Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456
Results 126 to 140 of 140

Thread: I have an asus a8n32-sli!

  1. #126
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    363
    Bios 703.

    Haven't tried the beta 804 or 805.

    Can't post on OCAU atm, got a 1 week ban for my post in the e-peen stroking thread.

  2. #127
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,436
    trza2k, have you tried the newer BIOSes?

  3. #128
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    48
    I have tried 805 and the default i had. However the upgrade process may of been incorrect and the bios may of needed to be reset to default in the bios. I will try again tonight and document what i do so i clearly remember.

    EDIT: I think i was supposed to do that last night but i had to watch Australia make it to the soccer worldcup after 31years!!!.
    Last edited by trza2k; 11-16-2005 at 05:54 PM.

  4. #129
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,436
    Quote Originally Posted by trza2k
    I have tried 805 and the default i had. However the upgrade process may of been incorrect and the bios may of needed to be reset to default in the bios. I will try again tonight and document what i do so i clearly remember.

    EDIT: I think i was supposed to do that last night but i had to watch Australia make it to the soccer worldcup after 31years!!!.
    Keep us posted.
    I think it's at most a bios glitch because if it's able to raise the vcore by 0.02v, then there's no reason why it can't raise it by 0.2v. Especially when that's what it's SUPPOSED to do.

  5. #130
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    new jersey
    Posts
    791
    as much as i hate to have to run onboard sound with sli'd 512gtxs .. the dfi expert is just being a with overclocking .. i would go back to my sli-dr if the pci-e slots arent so close
    Intel Core2Quad Q6600 @ 3.6 | Thermalright Ultra Extreme
    EVGA 780i SLi
    8gb ADATA 4x2gb DDR2 800
    Evga 260gtx core 216
    Western Digital 300gb Raptor x 2 | Seagate 7200.11 1.5tb x 2
    Klipsch 5.1 Ultra Promedia
    Corsair 1000hx
    Lian Li TYR PC-X500
    Dell 3007fpw 30" Widescreen LCD

  6. #131
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    48
    I can confirm that none of the bios available from the website will give more then 1.58volts. VERY VERY disappointing.

    I tried different combinations and tried lowering the voltage and adding the 200mv but it seems to be capped off at 1.58volts.

  7. #132
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    20
    Maybe this is the problem (if there is any?) with (some of?) the 1.01 boards and that's why they recalled them, if they really dif... or maybe not.

  8. #133
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,436
    Quote Originally Posted by trza2k
    I can confirm that none of the bios available from the website will give more then 1.58volts. VERY VERY disappointing.

    I tried different combinations and tried lowering the voltage and adding the 200mv but it seems to be capped off at 1.58volts.
    So the 200mv option works, when total vcore is less than 1.58v? IE if you select 1.3v + 200mv, it gives 1.5v?

  9. #134
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    133
    Someone should confirm this with Anand. I know in their review they said you can do 1.7+... don't know if they just said you "can" of if they really tried it (though I doubt they did)...
    Barton 2500+@2.7Ghz Air, NF7S v2, 1Gb OCZ 3500GX
    9700Pro, PCP&C 510 - Old School Box - Now the GFs

    New PC:
    Opty 170 0543TPMW @ 2.73Ghz 1.55V, tT BT, Asus A8N32-SLI, 2x EVGA 7800GT CO @485/1.15, 1GBx2 Mushkin XP4000 Redline CE6, Enermax 660 Quad Rail

  10. #135
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    48
    Quote Originally Posted by HKPolice
    So the 200mv option works, when total vcore is less than 1.58v? IE if you select 1.3v + 200mv, it gives 1.5v?
    Well i didnt get quite that low but tried 1.40,1.4125,1.45,1.50,1.55,1.56 and all would be capped @ 1.58volts.

  11. #136
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    374
    So the 200mv option works, when total vcore is less than 1.58v. That's not good.

  12. #137
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    East Coast USA
    Posts
    783
    Quote Originally Posted by trza2k
    Well i didnt get quite that low but tried 1.40,1.4125,1.45,1.50,1.55,1.56 and all would be capped @ 1.58volts.
    that sucks, being someone that went through the "a bios revision will fix it" of the first a8n-sli, i am a little scared of the a8n32 now. I have been living with the dfi sli-dr for 8 months now and I feel it is completly unstable and am looking for a new motherboard. I thought the a8n32 was the answer i was looking for, and I hope it still is. Time will tell

  13. #138
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    48
    Well i emailed asus about the vcore problem and was asked to fill out a form and they will send me a new fan that is quiet lol. I'm hoping this was a mistake

  14. #139
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    946
    Well, you know, if asus can't provide us with a bios, 3-4 SOMEONE's here I'm damn sure can create a modded bios for us. I ran a modded bios for the nforce2 asus board, don't see why we can't do the same for this one. You know what they say, if you don't like it, MOD IT.
    ALIENS are bringing my next kentsfield based rig in a UFO case!

  15. #140
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Upland, CA
    Posts
    115
    Quote Originally Posted by Otaking71
    pics! with the bt tt attached!

    www.otaking71.com/a8n32
    thanks for the pics! i guess my 120mm tt heatsink will fit (same one you have) is there any way to get that fan that comes with the board to clip on that heatsink?

    you guys are startin to scare me tho, i had a DFI lanparty SLI-DR and it was the most unstable POS ever. now im without a mobo and wanted to get the
    a8n32 but is it worth waiting for some rev. 2 that might come soon?

Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •