Page 1 of 21 123411 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 514

Thread: 7900GT over voltage protection?

  1. #1
    Nice Hardware!!!
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Finland/Tampere
    Posts
    1,846

    7900GT over voltage protection?

    There must be some kind of OVP in these cards. I tried 1.27V and it works great, but anything over that will cause black screen With 1.27V I can bench 615@1750.

    My old 7800GT did same with 1.84V--> so what is the problem here?

    I hope there is someone who can help us.
    You are as good as your samples are!

  2. #2
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    114
    You're adjusting a pot for this extra voltage, I take it?
    Main Rig: E6600, Asus Commando, Leaktek 8800GTX, X-Fi XtremeMusic, 2x Seagate 250GB 7200.10 RAID-0, Thermalright Ultra 120, HR-03+, Toughpower 1000watt.
    OC Settings: 3600mhz (400x9) 2:3, 1200mhz 5-5-5-15, 650/2000 GPU, 1.4vcore, 2.3vdimm.

  3. #3
    Nice Hardware!!!
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Finland/Tampere
    Posts
    1,846
    I'm adjusting voltage with 20Kohm variable resistor. There are few other guys who have the same problem.
    You are as good as your samples are!

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    East Coast USA
    Posts
    783
    same problem here with 50k ohm variable resisteor. system locks up at approx 1.3v at 1.35v black screen. wtf

    HOW DO WE FIX THIS?

    EDIT. THE BLACK SCREEN APPEARS AT 1.290V 2D 1.298V 3D

    LOWER THAN THAT AND YOUR FINE, MY MAX IS 615 AT 1.293 3D
    Last edited by cronic; 03-16-2006 at 06:26 PM.

  5. #5
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    372
    Did both Vmods and same here cant go over 1.28V without black screen
    i7 980x @ 4500Mhz 1.45V
    Rampage III Extreme
    6GB A-Data 1866Mhz+
    2x XFX 6970
    Crucial SSD 128GB M225
    X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
    Corsair HX1000W


    GSX-R 750 Rider

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    East Coast USA
    Posts
    783
    join the crowd,

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    57
    come on I hope that in this forum have a realy clever guy that can helpp to do volt mod on 7900GT and to give more voltage.
    7900Gt has volatge protection ???? how and what to do
    Guys pls help

  8. #8
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Chile
    Posts
    4,230
    hope someone can get a fix for these, i'm really thinking of vmoding my soon to come 7900gt

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    East Coast USA
    Posts
    783
    This was discovered by t024484

    I have not tried this as the 32 pin vr for the GPU IS VERY VERY SMALL AND I DON' HAVE THE TOOLS AT HOME TO TRY THIS.

    what do you guys think

    this is the VR for the gpu
    6502
    ISL6568
    CR2
    N547BF


    If your Vmod is giving you a higher GPU voltage, then you can forget the 100Kohm resistor from pin 3.
    If on the other hand your Vmod is not giving a higher GPU voltage, remove whatever you have done because it is connected to the wrong position, and connect the 100Kohm resistor to point 3.
    To increase the current limit, increase the resistor value between point 10 and 11 by 50% by removing the old one and inserting a new resistor.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  10. #10
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    320
    To my opnion it is not an overvoltage protection, but a current limit that prevents a higher clock speed and as a consequence a higher current demand.

    By increasing the current limit, a higher clock will be possible.
    Al that has to be done is to remove a small SMD resistor and replace it with a resistor with a 50% higher value.

    For more details plus pictures from CRONIC, look in this thread
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...ghlight=7900gt pages 15-17.

  11. #11
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    372
    Well somebody has to try and remove the resistor but to be honest i dont really like the tought of removing a resistor from the card
    Is there for sure no other way to overcome the OVP?
    Last edited by Shark-357; 03-20-2006 at 11:29 AM.
    i7 980x @ 4500Mhz 1.45V
    Rampage III Extreme
    6GB A-Data 1866Mhz+
    2x XFX 6970
    Crucial SSD 128GB M225
    X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
    Corsair HX1000W


    GSX-R 750 Rider

  12. #12
    Nice Hardware!!!
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Finland/Tampere
    Posts
    1,846
    I think he is right about this.

    OCSET PIN 10
    This is the overcurrent set pin. Placing a resistor from OCSET
    to ICOMP allows a 100μA current to flow out this pin,
    producing a voltage reference. Internal circuitry compares the
    voltage at OCSET to the voltage at ISUM, and if ISUM ever
    exceeds OCSET, the overcurrent protection activates.

    One picture of ISL 6568

    Attachment 44996
    Last edited by SF3D; 09-29-2006 at 04:33 AM.
    You are as good as your samples are!

  13. #13
    Nice Hardware!!!
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Finland/Tampere
    Posts
    1,846
    Last edited by SF3D; 09-29-2006 at 04:33 AM.
    You are as good as your samples are!

  14. #14
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    320
    Quote Originally Posted by Shark-357
    Well somebody has to try and remove the resistor but to be honest i dont really like the tought of removing a resistor from the card
    Is there for sure no other way to overcome the OVP?
    I am more than motivated to do the modifications, but the 7900GT is nowhere in stock in Holland.
    Seems that all he boards are distributed in the US.
    BTW nice picture that you made SF3D

  15. #15
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    320
    I have made a recap on the excellent picture of SF3D of all the relevant points of the modifications.

    1 This is the point to connect a 50Kohm VR resistor to adjust Vgpu.
    The other end of this resistor has to be connected to ground, which is almost 100% sure the solderpoint left from point 1, but measure it before to be sure.
    Since all I have is this picture, it has to be checked that point 1 is indeed connected to point 3 of the Voltage Regulator the way I have indicated.

    Vgpu can be measured at the Yellow spot.

    2 This is the point where the current limit is set. Remove the resistor that is painted red, and replace it with a resistor which is at least 50% higher in value.
    The resistor should be measured after having taken it away from the card. It will probably measure something like 3.5Kohm. If so replace it with 5.6Kohm

    isl%206568%20hyva copy.jpg
    Last edited by t024484; 03-21-2006 at 01:25 AM.

  16. #16
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    23
    Why does the resistor have to be replaced? What if you just remove the resistor and leave the place empty? In other words, an infinite resistor now in place.

    I checked the ISL6568 Datasheet and in my opinion, with no resistor there, the overcurrent protection should be disabled.

  17. #17
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Portugal, Lisbon
    Posts
    568
    Why don't cut traces instead of ripping it off?

    Isn't easier ?


    "God...i know she's dead :'( but keep her soul alive because in my heart she will never die :'(" VoRtAn_MaDgE
    Nc te eskecerei avó! :'(

  18. #18
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    320
    Quote Originally Posted by TimeOut
    Why does the resistor have to be replaced? What if you just remove the resistor and leave the place empty? In other words, an infinite resistor now in place.

    I checked the ISL6568 Datasheet and in my opinion, with no resistor there, the overcurrent protection should be disabled.
    May be it will work without a resistor, but may be this point needs some minimal load.
    But anyhow, once the resistor has been removed, why not protect your expensive board for small accidents with a proper current limit?
    So my advice would be to install a 50% larger resistor.

    Quote Originally Posted by VoRtAn_MaDgE
    Why don't cut traces instead of ripping it off?

    Isn't easier ?
    You could cut a trace, but it will almost be impossible to mount another resistor, which to my opinion should be there.
    Last edited by t024484; 03-21-2006 at 11:00 AM.

  19. #19
    Nice Hardware!!!
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Finland/Tampere
    Posts
    1,846
    I measure few things. Yellow is traces.
    Hope it is not too mixed.

    Attachment 45038

    I will remove this resistor before weekend. Maybe someone will do it earlier.
    Last edited by SF3D; 09-29-2006 at 04:33 AM.
    You are as good as your samples are!

  20. #20
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by t024484
    May be it will work without a resistor, but may be this point needs some minimal load.
    But anyhow, once the resistor has been removed, why not protect your expensive board for small accidents with a proper current limit?
    So my advice would be to install a 50% larger resistor.
    My point is that trying to solder a tiny resistor like that one on the picture can be 10 times harder than just removing it.
    And if you really care about protecting your expensive board, you wouldn't be doing Vmods in the first place. Would you?

    Cutting the trace doesn't sound bad idea. You can even fix it with the pencil trick. Hmmm... Here is another idea. Cut the trace between the resistor and Pin number 10 and then do the pencil trick to connect it back. This will add more resistance between pin 10 and 11, maybe enough resistance to let VGPU go above 1.3V.

  21. #21
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    1,323
    I know this is going to sound really crazy, but would it be possible to "sand" or chip a side of that resistor, hence increasing its resistance.

    And if you prefer cutting traces, you could then solder a VR from the pin on the IC to the solder pad of the resistor.

    EDIT: lifiting a leg of the IC is out of the question.. i'm running out of ideas.. even if this resistor method works, few would be able to mod properly for it to work.
    Last edited by ***Deimos***; 03-21-2006 at 11:40 AM.

    24/7: A64 3000+ (\_/) @2.4Ghz, 1.4V
    1 GB OCZ Gold (='.'=) 240 2-2-2-5
    Giga-byte NF3 (")_(") K8NSC-939
    XFX 6800 16/6 NV5 @420/936, 1.33V

  22. #22
    The un-extreme XIP
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    2,253
    if someone wants to try this but doesnt cant solder it themselves, pm me, i can solder that. i will need a resistor or two to solder in it's place though.

    i5 3570K@ 4.8GHz 1.32v, 32GB Gskill 1866, Gigabyte g1 sniper m3
    HD7970@1125/1575 stock voltage
    1TB F1+2*128GB Crucial M4
    Silverstone 450w, no case
    2560*1440@120Hz overclocked catleap
    Steelseries G6v2+5600dpi modded logitech trackball

  23. #23
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    322
    Removed the resistor, but still no go >1,3v , will try 5k resistor soon.

  24. #24
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    372
    Damn that sux
    i7 980x @ 4500Mhz 1.45V
    Rampage III Extreme
    6GB A-Data 1866Mhz+
    2x XFX 6970
    Crucial SSD 128GB M225
    X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
    Corsair HX1000W


    GSX-R 750 Rider

  25. #25
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    320
    Quote Originally Posted by DesertShooter
    Removed the resistor, but still no go >1,3v , will try 5k resistor soon.
    How did you increase the Vgpu, 50Kohm to pin 6 or to pin 3.
    Did you measure the value of the resistor after having it removed ?

Page 1 of 21 123411 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •