Results 1 to 25 of 25

Thread: DFI voltage table

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    107

    DFI voltage table

    Got bored today so i made this CPU voltage table:



    Hope its useful to someone

    EDIT: Made some corrections to the table
    Last edited by pudds; 04-04-2005 at 04:32 PM.

  2. #2
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    754
    good job
    E5200
    Asus P5Q-VM
    A-DATA 2x2GB
    Zotac 8800GT
    500W Seasonic

    Quote Originally Posted by trakslacker
    har har! Geforce strikes again with one of his "theories"

  3. #3
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    1,758
    Thanks a lot, usefull contribution.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    NC, USA
    Posts
    15
    One of the problems is that even with the math done, the voltages reported in BIOS are not in line with the table. It seems that the higher multipliers do not always produce higher voltages. For instance in my testing 1.400x126(1.764), 1.325x133(1.762), 1.300x136(1.768), 155x113(1.752) all result in the same 1.72v reported by BIOS and everything from 1.648 to 1.680 reported in CPUZ. It is good from the start, but it might be advisable to stick with multipliers of 123% and lower.
    LP UT nF4 Ultra-D Rev. A.02 03/31 BIOS, Geil Ultra-X PC4400 (2x512) 260@2.5,3,3,8@2.8v, 0451 3500+ Winchester @ 260x10@1.6v, Black Ice Extreme, MCW6002, Maze4 GPU, AquaXtreme 50Z, Seagate 80GB SATA w/NCQ, Maxtor DiamondMax 10 300GB SATA w/NCQ, NEC 3200 DVD-RW, Liteon 1633 DVD-RW, Sony floppy, ATech USB 2.0 Internal card reader, ATI X850XT PE @ 592/614, Soundblaster Audigy2 ZS, Antec NeoPower 480. All in a Kingwin KT-424 case.

  5. #5
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    107
    Ive noticed that using lower voltages and high % seems to have a limit of 1.4V e.g 1.150 and 126% gives just under 1.4V

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Bs. As. Argentina.
    Posts
    60
    thx realy usefull table

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    46
    Good job...looking for something like this. Too lazy to make my own

  8. #8
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Houston, Tx.
    Posts
    162
    WOW, great work.. That must of taken some time.. Very useful for sure... How did you keep from getting all those different numbers mixed up while typing that, LOL?

  9. #9
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    754
    Quote Originally Posted by WheresWaldo
    One of the problems is that even with the math done, the voltages reported in BIOS are not in line with the table. It seems that the higher multipliers do not always produce higher voltages. For instance in my testing 1.400x126(1.764), 1.325x133(1.762), 1.300x136(1.768), 155x113(1.752) all result in the same 1.72v reported by BIOS and everything from 1.648 to 1.680 reported in CPUZ. It is good from the start, but it might be advisable to stick with multipliers of 123% and lower.
    yea, that's true but the table is here not 2 tell u the exact voltage but +/-.
    E5200
    Asus P5Q-VM
    A-DATA 2x2GB
    Zotac 8800GT
    500W Seasonic

    Quote Originally Posted by trakslacker
    har har! Geforce strikes again with one of his "theories"

  10. #10
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    AMD factory
    Posts
    2,607
    Quote Originally Posted by WheresWaldo
    One of the problems is that even with the math done, the voltages reported in BIOS are not in line with the table. It seems that the higher multipliers do not always produce higher voltages. For instance in my testing 1.400x126(1.764), 1.325x133(1.762), 1.300x136(1.768), 155x113(1.752) all result in the same 1.72v reported by BIOS and everything from 1.648 to 1.680 reported in CPUZ. It is good from the start, but it might be advisable to stick with multipliers of 123% and lower.
    Here the same - 12 x 279 with 1,500 x 123% ist 1,77 in Smartguardian, 1,776 in CPU-Z and 1,792 in CBI so I think it is somethin' between 1,77 and 1,78 real but normally it should be 1,845.

    But I recognised the board is undervolting even no special vid is used so maybe this comes from the undervolting issue..........

    Previous system:


    DFI NF4 ULTRA 0453A3 KOREA CHIPSET / BIOS 510-2FIX / FX-57 0516WPMW@3.62GHZ / 2x256 CORSAIR 3200LLPT BH-5@13x278MHZ 2-2-2-5@3.69VDIMM / MACH II GT@MOD BY BERKUT / ACTIVE COOLING FOR RAM - MOSFETS - GPU RAM / CHIPSET & GPU CORE WATERCOOLED / OCZ POWERSTEAM 600W / BUILT BY ATI X850XT@660/651 - VGPU@1.73-VDD@2.26-VDDQ@2.21 PENCIL MOD / WIN XP 2x80GB SAMSUNG SPINPOINT SP80 SATA - RAID 0 & WIN 2K 40GB SAMSUNG SPINPOINT SP40 IDE BENCH DRIVE / PIC


    ----------------><------------------

  11. #11
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    754
    Yea DFI is undervolting but it holds the volts stable.
    E5200
    Asus P5Q-VM
    A-DATA 2x2GB
    Zotac 8800GT
    500W Seasonic

    Quote Originally Posted by trakslacker
    har har! Geforce strikes again with one of his "theories"

  12. #12
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Gorssel, The Netherlands
    Posts
    336
    has anyone noticed that the volts go up considerably when you stress the cpu? For example I get 1.62v @ idle and 1.7-1.73v @ load


    C2D E6300 @ 3.5ghz | 2x1GB ADATA "Micron D9" @ 500 4-4-4-12 2.3v | Asus P5B-E Plus C2 | Sapphire X1900XT 512MB | Tuniq Tower 120

  13. #13
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    AMD factory
    Posts
    2,607
    Quote Originally Posted by _Eduard_
    has anyone noticed that the volts go up considerably when you stress the cpu? For example I get 1.62v @ idle and 1.7-1.73v @ load
    Can not confirm - got always extrem stable volts at all loads - maybe Your PSU is too weak ?

    Previous system:


    DFI NF4 ULTRA 0453A3 KOREA CHIPSET / BIOS 510-2FIX / FX-57 0516WPMW@3.62GHZ / 2x256 CORSAIR 3200LLPT BH-5@13x278MHZ 2-2-2-5@3.69VDIMM / MACH II GT@MOD BY BERKUT / ACTIVE COOLING FOR RAM - MOSFETS - GPU RAM / CHIPSET & GPU CORE WATERCOOLED / OCZ POWERSTEAM 600W / BUILT BY ATI X850XT@660/651 - VGPU@1.73-VDD@2.26-VDDQ@2.21 PENCIL MOD / WIN XP 2x80GB SAMSUNG SPINPOINT SP80 SATA - RAID 0 & WIN 2K 40GB SAMSUNG SPINPOINT SP40 IDE BENCH DRIVE / PIC


    ----------------><------------------

  14. #14
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    754
    Quote Originally Posted by HARDCORECLOCKER
    Can not confirm - got always extrem stable volts at all loads - maybe Your PSU is too weak ?

    ^^, it should b ur PSU, I had/have very stable volts on MSI K8N Neo 2 & DFI NF4
    E5200
    Asus P5Q-VM
    A-DATA 2x2GB
    Zotac 8800GT
    500W Seasonic

    Quote Originally Posted by trakslacker
    har har! Geforce strikes again with one of his "theories"

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    56
    I had the same issue with my msi neo2, when i stressed the cpu the voltage raised, but at the DFi NF4 it is rock stable maks 0.01 volts variation... now thats awsome
    OPTERON 148 @ 3200mhz Water cooled
    1024 mb Muskin REEDLINE xp4000
    2x7800 gtx SLI @ 570/1445

  16. #16
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    85
    Even though some of these settings don't physically translate into usage, the table serves as a good base for any new user. Great job.

    deception``
    Opteron 146 CABYE 0540FPAW @ 2.9 ~ 3.0 Ghz, DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D, 2x512 OCZ PC 4800 Platinum, Msi 6600GT, Big Typhoon, 2x250gb Hitachi T7K250 Hard Drives, OCZ Powerstream 520W, Audigy 2Zs, Logitech z-5300e

  17. #17
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    ILLinois
    Posts
    626
    Putting in use Excel,

  18. #18
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    107
    I didn't use excel, i laboured over many hours to create this

  19. #19
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    127
    Great work. Now, can someone mod the bios so that you can just enter the final voltage without having to adjust the other values? That would be the simplest and most convenient approach.

  20. #20
    Love and Peace!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    hiding somewhere!
    Posts
    3,734
    Quote Originally Posted by HARDCORECLOCKER
    Can not confirm - got always extrem stable volts at all loads - maybe Your PSU is too weak ?

    no, a weak psu would drop the voltage even more under load. both my dfi nf3-ut and msi k8n neo plat. do this... probably something to do with the efficiency of the PWM circuit with varying load.
    Got a fan over those memory sticks? No? Well get to it before you kill them

  21. #21
    XS D2OL & RAM News
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Somewhere, USA
    Posts
    4,458
    Still could be something with the PSU possiblly. I've got a cheap PSU that has the 12v rail go way up under load. Like idle is 12.6v and load is 13v or 13.1v sometimes.

    jjcom

  22. #22
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    waukegan
    Posts
    3,750
    nice table
    mobo: strix b350f
    gpu: rx580 1366/2000
    cpu: ryzen 1700 @ 3.8ghz
    ram: 32 gb gskill 2400 @ 3000
    psu: coarsair 1kw
    hdd's: samsung 500gb ssd 1tb & 3tb hdd

  23. #23
    Cyanide Blood
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,172
    Great work and thanks ive been looking for a way of getting 1.73v for AGES but too lazy to work it out myself

    Thanks
    AN OPEN MIND, WITH A CLOSED FIST.

  24. #24
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    243
    Quote Originally Posted by pudds
    I didn't use excel, i laboured over many hours to create this
    With a multimeter?

  25. #25
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    1,693
    great post this is just what i was looking for after wiping out cmos.. thanks for taking the time to make this for us.
    Current Setup:
    -9850 GX2's in Quad SLI config
    -Asus P5N32-SLI MB
    -2x512mb of PC2-5300 DDR2
    -Intel Celeron D OC'd to 3.2Ghz
    -Windows Me with XP theme
    -WD Caviar 20GB Hard Drive
    -Zip drive
    -Jazz drive
    -3.5" floppy drive
    -5.25" floppy drive

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •