Page 1 of 167 12341151101 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 4154

Thread: The Official Dual Core Opteron Overclocking Thread

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Bergen, Norway
    Posts
    158

    The Official Dual Core Opteron Overclocking Thread

    I'm really interested how the DC OPTY's perform, so I wanted to start a thread about the OC results. Unfortunately the DC OPTY's aren't available here in Norway, but i hope someone will post their results here when they get their hands on a DC OPTY!
    Moore's Law has been replaced by "Paul's Paradox": the number of canceled products per year at Intel will double every year after the introduction of the AMD Opteronâ„¢ processor.

  2. #2
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    596
    Bookmarked this thread for sure!

    I am very interested how the preform too, only thing is that they are too expensive for me.
    AMD Opteron 148 CABYE 0543 FPBW || DFI LanParty nF4 SLI-DR AD0
    2x 512MB OCZ PC3500 Limited Edition Winbond BH-5 || 2x 512MB Corsair PC3200LL V1.1 Winbond BH-5 || 1x 256MB Mushkin PC3500 LV2 Winbond BH-5
    SAPPHIRE X800GTO2 @ 16P 600/570, Voltmodded, GPU=1,7V/VDD/VDDQ=2,3V
    Zippy PSL-6720P(G1) GAMING ,POWER - I love it!

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    106
    My Dual Core Opteron (0534 SPMW) is now running at 2.7GHz with 1.45V, have been playing BF2 for hours
    Intel C2Q Q9650
    Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P Rev 1.1 (Bios F10j)
    Gskill PC8500 PK 2GB X 2
    XFX 9800GX2
    Corsair HX1000 PSU

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Niagara Peninsula, Canada
    Posts
    308
    Is that the highest you can take it or just as far as you care to go now? I decided to skip the 939 single-core Opterons in favour of the dual-cores.

  5. #5
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Bergen, Norway
    Posts
    158
    Quote Originally Posted by Fresh Daemon
    I decided to skip the 939 single-core Opterons in favour of the dual-cores.
    So did I, but waiho2k1, what's the full stepping & batch on your CPU ?
    Moore's Law has been replaced by "Paul's Paradox": the number of canceled products per year at Intel will double every year after the introduction of the AMD Opteronâ„¢ processor.

  6. #6
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    596
    Quote Originally Posted by waiho2k1
    My Dual Core Opteron (0534 SPMW) is now running at 2.7GHz with 1.45V, have been playing BF2 for hours
    Nice result!, what is your max?
    AMD Opteron 148 CABYE 0543 FPBW || DFI LanParty nF4 SLI-DR AD0
    2x 512MB OCZ PC3500 Limited Edition Winbond BH-5 || 2x 512MB Corsair PC3200LL V1.1 Winbond BH-5 || 1x 256MB Mushkin PC3500 LV2 Winbond BH-5
    SAPPHIRE X800GTO2 @ 16P 600/570, Voltmodded, GPU=1,7V/VDD/VDDQ=2,3V
    Zippy PSL-6720P(G1) GAMING ,POWER - I love it!

  7. #7
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Bergen, Norway
    Posts
    158
    There must be more than one guy on XS forum that has a DC OPTERON?
    Moore's Law has been replaced by "Paul's Paradox": the number of canceled products per year at Intel will double every year after the introduction of the AMD Opteronâ„¢ processor.

  8. #8
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Portugal (Tuga Powa)
    Posts
    294
    I just wish I can get an Opt 175 that does 285x10
    Testing Rig
    Lian Li PC-S80
    Enermax Liberty 620W
    Asus P5K
    Conroe E6600
    2Gb OCZ PC8500 - @650 Club
    BFG 8800GTS 320Mb
    2xSamsung 80Gb SATA II Raid 0
    1xSeagate 320Gb SATA II 16Mb
    Pioneer DVR 110-D
    Water Cooled (MCP655-Storm-Maze4gpu-BIX-1/2tubing)

  9. #9
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    2,081
    Quote Originally Posted by MonkSP
    I just wish I can get an Opt 175 that does 285x10
    Nobody selling pretested CPU's in the States? If that's where you live.

    And no more Opteron UP DC OC (duH..) results?

  10. #10
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    161
    man two dual core opteron goodness..................I think that will be my next rig
    Dell 9300 1.6@2.13 ghz 1 gig ddr2 533 fsb, geforce 6800go for about $950

    Dell 8400 630 @ 4 ghz EE, 160 gig, 512 mb ddr2, x300se 2 X 17" LCDs dvd burner and dvd rom $650

    HTPC: shuttle sn85g4v3 3000+ DTR, radeon 9600XT, ATI TV wonder pro, dvd burner 512 DDR around $450

  11. #11
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    192
    Quote Originally Posted by waiho2k1
    My Dual Core Opteron (0534 SPMW) is now running at 2.7GHz with 1.45V, have been playing BF2 for hours
    I would like to hear more about your OSA170 do you have any more oc results and stepping info?

  12. #12
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,405
    signed up getting a 165 soon
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  13. #13
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    288
    175 coming Thursday.
    DFI LP UT P35-T2R | E8400 Q743A748 - IHS removed
    Team Xtreme PC2 9600 2x1GB | Auzentech XPlosion
    PCP+C Silencer 750W | 2x36GB Raptors RAID-0 | XFX 7800GT
    Iwaki MD20-RZT | FuZion - 4.4mm - modified ProMount | PA120.3

  14. #14
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    243
    Any 165's for sale at a price that is more close to AMD's price for them?

  15. #15
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,405
    Quote Originally Posted by Gogar
    Any 165's for sale at a price that is more close to AMD's price for them?
    they sell for about AUD$460 including local taxes (10%)......AUD$460 roughly works out as USD$350
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  16. #16
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    161
    Just bought a 165 retail for $300 + ($7.50 for 2 day shipping), check out mWave if these hit 2.7 ghz I won't feel bad about not getting the CABNE for $220
    Dell 9300 1.6@2.13 ghz 1 gig ddr2 533 fsb, geforce 6800go for about $950

    Dell 8400 630 @ 4 ghz EE, 160 gig, 512 mb ddr2, x300se 2 X 17" LCDs dvd burner and dvd rom $650

    HTPC: shuttle sn85g4v3 3000+ DTR, radeon 9600XT, ATI TV wonder pro, dvd burner 512 DDR around $450

  17. #17
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,405
    when will you get a chance to test it out
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  18. #18
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    614
    Just got a 165 for $299.. let hope it works in motherboard.

    it's still over $15 what AMD says but I was not going to miss out on early production like I did with Opteron 144/146's..

  19. #19
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    124
    Ordered the 165 from mWave as well.. Got 2 day shipping so hopefully it will be here on Saturday.

    I'll post my results ASAP.

  20. #20
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    562
    Quote Originally Posted by demenion
    Ordered the 165 from mWave as well.. Got 2 day shipping so hopefully it will be here on Saturday.

    I'll post my results ASAP.
    Should I get a 165 or 170.

  21. #21
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    41
    Quote Originally Posted by demenion
    Ordered the 165 from mWave as well.. Got 2 day shipping so hopefully it will be here on Saturday.

    I'll post my results ASAP.
    Just ordered mine too, my results will be up Sunday probably.

  22. #22
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    133
    Please post steppings and weeks when you guys get them.

    I might get a 170 soon.. I'de rather pay the extra $80 to get a higher binned chip.

  23. #23
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    562
    Quote Originally Posted by bmac11
    Please post steppings and weeks when you guys get them.

    I might get a 170 soon.. I'de rather pay the extra $80 to get a higher binned chip.
    Maybe a higher binned chip maybe but maybe not as good of a stepping ... hmmm

  24. #24
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Australia :p
    Posts
    104
    The dual cores should be fine for 2.5-2.7 easy.
    Mezmerise and nvidiaxp over @ OCAU r running there 175's @ 2.8 and 3Ghz both with around 1.55 or 1.6v. Dinos can probably confirm that

    My 165 can do 2.5 @ ~1.4v 2.6 @ ~1.45.....but my board doesn't work with any settings over 290 for some reason. Even clockgen in windows can't push it further

    Attached Images Attached Images
    Phenom 9850 | Gigabyte 790FX-DS5 | 2GB RAM | Gecube 3870+3850

  25. #25
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    161
    3 ghz !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, w/ what cooling??
    Dell 9300 1.6@2.13 ghz 1 gig ddr2 533 fsb, geforce 6800go for about $950

    Dell 8400 630 @ 4 ghz EE, 160 gig, 512 mb ddr2, x300se 2 X 17" LCDs dvd burner and dvd rom $650

    HTPC: shuttle sn85g4v3 3000+ DTR, radeon 9600XT, ATI TV wonder pro, dvd burner 512 DDR around $450

Page 1 of 167 12341151101 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •