Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 30

Thread: AMD Phenom - Are there Cold Bugs?

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Rose, NY
    Posts
    280

    AMD Phenom - Are there Cold Bugs?

    Has anyone seen or heard anything about these new chips being cold bugged?
    Intel i9 7900X @ 4.6GHz @ 1.126v
    ASUS X299 TUF MARK 1
    32GB G.Skill DDR4 2800
    2x ZOTAC AMP EXTREME Core GTX1080Ti's in SLi
    Loop 1: Apogee GTZ CPU block, MCR360 rad w/ Scythe fans, Micro-res, Aquaextreme 50Z pump
    U2-UFO case

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    38
    Very good question my friend!

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    105
    Cold bugs.

    My works nightmare.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    67
    This would be very interesting to find out.
    "Ninja" Rig:
    E8400 @ 4016MHz (502MHz x 8)
    ASUS Maximus Formula w/ RF 0403 BIOS
    2x2GB Mushkin Redline DDR2-1000
    Diamond HD4870 512MB GDDR5
    WD Caviar Black 1TB
    2x 320GB Seagate 7200.10
    Corsair TX750W
    TRUE120 + 68CFM Scythe "Slip Stream"
    Coolermaster CM 690 "Ninja-Modded" :p
    Windows 7 Ultimate RTM/Build 7600 64-bit

  5. #5
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    3,286
    lol what forum is this on?


    I have not heard of any early release chips testing the phenom out yet so i dont think anyone knows at this point....
    Never empower an idiot with a response....

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Troll_%28Internet%29

    Seller/Buyer Reputation:
    Heatware: http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=50905
    Ebay: {Family Account} Kasyg3 http://myworld.ebay.com/kasyg3/
    Ebay: {My personal Account} Sdumper http://myworld.ebay.com/sdumper/
    iTrader: http://www.blazingpc.com/forum/itrader.php?u=28

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Ottawa, ON, Canada
    Posts
    40
    HAha i think i'm lost Big S!

    It will be interesting to see if these chips are pushable... if it turns out they are bugged, it's not good news for AMD... and bad news is the last thing they need now.

  7. #7
    Wanna look under my kilt?
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Glasgow-ish U.K.
    Posts
    4,509
    Anyone fancy sending me a Phenom and a board and i'll Dice test it?

    Hey...cant hurt to ask!
    Quote Originally Posted by T_M View Post
    Not sure i totally follow anything you said, but regardless of that you helped me come up with a very good idea....
    Quote Originally Posted by soundood View Post
    you sigged that?

    why?
    ______

    Sometimes, it's not your time. Sometimes, you have to make it your time. Sometimes, it can ONLY be your time.

  8. #8
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Atlanta GA - USA
    Posts
    844
    Yeah you can send me some free gear too
    Heatware -> http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=51939
    Ebay -> http://myworld.ebay.com/onewhoisplug
    Feel Free to hop in my ventrio server and chat with us
    Vent6.gameservers.com:4498

  9. #9
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    1,264
    I'll find out tonight down to -20ish hopefully, Unless I can get some DICE tonight.

  10. #10
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Rose, NY
    Posts
    280
    Thank you sir!
    Intel i9 7900X @ 4.6GHz @ 1.126v
    ASUS X299 TUF MARK 1
    32GB G.Skill DDR4 2800
    2x ZOTAC AMP EXTREME Core GTX1080Ti's in SLi
    Loop 1: Apogee GTZ CPU block, MCR360 rad w/ Scythe fans, Micro-res, Aquaextreme 50Z pump
    U2-UFO case

  11. #11
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    plan3t 3@rth
    Posts
    997
    i would like to see a max stable overclock,weird me. i actually wanna game on it 24\7 if its worthy over new penryn.who cares if it can hit 5 ghz on dice worthless to me if it cant do atleast 3.5-3.7 stable on chilled water\phase to run crysis etc...
    Last edited by railmeat; 11-22-2007 at 05:28 PM.
    Stacker830 Watercooled
    windows7 ultimate 64 bit!!!
    heatkiller(rev3) on 2500k@ 4.5ghz 1.35v,8 gigs 2133 ripjaws 1.5v
    Swiftech Mcp-655,1/2in tygon,13x120 sunnons on junk ps,
    (2)triple 120mm rads,Biostar TP67XE(rev 5.2)
    150 gig velicraptor (stable drive) ssds r still buggy!!
    xfi-xtrememusic,klipsch ultras, sen hd-595s
    Evga Hydro gtX 590,co0lermaster-1250 watt,
    24" Sony fw-900 black ops at @ 2304x1440 85hz/85fps SOLID
    G@m3r 4 L1Fe!!

    http://s76.photobucket.com/albums/j1...0VIEW%20ALL--/
    3dmark 11 http://3dmark.com/3dm11/1102387

  12. #12
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    1,264
    Railmeat: Not touching it with DICE till found stable Air and water clocks

    just confirmed Dice is available tonight though, sweet.

    God I hope it's not too bad, be nice for a change.

  13. #13
    Fused
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    2,789
    Thanks... Good Luck

  14. #14
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Warren,MI
    Posts
    561
    sweet dude! i got a water chiller in the works and would love to see how well these suckers clock!
    i heard 3.0Ghz on air from reviewers
    cpu- Intel I7 3930K
    Asus P9x79 Deluxe
    2x HD7970
    32gb ddr3-1600
    corsair ax1200
    Corsair 800D
    Corsair H100 lapped
    2x 128gb M4 raid 0

  15. #15
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    plan3t 3@rth
    Posts
    997
    Quote Originally Posted by mAJORD View Post
    Railmeat: Not touching it with DICE till found stable Air and water clocks

    just confirmed Dice is available tonight though, sweet.

    God I hope it's not too bad, be nice for a change.
    "Not touching it with DICE till found stable Air and water clocks"

    nice,nice like to hear relaistic stable clocks,ty. occt 30-60min would own.u should be able to get 3.4-3.6ghz on water.
    Stacker830 Watercooled
    windows7 ultimate 64 bit!!!
    heatkiller(rev3) on 2500k@ 4.5ghz 1.35v,8 gigs 2133 ripjaws 1.5v
    Swiftech Mcp-655,1/2in tygon,13x120 sunnons on junk ps,
    (2)triple 120mm rads,Biostar TP67XE(rev 5.2)
    150 gig velicraptor (stable drive) ssds r still buggy!!
    xfi-xtrememusic,klipsch ultras, sen hd-595s
    Evga Hydro gtX 590,co0lermaster-1250 watt,
    24" Sony fw-900 black ops at @ 2304x1440 85hz/85fps SOLID
    G@m3r 4 L1Fe!!

    http://s76.photobucket.com/albums/j1...0VIEW%20ALL--/
    3dmark 11 http://3dmark.com/3dm11/1102387

  16. #16
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    67
    Quote Originally Posted by knightwolf654 View Post
    sweet dude! i got a water chiller in the works and would love to see how well these suckers clock!
    i heard 3.0Ghz on air from reviewers
    Actually from a review I read they said 2.6 max bench stable on air, 2.7 on water... (Here's the review)
    "Ninja" Rig:
    E8400 @ 4016MHz (502MHz x 8)
    ASUS Maximus Formula w/ RF 0403 BIOS
    2x2GB Mushkin Redline DDR2-1000
    Diamond HD4870 512MB GDDR5
    WD Caviar Black 1TB
    2x 320GB Seagate 7200.10
    Corsair TX750W
    TRUE120 + 68CFM Scythe "Slip Stream"
    Coolermaster CM 690 "Ninja-Modded" :p
    Windows 7 Ultimate RTM/Build 7600 64-bit

  17. #17
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    1,314
    *bangs head against the wall* amd, give me just some reason to stay with you... i'm gonna feel so dirty with an intel quad, but this is just so bad...
    Core i7 920 3849B028 4.2ghz cooled by ek hf | 6gb stt ddr3 2100 | MSI HD6950 cf cooled by ek fc | Evga x58 e760 Classified | 120gb G.Skill Phoenix Pro | Modded Rocketfish case + 1200w toughpower | mcp 655 pump + mcr 320 + black ice pro II

  18. #18
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    plan3t 3@rth
    Posts
    997
    Quote Originally Posted by Moneyless View Post
    Actually from a review I read they said 2.6 max bench stable on air, 2.7 on water... (Here's the review)

    i need to know what GOOD water yields.
    Stacker830 Watercooled
    windows7 ultimate 64 bit!!!
    heatkiller(rev3) on 2500k@ 4.5ghz 1.35v,8 gigs 2133 ripjaws 1.5v
    Swiftech Mcp-655,1/2in tygon,13x120 sunnons on junk ps,
    (2)triple 120mm rads,Biostar TP67XE(rev 5.2)
    150 gig velicraptor (stable drive) ssds r still buggy!!
    xfi-xtrememusic,klipsch ultras, sen hd-595s
    Evga Hydro gtX 590,co0lermaster-1250 watt,
    24" Sony fw-900 black ops at @ 2304x1440 85hz/85fps SOLID
    G@m3r 4 L1Fe!!

    http://s76.photobucket.com/albums/j1...0VIEW%20ALL--/
    3dmark 11 http://3dmark.com/3dm11/1102387

  19. #19
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Rose, NY
    Posts
    280
    Bump! Any news?
    Intel i9 7900X @ 4.6GHz @ 1.126v
    ASUS X299 TUF MARK 1
    32GB G.Skill DDR4 2800
    2x ZOTAC AMP EXTREME Core GTX1080Ti's in SLi
    Loop 1: Apogee GTZ CPU block, MCR360 rad w/ Scythe fans, Micro-res, Aquaextreme 50Z pump
    U2-UFO case

  20. #20
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    221
    Curious...

  21. #21
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Dallas, TX USA
    Posts
    1,474
    i'm hoping my SS would be perfect for these quad-cores, runs my XP-M using 2v at -38 load, would think those quads might put off a bit more heat

    not to mention being able to adjust northbridge voltage, might help too

    few more months though, DFI 790FX, hopefully B3 revision unlocked Phenom, and will have to keep my eye on those Radeon X2's.....

    need a better controller for my SS, (what'cha got for me Jinu)

    but then a dual-cpu 790FX based system with chilled water sounds very fun too
    Athlon XP-M 2500+ 0343MPMW The King is Dead!
    Phenom II X6 1090T 1025GPMW Long Live the King!

    -------------------------------------------
    I'm from the church of the operating room

  22. #22
    OCTeamDenmark Founder Nosfer@tu's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Denmark, Copenhagen
    Posts
    2,368
    Bump?
    I heard -18 stops it ?
    Former owner of OCTeamDenmark.com
    MSI MOTHERBOARD!!!!!!

    Linkedin


  23. #23
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    531
    I'll probably be getting myself an MSI K9A2 Platinum, and drop in a B3 Phenom when they're available.

    I have the money to get me a crossfired 3870 setup. I can compare that to the 8800 GT I ordered, if I end up getting it (still waiting on it after three weeks)

  24. #24
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,462
    Quote Originally Posted by cky2k6 View Post
    *bangs head against the wall* amd, give me just some reason to stay with you... i'm gonna feel so dirty with an intel quad, but this is just so bad...
    You can't resist TEH DARK SIDE
    [i5 2500K, ASrock extreme3 gen3, Corsair Vengeance LP 8GB 1600MHz, Palit GTX570 Sonic Platinum, CM HAF932, Antec Truepower New 650w]

  25. #25
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    178
    well in Soldners thread, although now banned if you look at the pics - theres much condensation on the pipes and his res, so im guessing iced water = A-OK down to ~5c (at a guess)
    how much below that tho?
    the entire mem controler/xmb/htt/nb area has been worked on, so im guessign there is some hope, as this is what was failing on K8.
    LCB9E 0641 APMW @3100 1.65V Decapped ~50c orthos load, TDX+House Rad (passive!)+Eheim 1250, Abit AX8, 2*1gig Crucial PC4000 @ 221 3-3-3-8-1T

    X4 940BE @ 3640 @1.475, Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD3P, 4x G.Skill F2-8500CL5D-2GBPK @ 1110mhz 5-5-5-15 @1.8v, 3870XT

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •