Page 1 of 7 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 162

Thread: Sapphire HD4850 Bios Modded, Core upper Limit to 850Mhz in CCC!

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    88

    Talking Sapphire HD4850 Bios Modded, Core upper Limit to 850Mhz in CCC!

    I have modded sapphire Bios, GPU Core upper limit to 850MHz, memory upper limit to 1300MHz. You can download here. Try and Good luck!


    I - HD4850 Bios (Modded by Leonarderman).

    1. Sapphire HD4850 Hard Overclocked. DF Core 750MHz Mem 1100MHz Auto Cool Fan.
    GPU Core upper Limit 850MHz
    Memory Upper limit 1300MHz
    Vcore Modded to 1.327V for higher Overclocking.


    Sapphire HD4850 Hard Overclocked


    2. Sapphire HD4850 Light Overclocked. DF Core 700MHz Mem 1000MHz Auto Cool Fan.
    GPU Core upper Limit 850MHz
    Memory Upper limit 1300MHz
    Vcore DF 1.12V

    Sapphire HD4850 light Overclocked



    3. Asus HD4850 Light Overclocked. DF Core 700MHz Mem 1100MHz Auto Cool Fan.
    GPU Core upper Limit 1200MHz
    Memory Upper limit 1400MHz
    Vcore DF 1.12V


    Asus HD4850 Light Overclocked


    4. Sapphire HD4850 Toxic. DF Core 675MHz Mem 1150MHz Auto Cool Fan.
    GPU Core upper Limit 700MHz
    Memory Upper limit 1200MHz
    Vcore DF 1.12V

    Sapphire HD4850 Toxic



    You should create an USB Bootable to Dos. You can make it from the guide here:

    http://www.thepcspy.com/read/bootable_usb_flash_drive

    Then you have to copy ATIFlash programs 3.6 (download below) or newer (Dos) and Bios file to USB Disk. Try it done!

    http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads...lash_3.60.html


    Please note: Updating by ATIFlash 3.6 or newer (Dos), don't try to use ATI WinFlash, because I found the problem from bios file maked by RBE1.12!
    Last edited by leonarderman; 08-06-2008 at 06:30 PM.

  2. #2
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Burbank, CA
    Posts
    3,808
    do you actually get 1.327 from bios mod???

  3. #3
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Oxford, UK
    Posts
    746
    how did you change the CCC limit?
    || 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.7 3, 4.6 4 1.284V ||
    || P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
    || 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
    || 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    88
    Quote Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
    how did you change the CCC limit?

    I had modified Bios by Hexeditor!

    @ GAR: Yes! It work good!
    Last edited by leonarderman; 08-04-2008 at 01:24 AM.

  5. #5
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Oxford, UK
    Posts
    746
    atiflash tells me its an invalid bios image....
    || 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.7 3, 4.6 4 1.284V ||
    || P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
    || 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
    || 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||

  6. #6
    well i hope this voltage increase through the bios is accurate... should inspire some research into getting the 4870 volts up aswell...

    everyone has been saying that upping the voltage through the bios doesnt work...

  7. #7
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Burbank, CA
    Posts
    3,808
    can someone check with a DMM to see if the voltage change actually works??? if it does that would be amazing.

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Bronx-NY
    Posts
    40
    Ok am willing to fry a 4850 when I get home.
    Anyone else trying these.

  9. #9
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Imladris
    Posts
    979
    Voltage above 1.2v via bios? I'm not buying it till I see some proof.

    Is this bios from a card with Samsung memory?
    The little air system that could.


  10. #10
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Burbank, CA
    Posts
    3,808
    I tried this bios with no luck, 750 locked up COD4 within 1 minute, i dont think 1.3v through bios is possible. We need some hard proof with a pic of a dmm showing 1.3v

  11. #11
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Imladris
    Posts
    979
    Quote Originally Posted by GAR View Post
    I tried this bios with no luck, 750 locked up COD4 within 1 minute, i dont think 1.3v through bios is possible. We need some hard proof with a pic of a dmm showing 1.3v
    Does the bios allow for the extended range in CCC? Got a screenshot?
    The little air system that could.


  12. #12
    Xtreme 3D Team Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    small town in Indiana
    Posts
    2,296
    Quote Originally Posted by HousERaT View Post
    Does the bios allow for the extended range in CCC? Got a screenshot?
    I have a working unlocked bios, right now i have a 4870 and a 4850 bios both with the limits raised. I will need some testing (flashing back to stock and reflashing etc). so far it works fine in XP Pro and Vista 64bit ultimate. so stay tuned.

    as to the voltage, the bios can only raise 4850's to around 1.21 the controllers physical limit, IMO not worth the effort. there are many pages in the volt mod thread to show how to get steady reliable voltage as high as 1.6+. and also several pencil mods to get a nice bump over stock if soldering is not your thing.

    [IMG][/IMG]
    QX 9650 5ghz with 1.55v 4.8ghz with 1.5v 24/7 in a VAPOLI V-2000B+ Single stage phase cooling.
    DFI LP LT X-38 T2R
    2X HD4850's water cooled , volt modded
    Thermaltake 1KW Psu
    4x Seagate 250GB in RAID 0
    8GB crucial ballistix ram

  13. #13
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Imladris
    Posts
    979
    I look forward to your bios Jimmyz
    The little air system that could.


  14. #14
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Holly, MI
    Posts
    324
    Quote Originally Posted by HousERaT View Post
    I look forward to your bios Jimmyz
    Me too, the one's at the top of the page work ok but the CCC limit is 850mhz on the core.
    Asus Maximus IV Gene-Z
    i5 2500k @ 4.5ghz
    G.Skill Ripjaws X 16GB DDR3-1600
    EVGA GTX 670 FTW 2GB
    Creative X-Fi Xtreme
    Corsairs HX1000 PSU
    EK-Supreme HF: AquagraFX 680 GTX: MCP-355

    Heat

  15. #15
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    878
    Will this bios work for the Asus version of the 4850? Thanks in advance.

  16. #16
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    88
    Quote Originally Posted by GAR View Post
    I tried this bios with no luck, 750 locked up COD4 within 1 minute, i dont think 1.3v through bios is possible. We need some hard proof with a pic of a dmm showing 1.3v

    Well! I'm sorry! I have test Hard overclocked Bios with HD4850 + Zalman VF900, it work good, but I don't care about your HD4850.

    I think you should try light Overclocked Bios to get another result! Good luck!

  17. #17
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    88
    Quote Originally Posted by Mysterfix View Post
    Me too, the one's at the top of the page work ok but the CCC limit is 850mhz on the core.

    I can modify Upper limit to over 1000MHz, but I think it's no needed because you have to mod Vcore to 1,6V to get GPU core over 1000MHz. It's hard modded!

    If you want, I'll send to you new Bios Upper limit to 1500MHz

  18. #18
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Holly, MI
    Posts
    324
    Quote Originally Posted by leonarderman View Post
    I can modify Upper limit to over 1000MHz, but I think it's no needed because you have to mod Vcore to 1,6V to get GPU core over 1000MHz. It's hard modded!

    If you want, I'll send to you new Bios Upper limit to 1500MHz
    That would be nice since I already have the cards hard modded with vr's for the voltage. Just waiting on another waterblock before I really start to push them.
    Asus Maximus IV Gene-Z
    i5 2500k @ 4.5ghz
    G.Skill Ripjaws X 16GB DDR3-1600
    EVGA GTX 670 FTW 2GB
    Creative X-Fi Xtreme
    Corsairs HX1000 PSU
    EK-Supreme HF: AquagraFX 680 GTX: MCP-355

    Heat

  19. #19
    Anyone try the "Hard overclocked" BIOS on the stock cooler yet? I'm hesitant to flash it since I have a Visiontek card, and I'm on the stock cooler.
    .:: Gaming PC Specs ::.

    Case: Antec Nine Hundred
    CPU: Intel Core i7-2600K @ 4.6 GHz, 1.44v (cooled by Xigmatek GAIA) [IntelBurnTest{Linpack} stable]
    GPU/Monitor: VisionTek HD 6950 @ 6970, 950 MHz/1375 MHz 1.30v + Sony BRAVIA 32EX400 1080p
    Motherboard: GIGABYTE Z68XP-UD4 F5
    Memory: 16 GB (4x 4 GB) Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3 1600
    Hard Drive: 2x Seagate 500 GB 7200.11 RAID 0 & RAID 1 (Matrix RAID) + 1x WD Caviar Black 640 GB
    Sound: Creative SB X-Fi Fatal1ty Profess1onal, Logitech X-530
    PSU: Corsair AX-1200 (1500W PSU!)
    O/S: Microsoft® Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 X64

  20. #20
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by awdrifter View Post
    Will this bios work for the Asus version of the 4850? Thanks in advance.
    dont even think about it

  21. #21
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Bangalore,India
    Posts
    42
    so no guinea pigs to test the Toxic 4850 bios on the reference Quimonda memory based HD 4850s :P

  22. #22
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Kenmore, NY
    Posts
    492
    Well, I tried the hard overclock bios and now the light. My HIS 4850 seems to have a limit on the core which is why I dropped to the light clocked bios. I wasn't able to step back down from 750 through CCC with the hard clocked version. I am also running into a problem with drivers. I have tried to install the 8.8 betas that came out and it doesn't recognize that I have a valid ATI card. 8.7's seem to be fine though having also the upper limits as stated for the bios.
    ~MadMikeSS~

    Intel Q6600 G0 @ 3.2GHz 1.31v - AX MP-05 SP LE cooled
    P5B Deluxe 1236 BIOS
    HIS HD4850@750/1100 - AX MP-1 cooled
    Mushkin 4GB(1GBx4) DDR2-800 5-4-4-15 1.9v
    FSP 700W PSU
    Lian-Li PC-V2000B

  23. #23
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Kenmore, NY
    Posts
    492
    Quote Originally Posted by regenade View Post
    so no guinea pigs to test the Toxic 4850 bios on the reference Quimonda memory based HD 4850s :P
    Send it. I'd try it.
    ~MadMikeSS~

    Intel Q6600 G0 @ 3.2GHz 1.31v - AX MP-05 SP LE cooled
    P5B Deluxe 1236 BIOS
    HIS HD4850@750/1100 - AX MP-1 cooled
    Mushkin 4GB(1GBx4) DDR2-800 5-4-4-15 1.9v
    FSP 700W PSU
    Lian-Li PC-V2000B

  24. #24
    Quote Originally Posted by AgentGOD View Post
    Anyone try the "Hard overclocked" BIOS on the stock cooler yet? I'm hesitant to flash it since I have a Visiontek card, and I'm on the stock cooler.
    ?????????
    .:: Gaming PC Specs ::.

    Case: Antec Nine Hundred
    CPU: Intel Core i7-2600K @ 4.6 GHz, 1.44v (cooled by Xigmatek GAIA) [IntelBurnTest{Linpack} stable]
    GPU/Monitor: VisionTek HD 6950 @ 6970, 950 MHz/1375 MHz 1.30v + Sony BRAVIA 32EX400 1080p
    Motherboard: GIGABYTE Z68XP-UD4 F5
    Memory: 16 GB (4x 4 GB) Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3 1600
    Hard Drive: 2x Seagate 500 GB 7200.11 RAID 0 & RAID 1 (Matrix RAID) + 1x WD Caviar Black 640 GB
    Sound: Creative SB X-Fi Fatal1ty Profess1onal, Logitech X-530
    PSU: Corsair AX-1200 (1500W PSU!)
    O/S: Microsoft® Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 X64

  25. #25
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    88
    I have updated new Bios. You can try another Bios to get more Result! Good luck!

Page 1 of 7 1234 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •