Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 33

Thread: E6850 + Dry Ice @ 5 ghz Benchable with Dragon Evo 2.4

  1. #1
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    1,679

    E6850 + Dry Ice @ 5 ghz Benchable with Dragon Evo 2.4

    Long time lurker... first time poster to what I believe is an xtreme overclock

    E6850 L719B095
    Abit IP35 Pro (Beta 12.01)
    2x1GB Crucial Tracer PC2-8500
    OCZ 8800GTX
    K|ingp|n Dragon Evo rev 2.4

    Inside of the dragon evo. This thing is a work of art!


    Setup:


    First thing I did was go for max validation. Bad idea. Since this was new territory for me, I didn't know what to expect.

    I found out after about 2-3 hours of messing around that my PL (performance level) was too tight beyond 555ish.

    Interesting enough when running 4-4-4 my PL was reading 7 for one stick and 8 for the other.

    Below 555, I could set PL to 7 for both and had no problems.

    Above that when I tried to run superpi at PL 7, it would crash.

    I thought it was a vcore limitation or my board.

    Finally I found out that changing the PL from 7 to 8 made things all better.

    So my max validation was actually my max 1M pi. Next time I will loosen up my mem timings and go for broke!

    http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=240190



    Last night I benched superpi 1M with the goal of sub-10 seconds in mind...
    Best score:
    10.172s @ 4.95 ghz


    I ended up with a little condensation on the right top corner of my board and my bench session was brought to an end.

    So I picked up where I left off today.


    First goal: sub 10 second 1M superpi:

    9.984s @ 5.05 ghz


    Best: 9.890s @ 5.1 ghz


    I did a few runs at 5130 mhz but couldn't get the screenshot captured fast enough (anyone recommend a good program to capture screens with one button?)


    Next goal: sub 10 minute superpi 32M
    10min 1.282 seconds @ 5004 mhz (SOOOOO CLOSE!!!! }


    After so many runs, I decided to cheat
    9min 59.078 seconds @ 5022 mhz


    I need a little more optimization to get that sub 10 at 5 ghz. Will have to try again.




    Now onto 3d benching. This was my first experience with sub-zero cooling my gpu so I had no idea what to expect. I set vgpu to 1.50 and gave Aquamark a go as well as 3DMark2k3. I was in the middle of 3DMark2k5 when I ran out of dry ice.

    Best aquamark
    268,111 @ 5040 mhz
    825 core / 1115 mem


    I still have a lot of tweaking to do for 3dmark... but this is one completed run of 2k3
    55,868 @ 5013 mhz
    800 core / 1100 mem


    Lessons learned:
    1. GET MORE THAN 25 LBS OF DRY ICE ($15 for 25 lbs)
    2. Better insulate my gpu pot. I had water in the pci-e slot when I was done (and I had forgotten to put some dielectric grease on the gold fingers )
    3. Read up on more optimizations for superpi benching
    4. Read up on more optimizations for 3d benching
    5. Figure out why my vgpu voltage was drooping so much. (1.5 set = 1.43-ish load with 3dmark2k3 and 3dmark2k5)


    Any tips, suggestion, comments are appreciated!

    Special thanks to K|ngp|n (for the cpu pot), AndreYang (for the gpu pot), and Boshuter (for putting up with my rambling while I benched). Thanks everyone!


    Main Rig:
    CPU Intel i5 2500K @ 4500mhz
    Mobo Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
    Memory 4x4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
    Video Cards Sapphire 5850
    PSU Silverstone ST75F Strider 750W
    Hard Drive OCZ Solid 3 60GB | OCZ Vertex 2 60GB | Samsung 103SJ's 4TB
    Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120 | 1 Yate Loon D12SM 120MM

  2. #2
    Admin
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Hillsboro, OR
    Posts
    5,234
    A fantastic round of benchies for your first time.

    Two containers as well along with nasty speeds and scores, both pi and 3d are impeccable, really wonderful work.

  3. #3
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,405
    my god you're on fire man

    great times and clocks
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  4. #4
    Xtreme Member ent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    403
    For a first sub-zero runs those results are amazing!

  5. #5
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    There's no place like 127.0.0.1, Brazil
    Posts
    888
    You learn with your errors...Thats a good thing.I bet your next session will be much better, not saying this wasn't.Good job

  6. #6
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    On top of a mountain
    Posts
    4,163
    Wow. Very inspiring work!
    20 Logs on the fire for WCG: i7 920@2.8 X3220@3.0 X3220@2.4 E8400@4.05 E6600@2.4

  7. #7
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    1,679
    thanks!

    so can someone recommend a program to capture screenshots with?


    Main Rig:
    CPU Intel i5 2500K @ 4500mhz
    Mobo Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
    Memory 4x4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
    Video Cards Sapphire 5850
    PSU Silverstone ST75F Strider 750W
    Hard Drive OCZ Solid 3 60GB | OCZ Vertex 2 60GB | Samsung 103SJ's 4TB
    Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120 | 1 Yate Loon D12SM 120MM

  8. #8
    uncore challenged...
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    ontari-ho (canada)
    Posts
    1,655
    excellent work...screenshots with Memset would be very nice to see.

    impressive to tackle two pots on the first go round, my hat is off to you
    i don't quote in my signature, but best WR ever...
    Quote Originally Posted by Jor3lBR View Post
    It holds the current WR for the least vcore required to run 4500Mhz stable (1.32vcore)
    i can't even make that shyt up ^^^

  9. #9
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    1,679
    3oh6 - yes i should have done memset shots with the pi's.

    they were all benched at 4-4-2-4-4 or 5-4-4-4-4

    cas 4 = performance level 8
    cas 5 = performance level 9

    was the only way i could get any stable benches at 560+

    btw, i used your 32M tweaks from that video capture you recorded.


    Main Rig:
    CPU Intel i5 2500K @ 4500mhz
    Mobo Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
    Memory 4x4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
    Video Cards Sapphire 5850
    PSU Silverstone ST75F Strider 750W
    Hard Drive OCZ Solid 3 60GB | OCZ Vertex 2 60GB | Samsung 103SJ's 4TB
    Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120 | 1 Yate Loon D12SM 120MM

  10. #10
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,776
    wow congrats.. did you use win2k3 or winxp for pi runs ???

    some crucial pc2-8500 don't like too tight tRRD so try loosening that up but keep a tight performance level
    ---

  11. #11
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    1,679
    Quote Originally Posted by eva2000 View Post
    wow congrats.. did you use win2k3 or winxp for pi runs ???

    some crucial pc2-8500 don't like too tight tRRD so try loosening that up but keep a tight performance level
    I was trying to use TRRD at 3 or 2, depending if it would even start or not.

    I need to mess around with the memory a bit. Again this was no mans' land for me so benching at 560+ on the mem was something I had never done and was unfamiliar with.

    For Pi, I used win2k3 enterprise.

    i still don't understand how you get faster times on XP!!!


    Main Rig:
    CPU Intel i5 2500K @ 4500mhz
    Mobo Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
    Memory 4x4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
    Video Cards Sapphire 5850
    PSU Silverstone ST75F Strider 750W
    Hard Drive OCZ Solid 3 60GB | OCZ Vertex 2 60GB | Samsung 103SJ's 4TB
    Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120 | 1 Yate Loon D12SM 120MM

  12. #12
    Memory Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,776
    yeah i don't understand it too... winxp consistently faster than win2k3 for me.. i'm always hoping i can shave 10 seconds off with win2k3 but always slower - shrugs
    ---

  13. #13
    uncore challenged...
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    ontari-ho (canada)
    Posts
    1,655
    thanks for the info, you need a chip like my E6600 that benches 32M SPi all day at 560FSB on air so you can get all setup with memory, tweaks and whatnot then slap the pot on and change the multi to 9X from 6X
    Quote Originally Posted by shimmishim View Post
    btw, i used your 32M tweaks from that video capture you recorded.
    awesome...glad to see that screencast put to good use. i still haven't gotten my sub 10min 32M but at least i helped get someone one

    your making it tough for me not to drop Vince a line to grab an Evo so i can have the same fun you are having...you should make a commission.

    Quote Originally Posted by eva2000 View Post
    yeah i don't understand it too... winxp consistently faster than win2k3 for me.. i'm always hoping i can shave 10 seconds off with win2k3 but always slower - shrugs
    yeah, i was a big win2k3 fan for the longest time then after seeing your ability with XP i spent a couple days with it and was able to get 32M SPi runs to within tenths of a second of my 2k3 times at the same clocks so they both can be pretty much as fast...just require different tweaking routes to get there. that said i still bench 32M SPi with 2K3...no other reason than thats what i started benching it with i guess.
    Last edited by 3oh6; 09-08-2007 at 07:53 PM.
    i don't quote in my signature, but best WR ever...
    Quote Originally Posted by Jor3lBR View Post
    It holds the current WR for the least vcore required to run 4500Mhz stable (1.32vcore)
    i can't even make that shyt up ^^^

  14. #14
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    smyrna, TN
    Posts
    379
    very nice 1m times

  15. #15
    Admin
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Hillsboro, OR
    Posts
    5,234
    Quote Originally Posted by eva2000 View Post
    yeah i don't understand it too... winxp consistently faster than win2k3 for me.. i'm always hoping i can shave 10 seconds off with win2k3 but always slower - shrugs
    03 is consistently two steps ahead of XP in 1M for me, nothing I can do to XP can ever make it match 03 in 1M.

    But in 32M I think XP might be a hair faster. They're too close for me to have made a definitive conclusion yet.

  16. #16
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    1,679
    Quote Originally Posted by 3oh6 View Post
    thanks for the info, you need a chip like my E6600 that benches 32M SPi all day at 560FSB on air so you can get all setup with memory, tweaks and whatnot then slap the pot on and change the multi to 9X from 6X

    awesome...glad to see that screencast put to good use. i still haven't gotten my sub 10min 32M but at least i helped get someone one

    your making it tough for me not to drop Vince a line to grab an Evo so i can have the same fun you are having...you should make a commission.


    yeah, i was a big win2k3 fan for the longest time then after seeing your ability with XP i spent a couple days with it and was able to get 32M SPi runs to within tenths of a second of my 2k3 times at the same clocks so they both can be pretty much as fast...just require different tweaking routes to get there. that said i still bench 32M SPi with 2K3...no other reason than thats what i started benching it with i guess.
    interesting. maybe i'll have to give XP a shot again. I just didn't have very good luck with XP no matter what tweaking I tried.

    my first go around with win2k3 was when i was trying to break 14sec 1M 3.6 ghz... best i could get on XP was 14.0X. i switched over to win2k3 and got 13.9X easily. then i applied the silver them and got close to 13.8X.




    Quote Originally Posted by toddm27 View Post
    very nice 1m times
    i used your score as a reference point.

    but you have a very nice 32M time at 5 ghz. I was trying to get close to yours but you beat me by 2 seconds.


    Main Rig:
    CPU Intel i5 2500K @ 4500mhz
    Mobo Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
    Memory 4x4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
    Video Cards Sapphire 5850
    PSU Silverstone ST75F Strider 750W
    Hard Drive OCZ Solid 3 60GB | OCZ Vertex 2 60GB | Samsung 103SJ's 4TB
    Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120 | 1 Yate Loon D12SM 120MM

  17. #17
    xwards
    Guest
    great clocks
    nice work

  18. #18
    Champion
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Posts
    1,373
    WoW nice result !, vrey impressive for you first sub-zero
    Sorry For My English
    OverclockZone Team
    THAILAND

  19. #19
    Nice Aqua & 03 shim, these G0's are pretty fun to bench on

  20. #20
    Brotherhood
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Land Of KADISOKA
    Posts
    1,225
    NIce shimmishim !!! Maybe next time you can try bench with 3dmark01
    Quote Originally Posted by LardArse View Post
    i think you are asking the wrong person about safety limits, but

  21. #21
    WOW WOW WOW First time?!?
    These are some great and very complete DI results!
    Well done John.

  22. #22
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,405
    Quote Originally Posted by k|ngp|n View Post
    WOW WOW WOW First time?!?
    These are some great and very complete DI results!
    Well done John.
    hahaha you created a monster
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  23. #23
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    994
    Awesome John great results for running dual dice tubes the first time around. I can't wait to see the 01 score you roll out of that beast.


  24. #24
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    216
    Great benching and great setting up too - like what you did with your GPU as well. Great stuff mate.

  25. #25
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    1,285
    5ghz_1.86Vc with dry ice, very nice work....

    Nice dry ice runs with the evo 2.4......

    I love that 3D 03 single score very nice and congrats.....

    Raise Pci-e to about 145mhz.

    get some 1.6+Vgpu going for that card as if it can do 1.5vgpu/800 core you
    might have an serious keeper there for 900 under dice.

    gtx's did droop even after an vgpu mod would be done, better to slightly over
    volt card when 3d benching...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •