Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Athlon 1ghz TBird Questions

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Saginaw, Michigan
    Posts
    473

    Athlon 1ghz TBird Questions

    Well I recently acquired a *free* tbird but me still being young, I wasn't much into computers back when these were more popular. The stepping on the chip is:

    A1000AMT3C
    AXIA0122TPCW
    96146680641

    I used a cpu stepping decoder and found this data (I originally didn't know anything about the chip):

    http://www.hwspirit.com/tools.php?m=...l3=96146680641

    The motherboard I got with the chip was a Asus A7M266 but I don't think it will have the abusive powers I need for this chip and was wondering if y'all knew if the DFI Infinity was ok for it?

    A little bit of research has told me the 'axia' steppings are very good overclockers (1.4-1.5ghz on air). Also was wondering some overclocks y'all got with these? Any other info I should know or just basically the same idea as with my xp mobile chip?

  2. #2
    beefin' it up!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    WPI
    Posts
    2,781
    Dunno, but this should be interesting; I too am in possession of a TBird 1ghz with which to buuuurn. anyone know anything about these babies? It should have unlocked multis, cause all "old" chips are unlocked (forgot the specific date they started locking).

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Saginaw, Michigan
    Posts
    473
    Quote Originally Posted by Bloody_Sorcerer
    Dunno, but this should be interesting; I too am in possession of a TBird 1ghz with which to buuuurn. anyone know anything about these babies? It should have unlocked multis, cause all "old" chips are unlocked (forgot the specific date they started locking).
    Been reading around but I believe you have to close the L1 bridges to unlock the multiplier.

    Edit: Here we are: http://www.overclockersclub.com/guides/t-bird.php
    Last edited by jumanji969; 03-26-2005 at 05:20 PM.

  4. #4
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    waukegan
    Posts
    3,750
    yep, ur right about the l1 bridges, same with barton cores too (i think) there was one mobo, and you could hook a wire on the back of the mobo and it gave you multi's of 11x and up...infact that data IS on this site, i recall seing it a while ago, good luck gents

    here ya go

    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...locking+barton

    another one

    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...threadid=22221
    Last edited by i found nemo; 03-26-2005 at 05:43 PM.
    mobo: strix b350f
    gpu: rx580 1366/2000
    cpu: ryzen 1700 @ 3.8ghz
    ram: 32 gb gskill 2400 @ 3000
    psu: coarsair 1kw
    hdd's: samsung 500gb ssd 1tb & 3tb hdd

  5. #5
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Saginaw, Michigan
    Posts
    473
    Well put the chip into the Infinity with no problems. Since I didn't have a harddrive with windows installed I was just testing to see what it would post at and it went up to 210 x 7.5 before it wouldn't post, at 1.95v I believe it was. I plan on putting 2.2v+ into this bad boy.

    Gotta connect those L1 bridges though since I really want to change the multi. Gosh this is so much fun with a free chip.

  6. #6
    c[_]
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    20,373
    AXIA's did 1400-1600mhz usually, were decent chips.
    Heatware || 01.01.08; AND 111.2%

    Dead Z7S-WS? Click!. || XS Z7S-WS Thread || Current Dead Asus Z7S-WS count: 26+ ($15,000 in dead motherboards).
    All along the watchtower the watchmen watch the eternal return.
    Want to use my Anti-asus logo? Go ahead, but use this link please!: http://i853.photobucket.com/albums/a...sus/noasus.gif
    Bring back the game. http://reclaimyourgame.com/. EA are mean.

  7. #7
    The un-extreme XIP
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    2,253
    do you realize how much heat (and what power supply requirements) putting 2.2volts through an amd makes? assuming an operating frequency of 1.6ghz, thats 150 watts, ONE HUNDRED AND FIFTY watts. if you use a heatsink with a degc/w rating of .22 (some of the best magage this), the temperature (of the heatsink) will rise 33 degrees celcius above ambient, expect the peak core to be at least 12c higher than this, giving a whopping 45degrees above ambient. unless the computer is outside during the winter of alaska (nice and chilly lol), that cpu will be hot enough to be unstable and fry stuff (normal room temperature is around 22c, giving you 67 degrees celcuis cpu temperature, with an extremely nice air cooling setup) basically, dont bother putting so much juice, it would cost you less to get a new cpu (mobile 2400+ 35w) than to pay for the electricity for a few months (and it woudl be much faster).

    i5 3570K@ 4.8GHz 1.32v, 32GB Gskill 1866, Gigabyte g1 sniper m3
    HD7970@1125/1575 stock voltage
    1TB F1+2*128GB Crucial M4
    Silverstone 450w, no case
    2560*1440@120Hz overclocked catleap
    Steelseries G6v2+5600dpi modded logitech trackball

  8. #8
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    841
    sure, but where is the fun then ?

    Dell XPS M1730 - X9000 @ 3400mhz-4096MB 667MHz DDR2 - M8800GTX SLI- 17"WUXGA+
    EVGA E762 4Way SLI Classified - 980X @ 6Ghz Ln² 6GB Dominator - MSI 5870 Lightning


    WWW.MADSHRIMPS.BE - Being Mad Doesn't Hertz You


  9. #9
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Saginaw, Michigan
    Posts
    473
    Quote Originally Posted by Gamer
    sure, but where is the fun then ?
    Exactly, plus this will give me an excuse to setup my watercooling system again.

    edit: Plus I already have a mobile cpu, I just can't abuse that chip because it cost me $86. Also the stock voltage on these chips is 1.75v, I've been reading and seeing more than a few people putting 2.1v+ into them.
    Last edited by jumanji969; 03-27-2005 at 06:49 AM.

  10. #10
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    waukegan
    Posts
    3,750
    when you o/c that baby post results
    mobo: strix b350f
    gpu: rx580 1366/2000
    cpu: ryzen 1700 @ 3.8ghz
    ram: 32 gb gskill 2400 @ 3000
    psu: coarsair 1kw
    hdd's: samsung 500gb ssd 1tb & 3tb hdd

  11. #11
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Saginaw, Michigan
    Posts
    473
    Does 190 x 7.5 (havne't closed bridges yet) at 1.95v pretty stable. Looped through 3dmark01 five times no crashes, SuperPI 32M no problems, but fails prime.

    I think the temp sensors are wrong or something because the whole time I was getting temperatures below 28c. Granted ambient is ~16c and I have a tornado on it but somehow 28c seems way too low. Heatsink wasn't hot though so I wasn't worried, in fact I could hardly feel any heat on the heatsink.

  12. #12
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Saginaw, Michigan
    Posts
    473
    Prime stable 186 x 7.5 @ 1.9v

    Temperatures never went above 35C with prime95 and 38C with SNM, this is on a stock cooler with a tornado sitting on top. This chip is kinda fun, and hell, it's faster than the current computer I'm posting on .

  13. #13
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    113
    IF you're lucky you should be able to get 1.6GHz on the core, I think I remember a few people being able to get to that benchstable. I got mine to 1.4GHz with 175x8 fairly easily. I would've gone for more but I didn't have the cooling power. Ended up killing it from overheating after leaving it on for a couple of days
    Winchester 3000+ (CBBHD 0448 SPAW) @ 2.6GHz 1.440 VCore
    DFI LP NF4 SLI-DR
    GSkill LE 2x512MB @ 290MHz 2.5-4-3-7 3.0VDIMM
    ATI Radeon X800XT @ 540/510
    PCP&C 510 Deluxe SLI
    All Stock cooling
    Saitek Gaming Keyboard + Razor Diamondback Mouse

  14. #14
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    DK
    Posts
    1,044
    Post some screens of those old bangers...

    SuperPI 1M would be fun, giving a nice picture of the development since.

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •