Page 1 of 19 123411 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 455

Thread: Asus P5K Bearlake P35 chipset motherboard >> TESTING LATEST INTEL CHIPSET

  1. #1
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468

    Cool Asus P5K Bearlake P35 (vanilla) chipset motherboard >> TESTING LATEST INTEL CHIPSET

    Hey boys

    Yeap this is the chipset that replaces P965 and will bring DDR2 and DDR3 RAM to desktops alongside ICH9


    heeeeeere we go

    TEST Gear:
    Asus P5K (vanilla) Motherboard P35 CHIPSET >> Bios 0202
    2GB Corsair PC8500 Dominator Kit
    2GB Corsair PC10000 Dominator Kit
    Intel E6300ES L617A Step5 B1 CPU
    Intel E6600 B2 L629F122 CPU
    Stock Intel Cooler
    Corsair Nautilus 500 Water
    6GB+60GB IDE Drives
    80GB SATA1 Drive
    Matrox Millenium PCI GFX
    Silverstone 560W SLI PSU
    Corsair 620W HX620 PSU



    just installed windows....will do some tests soon


    RIG SETUP




    Used these settings for windows install




    Notes:
    • Board wouldn't start straight away .... errrrrr doesn't like bends much but all sorted heh
    • Bios is good.......most settings necessary for tweaking are in one place now
    • Asus is getting serious about overclocking even with Vanilla >>> some of the bios options are great >>>>
    • VDIMM MAX: 2.55v >>>> VCORE MAX: 1.7v >>>>> VMCH: 1.7v >>>>> Some new adjustments :S have to figure out what they are
    • NEED PENCIL MODS FOR VCORE >>>>>> DROOP IS TERRIBLE >>>>> BIOS SET 1.6V >> Windows Idle 1.55V >> Windows Load 1.48V
    • It overclocks great >>> Reached the FSB limit on my CPU i have with two other Asus P5B Deluxe motherbards >>> E6600 520MHz FSB benchable 32M SuperPI >>> NICE!
    • Board feels stable.............ran some quick orthos but will do some longer runs when i get time of course
    • Have to test SuperPI performance properly as my first install was kind of funky and Pi times were bad as per next lot of screenshots >>> reinstalled windows on a different drive and it feels much better.......
    • RAM tests are next to see what maxes I can reach >>> PC10000 Dominators are up next
    • I put my E6300 CPU in there as memtest can detect bandwidth properly >>> I will try to find strap changes with it to see whether we are in 1066 or 1333 and when the changes are occuring
    • I plan on testing all the RAM ratios as well to see what maxes i get from RAM and how they impact on performance >>> it seems from first glance that Asus has finally resolved the 4:5 ratio as i've never been able to run 500MHz 4-4-4-4....anyways this is something i have to test
    • Seems that the temp controller is borked lol but the value seems to coincide with Coretemp once you take off 200 off the temp reported >>> looks like it needs an adjustment there >>>> if you look at the above screenshot you'll see 242C from Asus and 42C from Coretemp >>> it tends to change with it and not just coincidence hence ~256C >> showing as 56C in coretemp
    • Hopefully someone can point me to vcore, vdimm, vMCH measurement points too
    • Would be nice to have SetFSB or clockgen working with this mobo >>> CPUz 1.4 works like a charm
    Last edited by dinos22; 05-30-2007 at 12:46 AM.
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  2. #2
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    500MHz FSB

    32M SuperPI

    E6600 CPU




    bit of orthos 10m





    520MHz FSB (froze on 1.55vNB doing 8M SuperPI half way >> upped to 1.7v = 32M pass)





    initial findings are that SPI performance needs some checking......i installed this on a 6GB IDE drive but if i start SPI from there first loop is like 30 seconds lol >> second hard drive ~13.6 but it should be ~9 as i applied LargeSys tweak

    i'll chuck some SATA drives on and see what happens tomorrow

    haven't really tweaked RAM for 4:5 ratio works lol





    yeah this is definitely a hard drive problem

    just installed a SATA drive and B1 E6300 CPU with 100MHz less on CPU and SPI times are MUCH quicker



    more testing soon



    i've tried to do some initial Strap testing to determine whether strap changes at the same FSB MHz as P965 chipset

    I must say from initial testing it seems as though Asus has resolved the strap issue as i've only seen one change at ~295MHz FSB which is probably 800 > 1066 but i have to test this


    Here are the testing settings



    Where i was getting RAM bandwidth info



    and results i got so far

    Please note that i got a board powerdown at two different FSBs >> 295MHz and you can see the bandwidth drop and at 400MHz however the bandwidth kept raising w00t >> I will need to test this to see whether windows performance reflects this too



    Last edited by dinos22; 05-06-2007 at 04:21 PM.
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  3. #3
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    MOTHERBOARD SHOTS > Ugly Betty















    Last edited by dinos22; 05-08-2007 at 01:39 AM.
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  4. #4
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    BIOS SHOTS












    Last edited by dinos22; 05-04-2007 at 04:50 PM.
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  5. #5
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    Did some

    RAM TESTING


    i've discovered that FSB <292MHz only gives basic RAM ratios that you get on P965 and FSB 292MHz> gives you the full RAM Ratio range

    I haven't really tested for speed against P965 yet as i don't have memset to see what all timings are doing and i also need to know all the voltage measurement points >>>> but from initial tests it looks like it's on par with P965

    no major tweaks 'cept for LargeSys and no RAM tweaking yet but for CAS 3 vs 4 vs 5 i did have all the timings set in bios




    4:5 RATIO WORKS PROPERLY NOW >> haven't tested for max clocks yet (time is a bit whacky because i used a much slower hard drive here....so don't compare to other results below)




    TESTING CAS3 vs CAS4 vs CAS5















    PC10000 Dominators at CAS4 (4-4-4-x ~2.45v)

    it seems it's about the same as P965 as i have one board topping out at 590MHz 4-4-4-x and another 600MHz 4-4-4-x >>> This P35 chipset mobo can do ~597MHz roughly but would not complete 8M 600MHz so i moved on (some more RAM tweaking may change that)


























    Another Important Update >>> RAM RATIOS TESTED




    Test Setup
    • E6300ES B1
    • Corsair PC8500 Dominators 2GB kit
    • VDIMM: 2.35v set in bios
    • vMCH: 1.55V set in bios
    • RAM Timings set in bios: 5-5-5-15-10-42-10-10-10


    The idea behind the test is to quickly test max clocks on above settings for all RAM Ratios available in bios to see if any of them have a problem..........

    i was able to use SetFSB up to 407MHz FSB after which i was forced to boot to windows direct from bios on some of the lower ratios so i also ran 4M and 8M SuperPI to give you an idea that it clearly had more MHz in the runs to max out at 1M




    1) 1:2 RATIO ~605MHz 1M SuperPI Max







    2) 3:5 RATIO ~610MHz 1M SuperPI Max







    3) 5:16 RATIO ~535MHz 1M SuperPI Max ******So this one is problematic







    4) 2:3 RATIO ~605MHz 1M SuperPI Max







    5) 4:5 RATIO No SetFSB here so booted 600MHz on RAM and did 1M/4M/8M SuperPI











    5) 5:6 RATIO No SetFSB here so booted 600MHz on RAM and did 1M/4M/8M SuperPI










    here is some more proof that strap doesn't change as you boot from 400 to 401MHz FSB






    Last edited by dinos22; 05-09-2007 at 08:11 AM.
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  6. #6
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Grande Prairie, AB, CAN
    Posts
    6,127
    jeez, you should of had all the required information before making a thread.

  7. #7
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    patience is a virtue

    Quote Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
    jeez, you should of had all the required information before making a thread.
    Last edited by dinos22; 05-04-2007 at 04:51 PM.
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  8. #8
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    111
    For the love of god when is someone going to test a Quad on these new P35 motherboards?

  9. #9
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    looks like i've got a couple of whiners in my thread ohhh noooo! hahahah
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  10. #10
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    318
    Keep 'em coming please! You're doing great and don't forget: the more numbers, the better
    i5 660 / Asrock P55M Pro / Ripjaws / GTS250

  11. #11
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    ithaca, ny
    Posts
    2,430
    hmm looks like they've got 5:6 on 333strap now.
    E8400 8x500=4000 | ABIT IP35-E
    2x2GB Tracer PC2-6400 1:1 500MHz 5-5-5-15 2.0V
    Galaxy 8800GT 800/2000/1100 1.3V | 80GB X25-M G2 + 1.5TB 7200.11 | XFiXG
    Fuzion | MCW60 | DDC2+Petra | Coolrad22T+BIP1

    Merom 13x133=1733 1MB L2 0.950V

  12. #12
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Broomfield, CO
    Posts
    4,088
    Note that this PWM buck controller supports VRM 11 (for upcoming Penryn 45nm CPUs).

    http://www.analog.com/UploadedFiles/...ts/ADP3198.pdf



    -FCG

  13. #13
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    Quote Originally Posted by freecableguy View Post
    Note that this PWM buck controller supports VRM 11 (for upcoming Penryn 45nm CPUs).

    http://www.analog.com/UploadedFiles/...ts/ADP3198.pdf

    [img]http://img525.imageshack.us/img525/9145/dsc04114resizeaz0.jpg

    -FCG
    says on the box too



    would be nice to get some ideas how i could pencil mod the board for some much needed vcore droop relief
    Last edited by dinos22; 05-04-2007 at 08:16 PM.
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  14. #14
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Haverhill, MA
    Posts
    491
    Dinos - need close up pics of the resistors on the board to help find the vmods
    E6400 L624A768 @ 3600mhz 1.48V
    Biostar TP35D2-A7
    2x1GB Micron D9JKH, 2x1GB OCZ Gold DDR2-1100
    1x250GB WD SATAII 2x120GB Maxtor IDE 1x200GB
    EVGA 8800GTS 512MB stock 799/1998/2075
    MCW350, Apogee, 120.1 Swiftech Rad
    Antec Smartpower 500W
    BenQ DVDrw
    Logitech z-5300e

  15. #15
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    Quote Originally Posted by Hutch View Post
    Dinos - need close up pics of the resistors on the board to help find the vmods
    resistors? can you point me in the right direction pls
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  16. #16
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Hastings, England
    Posts
    828
    nice info dinos22. Do you have a quad core to test on it ??

    O/T just watched you on the tv prog you were on
    Quote Originally Posted by jayhall0315 View Post
    If you are really extreme, you never let informed facts or the scientific method hold you back from your journey to the wrong answer


  17. #17
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    Quote Originally Posted by jabski View Post
    nice info dinos22. Do you have a quad core to test on it ??

    O/T just watched you on the tv prog you were on
    cheers mate

    unfortunately i don't have a quad

    if someone wants to lend me one i would give it a crack but i'd say this particular mobo would probably be a little limited as it only has a 4-pin connector

    but P5K Deluxe and P5K3 Deluxe should do just fine

    lol the tv show it was kind of a short segment....ppl didn't expect that heh
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  18. #18
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    ithaca, ny
    Posts
    2,430
    I thought his pictures were decent. I just never read up about the adp chip, although I have done the droop mod on p5b. Hopefully someone will chime in.
    E8400 8x500=4000 | ABIT IP35-E
    2x2GB Tracer PC2-6400 1:1 500MHz 5-5-5-15 2.0V
    Galaxy 8800GT 800/2000/1100 1.3V | 80GB X25-M G2 + 1.5TB 7200.11 | XFiXG
    Fuzion | MCW60 | DDC2+Petra | Coolrad22T+BIP1

    Merom 13x133=1733 1MB L2 0.950V

  19. #19
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Bangkok
    Posts
    200
    cheers nice info .. look forward to seeing more results ..


    VapoChill LS [AC] / QX9650 / X6800 / E8500 / Q6600 / CF-3870x2 / 8800 GTS G92 512 / XFX 7950GX2 (H20) / GeIL PC2-8500 C5 / PC2-6400 C4 / SilverStone OP1000 / ST75ZF
    Abit IP35-Pro | 3DM06 - 18,264 | PCM05 - 23,577 | PCMVA 13,063
    DFI 680i LT | 3DM06 - 24,602
    Abit X38 QuadGT | 3DM03 - 120,337 | 3DM06 - 28,176

  20. #20
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    hey ncsa

    i will be testing the most important performance first >> SuperPI : hehehhe

    i'll also play with maxmem after seeing Gautam do the times....gotta keep that 32M challenge thread alive hey
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  21. #21
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    oh BTW some of you guys might find this interesting i know eva2000 would

    i was all rushing to get some files off the main rig (Asus P5B Deluxe +E6300) and forgot that i had my 8-pin power plugged UNPLUGGED

    turned on the mobo.......no boot and then it hit me
    quick turn it off >> plugged it all in >> no go >> cleared cmos >> NO GO >> clearned cmos took the battery out left it for 10 mintes >> no go :bawling:

    i'm thinking the CPU is dead.........so i pull it out and stick it in P5K >> CPU works awesome

    OK so i'm think is the mobo dead >>> put another CPU in >> NO GO....pull the RAM out and put a 256MB jump stick >> mobo boots

    so it's the RAM

    :bawling: :bawling:

    tested each stick >> OEM Micron D9GMH sticks 2GB kit and one of the sticks refuses to work in both motherboards and the other was fine :bawling:

    what do i do >>> eeeeeeeerrrrrrrr stick it in the freezer Dino i'm thinking....maybe the ICs got a shock or something and ....... well you get the point >>> so i'm messing with my system copying some files across and i remembered after 10-15 minutes i had the stick in the freezer still

    pull it out of freezer >> stick it in the Asus P5B Deluxe with the other one from the kit and IT ING BOOTS

    SuperPI tested >>> orthos blend for a couple of hours

    used it this morning as well >>>>>>>>>>WOW THAT WAS A COMEBACK AND A HALF:heh:

    moral of the story is >>> err check the cables before you turn on the PC....if you up stick the hardware in a freezer and do a chicken dance for 10 minutes and pray it boots hahahahahha
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  22. #22
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Durham, NC
    Posts
    2,885
    Ugliest PCB ever, but nice to see some more tests on P35. I'd like to see some X38 numbers.

    Are the PCI-E slots reminiscent of P5Bdlx in terms of bandwidth? 16x primary/4x secondary, electronically? Or do they both do 8x for CF?

    Lastly, does the NB really run that cool or was MBM just off? I'm hoping for some cooler running chipsets, after 680i.

  23. #23
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Bangkok
    Posts
    200
    Yes 32M is alive and well ... hopefully your 6x500 can get quicker but then I noticed it was C5 ..

    Can you use ClockGen with this MB?

    What about C3, does it like these types of modules .. when you get a chance of course


    VapoChill LS [AC] / QX9650 / X6800 / E8500 / Q6600 / CF-3870x2 / 8800 GTS G92 512 / XFX 7950GX2 (H20) / GeIL PC2-8500 C5 / PC2-6400 C4 / SilverStone OP1000 / ST75ZF
    Abit IP35-Pro | 3DM06 - 18,264 | PCM05 - 23,577 | PCMVA 13,063
    DFI 680i LT | 3DM06 - 24,602
    Abit X38 QuadGT | 3DM03 - 120,337 | 3DM06 - 28,176

  24. #24
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    Quote Originally Posted by Omastar View Post
    Ugliest PCB ever, but nice to see some more tests on P35. I'd like to see some X38 numbers.

    Are the PCI-E slots reminiscent of P5Bdlx in terms of bandwidth? 16x primary/4x secondary, electronically? Or do they both do 8x for CF?

    Lastly, does the NB really run that cool or was MBM just off? I'm hoping for some cooler running chipsets, after 680i.
    it is same as P965 16x + 4x

    Tony did say that they can also implement 8x + 8x for a small price jump but none of these manufacturers are jumping on the bandwagon

    NB runs at OK temps even though i had 1.7v shoved at one point on the vMCH and high volts on both CPU and RAM
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  25. #25
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    Quote Originally Posted by ncsa View Post
    Yes 32M is alive and well ... hopefully your 6x500 can get quicker but then I noticed it was C5 ..

    Can you use ClockGen with this MB?
    what is the PLL for clockgen.......i don't want to stuff it up in case it's not the P5B deluxe one you know what i mean

    clockgen read the CPU clocks but i didn't set the PLL in settings
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



Page 1 of 19 123411 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •