Thread: What CPU block for sub zero?

Xtreme Member

What CPU block for sub zero?

Ok, I have a question, what CPU block are you guys using when going sub zero or below ambient? I'm going to start working on a chiller build and I'm in the process of getting the parts that I need. I have been doing phase for a few years now and understand how to insulate and the risk, but I can't find a cpu block that is insulated or can be easily insulated. For phase its nice as you have a nice head unit that has all the insulation needed, but all the water cpu blocks I see are very exposed and I'm not sure how insulate it. Does anyone know of a phase type head, but made for water (like what tyber has going on in his thread)? If not, can you guys post some pictures and help me undersand how to insulate a regular water cpu block (and what ones you guys are using)? Thanks.

Xtreme Cruncher
    swiftech is making a block specifically for TEC, but i'm not sure if it will be in production soon or if that project is scrapped. i'm pretty sure you can use this same block for chilled liquid
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Xtreme Enthusiast
    Quote Originally Posted by WhiteFireDragon View Post
    swiftech is making a block specifically for TEC, but i'm not sure if it will be in production soon or if that project is scrapped. i'm pretty sure you can use this same block for chilled liquid
    The TEC block is made from 2 pieces which is generally a no-go with sub-zero as each could contract at a different rate and cause a leak. This is compounded by the fact that the top is plastic and could, possibly, crack at such low temperatures.

For chilled liquid, you'd be safest with a one-piece, all-metal block like the Swiftech MCW6000.
    Last edited by karbonkid; 08-24-2009 at 01:11 AM. Reason: Oopsy - bad assumption was made. My bad.

Xtreme Member
    This will be for an i7 build. Does anyone have picutres of there sub-zero water blocks in action? Thanks for the replies guys.

Xtreme Addict