of the 6970M (960 shaders, based off the Desktop 6870) into Virtual shaders; similar to Intel's hyperthreading technology. Here is a link to the thread (it's in Chinese)

    http://dell.benyouhui.it168.com/thread-1747026-1-1.html

    Does anyone know if this is legit or not?

  2. #2
    c[_]
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    20,374
    texture fillrate doubled... hmm.

    All along the watchtower the watchmen watch the eternal return.

  3. #3
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    France
    Posts
    8,829
    Well, that does look promising.
    Not sure if fake, though... Sounds a bit too complicated for a software mod.
    Donate to XS forums
    Quote Originally Posted by jayhall0315 View Post
    If you are really extreme, you never let informed facts or the scientific method hold you back from your journey to the wrong answer.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    90
    6990M has 1120 shaders though o.O

  5. #5
    I am Xtreme zanzabar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SF bay area, CA
    Posts
    15,855
    Quote Originally Posted by andos View Post
    6990M has 1120 shaders though o.O
    the 6990m is based on the 69xx desktop were the 6950/70m is based on the 68xx desktop.
    5930k, R5E, samsung 8GBx4 d-die, vega 56, wd gold 8TB, wd 4TB red, 2TB raid1 wd blue 5400
    samsung 840 evo 500GB, HP EX 1TB NVME , CM690II, swiftech h220, corsair 750hxi

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    293
    very interesting - would be epic if this is reproducible on a desktop card
    EVGA E758 A1
    Core i7 920 @ 4ghz
    6gb DDR3 1600 OCZ Gold
    XFX 6870CF
    Corsair TX850
    Cooler Master HAF 932
    Water Cooled

  7. #7
    Xtreme Member JaD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    257
    It's a 6970, it shows up as 6990 because the driver ID was changed, the guy says it can be confirmed by the shader count (960). But does GPU-Z actually measure the shader count or does it use a database?
    About the fillrate... increasing the shader count shouldn't alter it, unless GPU-Z derives the number of TMUs dividing the total number of shaders by the amount contained in a SIMD unit, 80 in VLIW5 architectures, as there's 1TMU per SIMD engine; even if that's the case, the displayed fillrate at 800MHz should be 76.8, not 72.6: I call fake.

  8. #8
    c[_]
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    20,374
    GPU-Z is probably using a database to detect the number of shaders and convert to fillrate since you can read later in the thread and see 1x, 2x, 3x, and 4x shader numbers giving up to 132gb

    All along the watchtower the watchmen watch the eternal return.

  9. #9
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    930
    does anyone have a laptop with that gpu to add proper suppport for it to gpuz?

  10. #10
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    799
    I thought GPU-Z actually counts the shaders, as when you do the 6950=>6970 desktop card mod it changes the number of shaders shown in the display after the mod is completed. Correct my understanding if that's wrong.

  11. #11
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    France
    Posts
    8,829
    It doesn't count shaders, no...

    Edit: wait, if it does, then how come it didn't for Cayman before a software update?
    Last edited by zalbard; 08-30-2011 at 02:40 AM.
    Donate to XS forums
    Quote Originally Posted by jayhall0315 View Post
    If you are really extreme, you never let informed facts or the scientific method hold you back from your journey to the wrong answer.

  12. #12
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    930
    Quote Originally Posted by WangChung View Post
    I thought GPU-Z actually counts the shaders, as when you do the 6950=>6970 desktop card mod it changes the number of shaders shown in the display after the mod is completed. Correct my understanding if that's wrong.
    it does for desktop gpus, and it tries for mobile but its probably not reading them right

  13. #13
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    645
    Google Translator results: This, this and this too.

    What I understand is that it add a sort of SMT support that allows it to see twice the Shaders it physically has as with Hyper Threading. How on the earth they do this is not something that I understand, because editing a BIOS the way they're doing it is not an easy feat, if not nearly impossible. Instead of changing some values (Like what you do with Radeon BIOS Editor to mess with PowerPlay Power States values), he basically should have need to alter how the GPU works with some BIOS modifications (That according to that is a "hybrid BIOS" of a 6970M and 6990M), something that I don't see viable because it means you should have tons of white papers about how the GPU works (That generally are all propietary and few people should have access to that info) or a great deal of reverse engineering. If AMD aren't capable of introducing such a feature themselves, you can't expect someone else to do so. But maybe this guy as access to such data...

    Small personal note
    Friends yesterday, and a jar of (northern, old altar friends know...) QQ to talk about AW, I suddenly thought of the inspiration for so many years of research on AMD, with the University of Washington where I have to do a compilation of AMD work friends, then help you much. However, because this project is almost unprecedented, there is no reference and reference, and all had to start from scratch.

  14. #14
    Aussie God
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    4,678
    Very interesting reading, too bad google translate isng super.
    Competition ranking;
    2005; Netbyte, Karise/Denmark #1 @ PiFast
    2008; AOCM II, Minfeld/Germany #2 @ 01SE/AM3/8M (w. Oliver)
    2009; AMD-OC, Viborg/Denmark #2 @ max freq Gigabyte TweaKING, Paris/France #4 @ 32M/01SE (w. Vanovich)
    2010: Gigabyte P55, Hamburg/Germany #6 @ wprime 1024/SPI 1M (w. THC) AOCM III, Minfeld/Germany #6 @ 01SE/AM3/1M/8M (w. NeoForce)

    Spectating;
    2010; GOOC 2010 Many thanks to Gigabyte!


  15. #15
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    930
    Can someone try this test build on a Blackcomb GPU: http://www.techpowerup.com/wizzard/GPU-Z.exe

    It uses the shader detection method from Cayman

  16. #16
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    1,960
    I don't know why, im a bit dubitative ..... If it really work, good. but otherwise, i pain to see how the "virtual shaders" are used, or can communicate then with the memory controller etc etc. and how this don't make the card struggle then with Triangle processors etc..
    CPU: - I7 4930K (EK Supremacy )
    GPU: - 2x AMD HD7970 flashed GHZ bios ( EK Acetal Nickel Waterblock H2o)
    Motherboard: Asus x79 Deluxe
    RAM: G-skill Ares C9 2133mhz 16GB
    Main Storage: Samsung 840EVO 500GB / 2x Crucial RealSSD C300 Raid0

  17. #17
    YouTube Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Klaatu barada nikto
    Posts
    18,440
    I'm voting hoax, since even from a theoretical view because the chips just don't have that much processing power.

    It may however spoof benchmarks for better performance.
    Fast computers breed slow, lazy programmers
    The price of reliability is the pursuit of the utmost simplicity. It is a price which the very rich find most hard to pay.
    http://www.lighterra.com/papers/modernmicroprocessors/
    Modern Ram, makes an old overclocker miss BH-5 and the fun it was

  18. #18
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    3,010
    hmmm im not buying it just yet. it's a cool idea in theory but I fail to see how some average joe came up with some home brew Vbios that made this HUGE change in rendering and the like without any hardware changes and without a major company figuring this out before. you would think AMD or Nvidia would have tried this sometime ago if it were that easy...
    CPU: Intel Core i7 3930K @ 4.5GHz
    Mobo: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
    RAM: 32GB (8x4GB) Patriot Viper EX @ 1866mhz
    GPU: EVGA GTX Titan (1087Boost/6700Mem)
    Physx: Evga GTX 560 2GB
    Sound: Creative XFI Titanium
    Case: Modded 700D
    PSU: Corsair 1200AX (Fully Sleeved)
    Storage: 2x120GB OCZ Vertex 3's in RAID 0 + WD 600GB V-Raptor + Seagate 1TB
    Cooling: XSPC Raystorm, 2x MCP 655's, FrozenQ Warp Drive, EX360+MCR240+EX120 Rad's

  19. #19
    c[_]
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    20,374
    Well, look how long it took for the "Ricky Tweak" (multi-threaded HAL on single core system) to come about, or multi-thread/cpu systems at all.

    All along the watchtower the watchmen watch the eternal return.

  20. #20
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,688
    Looks interesting, I'd give it a go but I'm unsure of what I have to really do.
    Workstation:
    3960X | 32GB G.Skill 2133 | Asus Rampage IV Extreme
    3*EVGA GTX580 HC2 3GB | 3*Dell U3011
    4*Crucial M4 256GB R0 | 6*3TB WD Green R6
    Areca 1680ix-24 + 4GB | 2*Pioneer BDR-205 | Enermax Plat 1500W
    Internal W/C | PC-P80 | G19 | G700 | G27
    Destop Audio:
    Squeezebox Duet | Beresford TC-7520 Caiman modded | NAD M3 | MA RX8 | HD650 | ATH-ES7
    Man Cave:
    PT-AT5000E | TXP65VT30 | PR-SC5509 | PA-MC5500 | MA GX300*2, GXFX*4, GXC350 | 2*BK Monolith+
    Gaming on the go:
    Alienware M18x
    i7 2920XM | 16GB DDR3 1600
    2*6990 | WLED 1080P
    2*Crucial M4 256GB | BD-RW
    BT 375 | Intel 6300 | 330W PSU

    2011 Audi R8 V10 Ibis White ABT Tuned - 600HP

  21. #21
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    930
    Quote Originally Posted by 3NZ0 View Post
    Looks interesting, I'd give it a go but I'm unsure of what I have to really do.
    if you have a cayman mobile (=blackcomb) gpu, you could start helping by posting a gpuz screenshot using the gpuz build i posted a few posts further up

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •