Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: cooling rams at higher voltages

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    60

    cooling rams at higher voltages

    Hi guys,
    I have got Twinmos UTT and MSI K8N Neo2 plat. with ddr booster. If I higher the voltage above 3.3v errors are appearing. How can I cool them? 1 80mm fan blowing directly over them, but there are still errors appearing.....
    can you pls show me your cooling solution for your rams and/or?! mosfets? I really want to play with fsb >250 mhz but can't do that, because of the voltage prob....
    pls post some pics.
    mfg

  2. #2
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    113
    I have 2x 80mm fans held together with cables ties over the RAM and DRAM MOFSET. Seems to work fine for me. Just make sure your case is well ventilated.
    Winchester 3000+ (CBBHD 0448 SPAW) @ 2.6GHz 1.440 VCore
    DFI LP NF4 SLI-DR
    GSkill LE 2x512MB @ 290MHz 2.5-4-3-7 3.0VDIMM
    ATI Radeon X800XT @ 540/510
    PCP&C 510 Deluxe SLI
    All Stock cooling
    Saitek Gaming Keyboard + Razor Diamondback Mouse

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    371
    Has anybody ever tried these?


    Got news? Post it HERE

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    MadTown, Indiana
    Posts
    145
    Quote Originally Posted by SLaY3r07
    Has anybody ever tried these?
    I am sure those work just fine, but if you have an 80mm fan and some rubber bands lying around you can do the same thing and save $20 bucks.
    :: Q6600 GO 2.4Ghz :: 2x Sapphire HD 3870 Crossfire ::
    :: Asus P5K3 Premium Black Pearl w/ onboard 2GB DDR3 Turbo D3 ::

    :: X2 4200+ Manchester :: 2x Evga 7900gt signature series ::
    :: DFI LanParty UT nf4 SLI-DR Expert :: GSKILL 2GB(1GBx2) PC4000 HZ ::
    :: Chilly1 Single Stage ::

  5. #5
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Cleveland OH USA Bored?: You Know It
    Posts
    3,816
    Quote Originally Posted by Nerm
    I am sure those work just fine, but if you have an 80mm fan and some rubber bands lying around you can do the same thing and save $20 bucks.
    i think the product that was linked to is a bit more safe than rubber bands, after a while the rubber bands seem to get brittle and break, that wouldnt be good. I just use an 80mm fan and some copper ramsinks.

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    MadTown, Indiana
    Posts
    145
    hey don't knock the use of rubber bands lol. rubber bands and duct tape can be any modder's best friend lol.
    :: Q6600 GO 2.4Ghz :: 2x Sapphire HD 3870 Crossfire ::
    :: Asus P5K3 Premium Black Pearl w/ onboard 2GB DDR3 Turbo D3 ::

    :: X2 4200+ Manchester :: 2x Evga 7900gt signature series ::
    :: DFI LanParty UT nf4 SLI-DR Expert :: GSKILL 2GB(1GBx2) PC4000 HZ ::
    :: Chilly1 Single Stage ::

  7. #7
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Cleveland OH USA Bored?: You Know It
    Posts
    3,816
    sounds like a redneck's dream. lol no offense to you or anyone else who has used these in their computers!

  8. #8
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Dearborn, MI
    Posts
    185
    redneck/thrifty consumer

  9. #9
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ohio, U.S.A.
    Posts
    2,215
    6 CFM for $20

    I'm just going to use an 80mm in the case blowing at them, as well as a desk fan that pushes a lot of CFM into the case.

  10. #10
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Dearborn, MI
    Posts
    185
    haha thats the way to go

  11. #11
    XS D2OL & RAM News
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Somewhere, USA
    Posts
    4,401
    Quote Originally Posted by Nerm
    hey don't knock the use of rubber bands lol. rubber bands and duct tape can be any modder's best friend lol.
    Yes, duct tape and rubber bands, or just plain 'ol wire is great to have lying around
    sounds like a redneck's dream. lol no offense to you or anyone else who has used these in their computers!
    nope, don't currently have that in my computer. Altho i did think about pulling out the super glue to attach a fan to a heatsink

    jjcom

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    11
    6.72 CFM from that cooler, not likely to do much if you have decent case flow, your caseflow should be moving more air accross your ram than that POS will.

    Try this

    I've been using this method for ~6 months, changed memory many times, same rubberbands are still fine.

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    60
    no pics from your own solution, eh?
    pls post some pics for me...

  14. #14
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Flying through Space, with armoire, Armoire of INVINCIBILATAAAAY!
    Posts
    1,960
    Quote Originally Posted by SLaY3r07
    Has anybody ever tried these?
    I have.


    http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=844847&page=1

    great mounting system. You can mod it yourself to hold anything that's 120mm long... such as 3x40mm fans, 2x60mm, or 1x120mm. I chose the former, because I don't have any room for a 120mm fan, or 60mm fans for that matter. This thing barely fits near the optical drives as it is. I modded it with 3x 40x40x20mm sunon "v1" maglev fans, for a total of about 20cfm. It doesn't really matter how much air they push, as the static pressure, in which department, they generate about 0.09 Inch-H20 of static pressure. That's more than some blowers . Crappy blowers, though, but still enough to get air in between those fins.

    Edit: I'm thinking about using this bracket to mount a 120x33mm blower. The're very noisy, but they generate an insane amount of static pressure compared to anything else. So my plan is to undervolt it... obviously .
    Last edited by iddqd; 03-24-2005 at 03:00 PM.
    Sigs are obnoxious.

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    13
    here's my cooler





    Went to home depot and bought a 1 inch wide piece of aluminum, and bent it over a table

  16. #16
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Flying through Space, with armoire, Armoire of INVINCIBILATAAAAY!
    Posts
    1,960
    Wait, you inserted it right into the dimm slot? Doesn't that cause a short?
    Sigs are obnoxious.

  17. #17
    Xtreme Recruit
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    98
    omg u guys are sick

    i just got a 120mm fan in the side of my case
    Venice 3000+
    MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
    2x512 OCZ EL Platinum Rev.2
    Powercolor x800 pro ViVo @ XT PE 16 Pipes
    OCZ 520W PSU

    high-end watercooling

  18. #18
    Xtreme 3D Mark Team Staff
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Juneau Alaska
    Posts
    8,022
    what I do is go to radio shack and buy a 4 pack of "PC Stand Offs" they are about a inch and a half tall.

    you get 4 metal rods, and 8 screws.
    the screws go in the top and bottom of the rod.

    use the corner hole in the far upper right of the motherboard, by the ram, all you need is a single Stand-Off.
    attach a 93mm fan to this standoff, and it can cover most of your ram, without needing to make awkward gadgets or anything.

    costs about $2 and a minute of your time.




    "The command and conquer model," said the EA CEO, "doesn't work. If you think you're going to buy a developer and put your name on the label... you're making a profound mistake."

  19. #19
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Flying through Space, with armoire, Armoire of INVINCIBILATAAAAY!
    Posts
    1,960
    you mean like mobo standoffs, only same thread for male/female? I have a couple of those, and tried to make a bracket to mount my fans with that, but it looks hasu.
    Sigs are obnoxious.

  20. #20
    Xtreme 3D Mark Team Staff
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Juneau Alaska
    Posts
    8,022
    well, they are way too tall to be used as MB standoffs, they are just in a package called PS standoffs.

    no idea what they are actually for, like most things, I find something totally not intended for what I want to do, then find a way to make it do what I need it to do

    (try saying that 3 times fast)




    "The command and conquer model," said the EA CEO, "doesn't work. If you think you're going to buy a developer and put your name on the label... you're making a profound mistake."

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •